Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II will expand the Sonic 4 storyline with new areas to speed through and new challenges to face.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Thankfully, Sega's made some tweaks to its Sonic 4-mula that manage to both advance the platforming while bringing the 'feel' of things closer in line with the series' halycon days on the Mega Drive. [June 2012, p 81]
  2. Jun 6, 2012
    75
    If you turn off the annoying music, you will find the joy of a classical 2D Sonic. There is nothing new, however it makes fun and in some moments, you can feel the atmosphere of oldschool 2D sonics.
  3. May 29, 2012
    70
    In the end, Sonic 4 Episode II is probably the best Sonic game in awhile that combines retro gaming with 21st century next-gen console mechanics. Although the title is a little on the repetitive side, there's enough fun to keep most gamers going and just when things start to become repetitive, the game fortunately ends in time.
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    66
    What we all deserve is a solid, faithful, and fun Sonic the Hedgehog game. While Episode 2 is closer to this than Episode 1, there is still a way to go. Let's just hope that the Hedgehog still has the legs.
  5. May 16, 2012
    64
    It's 2D Sonic, with brand new zones, seven half-pipe bonus stages, and a Metal Sonic story for those who purchased Episode I. Not bad for fifteen bucks.
  6. By far the biggest problem here is how Sonic himself handles. [July 2012, p.106]
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    40
    Don't bother. [Issue#220, p.79]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best Sonic games i have ever seen in my entire life! This is way better then episode 1, even tough i liked that game as well. I strongly recommended to any Sonic fan. Collapse
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    I really appreciate the work SEGA has done in this sequel!

    - (9) Great graphics
    - (7) Good music (except the Dr. Robotnic/Eggman theme, it is
    short and loops too much)
    - (9) Great gameplay worthy of the "classic" status
    - (8) Good length (getting all the emeralds is hard)

    Overall "(8,5)"

    p.s. The game really worths a 8.5 but I rated a 10 for all those who rate this game without a solid thought, and also the Sonic haters and trolls.
    Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Of course the game isn't perfect, for example on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all chaos emeralds)!! But in return you get superb graphics, great design, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    8
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 2 is a good game, but not really an improvement over Episode 1. The gameplay is fun and does has more originality to it, and we have Tails who actually helps you! The physics really improved over Episode 1 and yes it's not like the genesis games, but it shows the developers were really trying, and I'm happy with it. The special stages are kinda fun as well. There were some problems though, the game still feels automated sometimes mainly because of the over saturation of speed boosters. The controls take some time to get used to and Tails is used a bit too much. But still the gameplay is great. The graphics look gorgeous and it is a huge improvement over Episode 1. The level design is great as well but still it's too automated sometimes. The music sounds better and actually sounds like a genesis game, but still there were some parts of the music that sounded bad and the songs were too short, but it's still good, but to be honest, I like Episode 1's music better. The sound effects are still classic! This game has a bit more content then Episode 1, multiplayer online and offline, red rings, and a little more! The game is kinda short, but it's only an episode. Overall, Sonic 4 Episode 2 was a good game and I did enjoy it. It's still too automated at times but still it's kinda worth your $15.00. I'll give it an 80. Expand
  5. May 17, 2012
    8
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 isn't as good as Sega promised but it is a good game. Sonic Team needs more ambition and has to do a fine tuning in Sonic games. Coop with a friend as Tails is fun. Expand
  6. May 18, 2012
    8
    There are undeniably some flaws, but Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a game I regret purchasing. Having read a few less-than-flattering reviews beforehand though, it's a game I almost avoided, despite my excitement leading up to the release; I took a risk and downloaded the game anyway despite those poor reviews and I'm glad that I did. Some of the tunes are in fact pretty catchy, especially that of the Oil Refinery levels, though I have to agree with the general consensus of the boss battle theme being downright awful. Animation is slick and there are a few moments of brilliance sprinkled throughout the adventure. It saddens me that there likely won't be an Episode III due to the mediocre reviews that this game is getting, but I look forward to revisiting Episode II from time to time. MY GRADE: 8/10! Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    5
    Although there was made improvements (Such as graphics and plot), Sonic 4 Episode Two shamefully brings more of the same disappointment brought by his antecessor. Not only with physics this time. About physics, they were fixed in some points, but later it was revealed that there are scripted speed occurring on the game, again getting to ruin your fun. Tails was another broken promise by SEGA, they didn't bring him back: they brought Tails as a game gimmick, the worst treatment a character on the Sonic series could ever receive. This is summed up with the horrendous music, the same style was brought back from Episode One. So, it turns out that the game has turned to a sad example of DIMPS' abilities and SEGA's incompetence. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews