Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Games Master UK
    57
    Some good ideas and lush graphics marred by bad game design. [Apr 2007, p.66]
  3. It is worth a rent, however, just to savour the few good bits, laugh at all the glitches... and to start crying when you remember what Sonic games used to be like in the '90s. Sob.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    40
    The most muddled and irritating Sonic game yet. [May 2007, p.110]
  5. Wrought with visual glitches and pre-existing issues with poor camera angles, the mixture of zippy running missions grows tedious at near-Sonic speed, with limited control and boring exploration sequences. This one hits a brick wall, for sure.
  6. Pure Magazine UK
    40
    Possibly the lowest point in Sonic gaming, sloppy camera and terrible level design let this down badly. [Mar 2007, p.53]
  7. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. Its like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 94
  2. Negative: 59 out of 94
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be aThis Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!! Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2016
    9
    Great Game! There are some glitches and some camera problems but It's story and gameplay hides the problems. The story is really long butGreat Game! There are some glitches and some camera problems but It's story and gameplay hides the problems. The story is really long but really exciting and it's really hard to complete the game which makes it better. Expand
  3. ryant
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Good game but suggestion to sega, continue with shadows style in Shadow the Hedgehog, add weapons, cursing and make it cool again.
  4. Feb 8, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is bad! Really bad! The graphics are ok. The game-play is REALLY BAD! The story is kind of hard to follow, I mean, it goes from two peoples perspective, which just messes it up. The game just really lost its "cartoon" feeling. Oh plus Sonic dies. And Oh my gosh... Sonic gets kissed by a human girl, and is but to life. Yeah, I know right? So bottom line... Don't buy this game. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2017
    2
    So I'm not a big sonic fan, I enjoyed some of the old games but they are a lot of them that are just awful...This is one of them and it'sSo I'm not a big sonic fan, I enjoyed some of the old games but they are a lot of them that are just awful...This is one of them and it's surely the worst one I played.

    The story is terrible, it's long and boring and there is a lot of times where it doesn't make any sense.
    The characters are equally as terrible, I never liked sonic as a character but here he's just so freaking annoying and The other characters are honestly just bland.

    How is the gameplay? Well it's terrible, everything in this game is a glitchy, broken, nonsensical mess !
    Just by playing the first level, you can see that this game is unfinished.

    In conclusion, stay away from this game, but you probably knew that already
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2016
    1
    I am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There areI am a huge fan of Sonic, but some of the games in his series like this one are just absolutely terrible. This one is just torture! There are a beyond measurable amount of glitches in the game which I found really irritating - especially the ones which caused unfair deaths. The camera was terrible - 90% of the time you had to control the camera yourself rather than it being automatic focus. But it wasn't just the gameplay, it was also the story - the awkward human and hedgehog relationship especially. However, it still gets given 1 instead of 0, reason being is because I did notice two good things the game had - Silver and the music, but those were the only two good things in the game. Expand
  7. JordanA.
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found it fun to be chased by a tails screaming at you the whole way. This game gives you no clue on what to do. It's pathetic. Luckily Sega made up for Virtua Fighter. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews