Sonic the Hedgehog PlayStation 3

Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Games Master UK
    57
    Some good ideas and lush graphics marred by bad game design. [Apr 2007, p.66]
  3. It is worth a rent, however, just to savour the few good bits, laugh at all the glitches... and to start crying when you remember what Sonic games used to be like in the '90s. Sob.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    40
    The most muddled and irritating Sonic game yet. [May 2007, p.110]
  5. Wrought with visual glitches and pre-existing issues with poor camera angles, the mixture of zippy running missions grows tedious at near-Sonic speed, with limited control and boring exploration sequences. This one hits a brick wall, for sure.
  6. Pure Magazine UK
    40
    Possibly the lowest point in Sonic gaming, sloppy camera and terrible level design let this down badly. [Mar 2007, p.53]
  7. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. Its like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 77
  2. Negative: 46 out of 77
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be aThis Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!! Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Sonic 06 is an underrated game. Screw the reviews and complaints it gets. This game rules. The stages are fun, the graphics are amazing, theSonic 06 is an underrated game. Screw the reviews and complaints it gets. This game rules. The stages are fun, the graphics are amazing, the soundtrack is awesome. I know Sonic 06 does have it's problems but that does not make it bad. And also the Silver boss fight is great especially if you are Shadow! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    A great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whackA great game. A rushed development but its not half bad. The problems is that it has a alot of glitches and the story is very out of whack but its actually something to enjoy playing. Great gameplay, a magnificent soundtrack and just a fun game. In this game, speed is not a priority... Sonic is speed based, Shadow is based on more of a combat feel to it, and Silver has the platform feel to it with his telekinesis. Overall its a great game. Expand
  4. May 19, 2011
    3
    Sonic the Hedgehog isn't just the worst Sonic game to date... it's also the worst game of 2006. Pros: Fantastic FMVs; overall, there's a lotSonic the Hedgehog isn't just the worst Sonic game to date... it's also the worst game of 2006. Pros: Fantastic FMVs; overall, there's a lot of variety in the gameplay. Cons: Far too many glitches to bugs; unresponsive controls and camera; poor level design; it has one of the most cringe-worthy kisses in gaming history, as well as a ridiculous storyline. Expand
  5. DesmondH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    I have played the game all the way through, and it sucks.
  6. Justin95
    Jul 24, 2009
    1
    I have never been disappointed in any Sonic game until now. They screw up the entire game with glitches, bad controls and completely rushed. I have never been disappointed in any Sonic game until now. They screw up the entire game with glitches, bad controls and completely rushed. If you want to play a 3D Sonic game, better off to play Sonic Adventure 1, 2, and Unleashed. Stay away from this game as far as possible. Expand
  7. JordanA.
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found it fun to be chased by a tails screaming at you the whole way. This game gives you no clue on what to do. It's pathetic. Luckily Sega made up for Virtua Fighter. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews