Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Some good ideas and lush graphics marred by bad game design. [Apr 2007, p.66]
  3. It is worth a rent, however, just to savour the few good bits, laugh at all the glitches... and to start crying when you remember what Sonic games used to be like in the '90s. Sob.
  4. Possibly the lowest point in Sonic gaming, sloppy camera and terrible level design let this down badly. [Mar 2007, p.53]
  5. Thanks in part to an atrocious camera, extremely dislikeable characters and a handful of amazingly frustrating sticking points, all this iteration of Sonic The Hedgehog manages to achieve is a yearning for the old days. [Apr 2007, p.129]
  6. Wrought with visual glitches and pre-existing issues with poor camera angles, the mixture of zippy running missions grows tedious at near-Sonic speed, with limited control and boring exploration sequences. This one hits a brick wall, for sure.
  7. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. Its like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 43
  2. Negative: 27 out of 43
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!! Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    people might say this is the worst game in the sonic series but i say its one of the best. not THE best but one of them. in my opinion this game has a great story,variety, and (i mean it) game play. the only thing it lacks is the physics and dr. Eggman. i one stood still on a loop de loop and was unable to move in that snow boarding stage. it is also the game that silver came from silver. (not the coolest hedgehog but still ok) overall i give this a 9/10. and believe it or not, i meant everything i said. Expand
  3. ryant
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Good game but suggestion to sega, continue with shadows style in Shadow the Hedgehog, add weapons, cursing and make it cool again.
  4. May 13, 2011
    3
    It has some good ideas, but unfortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog is just too overly flawed. In stead of giving fans of the 15-year-old Sonic series the best, SEGA gave them the worst. Pros: The best visuals in a Sonic game to date; fantastic cutscenes; some of the Sonic stages are fast and impressive, while Shadow's and Silver's offer some unique adventure elements as well. Cons: Far too many glitches and bugs; terrible and often unresponsive controls; peculiar camera; dreadfully long loading screens; and overall, the graphics are disappointing and lackluster. Expand
  5. TonyD.
    Feb 4, 2007
    2
    When I opened the box. I was very excited. I have played a demo of this game and I was looking forward to it's fast moving levels. But instead I am served with a dull boring game. Right away when you have control of Sonic the Frame rate of the game begins to slow the game down at very random moments. The city looks like something out of the original Dreamcast version of Sonic Adventure. Even the first action level uses the "whale is chasing me " scenario from that as well. With the power that the PS3 can provide I was disappointed to see that SONIC TEAM did not take advantage of it. Rent if you must but dont be like me and waste your money on this mundane game. Expand
  6. AndyP.
    Apr 2, 2007
    1
    I played it for 1 hour then put it on eBay and got 75% of my money back! Will never buy a Sonic game ever again.
  7. JordanA.
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life. I know Sonic Team can make something better than this. I mean why don't they just call it "The Loading Game", because that's all it really does. Enter mission--load--, explain mission--load--, say one more line--load-- and your finally in the mission. And the missions are terrible as well. And the beginning? Who found it fun to be chased by a tails screaming at you the whole way. This game gives you no clue on what to do. It's pathetic. Luckily Sega made up for Virtua Fighter. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews