Sonic the Hedgehog PlayStation 3

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 196
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyP.
    Apr 2, 2007
    1
    I played it for 1 hour then put it on eBay and got 75% of my money back! Will never buy a Sonic game ever again.
  2. KevinR.
    Feb 3, 2007
    4
    OK I am a longtime fan of Sonic, and before i went out and got the game i read both positive and negative reviews. after 2 days of playing it now, there are really awesome aspects to the game, but there are far too many downfalls. I heard about the loading times, but my GOD the loading times are SO MUCH WORSE than i could have imagined. I dont know how they could have made it so poorly. OK I am a longtime fan of Sonic, and before i went out and got the game i read both positive and negative reviews. after 2 days of playing it now, there are really awesome aspects to the game, but there are far too many downfalls. I heard about the loading times, but my GOD the loading times are SO MUCH WORSE than i could have imagined. I dont know how they could have made it so poorly. Literally every quest starts like this > Talk to npc quest giver >>> load for 30 seconds >> npc tells you one more line of information about the quest >>> load for 30 more seconds >> play the quest if you fail, you have to go through all the loading over again. it is unimaginably annoying. on top of that, at 1080i resolution, there is a massive amount of framerate slowdown in even the most obscure, unpopulated areas. when you have 3 or more bad guys on you, its like youre playing in slow motion. and the camera, wow. it can make it impossible to play at parts. you cant see where you need to go, or where the powerups are at. and if this all wasn't enough, the voice acting is just terrible. every time you talk to an NPC they all make a one word sound like "Huh?" or "Heyy!" in a really cheesy ps1 quality sound. ug but the gameplay is really fun when you get the alternate characters. thats about the only really great aspect of the game. I would not recommend this game to anyone, it is not worth buying in any way. if you must play it, please rent it, and thatll still set you back $10 and not worth even that Expand
  3. JamesC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    0
    This is the worst PS3 game. It should be called "Loading The Hedgehog" because that's all it does. Load, load, load, and load. Save your money and don't even rent it.
  4. JordanA.
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found it fun to be chased by a tails screaming at you the whole way. This game gives you no clue on what to do. It's pathetic. Luckily Sega made up for Virtua Fighter. Expand
  5. JoshK.
    May 4, 2007
    4
    What was Sega thinking?! Unlike the 360 version of this game, there is nearly nothing good about this P.O.S. Downsides include muddy, undetailed graphics, long(er) loading screens than the 360 version, and more glitches than the original. And to top it off, this game came out 3 months later after the 360 version did, which was more than enough time for Sonic Team to fix the problems of What was Sega thinking?! Unlike the 360 version of this game, there is nearly nothing good about this P.O.S. Downsides include muddy, undetailed graphics, long(er) loading screens than the 360 version, and more glitches than the original. And to top it off, this game came out 3 months later after the 360 version did, which was more than enough time for Sonic Team to fix the problems of the original for the PS3 version. I don't even think this game is worth a rental. Just skip it and play another Sonic game. Or if you must, and you have a 360, pick up the other version, at least it looks pretty and plays smoother. Expand
  6. TonyD.
    Feb 4, 2007
    2
    When I opened the box. I was very excited. I have played a demo of this game and I was looking forward to it's fast moving levels. But instead I am served with a dull boring game. Right away when you have control of Sonic the Frame rate of the game begins to slow the game down at very random moments. The city looks like something out of the original Dreamcast version of Sonic When I opened the box. I was very excited. I have played a demo of this game and I was looking forward to it's fast moving levels. But instead I am served with a dull boring game. Right away when you have control of Sonic the Frame rate of the game begins to slow the game down at very random moments. The city looks like something out of the original Dreamcast version of Sonic Adventure. Even the first action level uses the "whale is chasing me " scenario from that as well. With the power that the PS3 can provide I was disappointed to see that SONIC TEAM did not take advantage of it. Rent if you must but dont be like me and waste your money on this mundane game. Expand
  7. RossL.
    May 19, 2007
    0
    Mega crap! They are trying to make money off a dead franchise they killed with this crappy 3d games in the years.
  8. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    1
    When you finally get to a level, you spend about %20 of the time controlling the character, and the rest of the time just watching sonic bounce off springs and go through loops. the only way to really attack is just pushing jump over and over again. Sega should have put their dev dollars into a 2D game with improved physics. Just because you can do 3D doesn't meen you always should.
  9. Sorcerer289
    Jul 24, 2007
    0
    Damn sega for destroying my favorite game series.
  10. BenD.
    Jul 7, 2007
    3
    If you want a Sonic game that's actually GOOD, there are several options: 1) dust off your Sega Genesis and fire up Sonic 1 or 2, 2) dust off your Dreamcast and fire up Sonic Adventure, or 3) get Sonic and the Secret Rings for the Wii. Sure, all three options involve neglecting your 360 or PS3, but it's better than TORTURING them with this piece of garbage.
  11. SeriE
    May 17, 2009
    0
    What is the worst game you've evr played? ET? Superman 64? Yes there bad, but they were just games. Not big frachises. Sonic the Hedgehog on the 360 and PS3 IS the worst popular franchise game. By this I mean, worse then the worst Mario, the worst Zelda, the worst Street Fighter, the worst EVERYTHING. There are several reasons for this. One is that the story is unecessarily long and What is the worst game you've evr played? ET? Superman 64? Yes there bad, but they were just games. Not big frachises. Sonic the Hedgehog on the 360 and PS3 IS the worst popular franchise game. By this I mean, worse then the worst Mario, the worst Zelda, the worst Street Fighter, the worst EVERYTHING. There are several reasons for this. One is that the story is unecessarily long and boring and contains wait too much humans. It was like an interactive version of Sonic X. The game has too many glitches too count. This may not be a hard game, but you'll come across a glitch here or there that will ruin the experience. Fro example, during the final boss battle I got stuck. Just stuck. I was in the air and...I froze. The game was working and it just froze. Sonic is extremely slow and so are Shadow the Emohog and Silver the Completelyuselessshittyextracharacter...hog. The gameplay just sucks. There is no enjoyment out of it. The controls are awful. Some of the worst i've ever experienced (and i've played SuperMan 64 by the way) Bascially, if anyone ever tells you this game is good then chances are they grew up with Sonic and are in denial that the series sucks and SONIC THE HEDGEHOD IS DEAD!!! Even so, I have a cousin who owns almost every Sonic games (even some of the spinoffs like Sonic Battle on the GBA) and even he says this game is shit. Don't get it. Don't even think about getting it. The only reason you should ever even so much as touch this game, would be if you're a game reviewer looking for a bad game where the jokes practically write themselves (Sonic and Elise beastiality jokes anyone?) Expand
  12. Justin95
    Jul 24, 2009
    1
    I have never been disappointed in any Sonic game until now. They screw up the entire game with glitches, bad controls and completely rushed. If you want to play a 3D Sonic game, better off to play Sonic Adventure 1, 2, and Unleashed. Stay away from this game as far as possible.
  13. DesmondH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    I have played the game all the way through, and it sucks.
  14. ThomasK.
    May 31, 2007
    0
    You know, guys, there's more than one meaning of the word "load" that could be used to describe this game. Permit me to explain... 1) Load (transitive verb): to take ages to read data from the disc i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog. 2) Load (colloquial): crapload of errors with a product i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog. 3) Load (adjective): a load of crap i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog.
  15. o.oo.O
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    camera could be replaced with a drunk monkey and do better... just don't
  16. mrs
    Jan 12, 2009
    0
    i gopt this game from a friend for a half a bottle of vodka..... i rater have the vodka back... crapy storry... horrible gameplay
  17. RemiF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    0
    Worst PS3 game I ever played! The game is full of bad controls, massive slowdowns,suicide-inducing cameras and tons of glitches. I can't believe this is Sonic. Wasn't this supposed to be a good series? Avoid at all cost!
  18. Oct 18, 2010
    1
    Do not buy this game. Avoid at all costs. This game has been known to ruin your childhood. The dark overtones are unfitting in a Sonic game, the controls are absolutely horrible, the art design is uninspired and grim, and just about the only thing redeemable about this game is the music, and even then, Sonic games are known for good soundtracks, so this isn't saying much. This gameDo not buy this game. Avoid at all costs. This game has been known to ruin your childhood. The dark overtones are unfitting in a Sonic game, the controls are absolutely horrible, the art design is uninspired and grim, and just about the only thing redeemable about this game is the music, and even then, Sonic games are known for good soundtracks, so this isn't saying much. This game should have never existed. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    Sonic The Hedgehog (2006) was an ambitious game project for Sonic's 15th Anniversary. Although the game attempted to be the biggest and most diverse Sonic experience to date, the game fell flat on its face and bombed hard from being poorly programmed and being in a state that was not anywhere near completion when it was released for sale. The game's story is a convoluted mess of plot holesSonic The Hedgehog (2006) was an ambitious game project for Sonic's 15th Anniversary. Although the game attempted to be the biggest and most diverse Sonic experience to date, the game fell flat on its face and bombed hard from being poorly programmed and being in a state that was not anywhere near completion when it was released for sale. The game's story is a convoluted mess of plot holes and lack of logic, the level design is a death trap of poorly scripted events and bad design choices, the horrible camera system which behaves oddly all the time, the absurdly long loading times which show lack of programming refinement, the multiplayer aspects are completely unbalanced making it broken, the game's controls are destroyed beyond belief, the various kinds of specialized game play styles are incredibly glitchy and even the basic core mechanics of the game don't function correctly. The only factor of this game that is positive is the music which is diverse and is quite a joy to listen to. This game is quite simply almost unplayable as no care at all was put into beta testing to ensure the quality of the product or to ensure everything functioned properly because the company wanted the game on store shelves by a specific date. This game is a slap in the face to all fans of the Sonic The Hedgehog IP as it slowed that the developers where more interested in making money than attempting to release a high quality, properly functioning and enjoyable product. In conclusion, This game is garbage and a waste of money, steer clear of it at all costs. I would give this game a rating of 0 out of 10, but I'll be generous and give it a 1 out of 10 since it had somewhat decent music. Expand
  20. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    Oh my good lord! I write this in the hope of saving your time and money. I saw the reviews... I knew the reputation... still, I thought; "It can't be that bad! Probably the same quality as Sonic Adventure but without moving it into the next generation very well." So I bought the game.

    This is the worst big budget video game I have ever played. There are bad games on the NES that are
    Oh my good lord! I write this in the hope of saving your time and money. I saw the reviews... I knew the reputation... still, I thought; "It can't be that bad! Probably the same quality as Sonic Adventure but without moving it into the next generation very well." So I bought the game.

    This is the worst big budget video game I have ever played. There are bad games on the NES that are more fun to play. It's broken and unplayable. I feel like Sega has reached into my wallet, stolen my money and flipped the bird to me whilst running off and laughing about it.

    Please... I beg you, IMPLORE you. DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!!
    Expand
  21. May 13, 2011
    3
    It has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too manyIt has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too many glitches and bugs; terrible and often unresponsive controls; peculiar camera; dreadfully long loading screens; and overall, the graphics are disappointing and lackluster. Expand
  22. Mar 24, 2011
    3
    Not the platforming game of the 90s that I remembered. My wife picked it out of a bargin bin for our kids. While the cutscenes are stunning to see on an 52" HDTV, that's about all that's entertaining about this game that tries to develope an Final Fantasy format. My kids don't care to play it past the first hour/ hour and a half. Good thing it didn't cost us much.
  23. May 19, 2011
    3
    Sonic the Hedgehog isn't just the worst Sonic game to date... it's also the worst game of 2006. Pros: Fantastic FMVs; overall, there's a lot of variety in the gameplay. Cons: Far too many glitches to bugs; unresponsive controls and camera; poor level design; it has one of the most cringe-worthy kisses in gaming history, as well as a ridiculous storyline.
  24. Aug 7, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. sonic 06...ugghhhh. this game is balls sonic controls like he did in the other 3d sonic games but slower and given a ton of glitches and downgrades compared to previous games. in certain parts of levels he DECIDES to run fast and these levels control even worst than before such as you cannot move in midair. plus the level design is horrid. tails controls like he did in adventure but his flight is more stiff and during flight tails will randomly loose all momentum and fall.knuckles and rouge control like they did in adventure 2 but they are much slower. tails and rouge both use bombs to attack but they are next to worthles. well at least knuckles can still attack =). knuckles and rouge also have a glitch that when they are climbing walls they get stuck and you will be suck for a long time. shadow controls like sonic but slower and has some worthless attacks to replace useful attacks that sonic had. omega or e - 123 is goddamn game breaking. by mashing the hover button you can fly wherever you want and did i mention he runs faster than sonic? silver is pretty interesting. he can telepathicly pick thiungs up and he can hover for a limited time. but in this game however good comes with a price and that price is he is slow. amy is the worst character in the game. she is like adventure where she already was bad but now... she is to bad to explain. the only character worth playnig as is blaze who is fast and is pretty much what sonc should have been. too bad she has few levels. this game has horrendis load times. be sure to have a snack with you while playing this game. this game however has 1 redeming factor which is the soundtrack. go to truesonic1's youtube chanel to see what i mean. if you have never played this you should pity those who have Expand
  25. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Sonic is the one franchise I will go out of my way to buy a whole console for anymore. Smash Bros is the only other game that has that distinction. Sonic is a series I love and will continue to. Writing this MANY years after the release of this game seems silly and pointless, but this is a game I feel the need to lampoon for two valid reasons. It had A LOT of potential to be the best thingSonic is the one franchise I will go out of my way to buy a whole console for anymore. Smash Bros is the only other game that has that distinction. Sonic is a series I love and will continue to. Writing this MANY years after the release of this game seems silly and pointless, but this is a game I feel the need to lampoon for two valid reasons. It had A LOT of potential to be the best thing to the franchise, but it failed to deliver. The other reason is because I like to use failures such as this to learn from for future titles in this series or other games. Consider this a teaching and learning exercise for all of us.
    The story is fairly standard with Sonic showing up to save a princess from Robotnik/Eggman who has found an evil magic McGuffin to help him take over the world in his vaguely evil plan. The McGuffin turns out to be a real monster that rebels against him and turns into a bigger monster that will destroy all of reality. Sonic is killed and brought back to life DBZ style just in time to take it a step farther and go Super Saiyan along with his buddies Shadow and Silver. So it is pretty much Sonic Adventure but with an added human-character love interest that gets kind of creepy as well as a new story line that pretty much gives Sonic (Goku) a Trunks character in the way of Silver the Hedgehog.
    Each storyline plays out like a different bad train wreck. Each has their own bugs unique to them and it shows just how rushed this game's production was to have so many ideas and not enough time to polish them and make them really stand out. There were some genuinely good ideas here, and I feel like some were even built off from for the currently good games (like Colors or Generations).
    Sonic plays as per the norm except now his controls are worse. His spindash and homing attack have weirder physics to them. He has special sections called "Mach Speed Zones" where he runs at full speed through parts of levels where hitting an obstacle can send him flying off the stage or just lose his rings. Knowing exactly what is an obstacle and what isn't can be tough at times. Controlling his direction is a bit of a challenge like a pig rapist is a bit on the creepy side. These are essentially the worst parts of the game, often taking all your lives and requiring a full-level restart to actually beat. Tails joins Sonic's storyline as a playable character, giving us the SECOND worst part of the game. He handles poorly in the air. His attacks are both stupid and unreliable. On the ground he's somewhat slow. And we're never given much time as Tails to really get handle for the bad controls anyway. Knuckles also joins the fray, but his controls aren't as offensive and his sections are MUCH MUCH shorter and less numerous.
    Shadow brings some of that "Shadow the Hedgehog" gameplay to the table with some vehicles and guns. However, this time, the dev team decided to save time and effort by combining the two instead of having guns and vehicles being separate things. A good idea in theory, as it would reduce the loading times and lag that this game already has instead of making it worse. But trying to drive these uncontrollable monstrosities and shoot at something is about as easy as a mountain lion without being maimed. Not to mention Shadow's gameplay much slower and, at times, tedious because you have to destroy all the enemies in an area to progress and you don't even get the fun Chaos powers from his own game to at least make it bearable. There are sections where you play as Rogue the Bat and Omega. They aren't terrible. Just weird.
    Lastly, there is Silver. He is probably the best main character to play as simply because combat for his sections is much easier and less stressful. His gameplay is also slower, but that's because his levels focus more on exploration, genuine platforming and (a few times) puzzle solving. In the hands of a dev team that was actually trying or had been giving time to make this fun, this would have been the highlight of an otherwise servicable Sonic game. As it stands, his levels are merely PLAYABLE with heap amounts of to help keep this consistent with the rest of the game. Puzzles are not explained well and even if they're figured out, still require massive amount of trail and error. Combat MUST BE with his powers and he can't do anything without them. And the platforming is sometimes unreliable and can even be broken by using your powers to get to places in unintended ways.
