Sonic the Hedgehog PlayStation 3

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 159
  2. Negative: 94 out of 159
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I saw this game has lots of hate, but when i played the game myself.. i didn't feel like hating it or calling it bad... because it actually was an awesome fun game to play, and as i am a sonic fan i totally loved it!
    But yeah everyone has his own opinion of course, but i don't care about the others, I LOVE THIS GAME AND I NEVER GONNA GIVE IT AWAY! its actually one of my best games in my
    I saw this game has lots of hate, but when i played the game myself.. i didn't feel like hating it or calling it bad... because it actually was an awesome fun game to play, and as i am a sonic fan i totally loved it!
    But yeah everyone has his own opinion of course, but i don't care about the others, I LOVE THIS GAME AND I NEVER GONNA GIVE IT AWAY! its actually one of my best games in my collection =D
    Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Sonic 06 is an underrated game. Screw the reviews and complaints it gets. This game rules. The stages are fun, the graphics are amazing, the soundtrack is awesome. I know Sonic 06 does have it's problems but that does not make it bad. And also the Silver boss fight is great especially if you are Shadow!
  3. TDF
    Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I just want to say, the hate this game gets is entirely irrational and unfounded. Never has a game had such marvelous skyboxes, in fact I daresay this game presents to us the finest skyboxes in the ENTIRE GAMING INDUSTRY. Indeed as an expert connoisseur of video games as art I am qualified to say that Sonic 06 is not only a work of art but it is indeed a revolutionary masterpiece that noI just want to say, the hate this game gets is entirely irrational and unfounded. Never has a game had such marvelous skyboxes, in fact I daresay this game presents to us the finest skyboxes in the ENTIRE GAMING INDUSTRY. Indeed as an expert connoisseur of video games as art I am qualified to say that Sonic 06 is not only a work of art but it is indeed a revolutionary masterpiece that no developer could possibly hope to match. Well perhaps the fine video game design that is Pacman World 2 could compare, but honestly it's a long shot; Sonic 06 is simply too beautiful a cloud amidst the skybox that is the video game industry for anyone to compete with.

    Incidentally, Neo, will you marry me?
    Expand
  4. JosephE.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    The game it self is very good. the story line for the first time is great. the idea of the futue and the past meet the present is very simialar to Chrono Trigger in the idea only but it is the best sonic game to date based on grapics and gameplay :) Go sonic Go!!!
  5. bkk
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    This game is good. It may have it's flaw but but that doesn't the fact that the story is incredibly detailed.
  6. SethS.
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    Attention anyone who is wanting to play this game. Dont listen to critics. never listen to critics, or the idiots who are saying this game sucks. My favorite game monster hunter got like a 5.1 overall, because noone plays it all the way. And just for the record, why is everyone downing all the new sonic games? Sonic Adventure battle 2 is awesome! now don't get me wrong this game has Attention anyone who is wanting to play this game. Dont listen to critics. never listen to critics, or the idiots who are saying this game sucks. My favorite game monster hunter got like a 5.1 overall, because noone plays it all the way. And just for the record, why is everyone downing all the new sonic games? Sonic Adventure battle 2 is awesome! now don't get me wrong this game has many some flaws, lots of loading, mindless missions on the street that have nothing to do with the story. So those of you who just love making fun of sonic, go ahead, but my fellow sonic fans, this one isn't half bad. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!!
  8. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    I know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for theI know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for the most part. Sonic and Blaze function better than the others, however. Speaking of characters, there are a lot of them to play as, which adds variety. Loading times are occasionally long, but you won't mind if you are patient like me. Stage missions are a ton of fun, but only half of the town missions are fun. Stage missions vary from character to character. Sonic and Shadow are about the same, except Shadow's missions allow you to use cool vehicles, and Sonic has mach speed in certain levels. Some people think mach speed is difficult, but if you use the light speed dash move to follow ring paths, they are easy. Silver, the other main character, is slower, but he makes up for it by having psychic powers, which allow him to deflect objects at enemies. The maturity of the story is executed better than the game Shadow The Hedgehog. I love the graphics. Rarely has there been more detail in a Sonic game. There is not a single track of music in this game that is bad either. Other editions include gems, which are items that you can buy from stores. They give Sonic some cool powers, including the ability to shrink, extra speed, and flight. Sure, there are a lot of glitches here, but they don't make the game unplayable. In fact, some of the glitches are amusing. The only glitch that I did not like is the one where the characters Rouge and Knuckles are stuck to walls. Other than that, I find nothing really wrong. Its not bad, but it is not really really good. It is perfect for real fans of the series. I have played and beaten both the ps3 and Xbox360 versions of the game and they are exactly the same. Collapse
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver.people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver. (not the coolest hedgehog but still ok) overall i give this a 9/10. and believe it or not, i meant everything i said. Expand
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    A great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platformA great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platform feel to it with his telekinesis. Overall its a great game. Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    This game is a bit underrated. The game has a lot of bugs and glitches, storyline isn't much interesting, loading screen always lasts around 22 seconds (yes, i did count that), it lags from time to time and characters are very slow compared to every other game in franchise. Music on the other hand is really catchy and i stays for a long time in head. Most of glitches can be avoided in someThis game is a bit underrated. The game has a lot of bugs and glitches, storyline isn't much interesting, loading screen always lasts around 22 seconds (yes, i did count that), it lags from time to time and characters are very slow compared to every other game in franchise. Music on the other hand is really catchy and i stays for a long time in head. Most of glitches can be avoided in some way. I really enjoyed the game but I would not pay more than 15$ for it. Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    This is one of the most underrated games ever! this is one of my favourite sonic games ever, aside from All Stars Racing Transformed and Generations. i will say that the camera controls are bad, and there is one major glitch, but apart from that, this game is a fun one. to start off, the opening cutscene's graphics on the princess's face look Amazing!! the major glitch is the fact that,This is one of the most underrated games ever! this is one of my favourite sonic games ever, aside from All Stars Racing Transformed and Generations. i will say that the camera controls are bad, and there is one major glitch, but apart from that, this game is a fun one. to start off, the opening cutscene's graphics on the princess's face look Amazing!! the major glitch is the fact that, occasionally, you can't get past act 1! i was fortunate to avoid this. Overall, great game. Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    Un gioco che ha deluso molti amanti della serie ma che personalmente a me è piaciuto molto,forse avrei preferito che avessero migliorato il gameplay e che avessero diminuito i troppi bug,tuttavia la storia è qualcosa di spettacolare,mi ha saputo coinvolgere dall'inizio alla fine e tra l'altro la colonna sonora è una tra le migliori che io abbia mai ascoltato in un videogioco.
  14. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    I can't say this game is bad or good.The music is godly and the game isn't bad when you take the glitches away.I still like the game but some glitches can be annoying and frustrating at times.I still think this game is good.
  15. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    everyone hates this game but I loved much of the multiplayer modes like the really cool when I play with my sister charismatic characters but the story and many children do not know why this story reminded me of mario
  16. Nov 29, 2015
    8
    I am a huge sonic fan and I am truthful so I gave the game a 8. This game is totally underrated and deserves better. The levels have a lot of variety though some are pretty annoying but there is fun even in those levels. I like that the game has a variety of characters and so the story is told in different angles which is good. The Mach stages aren't much fun and it takes practice but notI am a huge sonic fan and I am truthful so I gave the game a 8. This game is totally underrated and deserves better. The levels have a lot of variety though some are pretty annoying but there is fun even in those levels. I like that the game has a variety of characters and so the story is told in different angles which is good. The Mach stages aren't much fun and it takes practice but not much, The music is Once again awesome and nice lush graphics. Sonic's gameplay is the best one, Shadow's are good, silver okay but can get boring at times especially in the hub world, Tails is also okay, knuckles and Rouge is good and may is okay. Overall it's worth the money. Expand
  17. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    This game is amazing, there is not a single thing wrong with, it is the 2nd best sanic game ever only behind sanic bum rise of lyric. It's the reason to buy a PlayStation 3. SANIC4LIFE
  18. Dec 12, 2015
    10
    Dont listen to what people say when they tell you that this is a bad game; its probably one of the best Sonic games out there. When it was first released it had many glitches and long loading times due to it being sent out while still in development, however, the game has been fixed from that time it was first released in 2006 and is a very fun and will give you plenty of play time ^~^.Dont listen to what people say when they tell you that this is a bad game; its probably one of the best Sonic games out there. When it was first released it had many glitches and long loading times due to it being sent out while still in development, however, the game has been fixed from that time it was first released in 2006 and is a very fun and will give you plenty of play time ^~^. People complain about the plot of the game making no sense at all but does that really matter? Its the gameplay that contributes more to the game then the plot line of it.
    I also ask everyone who gave this game a bad review to play it again and i'll think you'll change your mind about this game
    Expand
  19. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Sonic 06 is great game for ps3 and 360. I love princess elise, sonelise, and the rest. Get sonic 06 for ps3 and 360, It's better than superman for n64.
  20. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    I know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for theI know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for the most part. Sonic and Blaze function better than the others, however. Speaking of characters, there are a lot of them to play as, which adds variety. Loading times are occasionally long, but you won't mind if you are patient like me. Stage missions are a ton of fun, but only half of the town missions are fun. Stage missions vary from character to character. Sonic and Shadow are about the same, except Shadow's missions allow you to use cool vehicles, and Sonic has mach speed in certain levels. Some people think mach speed is difficult, but if you use the light speed dash move to follow ring paths, they are easy. Silver, the other main character, is slower, but he makes up for it by having psychic powers, which allow him to deflect objects at enemies. The maturity of the story is executed better than the game Shadow The Hedgehog. I love the graphics. Rarely has there been more detail in a Sonic game. There is not a single track of music in this game that is bad either. Other editions include gems, which are items that you can buy from stores. They give Sonic some cool powers, including the ability to shrink, extra speed, and flight. Sure, there are a lot of glitches here, but they don't make the game unplayable. In fact, some of the glitches are amusing. The only glitch that I did not like is the one where the characters Rouge and Knuckles are stuck to walls. Other than that, I find nothing really wrong. Its not bad, but it is not really really good. It is perfect for real fans of the series. I have played and beaten both the ps3 and Xbox360 versions of the game and they are exactly the same. Collapse
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  3. If you're willing to withstand the constant onslaught of glaring issues regarding the control, you might be able to revel in some of those aforementioned highlights, but it won't last. In the end, you'll find yourself wishing for the good ol' 16-bit days.