Sonic the Hedgehog PlayStation 3

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 172
  2. Negative: 99 out of 172
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2016
    5
    not the most enjoyable sonic game but its definetly not his worst silver is not a good addition to this game he is the worst part about it althought i like sonics gem powers they are really useful
  2. Aug 30, 2016
    9
    Great Game! There are some glitches and some camera problems but It's story and gameplay hides the problems. The story is really long but really exciting and it's really hard to complete the game which makes it better.
  3. Aug 20, 2016
    1
    Sonic '06 for the PS3 is a very bad game. The PS3 version in particular is not worth 100% completing as you get nothing. No trophy is awarded. The models are at most decent, but the controls are total ass. Sonic and Shadow move slower then they could in previous games. Hub worlds from SA1 return, and they are certainly worse. Bland, glitchy areas with sidequests. You can simply ignoreSonic '06 for the PS3 is a very bad game. The PS3 version in particular is not worth 100% completing as you get nothing. No trophy is awarded. The models are at most decent, but the controls are total ass. Sonic and Shadow move slower then they could in previous games. Hub worlds from SA1 return, and they are certainly worse. Bland, glitchy areas with sidequests. You can simply ignore these quests but some are MANDATORY for getting the game completed, and besides one, they go like this: Start sidequest -> Load -> Text loads -> Mission loads -> Load -> Results screen -> Load -> Hubworld.
    The game isn't good. But the soundtrack is good enough. And the less said about the ending the better.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2016
    6
    this game had more potencial than sonic boom, but it was not exploited at all.. but i think is a regular game, i like gameplay and the graphics are regular for that time... i have the game for ps3 so when i played it my first impression was: SEGA!!!!! YOU RUINED A GAME WITH POTENCIAL!!!!
  5. Aug 1, 2016
    5
    It's the bast gam of all time! Sanic is so so so so so so so so FFFFAST! The game is so amazing! It's epic!
    I play is every day! I love it! YEEEEEEEEE!!!! Play it! You wont regret it! This is not SONIC '06! It''s sonic '07!
    It's a diffrent gam!
  6. Jul 6, 2016
    0
    ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NOITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE!ITS NO USE! ITS NO USE! its no use Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2016
    2
    The story is DISGUSTING and uncomfortable. The controls ain't so bad. The game is a glitchfest from start to finish. The graphics look good. The levels are bad cause the glitches. This game sucks!!!!!!!
  8. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. II went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went fast. I went f Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Sonic 06 is great game for ps3 and 360. I love princess elise, sonelise, and the rest. Get sonic 06 for ps3 and 360, It's better than superman for n64.
  10. May 4, 2016
    0
    First game on this site I have given a zero to, and it deserves it on every level. It was rushed, glitchy as hell, lacks charm in characters that are so bland from what they normally are. The game has terrible game design all over the place, even worse with a lack of an auto save function which this game desperately needs.

    It's terrible, legitimately one of the only games I would give a 0 to.
  11. Apr 15, 2016
    1
    I am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There are a beyond measurable amount of glitches in the game which I found really irritating - especially the ones which caused unfair deaths. The camera was terrible - 90% of the time you had to control the camera yourself rather than it being automaticI am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There are a beyond measurable amount of glitches in the game which I found really irritating - especially the ones which caused unfair deaths. The camera was terrible - 90% of the time you had to control the camera yourself rather than it being automatic focus. But it wasn't just the gameplay, it was also the story - the awkward human and hedgehog relationship especially. However, it still gets given 1 instead of 0, reason being is because I did notice two good things the game had - Silver and the music, but those were the only two good things in the game. Expand
  12. Feb 18, 2016
    2
    If you're a Sonic fan or not, you'll most likely be disappointed with this lazily rushed game. Because there's another game with the same name (there's a 1991 game of the same name on the Sega Genesis), people commonly call it Sonic 2006 or Sonic 06 or whatever. This is by far the worst installment to celebrate an anniversary on a franchise ever. (It was made to celebrate 15 years of theIf you're a Sonic fan or not, you'll most likely be disappointed with this lazily rushed game. Because there's another game with the same name (there's a 1991 game of the same name on the Sega Genesis), people commonly call it Sonic 2006 or Sonic 06 or whatever. This is by far the worst installment to celebrate an anniversary on a franchise ever. (It was made to celebrate 15 years of the hedgehog).

    It did, on the other hand, generates us some good ideas. That's the good part about this game. Sadly, everything else is most likely ruined thanks to Sega rushing on the game.
    Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2016
    1
    One of the worst games ever made; terrible controls, terrible frame rate, terrible graphics but worst of all is seeing a humanoid hedgehog kiss a young girl.
  14. Jan 25, 2016
    1
    What was this game a true disappointment something that would take forever to play as you would constantly get bored of it and move on to a much better game. This is a warning DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON IT.
  15. Jan 21, 2016
    3
    Im here to tell you all this game sucks.the glitches,and the freaking silver boss battle the only good thing about this game is the music which i agree is better than ROL but the cgi are good,and the cutscenes(not the cgi) is just ps2 era,what i really hate about this game is the beastiality eww.Please Do not buy this game 3/10 nothing else to say except ITS NO USE.
  16. Jan 10, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had a lot of fun with this game but it was far from a perfect experience. The large variety of playable characters and styles is great with the exception of Amy who I feel was a little lacking in abilities compared to others. Graphics are pretty good but shadow shading is a bit too noticeable at times. Frame rate is not consistent on certain stages (mostly Kingdom Valley and Aquatic Base from my experience). I think the relationship between Sonic and Elise could have been more interesting if Amy were thrown into the mix. If this game were given more development time I am certain that this would have been a great game. Expand
  17. Dec 12, 2015
    10
    Dont listen to what people say when they tell you that this is a bad game; its probably one of the best Sonic games out there. When it was first released it had many glitches and long loading times due to it being sent out while still in development, however, the game has been fixed from that time it was first released in 2006 and is a very fun and will give you plenty of play time ^~^.Dont listen to what people say when they tell you that this is a bad game; its probably one of the best Sonic games out there. When it was first released it had many glitches and long loading times due to it being sent out while still in development, however, the game has been fixed from that time it was first released in 2006 and is a very fun and will give you plenty of play time ^~^. People complain about the plot of the game making no sense at all but does that really matter? Its the gameplay that contributes more to the game then the plot line of it.
