Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    69
    Soul Calibur: Lost Swords is a crappy free-2-play version of a great beat-em up game. [June 2014]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Rather than being encouraged to play, it often feels like Bandai Namco is actively discouraging you from Lost Swords. [Issue#148, p.124]
  3. The lack of multiplayer is baffling. [July 2014, p.80]
  4. May 12, 2014
    40
    A bad implementation of the free to play concept in a multiplayer-less SoulCalibur chapter. The heavy server issues also add to the disappointment.
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    38
    The shame here isn't that this is a a bad beat-'em-up. It's that it's a good one saddled with so much nonsense and tedium that you're unlikely to care. [Aug 2014, p.78]
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    30
    In some weird way all of Lost Swords bad ideas remind you why you once loved the series.
  7. May 6, 2014
    30
    To call Lost Swords a failed experiment would be an insult to every ambitious game that fell flat on its face. It feels like Namco put barely any thought into making the not-so-micro-transactions justifiable or even making sure that the single-player focus felt consistently engaging.
  8. May 7, 2014
    20
    A drab campaign and awful loading times underline this colossal misstep in the stage of history.
  9. May 12, 2014
    15
    Who needs Souls Calibur: Lost Swords? Well, with all the “complete” versions available at with a budget price tag, actually nobody.
User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 13 out of 18
  1. Apr 26, 2014
    1
    LoadCalibur: Lost Connection

    When you actually get to play, it's bogged down by so much loading you're wondering if you're playing an
    LoadCalibur: Lost Connection

    When you actually get to play, it's bogged down by so much loading you're wondering if you're playing an hourglass simulator instead. Terrible, botched release. I hope someone gets fired for the sheer astounding level of ineptitude.
    Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2014
    0
    I don't always review games, but when I do, I review the 2014 game of the year! Of course I'm talking about Soulcalibur: Lost Swords. Let'sI don't always review games, but when I do, I review the 2014 game of the year! Of course I'm talking about Soulcalibur: Lost Swords. Let's talk about the equilibrium this game possesses: story, gameplay, and graphics. It also totally sold me on F2P games. Totally. The story had me tearing up. It's an epic shakespearean story that amounts to me and my friends having deep conversations about the meaning of life! Or why am I still playing this game. Can't recall which one. The story is told to incredible and innovative 4D graphics..not like they would ever use text to tell you whats happening. Nope. Gameplay is tight. Just what you'd expect from a Soulcalibur game. Not that they would use the same mechanics as Soulcalibur 5. Nope. Its graphics, let me tell you, are insane, almost PS4 quality..Not like they would ever use the same graphics as last game.. no sir.. I had to go to the optometrist to make sure I wasn't going crazy. The F2P element is done so well too. The store is cheap!.. only $19.99 for random equipment! A steal!! And that's just one of them. and OH MY GOD!! let me tell you about its NOW LOADING capabilities.. insane! I click on a button and it like goes back in time, its there!! its not like every single time I click ANYTHING a little clock symbol appears for like 10 secs.. and for fights, 30 secs.. and when I'm thinking of not playing this game, 5 seconds..or sometimes what it seems like an eternity. Oh and multiplayer, what an amazing..... wait.. it doesn't even have multiplayer?! The heck is this? I tell you what it is: A lazy cash-in to a popular series. It's an online-only single player fighting game. It loads more times than I care to remember. For the exception of when you're actually fighting, every single time you do anything, it loads. I'm not even going to mention the times I got kicked out of the server. Whatever story there is, is told through text, yes text. It boils down to read text, fight, get equipment, fight some more until you hit a point where it's necessary to either wait or literally buy more things that'll let you play it. The only good thing that I can say about this game is that I played 5 hours without having to pay to continue playing. 5 hours are more than enough to see that this game is worthless. Unless you like a repetitive, bugged down, yesteryear's fighting game.. you should use your time better, like playing Dark Souls 2. At least in that game when I died, it doesn't ask me to pay cash to keep playing. BTW F2P Dark Souls... worst game EVER.. Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    1
    Up until this point, I have had nothing but love for the Soulcalibur franchise. But when someone releases a title that depends 100% on onlineUp until this point, I have had nothing but love for the Soulcalibur franchise. But when someone releases a title that depends 100% on online servers (in order to play a single-player only game, mind you), load times that are combined to be longer than actually playing the game itself, and pay to play encouragement (*cough* The War Z *cough*), this title practically becomes unplayable right from the very start.
    However, when the game rarely does work, what little content and gameplay that's there is actually not that bad, even if it lacks the same level of depth and fairness compared to the rest of the series. All in all, the idea of this little game is great on paper, but they absolutely ruined it by making it "free to play" even if it really isn't so. They should've made this into a $9.99 PSN game with no "pay to play" or online server restrictions, then I definitely would've given it around an estimated 7 and would recommended it for Soulcalibur fans or people who enjoy fighting games.
    If you are a fan, pass. If you're a newcomer, especially pass, because this is a terrible first impression for gamers who've never played the any of these games before. I'm giving this a 1 instead of a 0, only because the combat isn't entirely broken. Play any other Soulcalibur game. This one isn't worth the stress and frustration, even if it starts out as free.
    Full Review »