• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    The best Move game available, and one of the best motion game experiences on any platform I've experienced.
  2. May 25, 2012
    83
    So, in the end, I had a good time with Sorcery and was glad that The Workshop was able to put together a quality PlayStation Move fantasy action title. It has some really nice ideas, along with solid Move controls, and is worth looking into if you're in the market for some PS Move magic.
  3. May 28, 2012
    82
    Move's best game yet. Accurate spell-casting fun set in a charming magical world. [July 2012, p.85]
  4. You can mix and match potions, which is very addictive, but also makes you look like a 5-year-old as you're using the Move controller like a spoon to stir. Luckily these potions are really helpful and sometimes even necessary, thanks to the pretty tough boss battles. [June 2012, p.90]
  5. Minor gripes aside, Sorcery offers up an absorbing adventure and fluid spell-casting controls, making it the most fun we've had behind the Move and a must-play for wizard wannabes of all ages. [Aug 2012, p.81]
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    Sorcery isn't the game that will bring the hardcore to the Move. It's not the game that makes the Move indispensible. In fact, there's little or nothing that couldn't have just been mapped to a standard controller. But it's a novel and polished experience that offers something fun for the younger player, while their gaming parents can at least appreciate it objectively. They may even end up finishing it, while no one is looking. It's a surprisingly enjoyable experience.
  7. May 25, 2012
    80
    It is not the ultimate PlayStation Move, but it makes great use of its possibilities in an adventure oriented to traditional users. One of the first Move games that can appeal to hardcore players.
  8. May 22, 2012
    80
    On the one hand, this game really shows how the Move can be extremely entertaining, even if it doesn't necessarily showcase its technological capability. There's also the lovely presentation and style, which I adore, and the variety, accessibility, and pacing that really turned out great. On the other hand, it's too short, the advanced spells don't always work, and adults may find it a tad underwhelming.
  9. May 22, 2012
    80
    A thought that kept coming back to me was that maybe this game should've been released along with the Move controller to give it a stronger launch. Perhaps, but the fact remains. Sorcery is an entertaining game.
  10. May 22, 2012
    80
    Although it has a short campaign and lack of replay value, Sorcery is the best title for the PlayStation Move and it's full of quality.
  11. May 22, 2012
    80
    Sorcery is a magically told adventure that might thrill the young and the young at heart.
  12. Adventurers both young and old will appreciate the frantic battles against a range of fairytale monsters in medieval villages and deep underground caverns. As if by magic, it seems that Move has finally found its happily ever after.
  13. Jun 20, 2012
    78
    Sorcery is maybe the first PlayStation Move game that core gamer can enjoy. The game offers nice graphics and a very good gameplay. Only the camera control is poor.
  14. Jun 18, 2012
    78
    Sorcery does have a few minor shortcomings, but overall it's a beautifully presented Move title, which is surprisingly fun to play. Your budding young wizards will most likely love it.
  15. Jun 5, 2012
    78
    A natural fit with the Move controller's abilities. It comes at the cost of polish though - this level of visuals and combat wouldn't stand in a regular blockbuster. [July 2012, p.102]
  16. Jun 17, 2012
    76
    Sorcery is fun and uses motion control in a way that doesn't make you want to claw your eyes out. It's shallow and short, though. [Issue#219, p.76]
  17. May 24, 2012
    76
    Solid execution of motion controls makes this a delight to play. Your only objection will come from your own exhaustion of wizardry.
  18. Oct 13, 2012
    75
    A decent action adventure with heavy emphasis on magical battles. It's almost a shooting game, which is a kind of disappointing. [Aug 2012]
  19. Jul 9, 2012
    75
    Finally, a PlayStation Move game that seems to matter. It's a bit too short and also a bit too simple, but in the end you will remember this colorful platform game as an enriching Move experience.
  20. May 29, 2012
    75
    In the end, Sorcery is an enjoyable game that can be played by both adults and children alike. Just be warned that the difficulty level is a little on the easier side and it should take most gamers around 8 or so hours to complete.
  21. May 28, 2012
    75
    Sorcery offers a very cool way of using the PlayStation Move and brings a funny story suitable for any age. That is why it is a shame that he rest of the game offers very little content. The story is about zeven hours long and doesn't trigger the player to keep playing. Overall it's still a game that every Move-owner should get a taste of.
  22. May 21, 2012
    75
    One of the best PlayStation Move games, but I think most gamers will question why and how Sorcery took so long to create. With a short adventure, no replay value and no online functionality to speak of, Sorcery is a one-off. A fun one-off, for sure, but a one-off that likely won't push PlayStation Move controllers off the shelves.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. May 23, 2012
    10
    I'm now a proud Move owner who has the best PSMove game ever made. The controls are as good as they can possibly be. The game isn't onI'm now a proud Move owner who has the best PSMove game ever made. The controls are as good as they can possibly be. The game isn't on rails, there are tons of areas to explore off the main path with treasure to find and puzzles to solve. The Boss fights are challenging and the higher difficulty settings make you really pay attention to how you use your spells. And just because the game is short doesn't mean you you don't have reasons to play it again; there are lots of achievements and alchemy recipies to try.

    I think the small number of negative reviews have been a result of not knowing how to use the controller. You don't have to "repeatedly pretend you are hitting a nail with a hammer", although if you want to play that way and be bored you can. I have a lot more fun swinging the wand sideways - like trying to skip a stone across water - to get my magic missiles to curve around stuff that enemies are hiding behind.

    Also, if you have been playing Wii games then you are probably at a loss for how the Move actually works... it's WAY more accurate and sensitive to how you hold it. If you want to shoot magic bolts up high, you actually have to AIM HIGH. Shaking it around like a rattle will get you nowhere, the game takes actual SKILL, which is a rare thing for games these days.

    The one drawback is that there is no multiplayer or co-op, but I guess that was never in the cards to begin with and you can't fault a developer for focusing on doing one thing well. And since I can't give it a 9.5, I guess I'll have to round up. :)
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    Sorcery is a beautiful game; crafting, fighting and magic, what more can a person ask for? The environments and characters are fantastic, theSorcery is a beautiful game; crafting, fighting and magic, what more can a person ask for? The environments and characters are fantastic, the game play is super fun, and the story holds my attention as I progress through each level. I finally have a good reason to own a PlayStation Move. Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2012
    8
    The best Move game available on the console. Although when you really think about it, it's not much of an accolade to have hanging from yourThe best Move game available on the console. Although when you really think about it, it's not much of an accolade to have hanging from your chest. Despite the obvious lack of quality Move titles I found enough reasons to 'borrow' my girlfriends Move for the week. Sorcery is a simple title. You play a sorcerer's apprentice by the name of Finn in a world greatly inspired by Irish mythology, the kind of thing that was stuffed down into my bedtime stories as a child in rural Ireland. The plot is simple, it weaves an interesting reason to keep playing. But that's not why we're here. How does the game cope with the Move? Surprisingly well actually. It's one of the few games which feels very responsive and in tune with the game, rather than just relying on the 'wag for your dear little life' approach. Aim is important, the ideas and motions behind the spells and powers are relatable to the actions performed in the game. But while offering quite a few powers and options for combat, you'll quickly fall into the trap of becoming too comfortable with maybe two or three particular powers and then proceed to neglect some of the later spells. Still, despite the issues and the limitations Sorcery succeeds in becoming the best reason to own a Move. So far at least. Full Review »