    I also ask everyone who gave this game a bad review to play it again and i'll think you'll change your mind about this game
    Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2015
    8
    I am a huge sonic fan and I am truthful so I gave the game a 8. This game is totally underrated and deserves better. The levels have a lot of variety though some are pretty annoying but there is fun even in those levels. I like that the game has a variety of characters and so the story is told in different angles which is good. The Mach stages aren't much fun and it takes practice but notI am a huge sonic fan and I am truthful so I gave the game a 8. This game is totally underrated and deserves better. The levels have a lot of variety though some are pretty annoying but there is fun even in those levels. I like that the game has a variety of characters and so the story is told in different angles which is good. The Mach stages aren't much fun and it takes practice but not much, The music is Once again awesome and nice lush graphics. Sonic's gameplay is the best one, Shadow's are good, silver okay but can get boring at times especially in the hub world, Tails is also okay, knuckles and Rouge is good and may is okay. Overall it's worth the money. Expand
  19. Sep 12, 2015
    3
    wow this game was stupid! And really what's with the unnecessary interspecies love interest?!?! Is it always like in her 20s and sonic is 15 so I guess that's statutory rape? XD besides the OBVIOUS unnecessary love interest this game is a glitched out mess that was obviously rushed, funny how they start with the very first cut scene being a CD I cut scene which looked amazing and then youwow this game was stupid! And really what's with the unnecessary interspecies love interest?!?! Is it always like in her 20s and sonic is 15 so I guess that's statutory rape? XD besides the OBVIOUS unnecessary love interest this game is a glitched out mess that was obviously rushed, funny how they start with the very first cut scene being a CD I cut scene which looked amazing and then you go to the crappy gameplay Cut scene that shows up how terrible the graphics are. Fatal frame based on a true story for the PS2 came out in 2001 and they had much better graphics than this. The story was not interesting, playing the same story as three different hedgehogs was not interesting, the love interest was UNNECESSARY, "I wasn't "fast and edgy", and overall this game is a complete flop. I can't see how the sonic fanboys can say this game is "perfect" when it's not it is horribly flawed and it's a glitched out mess. Example: you can't walk in a straight line on the edge of a sidewalk without it getting stuck, if you stand still your AI companions will disappear and respond in their death animation, The environments were completely Bland and low textured and so were the people and monsters. you can really tell this game is rush if they use the same monsters for both Iblis and you can really tell this game is rush if they use the same monsters for both Iblis and mephalis but change the colors so you can tell which group of monsters belong to who. if you're going to bite his game you're better off using the CD shiny side up as a coaster so we can get scratched up and destroyed. Expand
  20. Aug 21, 2015
    5
    This game is badly broken with so many bad controls and glitches but it does offer some good ideas. The story was ok but it did get very complicated to the point it was almost nonsense.
  21. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    This game is amazing, there is not a single thing wrong with, it is the 2nd best sanic game ever only behind sanic bum rise of lyric. It's the reason to buy a PlayStation 3. SANIC4LIFE
  22. Jul 6, 2015
    3
    As a huge Sonic fan i must say this game is a massive disappointment, not only the problems of camera are awful, the game is unfinished and the story is confusing as hell, the worst game of the blue blur
  23. Jun 27, 2015
    4
    Ha ha. This game is so terrible. It took me a month to finally beat it. It gets really boring when you're in Shadow and Silver's campaigns, Sonic's campaign is sorta fun. And the story sucks... but hey, we still have that scene where Shadow kicks Silver in the back of the head to look back on.
  24. Jun 23, 2015
    0
    This game sucks controls are too sensitive like if you barely nudge the control stick to the left you go shooting off to the left What was Sega thinking? This game is evil pure evil this made dynasty warriors Gundam 3 look good I mean come on Sega you used to be good now this piece of crap. Ughh
    Sega you failed
  25. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    Underrated as all hell. This game has LOTS of qualities. A good enough story, a very swell presentation level, and of course, the gameplay is great. Worth the price nowadays.
  26. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    everyone hates this game but I loved much of the multiplayer modes like the really cool when I play with my sister charismatic characters but the story and many children do not know why this story reminded me of mario
  27. Mar 1, 2015
    1
    WOW, I've been a fan of Sonic ever since I was 3 years old and I have played pretty much all of the games. This one is the worst Sonic has ever been. Sure the graphics look nice but everything else is terrible.
    1/10
  28. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    This game is broken beyond belief. Playing it is like trying to keep a marble from rolling off of a board as you're trying to hold it. Sonic 06 is an insult.
  29. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    I am a huge sonic fan and this is not sonic. This is like they took a piece of crap and put sonic as the label and ran with it. They should be ashamed. I loved sonic on its old systems. This makes Rambo the video game look like a masterpiece. And Rambo the game damn sucks. Sega you need to give sonic up to someone who can bring him back to himself.
  30. Feb 12, 2015
    6
    Sonic The Hedgehog, dubbed "Sonic 06" is a game that was rushed to release to celebrate Sonic's 15th anniversary. Sadly, because of this, its great ambition was missed and has sadly made its way into the gaming hall of shame. But what did I think of this game?

    Starting off, the gameplay has a poor sense of control. Physics are non-existent here and characters move at a mix of either
    Sonic The Hedgehog, dubbed "Sonic 06" is a game that was rushed to release to celebrate Sonic's 15th anniversary. Sadly, because of this, its great ambition was missed and has sadly made its way into the gaming hall of shame. But what did I think of this game?

    Starting off, the gameplay has a poor sense of control. Physics are non-existent here and characters move at a mix of either fairly fast or agonisingly slow paces that can lead to some of the game's greatest problems. All, save for Sonic and Blaze control at a very slow and awkward pace, which is usually accompanied by a poor flight/air mechanic that - if used correctly can increase the player's travel speed. Otherwise this makes the gameplay painful in terms of a Sonic experience control-wise. Since the game defies physics, expect a lot of awkward oddities and glitches that will or will not mess up the game, due to the game's rushed development, the coding also lacks its polish and though some glitches can be seen as funny, many will more than likely annoy the player into rage-quitting. That is if you can find the levels to get into as the hub-world is so gigantic, bland and maze-like that finding your way is about as easy as opening that darn pickle jar and even when you know your way around, it's still bound to take you a fair period of time to get there and all the while being quite boring with the music as your only substance.

    On the plus side of things, the level designs are rather decent and arguably some of them are quite fun and enjoyable... Once you get the hang of it, at least... Many levels follow some cool fun set-pieces and level gimmicks that add some diversity to areas you're playing in. Many times this can be seen as a rollercoaster ride, and can leave a pleasant memorable impact in some cases.

    The music is probably the best part about the game as this game sports an awesome and fairly diverse soundtrack that suits every level well and a few are almost bound to stick with you for some time or put a (sub-conscious) smile on your face. It all in all is great to listen to.

    The visuals are mostly poor and beta-y. save for the CG. Most levels look like they were done in a hurry, fittingly enough though as the game itself was rushed, but that does not excuse shoddy work. Models lacking in a lot of categories, an example being that they barely have mouths, you'll see them only so appear in cutscenes many times, not helped by their lack of facial emotions, and how their characters look so poorly animated and in many ways lifeless. In the CG however, it can look very cinematic and awesome in its own right, the game doesn't hold back in its CG department for presentation.

    The story is one that I could ramble about for a while so I'll make it simple. Don't think about this story. The story is filled with so many problems, plot-holes, and poor logic that it makes it near impossible to make sense out of. The main thing with this story is you can kind of make some sense out of it if you don't think too hard about it. Like Sword Art Online in a sense, if you think deeply about this story, you're only going to make it hard on yourself, and you can't be blamed for it, but at the same time it's good to keep that in mind. But I digress. The story is filled with a lot of serious moments and action that does occasionally make you feel like you're watching a movie of sorts, and does well to get your excited and may satisfy you in one way or another.

    All in all, Sonic 06 is just guilty pleasure worthy, some, namely Sonic fans may like it. However this is not one of the best Sonic games to choose from, anything but, but I would say if you can find it cheap and/or are curious, it may be worth checking out. It's not good, but it can still be enjoyed in some ways.
    Expand
  31. Feb 8, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is bad! Really bad! The graphics are ok. The game-play is REALLY BAD! The story is kind of hard to follow, I mean, it goes from two peoples perspective, which just messes it up. The game just really lost its "cartoon" feeling. Oh plus Sonic dies. And Oh my gosh... Sonic gets kissed by a human girl, and is but to life. Yeah, I know right? So bottom line... Don't buy this game. Expand
  32. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    I can't say this game is bad or good.The music is godly and the game isn't bad when you take the glitches away.I still like the game but some glitches can be annoying and frustrating at times.I still think this game is good.
  33. Jan 20, 2015
    2
    If anyone sees this game on the shelves at any store, DO NOT BUY THIS. This is one of the worst games of all time. There are several glitches, unfinished stages and graphics and mostly The Story
  34. Jan 5, 2015
    3
    Garbage bin material, rushed piece of trash and bugzone 101 are the subtitles this "reboot/not reboot" deserves. if you are the kind of person that breaks things in frustration DO NOT TOUCH THIS PRODUCT.
  35. Dec 30, 2014
    1
    Sonic the Hedgehog is a butt ugly game with horrible controls, a horrible story, a horrible camera, and some horrible glitches. This game is truly awful in every sense of the word, but it's a lot of fun when you're playing it with your friends.
  36. Dec 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game really wasn't that bad, especially with the *spoilers* Fight with what is essentially god in the end. A bit half ***ed yes but still pretty epic. I loved Silver and the reappearance of blaze. The glitches were plentiful but aren't they in every game? There hilarious too, i loved the loop-d-loop floor is the ceiling glitch. Could have gone without the girl-on-hedgehog though. I really wish they'd bring back mephiles though. In my opinion he was the best villain in the series. Eggman's got that vague plan for world domination by making everyone explode from laughing at his stupidity and egg shaped *** and his monsters are ok but mephiles literally KILLED sonic. Usual villians rarely even get close but mephilies looks at sonic, and just shoves a crystal through sonic's chest while everyone playing puts on there best "oh ****" face. The game was bad but forgivable because of the deadline, and i hope one day SEGA remakes it into a none rushed version. Expand
  37. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    Un gioco che ha deluso molti amanti della serie ma che personalmente a me è piaciuto molto,forse avrei preferito che avessero migliorato il gameplay e che avessero diminuito i troppi bug,tuttavia la storia è qualcosa di spettacolare,mi ha saputo coinvolgere dall'inizio alla fine e tra l'altro la colonna sonora è una tra le migliori che io abbia mai ascoltato in un videogioco.
  38. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE THIS IS SERIOUSLY ONE OF THE WORSE GAMES OF ALL TIME I MEAN THE GLITCHES ALL THE GLITCHES I CAN'T STRESS IT ENOUGH I'M ACTUALLY SCARED OF THE GAME PRINCESS ELISE IS ONE OF THE WORSE CHARACTERS EVER YOU SNEEZE OH SHES GONE KIDNAPPED AND THEN YOU SAVE HER ONLY FOR HER TO GET KIDNAPPED FOR THE SECOND TIME ALSO BEASTIALITY IF YOU CAN SIT THROUGH THIS GAME GG MAN gg......I am now dead Expand
  39. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Sonic 06 is an underrated game. Screw the reviews and complaints it gets. This game rules. The stages are fun, the graphics are amazing, the soundtrack is awesome. I know Sonic 06 does have it's problems but that does not make it bad. And also the Silver boss fight is great especially if you are Shadow!
  40. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    Absolutely atrocious, ridiculously long loading times, incredibly glitchy, one of the worst games ever made, likely a classic example of what happens when you rush a product to meet a deadline.
  41. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    This is one of the most underrated games ever! this is one of my favourite sonic games ever, aside from All Stars Racing Transformed and Generations. i will say that the camera controls are bad, and there is one major glitch, but apart from that, this game is a fun one. to start off, the opening cutscene's graphics on the princess's face look Amazing!! the major glitch is the fact that,This is one of the most underrated games ever! this is one of my favourite sonic games ever, aside from All Stars Racing Transformed and Generations. i will say that the camera controls are bad, and there is one major glitch, but apart from that, this game is a fun one. to start off, the opening cutscene's graphics on the princess's face look Amazing!! the major glitch is the fact that, occasionally, you can't get past act 1! i was fortunate to avoid this. Overall, great game. Expand
  42. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    Sonic the Hedgehog for the PS3 is a decent game. The story is really lame, yes, but it had nice ideas, such as time travel, something that was planned to be in Sonic 2, and that would actually work if it was like it was supposed to be in Sonic 2, but it wasn't. The gameplay is solid, but there is a lot of problems, such as dying due a programming mistake, on the first level. Most of theSonic the Hedgehog for the PS3 is a decent game. The story is really lame, yes, but it had nice ideas, such as time travel, something that was planned to be in Sonic 2, and that would actually work if it was like it was supposed to be in Sonic 2, but it wasn't. The gameplay is solid, but there is a lot of problems, such as dying due a programming mistake, on the first level. Most of the time, the game play works for the main characters, but there is a lot of problems with the other characters such as Knuckles, which would cause many glitches while playing as him. The stages are detailed and they have nice designs, but like said earlier, the game have a lot of glitches making those levels unplayable at some points. The soundtrack is amazing, the main theme His World is pretty dang awesome and the final boss themes are actually pretty great. Overall, this could be a good game if Sega didn't rushed it, Sonic the Hedgehog for PS3 is a decent game, with or without glitches with some fun parts. The most fun part of the game is to laugh at the horrible plot with millions of plot holes. Expand
  43. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    This game is a bit underrated. The game has a lot of bugs and glitches, storyline isn't much interesting, loading screen always lasts around 22 seconds (yes, i did count that), it lags from time to time and characters are very slow compared to every other game in franchise. Music on the other hand is really catchy and i stays for a long time in head. Most of glitches can be avoided in someThis game is a bit underrated. The game has a lot of bugs and glitches, storyline isn't much interesting, loading screen always lasts around 22 seconds (yes, i did count that), it lags from time to time and characters are very slow compared to every other game in franchise. Music on the other hand is really catchy and i stays for a long time in head. Most of glitches can be avoided in some way. I really enjoyed the game but I would not pay more than 15$ for it. Expand
  44. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    It's not the worst Sonic game. For Sonic's story, Radical Train and a couple of other levels were fun, but some of the levels on Sonic's story sucked. For Shadow's story, same as Sonic's. And for Silver, he was the worse. I gave it a 5 because, look at the negative reviews, and because some of the levels were good.
  45. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Sonic is the one franchise I will go out of my way to buy a whole console for anymore. Smash Bros is the only other game that has that distinction. Sonic is a series I love and will continue to. Writing this MANY years after the release of this game seems silly and pointless, but this is a game I feel the need to lampoon for two valid reasons. It had A LOT of potential to be the best thingSonic is the one franchise I will go out of my way to buy a whole console for anymore. Smash Bros is the only other game that has that distinction. Sonic is a series I love and will continue to. Writing this MANY years after the release of this game seems silly and pointless, but this is a game I feel the need to lampoon for two valid reasons. It had A LOT of potential to be the best thing to the franchise, but it failed to deliver. The other reason is because I like to use failures such as this to learn from for future titles in this series or other games. Consider this a teaching and learning exercise for all of us.
    The story is fairly standard with Sonic showing up to save a princess from Robotnik/Eggman who has found an evil magic McGuffin to help him take over the world in his vaguely evil plan. The McGuffin turns out to be a real monster that rebels against him and turns into a bigger monster that will destroy all of reality. Sonic is killed and brought back to life DBZ style just in time to take it a step farther and go Super Saiyan along with his buddies Shadow and Silver. So it is pretty much Sonic Adventure but with an added human-character love interest that gets kind of creepy as well as a new story line that pretty much gives Sonic (Goku) a Trunks character in the way of Silver the Hedgehog.
    Each storyline plays out like a different bad train wreck. Each has their own bugs unique to them and it shows just how rushed this game's production was to have so many ideas and not enough time to polish them and make them really stand out. There were some genuinely good ideas here, and I feel like some were even built off from for the currently good games (like Colors or Generations).
    Sonic plays as per the norm except now his controls are worse. His spindash and homing attack have weirder physics to them. He has special sections called "Mach Speed Zones" where he runs at full speed through parts of levels where hitting an obstacle can send him flying off the stage or just lose his rings. Knowing exactly what is an obstacle and what isn't can be tough at times. Controlling his direction is a bit of a challenge like a pig rapist is a bit on the creepy side. These are essentially the worst parts of the game, often taking all your lives and requiring a full-level restart to actually beat. Tails joins Sonic's storyline as a playable character, giving us the SECOND worst part of the game. He handles poorly in the air. His attacks are both stupid and unreliable. On the ground he's somewhat slow. And we're never given much time as Tails to really get handle for the bad controls anyway. Knuckles also joins the fray, but his controls aren't as offensive and his sections are MUCH MUCH shorter and less numerous.
    Shadow brings some of that "Shadow the Hedgehog" gameplay to the table with some vehicles and guns. However, this time, the dev team decided to save time and effort by combining the two instead of having guns and vehicles being separate things. A good idea in theory, as it would reduce the loading times and lag that this game already has instead of making it worse. But trying to drive these uncontrollable monstrosities and shoot at something is about as easy as a mountain lion without being maimed. Not to mention Shadow's gameplay much slower and, at times, tedious because you have to destroy all the enemies in an area to progress and you don't even get the fun Chaos powers from his own game to at least make it bearable. There are sections where you play as Rogue the Bat and Omega. They aren't terrible. Just weird.
    Lastly, there is Silver. He is probably the best main character to play as simply because combat for his sections is much easier and less stressful. His gameplay is also slower, but that's because his levels focus more on exploration, genuine platforming and (a few times) puzzle solving. In the hands of a dev team that was actually trying or had been giving time to make this fun, this would have been the highlight of an otherwise servicable Sonic game. As it stands, his levels are merely PLAYABLE with heap amounts of to help keep this consistent with the rest of the game. Puzzles are not explained well and even if they're figured out, still require massive amount of trail and error. Combat MUST BE with his powers and he can't do anything without them. And the platforming is sometimes unreliable and can even be broken by using your powers to get to places in unintended ways.
    Sonic 2006 is an example of a rushed game with many bold ideas that could have been one of the best games of all time. But whoever was in charge of putting this together didn't have the time needed to make it work. The result was a sloppy mess of a game and probably the biggest mark against the Sonic franchise entirely. I'm glad to see SOME elements of this game have evolved and made their way into more recent games. And, anything deserves a remake, it's this game. A good version of this would be nice.
    Expand
  46. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    A great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platformA great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platform feel to it with his telekinesis. Overall its a great game. Expand
  47. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver.people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver. (not the coolest hedgehog but still ok) overall i give this a 9/10. and believe it or not, i meant everything i said. Expand
  48. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    Sonic The Hedgehog (2006) was an ambitious game project for Sonic's 15th Anniversary. Although the game attempted to be the biggest and most diverse Sonic experience to date, the game fell flat on its face and bombed hard from being poorly programmed and being in a state that was not anywhere near completion when it was released for sale. The game's story is a convoluted mess of plot holesSonic The Hedgehog (2006) was an ambitious game project for Sonic's 15th Anniversary. Although the game attempted to be the biggest and most diverse Sonic experience to date, the game fell flat on its face and bombed hard from being poorly programmed and being in a state that was not anywhere near completion when it was released for sale. The game's story is a convoluted mess of plot holes and lack of logic, the level design is a death trap of poorly scripted events and bad design choices, the horrible camera system which behaves oddly all the time, the absurdly long loading times which show lack of programming refinement, the multiplayer aspects are completely unbalanced making it broken, the game's controls are destroyed beyond belief, the various kinds of specialized game play styles are incredibly glitchy and even the basic core mechanics of the game don't function correctly. The only factor of this game that is positive is the music which is diverse and is quite a joy to listen to. This game is quite simply almost unplayable as no care at all was put into beta testing to ensure the quality of the product or to ensure everything functioned properly because the company wanted the game on store shelves by a specific date. This game is a slap in the face to all fans of the Sonic The Hedgehog IP as it slowed that the developers where more interested in making money than attempting to release a high quality, properly functioning and enjoyable product. In conclusion, This game is garbage and a waste of money, steer clear of it at all costs. I would give this game a rating of 0 out of 10, but I'll be generous and give it a 1 out of 10 since it had somewhat decent music. Expand
  49. Nov 17, 2012
    5
    Darn it! I fought this game looked good! But it's not too great, because of..... The slow down is infuriating, it horribly breaks up the whole game, it would be a lot more fluent and fast-paced if it was fixed. The hub-world is super-boring and badly designed, you don't get enough information on how to get to the next level and you get stuck in it for hours, also the slow down is extra-badDarn it! I fought this game looked good! But it's not too great, because of..... The slow down is infuriating, it horribly breaks up the whole game, it would be a lot more fluent and fast-paced if it was fixed. The hub-world is super-boring and badly designed, you don't get enough information on how to get to the next level and you get stuck in it for hours, also the slow down is extra-bad when you're in it, Sonic games are best when they have either a small and simple hub-world or no hub-world at all, it annoyingly breaks up the proper experience of the game, the levels. The extra characters that you sometimes play as are not good, they have sucky abilities and are nothing on the main characters. The level design is kinda hard to get through and would be better if it was simpler. The pace of the game is extremely slow for a Sonic games, especially when playing as Amy, she runs at like, 1 mile an hour! The puzzles on the Silver levels could be good but are badly done. The vehicles in the Shadow levels are pointless and hardly turn up. A couple of the bosses are the most infuriating and rubbish bosses I've ever come across, for example: Shadow vs. Silver, and Sonic vs. Silver. The last level is horrifyingly awful. But there are good things about the game..... The story line is interesting and well-written. The cut-scenes are cool, especially the CGI ones. The controls work pretty well. The sonic levels are actually pretty good (they'd be a heck of a lot better if the slow down was gone and if it was more fast-paced, well, the same goes for every character's levels...). Some of the bosses are great. The menus work well. The whole feel of the game is good. That's about it. To conclude: this game was a huge disappointment which is sometimes a pain to play, Sega could of made it loads better if they just revised it and fixed a lot of things, all we'd have to do is wait for a year or two. Total score: 4.9/10. Expand
  50. TDF
    Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I just want to say, the hate this game gets is entirely irrational and unfounded. Never has a game had such marvelous skyboxes, in fact I daresay this game presents to us the finest skyboxes in the ENTIRE GAMING INDUSTRY. Indeed as an expert connoisseur of video games as art I am qualified to say that Sonic 06 is not only a work of art but it is indeed a revolutionary masterpiece that noI just want to say, the hate this game gets is entirely irrational and unfounded. Never has a game had such marvelous skyboxes, in fact I daresay this game presents to us the finest skyboxes in the ENTIRE GAMING INDUSTRY. Indeed as an expert connoisseur of video games as art I am qualified to say that Sonic 06 is not only a work of art but it is indeed a revolutionary masterpiece that no developer could possibly hope to match. Well perhaps the fine video game design that is Pacman World 2 could compare, but honestly it's a long shot; Sonic 06 is simply too beautiful a cloud amidst the skybox that is the video game industry for anyone to compete with.

    Incidentally, Neo, will you marry me?
    Expand
  51. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The game I am about to review is the worst game I have ever played. In 2006, Sega needed Sonic team to quickly make a game for the new generation of gaming for the PS3 and 360 for the 06 holiday season. The game is so broken that the PS3 version was delayed for early 2007, but NOTHING was fixed for this game. The story is that Sonic falls in love with a princess that can destroy the worldThe game I am about to review is the worst game I have ever played. In 2006, Sega needed Sonic team to quickly make a game for the new generation of gaming for the PS3 and 360 for the 06 holiday season. The game is so broken that the PS3 version was delayed for early 2007, but NOTHING was fixed for this game. The story is that Sonic falls in love with a princess that can destroy the world if she cries. BEASTIALITY FTW. The story eventually becomes repetitive as the princess is always getting kidnapped and rescued. Then they add in 2 other stories where Shadow the Hedgehog must battle a recolor from Deviantart and Silver must save his world 200 years in the future. Shadow's gameplay is like Sonic except it focuses on a combination of speed and combat. Shadow's gameplay is not really good, as there are as many bugs and glitches as Sonic's. And then there is Silver who is a psychic hedgehog who randomly throws objects across the stage. I got this game in the bargain bin for $10 but it was not even worth that. If you even think about buying this game, you will regret it for the rest of your life. Expand
  52. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast!
  53. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!!
  54. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    I know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for theI know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for the most part. Sonic and Blaze function better than the others, however. Speaking of characters, there are a lot of them to play as, which adds variety. Loading times are occasionally long, but you won't mind if you are patient like me. Stage missions are a ton of fun, but only half of the town missions are fun. Stage missions vary from character to character. Sonic and Shadow are about the same, except Shadow's missions allow you to use cool vehicles, and Sonic has mach speed in certain levels. Some people think mach speed is difficult, but if you use the light speed dash move to follow ring paths, they are easy. Silver, the other main character, is slower, but he makes up for it by having psychic powers, which allow him to deflect objects at enemies. The maturity of the story is executed better than the game Shadow The Hedgehog. I love the graphics. Rarely has there been more detail in a Sonic game. There is not a single track of music in this game that is bad either. Other editions include gems, which are items that you can buy from stores. They give Sonic some cool powers, including the ability to shrink, extra speed, and flight. Sure, there are a lot of glitches here, but they don't make the game unplayable. In fact, some of the glitches are amusing. The only glitch that I did not like is the one where the characters Rouge and Knuckles are stuck to walls. Other than that, I find nothing really wrong. Its not bad, but it is not really really good. It is perfect for real fans of the series. I have played and beaten both the ps3 and Xbox360 versions of the game and they are exactly the same. Expand
  55. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I saw this game has lots of hate, but when i played the game myself.. i didn't feel like hating it or calling it bad... because it actually was an awesome fun game to play, and as i am a sonic fan i totally loved it!
    But yeah everyone has his own opinion of course, but i don't care about the others, I LOVE THIS GAME AND I NEVER GONNA GIVE IT AWAY! its actually one of my best games in my
    I saw this game has lots of hate, but when i played the game myself.. i didn't feel like hating it or calling it bad... because it actually was an awesome fun game to play, and as i am a sonic fan i totally loved it!
    But yeah everyone has his own opinion of course, but i don't care about the others, I LOVE THIS GAME AND I NEVER GONNA GIVE IT AWAY! its actually one of my best games in my collection =D
    Expand
  56. Aug 7, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. sonic 06...ugghhhh. this game is balls sonic controls like he did in the other 3d sonic games but slower and given a ton of glitches and downgrades compared to previous games. in certain parts of levels he DECIDES to run fast and these levels control even worst than before such as you cannot move in midair. plus the level design is horrid. tails controls like he did in adventure but his flight is more stiff and during flight tails will randomly loose all momentum and fall.knuckles and rouge control like they did in adventure 2 but they are much slower. tails and rouge both use bombs to attack but they are next to worthles. well at least knuckles can still attack =). knuckles and rouge also have a glitch that when they are climbing walls they get stuck and you will be suck for a long time. shadow controls like sonic but slower and has some worthless attacks to replace useful attacks that sonic had. omega or e - 123 is goddamn game breaking. by mashing the hover button you can fly wherever you want and did i mention he runs faster than sonic? silver is pretty interesting. he can telepathicly pick thiungs up and he can hover for a limited time. but in this game however good comes with a price and that price is he is slow. amy is the worst character in the game. she is like adventure where she already was bad but now... she is to bad to explain. the only character worth playnig as is blaze who is fast and is pretty much what sonc should have been. too bad she has few levels. this game has horrendis load times. be sure to have a snack with you while playing this game. this game however has 1 redeming factor which is the soundtrack. go to truesonic1's youtube chanel to see what i mean. if you have never played this you should pity those who have Expand
  57. May 19, 2011
    3
    Sonic the Hedgehog isn't just the worst Sonic game to date... it's also the worst game of 2006. Pros: Fantastic FMVs; overall, there's a lot of variety in the gameplay. Cons: Far too many glitches to bugs; unresponsive controls and camera; poor level design; it has one of the most cringe-worthy kisses in gaming history, as well as a ridiculous storyline.
  58. May 13, 2011
    3
    It has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too manyIt has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too many glitches and bugs; terrible and often unresponsive controls; peculiar camera; dreadfully long loading screens; and overall, the graphics are disappointing and lackluster. Expand
  59. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    Ok ok I admit that the game is ugly but I liked it, and much, even if actually has many flaws including
    often slow
    bad audio
    bad video bad gameplay
    and a minute to load on a mission equally poor and slow. .. but I liked the game and if it deserves a sufficiency
  60. Mar 24, 2011
    3
    Not the platforming game of the 90s that I remembered. My wife picked it out of a bargin bin for our kids. While the cutscenes are stunning to see on an 52" HDTV, that's about all that's entertaining about this game that tries to develope an Final Fantasy format. My kids don't care to play it past the first hour/ hour and a half. Good thing it didn't cost us much.
  61. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    Oh my good lord! I write this in the hope of saving your time and money. I saw the reviews... I knew the reputation... still, I thought; "It can't be that bad! Probably the same quality as Sonic Adventure but without moving it into the next generation very well." So I bought the game.

    This is the worst big budget video game I have ever played. There are bad games on the NES that are
    Oh my good lord! I write this in the hope of saving your time and money. I saw the reviews... I knew the reputation... still, I thought; "It can't be that bad! Probably the same quality as Sonic Adventure but without moving it into the next generation very well." So I bought the game.

    This is the worst big budget video game I have ever played. There are bad games on the NES that are more fun to play. It's broken and unplayable. I feel like Sega has reached into my wallet, stolen my money and flipped the bird to me whilst running off and laughing about it.

    Please... I beg you, IMPLORE you. DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!!
    Expand
  62. Oct 18, 2010
    1
    Do not buy this game. Avoid at all costs. This game has been known to ruin your childhood. The dark overtones are unfitting in a Sonic game, the controls are absolutely horrible, the art design is uninspired and grim, and just about the only thing redeemable about this game is the music, and even then, Sonic games are known for good soundtracks, so this isn't saying much. This gameDo not buy this game. Avoid at all costs. This game has been known to ruin your childhood. The dark overtones are unfitting in a Sonic game, the controls are absolutely horrible, the art design is uninspired and grim, and just about the only thing redeemable about this game is the music, and even then, Sonic games are known for good soundtracks, so this isn't saying much. This game should have never existed. Expand
  63. Justin95
    Jul 24, 2009
    1
    I have never been disappointed in any Sonic game until now. They screw up the entire game with glitches, bad controls and completely rushed. If you want to play a 3D Sonic game, better off to play Sonic Adventure 1, 2, and Unleashed. Stay away from this game as far as possible.
  64. SeriE
    May 17, 2009
    0
    What is the worst game you've evr played? ET? Superman 64? Yes there bad, but they were just games. Not big frachises. Sonic the Hedgehog on the 360 and PS3 IS the worst popular franchise game. By this I mean, worse then the worst Mario, the worst Zelda, the worst Street Fighter, the worst EVERYTHING. There are several reasons for this. One is that the story is unecessarily long and What is the worst game you've evr played? ET? Superman 64? Yes there bad, but they were just games. Not big frachises. Sonic the Hedgehog on the 360 and PS3 IS the worst popular franchise game. By this I mean, worse then the worst Mario, the worst Zelda, the worst Street Fighter, the worst EVERYTHING. There are several reasons for this. One is that the story is unecessarily long and boring and contains wait too much humans. It was like an interactive version of Sonic X. The game has too many glitches too count. This may not be a hard game, but you'll come across a glitch here or there that will ruin the experience. Fro example, during the final boss battle I got stuck. Just stuck. I was in the air and...I froze. The game was working and it just froze. Sonic is extremely slow and so are Shadow the Emohog and Silver the Completelyuselessshittyextracharacter...hog. The gameplay just sucks. There is no enjoyment out of it. The controls are awful. Some of the worst i've ever experienced (and i've played SuperMan 64 by the way) Bascially, if anyone ever tells you this game is good then chances are they grew up with Sonic and are in denial that the series sucks and SONIC THE HEDGEHOD IS DEAD!!! Even so, I have a cousin who owns almost every Sonic games (even some of the spinoffs like Sonic Battle on the GBA) and even he says this game is shit. Don't get it. Don't even think about getting it. The only reason you should ever even so much as touch this game, would be if you're a game reviewer looking for a bad game where the jokes practically write themselves (Sonic and Elise beastiality jokes anyone?) Expand
  65. mrs
    Jan 12, 2009
    0
    i gopt this game from a friend for a half a bottle of vodka..... i rater have the vodka back... crapy storry... horrible gameplay
  66. o.oo.O
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    camera could be replaced with a drunk monkey and do better... just don't
  67. bkk
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    This game is good. It may have it's flaw but but that doesn't the fact that the story is incredibly detailed.
  68. ryant
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Good game but suggestion to sega, continue with shadows style in Shadow the Hedgehog, add weapons, cursing and make it cool again.
  69. DesmondH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    I have played the game all the way through, and it sucks.
  70. RemiF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    0
    Worst PS3 game I ever played! The game is full of bad controls, massive slowdowns,suicide-inducing cameras and tons of glitches. I can't believe this is Sonic. Wasn't this supposed to be a good series? Avoid at all cost!
  71. JosephE.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    The game it self is very good. the story line for the first time is great. the idea of the futue and the past meet the present is very simialar to Chrono Trigger in the idea only but it is the best sonic game to date based on grapics and gameplay :) Go sonic Go!!!
  72. Sorcerer289
    Jul 24, 2007
    0
    Damn sega for destroying my favorite game series.
  73. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    1
    When you finally get to a level, you spend about %20 of the time controlling the character, and the rest of the time just watching sonic bounce off springs and go through loops. the only way to really attack is just pushing jump over and over again. Sega should have put their dev dollars into a 2D game with improved physics. Just because you can do 3D doesn't meen you always should.
  74. BenD.
    Jul 7, 2007
    3
    If you want a Sonic game that's actually GOOD, there are several options: 1) dust off your Sega Genesis and fire up Sonic 1 or 2, 2) dust off your Dreamcast and fire up Sonic Adventure, or 3) get Sonic and the Secret Rings for the Wii. Sure, all three options involve neglecting your 360 or PS3, but it's better than TORTURING them with this piece of garbage.
  75. SethS.
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    Attention anyone who is wanting to play this game. Dont listen to critics. never listen to critics, or the idiots who are saying this game sucks. My favorite game monster hunter got like a 5.1 overall, because noone plays it all the way. And just for the record, why is everyone downing all the new sonic games? Sonic Adventure battle 2 is awesome! now don't get me wrong this game has Attention anyone who is wanting to play this game. Dont listen to critics. never listen to critics, or the idiots who are saying this game sucks. My favorite game monster hunter got like a 5.1 overall, because noone plays it all the way. And just for the record, why is everyone downing all the new sonic games? Sonic Adventure battle 2 is awesome! now don't get me wrong this game has many some flaws, lots of loading, mindless missions on the street that have nothing to do with the story. So those of you who just love making fun of sonic, go ahead, but my fellow sonic fans, this one isn't half bad. Expand
  76. ThomasK.
    May 31, 2007
    0
    You know, guys, there's more than one meaning of the word "load" that could be used to describe this game. Permit me to explain... 1) Load (transitive verb): to take ages to read data from the disc i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog. 2) Load (colloquial): crapload of errors with a product i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog. 3) Load (adjective): a load of crap i.e. Sonic The Hedgehog.
  77. RossL.
    May 19, 2007
    0
    Mega crap! They are trying to make money off a dead franchise they killed with this crappy 3d games in the years.
  78. JoshK.
    May 4, 2007
    4
    What was Sega thinking?! Unlike the 360 version of this game, there is nearly nothing good about this P.O.S. Downsides include muddy, undetailed graphics, long(er) loading screens than the 360 version, and more glitches than the original. And to top it off, this game came out 3 months later after the 360 version did, which was more than enough time for Sonic Team to fix the problems of What was Sega thinking?! Unlike the 360 version of this game, there is nearly nothing good about this P.O.S. Downsides include muddy, undetailed graphics, long(er) loading screens than the 360 version, and more glitches than the original. And to top it off, this game came out 3 months later after the 360 version did, which was more than enough time for Sonic Team to fix the problems of the original for the PS3 version. I don't even think this game is worth a rental. Just skip it and play another Sonic game. Or if you must, and you have a 360, pick up the other version, at least it looks pretty and plays smoother. Expand
  79. AndyP.
    Apr 2, 2007
    1
    I played it for 1 hour then put it on eBay and got 75% of my money back! Will never buy a Sonic game ever again.
  80. JordanA.
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found it fun to be chased by a tails screaming at you the whole way. This game gives you no clue on what to do. It's pathetic. Luckily Sega made up for Virtua Fighter. Expand
  81. JamesC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    0
    This is the worst PS3 game. It should be called "Loading The Hedgehog" because that's all it does. Load, load, load, and load. Save your money and don't even rent it.
  82. TonyD.
    Feb 4, 2007
    2
    When I opened the box. I was very excited. I have played a demo of this game and I was looking forward to it's fast moving levels. But instead I am served with a dull boring game. Right away when you have control of Sonic the Frame rate of the game begins to slow the game down at very random moments. The city looks like something out of the original Dreamcast version of Sonic When I opened the box. I was very excited. I have played a demo of this game and I was looking forward to it's fast moving levels. But instead I am served with a dull boring game. Right away when you have control of Sonic the Frame rate of the game begins to slow the game down at very random moments. The city looks like something out of the original Dreamcast version of Sonic Adventure. Even the first action level uses the "whale is chasing me " scenario from that as well. With the power that the PS3 can provide I was disappointed to see that SONIC TEAM did not take advantage of it. Rent if you must but dont be like me and waste your money on this mundane game. Expand
  83. KevinR.
    Feb 3, 2007
    4
    OK I am a longtime fan of Sonic, and before i went out and got the game i read both positive and negative reviews. after 2 days of playing it now, there are really awesome aspects to the game, but there are far too many downfalls. I heard about the loading times, but my GOD the loading times are SO MUCH WORSE than i could have imagined. I dont know how they could have made it so poorly. OK I am a longtime fan of Sonic, and before i went out and got the game i read both positive and negative reviews. after 2 days of playing it now, there are really awesome aspects to the game, but there are far too many downfalls. I heard about the loading times, but my GOD the loading times are SO MUCH WORSE than i could have imagined. I dont know how they could have made it so poorly. Literally every quest starts like this > Talk to npc quest giver >>> load for 30 seconds >> npc tells you one more line of information about the quest >>> load for 30 more seconds >> play the quest if you fail, you have to go through all the loading over again. it is unimaginably annoying. on top of that, at 1080i resolution, there is a massive amount of framerate slowdown in even the most obscure, unpopulated areas. when you have 3 or more bad guys on you, its like youre playing in slow motion. and the camera, wow. it can make it impossible to play at parts. you cant see where you need to go, or where the powerups are at. and if this all wasn't enough, the voice acting is just terrible. every time you talk to an NPC they all make a one word sound like "Huh?" or "Heyy!" in a really cheesy ps1 quality sound. ug but the gameplay is really fun when you get the alternate characters. thats about the only really great aspect of the game. I would not recommend this game to anyone, it is not worth buying in any way. if you must play it, please rent it, and thatll still set you back $10 and not worth even that Expand
  84. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!!
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  3. If you're willing to withstand the constant onslaught of glaring issues regarding the control, you might be able to revel in some of those aforementioned highlights, but it won't last. In the end, you'll find yourself wishing for the good ol' 16-bit days.