• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 55
  2. Negative: 10 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2012
    6
    What's there to say about Sorcery? It's decent. It IS indeed one of the better PS move titles but there aren't many good move titles so it's not saying a lot. I finished the single player in about 13-14 hours and well here are my final thoughts. The game can be incredibly boring at times. I am a big fan of playing as a mage in games that I have the option to do so but this one was just outWhat's there to say about Sorcery? It's decent. It IS indeed one of the better PS move titles but there aren't many good move titles so it's not saying a lot. I finished the single player in about 13-14 hours and well here are my final thoughts. The game can be incredibly boring at times. I am a big fan of playing as a mage in games that I have the option to do so but this one was just out there. I found little or no interest in both of our main characters, both voice actors aren't bad. I just thought they were too kiddish for my tastes. I do like the way every area looked the sprites were very colorful and vivid.. however... the linear dungeons felt like they dragged on forever to make up for the lack of areas in the game. The spell switching feels atrociously bad. What was wrong with a simple up down left right. Instead we have these circles, it made it difficult for me to switch to wind spells why does something like switching a spell have to seem so complicated at times. At first I thought ps move was not calibrated properly, this was not the case I calibrated several times and I still could not switch to this spell so after a while I eventually just spun the wand in circles until it would eventually come up by randomly swinging motions. Another problem is the alchemy thing, brewing up potions gets irritating. I don't want to do all these extra hand movements and act like I'm drinking an imaginary potion... I would have liked to see a tad more RPG elements too. Buying ingredients to make potions to beef you up in a way is ok but it didn't really make me feel very rewarded. I would've rather killed a bunch of enemies with fire to strengthen my fire spells. This is an ok game maybe people will disagree for better or for worse. There is reason to play it again after completing it since no NG+ so I don't even know if the 40 dollar price tag justifies this game, unless you really want trophies. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    I both liked and disliked this game at the same time. I guess I liked the potential of the game and disliked that it was not made to my demographic. The first thing when i popped the game in i thought it seemed like a very childish game and to be honest i found it quite annoying made for children. After about 10 minutes I was impressed with the first enemies of the game and this made meI both liked and disliked this game at the same time. I guess I liked the potential of the game and disliked that it was not made to my demographic. The first thing when i popped the game in i thought it seemed like a very childish game and to be honest i found it quite annoying made for children. After about 10 minutes I was impressed with the first enemies of the game and this made me interested in proceeding. I prefer hardcore games so it was important the enemies were interesting. The game never really caught on for me I do agree with several reviews that the gameplay is nothing more than waving your move controller around like striking a nail with a hammer. I wasn't too impressed with the games switching of spells either as some people complained. None the less the game was playable without too much aggravation and this game really did make me think there could be a future in move controllers. I actually enjoyed playing a game like this a different way and the controller added a nice feel to the game. I'm not sure i felt immersion but it was a fun new way to play a videogame. This fun was muted though by areas I felt were too linear and too kiddie. It was an interesing mix of a game, being very easy and kiddie like but with the lure of neat enemies and a new controller methodology. The game was very short as well so there is some debate to me how much this game should cost. I bought it for only $4 in early 2015 and for that price im not too upset about the game. Had i payed above $15 i think i would have been very critical of this game. For what it is it is enjoyable and a bit easy and repetitive. To come out and say this is the future? Not so sure, but it did make me think that with some effort and more adult based graphics and chararacters the move contoller could make some pretty awesome games. Im thinking Resident evil, Dark souls and Silent hill would make better gaming with the move. Overall I would say this game was an entertaining light hearted game worth your 5 hours time for under $10. There really isn't too much to this game and its not mindblowing that everyone should try it but i did enjoy trying a new type of game and for the price this was a decent enough experience i do not regret trying. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    56/100: I guess the developers of Sorcery had a great game with a great story in mind but it didn't work out as good as they expected. The game uses the PlayStation move, but the usage of the move didn't work out really well. The combat system is kinda crappy while it could be much better and it would have been improving the game quite a bit. The story was OK but the combat really56/100: I guess the developers of Sorcery had a great game with a great story in mind but it didn't work out as good as they expected. The game uses the PlayStation move, but the usage of the move didn't work out really well. The combat system is kinda crappy while it could be much better and it would have been improving the game quite a bit. The story was OK but the combat really irritated sometimes which did make the game a bit more irritating and really didn't make me wanna play the game to the end (although I did). Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    75
    A decent action adventure with heavy emphasis on magical battles. It's almost a shooting game, which is a kind of disappointing. [Aug 2012]
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    75
    Finally, a PlayStation Move game that seems to matter. It's a bit too short and also a bit too simple, but in the end you will remember this colorful platform game as an enriching Move experience.
  3. As a single-player thing, Sorcery is just okay. You run, you stick your shimmering shield up if things get hairy, you wave spells at shambling horrors, and a lot of the time our boy Finn does something completely mental because the control scheme is a very delicate thing indeedily. It's simple but frenetic, with some surprisingly nutty moments and even nuttier boss battles. [July 2012, p81]