Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A free-to-play game. There are some changes to the Soulcalibur formula implemented in Lost Swords. The game is single-player only and revolves around players making their way through a series of quests to gain items. These items can be accessories such as clothing options or new weapons toA free-to-play game. There are some changes to the Soulcalibur formula implemented in Lost Swords. The game is single-player only and revolves around players making their way through a series of quests to gain items. These items can be accessories such as clothing options or new weapons to give your character extra flair or increased stats. These upgraded items will be essential as you tackle later quests. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    69
    Soul Calibur: Lost Swords is a crappy free-2-play version of a great beat-em up game. [June 2014]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Rather than being encouraged to play, it often feels like Bandai Namco is actively discouraging you from Lost Swords. [Issue#148, p.124]
  3. The lack of multiplayer is baffling. [July 2014, p.80]
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    38
    The shame here isn't that this is a a bad beat-'em-up. It's that it's a good one saddled with so much nonsense and tedium that you're unlikely to care. [Aug 2014, p.78]
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    30
    In some weird way all of Lost Swords bad ideas remind you why you once loved the series.
  6. May 6, 2014
    30
    To call Lost Swords a failed experiment would be an insult to every ambitious game that fell flat on its face. It feels like Namco put barely any thought into making the not-so-micro-transactions justifiable or even making sure that the single-player focus felt consistently engaging.
  7. May 12, 2014
    15
    Who needs Souls Calibur: Lost Swords? Well, with all the “complete” versions available at with a budget price tag, actually nobody.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 14 out of 18
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    7
    Fun game if you like the Soul Calibur series, miss single player, and dislike multi-player. Honestly I didn't like this game when it was firstFun game if you like the Soul Calibur series, miss single player, and dislike multi-player. Honestly I didn't like this game when it was first released. Now since they've fixed a bunch of the bugs (still plenty more to go) it's at least fun, and challenging.

    Expect a high level of difficulty if you do not purchase the greatly over-priced "random new gear." Who doesn't like a good challenge though?

    Pros:
    Taki and Sophitia are back
    New content all the time, it's designed to keep you coming back for new stuff.
    Loading time has been fixed. It's not lightning fast, but its's much better.
    13 free to play characters to choose from. 3 to choose from at the start, 10 more to unlock. (con: 2 to buy)
    Variety of options for gear, both free and purchasable.
    Hey it's free, right?

    Cons:
    Hey it's free, right? Yes up to a point, then you hit a brick wall competing vs people who have seemingly endless money to burn.
    "Free" only goes so far, Like Maxi? $60... Like Seung Mi-na? $90!!! ...W... T... F...
    Limited weapon choices, unless you're willing to risk random new gear premium chests.
    Premium chests are extremely over valued, and too costly for most people. I bought 3, and that is my limit. Some people have spent thousands of dollars on this game. Let me repeat that, THOUSANDS of dollars.
    Waiting for "AP" aka "action points" is a drag. F2P nonsense that it is.
    No multi-player
    Story mode is just text that barely passes for a children's bedtime story.
    While they do have tournaments to win prizes, 75% of the top ones go to players willing to buy hundreds of dollars of AP, to win prizes they don't even need, or use. AWESOME right?

