User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 106
  2. Negative: 62 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    Ok ok I admit that the game is ugly but I liked it, and much, even if actually has many flaws including
    often slow
    bad audio
    bad video bad gameplay
    and a minute to load on a mission equally poor and slow. .. but I liked the game and if it deserves a sufficiency
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    1
    Do not buy this game. Avoid at all costs. This game has been known to ruin your childhood. The dark overtones are unfitting in a Sonic game, the controls are absolutely horrible, the art design is uninspired and grim, and just about the only thing redeemable about this game is the music, and even then, Sonic games are known for good soundtracks, so this isn't saying much. This game should have never existed. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    Sonic The Hedgehog (2006) was an ambitious game project for Sonic's 15th Anniversary. Although the game attempted to be the biggest and most diverse Sonic experience to date, the game fell flat on its face and bombed hard from being poorly programmed and being in a state that was not anywhere near completion when it was released for sale. The game's story is a convoluted mess of plot holes and lack of logic, the level design is a death trap of poorly scripted events and bad design choices, the horrible camera system which behaves oddly all the time, the absurdly long loading times which show lack of programming refinement, the multiplayer aspects are completely unbalanced making it broken, the game's controls are destroyed beyond belief, the various kinds of specialized game play styles are incredibly glitchy and even the basic core mechanics of the game don't function correctly. The only factor of this game that is positive is the music which is diverse and is quite a joy to listen to. This game is quite simply almost unplayable as no care at all was put into beta testing to ensure the quality of the product or to ensure everything functioned properly because the company wanted the game on store shelves by a specific date. This game is a slap in the face to all fans of the Sonic The Hedgehog IP as it slowed that the developers where more interested in making money than attempting to release a high quality, properly functioning and enjoyable product. In conclusion, This game is garbage and a waste of money, steer clear of it at all costs. I would give this game a rating of 0 out of 10, but I'll be generous and give it a 1 out of 10 since it had somewhat decent music. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2011
    3
    Not the platforming game of the 90s that I remembered. My wife picked it out of a bargin bin for our kids. While the cutscenes are stunning to see on an 52" HDTV, that's about all that's entertaining about this game that tries to develope an Final Fantasy format. My kids don't care to play it past the first hour/ hour and a half. Good thing it didn't cost us much.
  5. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I saw this game has lots of hate, but when i played the game myself.. i didn't feel like hating it or calling it bad... because it actually was an awesome fun game to play, and as i am a sonic fan i totally loved it!
    But yeah everyone has his own opinion of course, but i don't care about the others, I LOVE THIS GAME AND I NEVER GONNA GIVE IT AWAY! its actually one of my best games in my
    collection =D Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!!
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    Oh my good lord! I write this in the hope of saving your time and money. I saw the reviews... I knew the reputation... still, I thought; "It can't be that bad! Probably the same quality as Sonic Adventure but without moving it into the next generation very well." So I bought the game.

    This is the worst big budget video game I have ever played. There are bad games on the NES that are
    more fun to play. It's broken and unplayable. I feel like Sega has reached into my wallet, stolen my money and flipped the bird to me whilst running off and laughing about it.

    Please... I beg you, IMPLORE you. DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!!
    Expand
  8. May 13, 2011
    3
    It has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too many glitches and bugs; terrible and often unresponsive controls; peculiar camera; dreadfully long loading screens; and overall, the graphics are disappointing and lackluster. Expand
  9. May 19, 2011
    3
    Sonic the Hedgehog isn't just the worst Sonic game to date... it's also the worst game of 2006. Pros: Fantastic FMVs; overall, there's a lot of variety in the gameplay. Cons: Far too many glitches to bugs; unresponsive controls and camera; poor level design; it has one of the most cringe-worthy kisses in gaming history, as well as a ridiculous storyline.
  10. Aug 7, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. sonic 06...ugghhhh. this game is balls sonic controls like he did in the other 3d sonic games but slower and given a ton of glitches and downgrades compared to previous games. in certain parts of levels he DECIDES to run fast and these levels control even worst than before such as you cannot move in midair. plus the level design is horrid. tails controls like he did in adventure but his flight is more stiff and during flight tails will randomly loose all momentum and fall.knuckles and rouge control like they did in adventure 2 but they are much slower. tails and rouge both use bombs to attack but they are next to worthles. well at least knuckles can still attack =). knuckles and rouge also have a glitch that when they are climbing walls they get stuck and you will be suck for a long time. shadow controls like sonic but slower and has some worthless attacks to replace useful attacks that sonic had. omega or e - 123 is goddamn game breaking. by mashing the hover button you can fly wherever you want and did i mention he runs faster than sonic? silver is pretty interesting. he can telepathicly pick thiungs up and he can hover for a limited time. but in this game however good comes with a price and that price is he is slow. amy is the worst character in the game. she is like adventure where she already was bad but now... she is to bad to explain. the only character worth playnig as is blaze who is fast and is pretty much what sonc should have been. too bad she has few levels. this game has horrendis load times. be sure to have a snack with you while playing this game. this game however has 1 redeming factor which is the soundtrack. go to truesonic1's youtube chanel to see what i mean. if you have never played this you should pity those who have Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Sonic is the one franchise I will go out of my way to buy a whole console for anymore. Smash Bros is the only other game that has that distinction. Sonic is a series I love and will continue to. Writing this MANY years after the release of this game seems silly and pointless, but this is a game I feel the need to lampoon for two valid reasons. It had A LOT of potential to be the best thing to the franchise, but it failed to deliver. The other reason is because I like to use failures such as this to learn from for future titles in this series or other games. Consider this a teaching and learning exercise for all of us.
    The story is fairly standard with Sonic showing up to save a princess from Robotnik/Eggman who has found an evil magic McGuffin to help him take over the world in his vaguely evil plan. The McGuffin turns out to be a real monster that rebels against him and turns into a bigger monster that will destroy all of reality. Sonic is killed and brought back to life DBZ style just in time to take it a step farther and go Super Saiyan along with his buddies Shadow and Silver. So it is pretty much Sonic Adventure but with an added human-character love interest that gets kind of creepy as well as a new story line that pretty much gives Sonic (Goku) a Trunks character in the way of Silver the Hedgehog.
    Each storyline plays out like a different bad train wreck. Each has their own bugs unique to them and it shows just how rushed this game's production was to have so many ideas and not enough time to polish them and make them really stand out. There were some genuinely good ideas here, and I feel like some were even built off from for the currently good games (like Colors or Generations).
    Sonic plays as per the norm except now his controls are worse. His spindash and homing attack have weirder physics to them. He has special sections called "Mach Speed Zones" where he runs at full speed through parts of levels where hitting an obstacle can send him flying off the stage or just lose his rings. Knowing exactly what is an obstacle and what isn't can be tough at times. Controlling his direction is a bit of a challenge like a pig rapist is a bit on the creepy side. These are essentially the worst parts of the game, often taking all your lives and requiring a full-level restart to actually beat. Tails joins Sonic's storyline as a playable character, giving us the SECOND worst part of the game. He handles poorly in the air. His attacks are both stupid and unreliable. On the ground he's somewhat slow. And we're never given much time as Tails to really get handle for the bad controls anyway. Knuckles also joins the fray, but his controls aren't as offensive and his sections are MUCH MUCH shorter and less numerous.
    Shadow brings some of that "Shadow the Hedgehog" gameplay to the table with some vehicles and guns. However, this time, the dev team decided to save time and effort by combining the two instead of having guns and vehicles being separate things. A good idea in theory, as it would reduce the loading times and lag that this game already has instead of making it worse. But trying to drive these uncontrollable monstrosities and shoot at something is about as easy as a mountain lion without being maimed. Not to mention Shadow's gameplay much slower and, at times, tedious because you have to destroy all the enemies in an area to progress and you don't even get the fun Chaos powers from his own game to at least make it bearable. There are sections where you play as Rogue the Bat and Omega. They aren't terrible. Just weird.
    Lastly, there is Silver. He is probably the best main character to play as simply because combat for his sections is much easier and less stressful. His gameplay is also slower, but that's because his levels focus more on exploration, genuine platforming and (a few times) puzzle solving. In the hands of a dev team that was actually trying or had been giving time to make this fun, this would have been the highlight of an otherwise servicable Sonic game. As it stands, his levels are merely PLAYABLE with heap amounts of to help keep this consistent with the rest of the game. Puzzles are not explained well and even if they're figured out, still require massive amount of trail and error. Combat MUST BE with his powers and he can't do anything without them. And the platforming is sometimes unreliable and can even be broken by using your powers to get to places in unintended ways.
    Sonic 2006 is an example of a rushed game with many bold ideas that could have been one of the best games of all time. But whoever was in charge of putting this together didn't have the time needed to make it work. The result was a sloppy mess of a game and probably the biggest mark against the Sonic franchise entirely. I'm glad to see SOME elements of this game have evolved and made their way into more recent games. And, anything deserves a remake, it's this game. A good version of this would be nice.
    Expand
  12. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    I know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for the most part. Sonic and Blaze function better than the others, however. Speaking of characters, there are a lot of them to play as, which adds variety. Loading times are occasionally long, but you won't mind if you are patient like me. Stage missions are a ton of fun, but only half of the town missions are fun. Stage missions vary from character to character. Sonic and Shadow are about the same, except Shadow's missions allow you to use cool vehicles, and Sonic has mach speed in certain levels. Some people think mach speed is difficult, but if you use the light speed dash move to follow ring paths, they are easy. Silver, the other main character, is slower, but he makes up for it by having psychic powers, which allow him to deflect objects at enemies. The maturity of the story is executed better than the game Shadow The Hedgehog. I love the graphics. Rarely has there been more detail in a Sonic game. There is not a single track of music in this game that is bad either. Other editions include gems, which are items that you can buy from stores. They give Sonic some cool powers, including the ability to shrink, extra speed, and flight. Sure, there are a lot of glitches here, but they don't make the game unplayable. In fact, some of the glitches are amusing. The only glitch that I did not like is the one where the characters Rouge and Knuckles are stuck to walls. Other than that, I find nothing really wrong. Its not bad, but it is not really really good. It is perfect for real fans of the series. I have played and beaten both the ps3 and Xbox360 versions of the game and they are exactly the same. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2012
    5
    Darn it! I fought this game looked good! But it's not too great, because of..... The slow down is infuriating, it horribly breaks up the whole game, it would be a lot more fluent and fast-paced if it was fixed. The hub-world is super-boring and badly designed, you don't get enough information on how to get to the next level and you get stuck in it for hours, also the slow down is extra-bad when you're in it, Sonic games are best when they have either a small and simple hub-world or no hub-world at all, it annoyingly breaks up the proper experience of the game, the levels. The extra characters that you sometimes play as are not good, they have sucky abilities and are nothing on the main characters. The level design is kinda hard to get through and would be better if it was simpler. The pace of the game is extremely slow for a Sonic games, especially when playing as Amy, she runs at like, 1 mile an hour! The puzzles on the Silver levels could be good but are badly done. The vehicles in the Shadow levels are pointless and hardly turn up. A couple of the bosses are the most infuriating and rubbish bosses I've ever come across, for example: Shadow vs. Silver, and Sonic vs. Silver. The last level is horrifyingly awful. But there are good things about the game..... The story line is interesting and well-written. The cut-scenes are cool, especially the CGI ones. The controls work pretty well. The sonic levels are actually pretty good (they'd be a heck of a lot better if the slow down was gone and if it was more fast-paced, well, the same goes for every character's levels...). Some of the bosses are great. The menus work well. The whole feel of the game is good. That's about it. To conclude: this game was a huge disappointment which is sometimes a pain to play, Sega could of made it loads better if they just revised it and fixed a lot of things, all we'd have to do is wait for a year or two. Total score: 4.9/10. Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast! Gotta go fast!
  15. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The game I am about to review is the worst game I have ever played. In 2006, Sega needed Sonic team to quickly make a game for the new generation of gaming for the PS3 and 360 for the 06 holiday season. The game is so broken that the PS3 version was delayed for early 2007, but NOTHING was fixed for this game. The story is that Sonic falls in love with a princess that can destroy the world if she cries. BEASTIALITY FTW. The story eventually becomes repetitive as the princess is always getting kidnapped and rescued. Then they add in 2 other stories where Shadow the Hedgehog must battle a recolor from Deviantart and Silver must save his world 200 years in the future. Shadow's gameplay is like Sonic except it focuses on a combination of speed and combat. Shadow's gameplay is not really good, as there are as many bugs and glitches as Sonic's. And then there is Silver who is a psychic hedgehog who randomly throws objects across the stage. I got this game in the bargain bin for $10 but it was not even worth that. If you even think about buying this game, you will regret it for the rest of your life. Expand
  16. TDF
    Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I just want to say, the hate this game gets is entirely irrational and unfounded. Never has a game had such marvelous skyboxes, in fact I daresay this game presents to us the finest skyboxes in the ENTIRE GAMING INDUSTRY. Indeed as an expert connoisseur of video games as art I am qualified to say that Sonic 06 is not only a work of art but it is indeed a revolutionary masterpiece that no developer could possibly hope to match. Well perhaps the fine video game design that is Pacman World 2 could compare, but honestly it's a long shot; Sonic 06 is simply too beautiful a cloud amidst the skybox that is the video game industry for anyone to compete with.

    Incidentally, Neo, will you marry me?
    Expand
  17. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver. (not the coolest hedgehog but still ok) overall i give this a 9/10. and believe it or not, i meant everything i said. Expand
  18. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    A great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platform feel to it with his telekinesis. Overall its a great game. Expand
  19. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    It's not the worst Sonic game. For Sonic's story, Radical Train and a couple of other levels were fun, but some of the levels on Sonic's story sucked. For Shadow's story, same as Sonic's. And for Silver, he was the worse. I gave it a 5 because, look at the negative reviews, and because some of the levels were good.
  20. Oct 26, 2014
    7
    This game has some serious problems, like huge frame drops, getting stuck in walls, bugs, glitches and very long loading times, but in the end, the game isn't THAT bad as everybody says. The funny thing is, these problems make this game a bigger challenge for hardcore gamers.

    The game has pretty good aspects, like a great soundtrack, good voice acting, great presentation, lots of
    collectibles, lots of missions and awesome CGI cutscenes.

    The gameplay in this game is okay / mediocre. The gameplay itself is great, but the weird controls with Tails, the getting-stuck-in-wall glitch with Knuckles and Rouge, framerate slowdowns and extreme loading times hurt the overall gameplay experience. The game has it's fun moments, but these problems make it very frustrating for me to play this game.

    The concept of the story is absolutely awesome and Silver and Mephiles are great characters (Elise not so much, lol), but the story itself is confusing and weird (I am looking at you, Elise), and has a lot of plot holes.

    Overall, (counting ALL aspects of the game), the game isn't that bad. Okay, the gameplay is not that great and the game has some serious problems, but it has it's fun moments.

    I really want Sonic Team to give this game a extreme make over, because this game has a lot of potential. The remake should be renamed to Sonic Adventure 3, because that is what this game actually is.
    Expand
  21. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Sonic 06 is an underrated game. Screw the reviews and complaints it gets. This game rules. The stages are fun, the graphics are amazing, the soundtrack is awesome. I know Sonic 06 does have it's problems but that does not make it bad. And also the Silver boss fight is great especially if you are Shadow!
  22. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    This game is a bit underrated. The game has a lot of bugs and glitches, storyline isn't much interesting, loading screen always lasts around 22 seconds (yes, i did count that), it lags from time to time and characters are very slow compared to every other game in franchise. Music on the other hand is really catchy and i stays for a long time in head. Most of glitches can be avoided in some way. I really enjoyed the game but I would not pay more than 15$ for it. Expand
  23. Oct 4, 2014
    6
    This game is glitchy like if you walk on the line where the sidewalk and road meet you get stuck. Your partner disappears and randomly response in their dying animation. I love that shadow is in this game and I hope he gets to be in more games in the future and maybe another one of his own. I love how you can play the story in 3 perspectives though sonic, silver and shadow. The graphics make it look like a bad ps3 game but a good ps2 game. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    Sonic the Hedgehog for the PS3 is a decent game. The story is really lame, yes, but it had nice ideas, such as time travel, something that was planned to be in Sonic 2, and that would actually work if it was like it was supposed to be in Sonic 2, but it wasn't. The gameplay is solid, but there is a lot of problems, such as dying due a programming mistake, on the first level. Most of the time, the game play works for the main characters, but there is a lot of problems with the other characters such as Knuckles, which would cause many glitches while playing as him. The stages are detailed and they have nice designs, but like said earlier, the game have a lot of glitches making those levels unplayable at some points. The soundtrack is amazing, the main theme His World is pretty dang awesome and the final boss themes are actually pretty great. Overall, this could be a good game if Sega didn't rushed it, Sonic the Hedgehog for PS3 is a decent game, with or without glitches with some fun parts. The most fun part of the game is to laugh at the horrible plot with millions of plot holes. Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    This is one of the most underrated games ever! this is one of my favourite sonic games ever, aside from All Stars Racing Transformed and Generations. i will say that the camera controls are bad, and there is one major glitch, but apart from that, this game is a fun one. to start off, the opening cutscene's graphics on the princess's face look Amazing!! the major glitch is the fact that, occasionally, you can't get past act 1! i was fortunate to avoid this. Overall, great game. Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    I love this game myself! I know it has lots of glitches and bad stuffs, but there are deeper meanings behind all this. Plus, i turned the negatives into positives. It's a great Sonic game!! those who despise it, f*** YOU!!!
  27. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    Absolutely atrocious, ridiculously long loading times, incredibly glitchy, one of the worst games ever made, likely a classic example of what happens when you rush a product to meet a deadline.
  28. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE THIS IS SERIOUSLY ONE OF THE WORSE GAMES OF ALL TIME I MEAN THE GLITCHES ALL THE GLITCHES I CAN'T STRESS IT ENOUGH I'M ACTUALLY SCARED OF THE GAME PRINCESS ELISE IS ONE OF THE WORSE CHARACTERS EVER YOU SNEEZE OH SHES GONE KIDNAPPED AND THEN YOU SAVE HER ONLY FOR HER TO GET KIDNAPPED FOR THE SECOND TIME ALSO BEASTIALITY IF YOU CAN SIT THROUGH THIS GAME GG MAN gg......I am now dead Expand
  29. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    Un gioco che ha deluso molti amanti della serie ma che personalmente a me è piaciuto molto,forse avrei preferito che avessero migliorato il gameplay e che avessero diminuito i troppi bug,tuttavia la storia è qualcosa di spettacolare,mi ha saputo coinvolgere dall'inizio alla fine e tra l'altro la colonna sonora è una tra le migliori che io abbia mai ascoltato in un videogioco.
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  3. If you're willing to withstand the constant onslaught of glaring issues regarding the control, you might be able to revel in some of those aforementioned highlights, but it won't last. In the end, you'll find yourself wishing for the good ol' 16-bit days.