    Sonic 2006 is an example of a rushed game with many bold ideas that could have been one of the best games of all time. But whoever was in charge of putting this together didn't have the time needed to make it work. The result was a sloppy mess of a game and probably the biggest mark against the Sonic franchise entirely. I'm glad to see SOME elements of this game have evolved and made their way into more recent games. And, anything deserves a remake, it's this game. A good version of this would be nice.
    Expand
  26. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast!
  27. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The game I am about to review is the worst game I have ever played. In 2006, Sega needed Sonic team to quickly make a game for the new generation of gaming for the PS3 and 360 for the 06 holiday season. The game is so broken that the PS3 version was delayed for early 2007, but NOTHING was fixed for this game. The story is that Sonic falls in love with a princess that can destroy the worldThe game I am about to review is the worst game I have ever played. In 2006, Sega needed Sonic team to quickly make a game for the new generation of gaming for the PS3 and 360 for the 06 holiday season. The game is so broken that the PS3 version was delayed for early 2007, but NOTHING was fixed for this game. The story is that Sonic falls in love with a princess that can destroy the world if she cries. BEASTIALITY FTW. The story eventually becomes repetitive as the princess is always getting kidnapped and rescued. Then they add in 2 other stories where Shadow the Hedgehog must battle a recolor from Deviantart and Silver must save his world 200 years in the future. Shadow's gameplay is like Sonic except it focuses on a combination of speed and combat. Shadow's gameplay is not really good, as there are as many bugs and glitches as Sonic's. And then there is Silver who is a psychic hedgehog who randomly throws objects across the stage. I got this game in the bargain bin for $10 but it was not even worth that. If you even think about buying this game, you will regret it for the rest of your life. Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2015
    4
    Ha ha. This game is so terrible. It took me a month to finally beat it. It gets really boring when you're in Shadow and Silver's campaigns, Sonic's campaign is sorta fun. And the story sucks... but hey, we still have that scene where Shadow kicks Silver in the back of the head to look back on.
  29. Sep 12, 2015
    3
    wow this game was stupid! And really what's with the unnecessary interspecies love interest?!?! Is it always like in her 20s and sonic is 15 so I guess that's statutory rape? XD besides the OBVIOUS unnecessary love interest this game is a glitched out mess that was obviously rushed, funny how they start with the very first cut scene being a CD I cut scene which looked amazing and then youwow this game was stupid! And really what's with the unnecessary interspecies love interest?!?! Is it always like in her 20s and sonic is 15 so I guess that's statutory rape? XD besides the OBVIOUS unnecessary love interest this game is a glitched out mess that was obviously rushed, funny how they start with the very first cut scene being a CD I cut scene which looked amazing and then you go to the crappy gameplay Cut scene that shows up how terrible the graphics are. Fatal frame based on a true story for the PS2 came out in 2001 and they had much better graphics than this. The story was not interesting, playing the same story as three different hedgehogs was not interesting, the love interest was UNNECESSARY, "I wasn't "fast and edgy", and overall this game is a complete flop. I can't see how the sonic fanboys can say this game is "perfect" when it's not it is horribly flawed and it's a glitched out mess. Example: you can't walk in a straight line on the edge of a sidewalk without it getting stuck, if you stand still your AI companions will disappear and respond in their death animation, The environments were completely Bland and low textured and so were the people and monsters. you can really tell this game is rush if they use the same monsters for both Iblis and you can really tell this game is rush if they use the same monsters for both Iblis and mephalis but change the colors so you can tell which group of monsters belong to who. if you're going to bite his game you're better off using the CD shiny side up as a coaster so we can get scratched up and destroyed. Expand
  30. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    This game is broken beyond belief. Playing it is like trying to keep a marble from rolling off of a board as you're trying to hold it. Sonic 06 is an insult.
  31. Jan 25, 2016
    1
    What was this game a true disappointment something that would take forever to play as you would constantly get bored of it and move on to a much better game. This is a warning DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON IT.
  32. Mar 1, 2015
    1
    WOW, I've been a fan of Sonic ever since I was 3 years old and I have played pretty much all of the games. This one is the worst Sonic has ever been. Sure the graphics look nice but everything else is terrible.
    1/10
  33. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    Absolutely atrocious, ridiculously long loading times, incredibly glitchy, one of the worst games ever made, likely a classic example of what happens when you rush a product to meet a deadline.
  34. May 4, 2016
    0
    First game on this site I have given a zero to, and it deserves it on every level. It was rushed, glitchy as hell, lacks charm in characters that are so bland from what they normally are. The game has terrible game design all over the place, even worse with a lack of an auto save function which this game desperately needs.

    It's terrible, legitimately one of the only games I would give a 0 to.
  35. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE THIS IS SERIOUSLY ONE OF THE WORSE GAMES OF ALL TIME I MEAN THE GLITCHES ALL THE GLITCHES I CAN'T STRESS IT ENOUGH I'M ACTUALLY SCARED OF THE GAME PRINCESS ELISE IS ONE OF THE WORSE CHARACTERS EVER YOU SNEEZE OH SHES GONE KIDNAPPED AND THEN YOU SAVE HER ONLY FOR HER TO GET KIDNAPPED FOR THE SECOND TIME ALSO BEASTIALITY IF YOU CAN SIT THROUGH THIS GAME GG MAN gg......I am now dead Expand
  36. Jan 31, 2016
    1
    One of the worst games ever made; terrible controls, terrible frame rate, terrible graphics but worst of all is seeing a humanoid hedgehog kiss a young girl.
  37. Jan 5, 2015
    3
    Garbage bin material, rushed piece of trash and bugzone 101 are the subtitles this "reboot/not reboot" deserves. if you are the kind of person that breaks things in frustration DO NOT TOUCH THIS PRODUCT.
  38. Dec 30, 2014
    1
    Sonic the Hedgehog is a butt ugly game with horrible controls, a horrible story, a horrible camera, and some horrible glitches. This game is truly awful in every sense of the word, but it's a lot of fun when you're playing it with your friends.
  39. Jan 20, 2015
    2
    If anyone sees this game on the shelves at any store, DO NOT BUY THIS. This is one of the worst games of all time. There are several glitches, unfinished stages and graphics and mostly The Story
  40. Feb 8, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is bad! Really bad! The graphics are ok. The game-play is REALLY BAD! The story is kind of hard to follow, I mean, it goes from two peoples perspective, which just messes it up. The game just really lost its "cartoon" feeling. Oh plus Sonic dies. And Oh my gosh... Sonic gets kissed by a human girl, and is but to life. Yeah, I know right? So bottom line... Don't buy this game. Expand
  41. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    I am a huge sonic fan and this is not sonic. This is like they took a piece of crap and put sonic as the label and ran with it. They should be ashamed. I loved sonic on its old systems. This makes Rambo the video game look like a masterpiece. And Rambo the game damn sucks. Sega you need to give sonic up to someone who can bring him back to himself.
  42. Jun 23, 2015
    0
    This game sucks controls are too sensitive like if you barely nudge the control stick to the left you go shooting off to the left What was Sega thinking? This game is evil pure evil this made dynasty warriors Gundam 3 look good I mean come on Sega you used to be good now this piece of crap. Ughh
    Sega you failed
  43. Jul 6, 2015
    3
    As a huge Sonic fan i must say this game is a massive disappointment, not only the problems of camera are awful, the game is unfinished and the story is confusing as hell, the worst game of the blue blur
  44. Jan 21, 2016
    3
    Im here to tell you all this game sucks.the glitches,and the freaking silver boss battle the only good thing about this game is the music which i agree is better than ROL but the cgi are good,and the cutscenes(not the cgi) is just ps2 era,what i really hate about this game is the beastiality eww.Please Do not buy this game 3/10 nothing else to say except ITS NO USE.
  45. Feb 2, 2017
    2
    [ Edited on 2/2/2017 ] Sonic the Hedgehog on the PlayStation 3... before we can get started with the many flaws that made this game a failure, we have to experience how hard this should have been for the Sonic Team if this wasn't rushed to selected marketplaces. Sure, there were great things about it, but that amount of great things is the rarity of a blue moon. Playing this without[ Edited on 2/2/2017 ] Sonic the Hedgehog on the PlayStation 3... before we can get started with the many flaws that made this game a failure, we have to experience how hard this should have been for the Sonic Team if this wasn't rushed to selected marketplaces. Sure, there were great things about it, but that amount of great things is the rarity of a blue moon. Playing this without discovering a bug is nearly impossible and will nearly kill your playtime in pieces. Not only are the glitches the only thing terrible about this. It's the unbearable relationship between human and hedgehog. I'm very glad Elise doesn't appear in any more installments of the franchise but it makes me want to grab a team to make a spin-off game about her only. Silver's introduction was nearly rough and bumpy. Again, you can't deny that the music here is great, but this music can't save a broken game anyways so why bother. Hopefully, the Sonic Team has learned their lessons after this game. Expand
  46. Apr 15, 2016
    1
    I am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There are a beyond measurable amount of glitches in the game which I found really irritating - especially the ones which caused unfair deaths. The camera was terrible - 90% of the time you had to control the camera yourself rather than it being automaticI am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There are a beyond measurable amount of glitches in the game which I found really irritating - especially the ones which caused unfair deaths. The camera was terrible - 90% of the time you had to control the camera yourself rather than it being automatic focus. But it wasn't just the gameplay, it was also the story - the awkward human and hedgehog relationship especially. However, it still gets given 1 instead of 0, reason being is because I did notice two good things the game had - Silver and the music, but those were the only two good things in the game. Expand
  47. Sep 5, 2017
    4
    This was a rushed garbage waiting to happen. If only SEGA allowed more time for the developers to work on, this would've been a decent game. The SUPER glitchy controls to the overall plot, it was very difficult to even finish the game. The plot was messy and the romance between Sonic and Elise was absolute crap. They tried to squish too many characters to the story which made it even moreThis was a rushed garbage waiting to happen. If only SEGA allowed more time for the developers to work on, this would've been a decent game. The SUPER glitchy controls to the overall plot, it was very difficult to even finish the game. The plot was messy and the romance between Sonic and Elise was absolute crap. They tried to squish too many characters to the story which made it even more messier. TBH, the only that made me consider even giving it a 4/10 is the music, crisis city and my childhood. Expand
  48. Jul 3, 2016
    2
    The story is DISGUSTING and uncomfortable. The controls ain't so bad. The game is a glitchfest from start to finish. The graphics look good. The levels are bad cause the glitches. This game sucks!!!!!!!
  49. Jul 6, 2016
    0
    ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NOITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE! its no use Expand
  50. Aug 20, 2016
    1
    Sonic '06 for the PS3 is a very bad game. The PS3 version in particular is not worth 100% completing as you get nothing. No trophy is awarded. The models are at most decent, but the controls are total ass. Sonic and Shadow move slower then they could in previous games. Hub worlds from SA1 return, and they are certainly worse. Bland, glitchy areas with sidequests. You can simply ignoreSonic '06 for the PS3 is a very bad game. The PS3 version in particular is not worth 100% completing as you get nothing. No trophy is awarded. The models are at most decent, but the controls are total ass. Sonic and Shadow move slower then they could in previous games. Hub worlds from SA1 return, and they are certainly worse. Bland, glitchy areas with sidequests. You can simply ignore these quests but some are MANDATORY for getting the game completed, and besides one, they go like this: Start sidequest -> Load -> Text loads -> Mission loads -> Load -> Results screen -> Load -> Hubworld.
    The game isn't good. But the soundtrack is good enough. And the less said about the ending the better.
    Expand
  51. Jan 29, 2017
    2
    So I'm not a big sonic fan, I enjoyed some of the old games but they are a lot of them that are just awful...This is one of them and it's surely the worst one I played.

    The story is terrible, it's long and boring and there is a lot of times where it doesn't make any sense. The characters are equally as terrible, I never liked sonic as a character but here he's just so freaking annoying
    So I'm not a big sonic fan, I enjoyed some of the old games but they are a lot of them that are just awful...This is one of them and it's surely the worst one I played.

    The story is terrible, it's long and boring and there is a lot of times where it doesn't make any sense.
    The characters are equally as terrible, I never liked sonic as a character but here he's just so freaking annoying and The other characters are honestly just bland.

    How is the gameplay? Well it's terrible, everything in this game is a glitchy, broken, nonsensical mess !
    Just by playing the first level, you can see that this game is unfinished.

    In conclusion, stay away from this game, but you probably knew that already
    Expand
  52. Feb 26, 2017
    1
    I hate this game with all my might. I can't believe Sega hauled out this trash to us. The glitches are everywhere, the controls are the worst I've ever experienced, the level design is horrible, and it has bestiality! Thank god for the Wii version of Sonic Unleashed, Sonic Colors, and Sonic Generations for making me forget this dreck... until now.
  53. Mar 9, 2017
    4
    The game itself was not bad ERA PÉSIMO! The game itself would have been a fairly passable game clear if they had finished, the game has many bugs, a story a little loose and was responsible for the decline of one of the most beloved mascots of gaming unfortunately.

    How bad for sonic you do not deserve it friend 4/10
  54. Sep 8, 2017
    4
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2006: Jesus were to begin... ok lets start off with the positives: enjoyable soundtrack, not one of my favorites but still solid, Graphics are pretty nice and at least a decent number of interesting of ideas. Ok now for the... negatives *sigh* well I guess we can start off with horrendous story, disgusting voice acting, poor collision detection, sooooo many scriptedSonic the Hedgehog 2006: Jesus were to begin... ok lets start off with the positives: enjoyable soundtrack, not one of my favorites but still solid, Graphics are pretty nice and at least a decent number of interesting of ideas. Ok now for the... negatives *sigh* well I guess we can start off with horrendous story, disgusting voice acting, poor collision detection, sooooo many scripted scenes, glitches and frustrating mechanics, unnecessary large hub worlds, very sensitive controls and overall not a very fun game, unless if you like rushed games for a holiday I can't recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  55. Sep 24, 2017
    4
    Sonic the hedgehog 2006 for the Xbox 360 and PS3 is not a good game. I consider myself a fan of Sonic and have played alot of his games. Many of those games I enjoyed! This game is not one of them. Alot of your time spent with this game will be spent staring at loading screens which are unrealistically long and serve to do nothing but waste your time. The actual gameplay isn't the best.Sonic the hedgehog 2006 for the Xbox 360 and PS3 is not a good game. I consider myself a fan of Sonic and have played alot of his games. Many of those games I enjoyed! This game is not one of them. Alot of your time spent with this game will be spent staring at loading screens which are unrealistically long and serve to do nothing but waste your time. The actual gameplay isn't the best. The game's story is split into 3 different stories plus an extra story that unlocks after completing those 3. Throughout those 3 stories are at least 3 different playable characters. Sonic, Shadow and newcomer Silver the hedgehog can be seen as the main characters in their respective stories. Tails, Knuckles, Rouge, Omega, Amy Rose and Blaze also appear as playable characters. All 9 of these characters have different gameplay styles and none of them are completely polished. This game was very clearly rushed to make a Christmas 2006 deadline. Why? I don't know and I don't care. All that matters is that the game was rushed and obviously unfinished in many aspects. The game features numerous bugs. Some minor, others massive and game breaking. I'll spare you a list of them here as there are plenty others who have done that already. The plot of this game is an absolute mess. As stated before, the game is split into 3 main stories, meaning the story is also fragmented and split across these 3 stories. Sonic's story mainly involves him attempting to rescue a human named Princess Elise, who has a devastating power locked within her that Dr Eggman wishes to unleash and control. Silver comes from a future devastated by "the flames of disaster known as Iblis". He utilises time travel to arrive in the pressent day and track down the Iblis trigger who, if left alive, will lead to the releasing of the flames of disaster and thus dooming Silver's world. Shadow is an agent for GUN, the Sonic universe's version of the US military. He's sent to track down the missing agent and long time friend of his Rouge the bat as well as the object she was sent to retrieve: the Scepter of Darkness. The story has numerous plot holes and, as a result, can be difficult to follow at times. The graphics look pretty good to me and look like an early Xbox 360 and PS3 title, which is what this game is. Sonic games have a pretty good track record of having great music and Sonic the hedgehog 2006 is no exception to this. I would recommend listening to some of this game's music if you ever get the chance. Now, alot of people, including those on this site, tend to look at glitches and say the make the game unplayable. I would have to disagree. While this game does have glitches that can break the game, so long as you play the game competently and don't go looking for glitches, the only thing thing you'll run into is Knuckles and Rouge getting stuck on walls for long periods of time. But with that said, this isn't the worst game ever made like some people claim it is. I will say it is not a good game, not at all! But I have played worse games in my time as both a Sonic fan and as a gamer in general. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone. Expand
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  3. If you're willing to withstand the constant onslaught of glaring issues regarding the control, you might be able to revel in some of those aforementioned highlights, but it won't last. In the end, you'll find yourself wishing for the good ol' 16-bit days.