User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Of course the game isn't perfect, for example on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all chaos emeralds)!! But in return youHonestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Of course the game isn't perfect, for example on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all chaos emeralds)!! But in return you get superb graphics, great design, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Expand
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    I really appreciate the work SEGA has done in this sequel!

    - (9) Great graphics - (7) Good music (except the Dr. Robotnic/Eggman theme, it is short and loops too much) - (9) Great gameplay worthy of the "classic" status - (8) Good length (getting all the emeralds is hard) Overall "(8,5)" p.s. The game really worths a 8.5 but I rated a 10 for all those who rate this game without a solid
    I really appreciate the work SEGA has done in this sequel!

    - (9) Great graphics
    - (7) Good music (except the Dr. Robotnic/Eggman theme, it is short and loops too much)
    - (9) Great gameplay worthy of the "classic" status
    - (8) Good length (getting all the emeralds is hard)

    Overall "(8,5)"

    p.s. The game really worths a 8.5 but I rated a 10 for all those who rate this game without a solid thought, and also the Sonic haters and trolls.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best Sonic games i have ever seen in my entire life! This is way better then episode 1, even tough i liked that game as well. I strongly recommended to any Sonic fan.
  4. May 16, 2012
    9
    Sonic 4: Episode 2 is absolutely awesome. In terms of a good review, it was inevitable that the first episode would get praise for being the first of its kind. So with episode 2, expectations were high for me, especially considering the 2 year wait I had to endure. Nevertheless though, I believe the controls, graphics, and gameplay have been drastically improved. The addition of Tails isSonic 4: Episode 2 is absolutely awesome. In terms of a good review, it was inevitable that the first episode would get praise for being the first of its kind. So with episode 2, expectations were high for me, especially considering the 2 year wait I had to endure. Nevertheless though, I believe the controls, graphics, and gameplay have been drastically improved. The addition of Tails is truly marvelous as I am now less prone to dying in bottomless pits. I like that Sonic Team kept the controls simple, while still adding new abilities that combine tails and his unique abilities. Even though the controls aren't exactly what the genesis controls are, I can see that a lot of work went into making it like the old genesis games. And hey, after all the bad Sonic games that have come out over the years, I think any Sonic fan will smile when they get their hands on this one. My biggest complaint, is probably the lack of rewards. Unlike episode 1 (which was also lacking in rewards btw), there is virtually no preview of whats to come in next episode after the credits roll. I think my biggest compliment to this game is how creative the bosses are. The bosses, and the levels, feel very new and fresh. The special stages, while frustrating at times, are very fun. I also have to mention the music; As always, its pretty awesome and I think anyone who has played Big the cat's first stage and Sonic CD will hear some solid music references to past games. Overall, this is a fantastic addition to the Sonic 4 saga, and I hope to see episode 3 very soon...hopefully less than 2 years from now... Expand
  5. May 20, 2012
    9
    It's a great Sonic game. It can be a little frustrating and repetitive at times, but otherwise, it lives up to it's name, unlike it's predecessor.
  6. May 17, 2012
    8
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 isn't as good as Sega promised but it is a good game. Sonic Team needs more ambition and has to do a fine tuning in Sonic games. Coop with a friend as Tails is fun.
  7. May 18, 2012
    8
    There are undeniably some flaws, but Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a game I regret purchasing. Having read a few less-than-flattering reviews beforehand though, it's a game I almost avoided, despite my excitement leading up to the release; I took a risk and downloaded the game anyway despite those poor reviews and I'm glad that I did. Some of the tunes are in fact pretty catchy,There are undeniably some flaws, but Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a game I regret purchasing. Having read a few less-than-flattering reviews beforehand though, it's a game I almost avoided, despite my excitement leading up to the release; I took a risk and downloaded the game anyway despite those poor reviews and I'm glad that I did. Some of the tunes are in fact pretty catchy, especially that of the Oil Refinery levels, though I have to agree with the general consensus of the boss battle theme being downright awful. Animation is slick and there are a few moments of brilliance sprinkled throughout the adventure. It saddens me that there likely won't be an Episode III due to the mediocre reviews that this game is getting, but I look forward to revisiting Episode II from time to time. MY GRADE: 8/10! Expand
  8. May 18, 2012
    8
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 2 is a good game, but not really an improvement over Episode 1. The gameplay is fun and does has more originality to it, and we have Tails who actually helps you! The physics really improved over Episode 1 and yes it's not like the genesis games, but it shows the developers were really trying, and I'm happy with it. The special stages are kinda fun as well.Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 2 is a good game, but not really an improvement over Episode 1. The gameplay is fun and does has more originality to it, and we have Tails who actually helps you! The physics really improved over Episode 1 and yes it's not like the genesis games, but it shows the developers were really trying, and I'm happy with it. The special stages are kinda fun as well. There were some problems though, the game still feels automated sometimes mainly because of the over saturation of speed boosters. The controls take some time to get used to and Tails is used a bit too much. But still the gameplay is great. The graphics look gorgeous and it is a huge improvement over Episode 1. The level design is great as well but still it's too automated sometimes. The music sounds better and actually sounds like a genesis game, but still there were some parts of the music that sounded bad and the songs were too short, but it's still good, but to be honest, I like Episode 1's music better. The sound effects are still classic! This game has a bit more content then Episode 1, multiplayer online and offline, red rings, and a little more! The game is kinda short, but it's only an episode. Overall, Sonic 4 Episode 2 was a good game and I did enjoy it. It's still too automated at times but still it's kinda worth your $15.00. I'll give it an 80. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Play UK
    Jul 10, 2012
    40
    Don't bother. [Issue#220, p.79]
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jul 3, 2012
    68
    Episode II is certainly not a bad game, just a little bit uninspired. It also doesn't help that Team Sonic consistently breaks up the (fast) pacing of the game, resulting in quite some frustration. Less frustrating and even fun are the bonus levels who look like they've been hauled over from Sonic 2.[July 2012, p.92]
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Polished and zippy, but having to give up control in any game is a sign that all isn't well. Sorry Sonic, time to retire. [Aug 2012, p.103]