    Fun experiment in free gaming, but definitely one of the greediest. Don't fall into the "well I've gotta spend money to win" crap. Try it out, if you like it, buy a chest or 2 to maybe help yourself out. But be warned: nothing is guaranteed with "random." You might get a weapon for the $90 character that you'll never get to use.
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    5
    If not the for the long goddamn loading between just about everthing,this game would be a good free-to-play,it's weird if you compare toIf not the for the long goddamn loading between just about everthing,this game would be a good free-to-play,it's weird if you compare to others,especially tekken revolution that the loading is quite fast,and it's also free,however,there is visible potential on this title,i really hope this ''will'' be fixed Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    2
    This game was absolutely disappointing. I went through the whole arduous process of installing the game and waiting during the loading screensThis game was absolutely disappointing. I went through the whole arduous process of installing the game and waiting during the loading screens for an utterly underwhelming gaming experience. Three characters to play as, a focus on gaining money and points instead of gameplay, a flawed partners and allies system, a severe lack of variety in gameplay - the game was a bore hole. I was disappointed because I'm a huge Soulcalibur fan and have played almost every single game religiously, but this one left me wondering why I went through the trouble of downloading it in the first place. Even for a free-to-play game, it was a waste of time. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Another "free-to-play" scam as far as I'm concerned. This isn't a Soul Calibur game, I cannot call it that, it would be an insult to theAnother "free-to-play" scam as far as I'm concerned. This isn't a Soul Calibur game, I cannot call it that, it would be an insult to the actual game series. I don't even understand the concept of forced online single player, why would anyone do such a thing? If a nearly constant rotating hourglass is your thing then download this game. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2014
    0
    this is not a fighting game, it's a miserable sluggish semblance of casual games with cards on smartphones, such as Blood Brothers, that isthis is not a fighting game, it's a miserable sluggish semblance of casual games with cards on smartphones, such as Blood Brothers, that is the game for imbeciles. I do not know what an idiot could think of to make a fighting game, but it 'genius ought to hang a **** so drugm and teach it to do such pohabshinu.
    Evaluation - 0, because there is no gameplay, urgently requires the loot, and even slows! Top of arrogance and rudeness. Yes, I understand that the game is free, but that Ms. Tekken Revolution too free, but that fighting game, and it was a misunderstanding.
    Expand
  6. May 3, 2014
    0
    I don't always review games, but when I do, I review the 2014 game of the year! Of course I'm talking about Soulcalibur: Lost Swords. Let'sI don't always review games, but when I do, I review the 2014 game of the year! Of course I'm talking about Soulcalibur: Lost Swords. Let's talk about the equilibrium this game possesses: story, gameplay, and graphics. It also totally sold me on F2P games. Totally. The story had me tearing up. It's an epic shakespearean story that amounts to me and my friends having deep conversations about the meaning of life! Or why am I still playing this game. Can't recall which one. The story is told to incredible and innovative 4D graphics..not like they would ever use text to tell you whats happening. Nope. Gameplay is tight. Just what you'd expect from a Soulcalibur game. Not that they would use the same mechanics as Soulcalibur 5. Nope. Its graphics, let me tell you, are insane, almost PS4 quality..Not like they would ever use the same graphics as last game.. no sir.. I had to go to the optometrist to make sure I wasn't going crazy. The F2P element is done so well too. The store is cheap!.. only $19.99 for random equipment! A steal!! And that's just one of them. and OH MY GOD!! let me tell you about its NOW LOADING capabilities.. insane! I click on a button and it like goes back in time, its there!! its not like every single time I click ANYTHING a little clock symbol appears for like 10 secs.. and for fights, 30 secs.. and when I'm thinking of not playing this game, 5 seconds..or sometimes what it seems like an eternity. Oh and multiplayer, what an amazing..... wait.. it doesn't even have multiplayer?! The heck is this? I tell you what it is: A lazy cash-in to a popular series. It's an online-only single player fighting game. It loads more times than I care to remember. For the exception of when you're actually fighting, every single time you do anything, it loads. I'm not even going to mention the times I got kicked out of the server. Whatever story there is, is told through text, yes text. It boils down to read text, fight, get equipment, fight some more until you hit a point where it's necessary to either wait or literally buy more things that'll let you play it. The only good thing that I can say about this game is that I played 5 hours without having to pay to continue playing. 5 hours are more than enough to see that this game is worthless. Unless you like a repetitive, bugged down, yesteryear's fighting game.. you should use your time better, like playing Dark Souls 2. At least in that game when I died, it doesn't ask me to pay cash to keep playing. BTW F2P Dark Souls... worst game EVER.. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2015
    0
    This game shall forever be a slap in the face for fans of the series. It's blatant cash cow with no shame what so ever. I have never in all myThis game shall forever be a slap in the face for fans of the series. It's blatant cash cow with no shame what so ever. I have never in all my life seen a DLC character costing 100$ to be unlocked, especially for this Free to play game. There is nothing new or innovative and it even dumbs down the fighting mechanics, such as removing ring outs. If you really miss old characters that got cut I swear you will have ten times more fun and less frustration to just play old games of the series.
    The loading times is enough for me to fold a week's worth of laundry while waiting to play and the constant errors is ridiculous. The costumes they release for you to buy is downright disgusting. I don't mind some sexy costumes/fanservice once in awhile but this is getting beyond pathetic. It's so obvious they're trying to pull horny teenagers into buying that they've even hired a hentai artist to design one of their latest outfit. The grace, depth and efforts of all the past games were thrown out the window and buried with this game. I laugh at whoever spends money on this game and when I uninstalled this piece of garbage, I never looked back. This game doesn't even deserve a 1/10. SC: Legends is better than this garbage and I never thought that could be possible.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers