User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 113
  2. Negative: 10 out of 113

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    4
    I have found Soul Calibur IV to be a very disapointing installment of the series. I can only commend the game for it's unique character designs and good online action. I feel the game lacks in variety, the moves and combos are too straight-forward. For a hard-core fan of the SC series, I would recommend renting it, rather than buying it.
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    i did not like this soul calibur game and find that it is the worst in the series. the story like is non existent with the characters and each one only has about 5 battles. i am not sure if it is this way with everyone but i am having a hard time putting combos together with all the characters and find myself just mashing the 3 attack buttons. i loved the 3rd one and wish they had kept most of what made that game great and at least had more extra features to entertain myself when i dont want to get my a$$ handed to me while playing online. i liked the addition of darth vader and the secret apperntace but unfourtunatly darth vader isnt a very good character since his moves are slow. i find that the controls have a bit of a delay and they never quite do what you want them to. trading this back in for some of my money back Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    This is a really good addition to the PS3's arsenal of games and variety. Great graphics and sound, heaps of characters to choose from and awesome moves and customisation too. The only thing this game lacks is a real story and a larger amount of cutscenes for different characters. The final boss should not be from 3 characters no matter who you are playing as, but from every character available. Still this is a very good game. Expand
  4. May 14, 2011
    7
    SoulCalibur has a huge following and this was the reason I bought this game. I can see the attraction. It's fluid energetic and atmospheric. Maybe I'm not a fan of 3d beat em ups or maybe I'm too lazy to perform the ridiculous combos but I just found myself bored and infuriated. I think If you are into this sort of thing this is perhaps ( level with Tekken) the best game out there. I find 3d beat em ups so different from 2d ones that they fall into a different category . I guess what I'm trying to say is Im not a fan of the genre hence can't review this game fairly. One thing that can be said 3 years later the games graphics still look crisp and beautiful. The gameplay is enjoyable enough but I was bored after 2 days. The last beat em up I really enjoyed was Rocky on the xbox which isnt really a beat em up.....god im confused. Overall I recommend to fans but to noobs it's too taxing to remember the moves and too repetitive to enjoy over a long period of time. Online requires a lot of patience also as the competition is intense ( as to be expected spose) . 7/10. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    While it is technically the same as the first three games, veterans and newcomers alike can adore the new features in Soulcalibur IV. Pros: The inclusion of Star Wars exclusives, Critical Finishers and online play refreshes the overwhelmingly familiar gameplay; absolutely stunning graphics; drastically improved story mode and Character Creation; a variety of strikingly unique characters and combos. Cons: It's almost too familiar to Soulcalibur III; occasional online hiccups; silly dialogue. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    probably the best fight game I've played on my PS3. Very nice graphics, POWEFRFULL soundtrack and very good online. Darth Vader and Yoda in this game made me want a StarWars fight game like SoulCalibur.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    soulcalibur IV is an amazing fighting game with great fighting mechanics, amazing music, coolness, a large amount of playable characters and places to battle. it's only problems are that it isn't as good as soulcalibur II and that the fighting system is a bit slow moving.
  8. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    one of my favorite fighting games the music is good the characters are good the fighting is amazing and its just overall great fighting game the only problems are some characters are cheap but other then that this game is good oh and the storyline is lacking but isnt every fighting games story ?
  9. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    Reviewing something so similar to the preceding three games -- and after releases like Super Street Fighter IV -- becomes monotonous. Especially coming from a franchise once treasured in the fighting game genre. Pros? The inclusion of Star Wars exclusives is an excellent concept; the introduction of online mode; stunning graphics; once again, Soulcalibur IV caters to veterans and casuals with its variety of strikingly unique fighting styles. Cons? Unfortunately, the Star Wars concept is defeated by largely imbalanced fighting mechanics; Critical Finishers, although visually stunning, take too long to reach and are largely unseen outside of multiplayer; lack of replay value; occassional online hiccups; the gameplay is all too familiar and in 2014, it hasn't aged marvelously. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Graphically the game is simply jaw dropping. Even with all the graphical masterpieces we have seen recently, Soul Calibur IV stands out on its own.
  2. 100
    Where SC4 really shines, however, is in its character-creation mode. The more you use your custom characters, the more options you unlock -- with a wealth of weapons and armor pieces offering boosts to strength, impact, speed, and more, while certain stat modifiers improve your chances to escape throws or reverse counters.
  3. 94
    An amazingly deep and beautiful fi ghting experience, marred by a couple of unnecessary characters, but essential nonetheless. If the online modes simulate the feeling of a traditional one-onone battle, we’ll be in combat heaven.