South Park: The Stick of Truth Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 567 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South
    South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South Park’s savior. From the creators of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, comes an epic quest to become… cool. Introducing South Park: The Stick of Truth. For a thousand years, the battle has been waged. The sole reason humans and elves are locked in a neverending war: The Stick of Truth. But the tides of war are soon to change as word of a new kid spreads throughout the land, his coming foretold by the stars. As the moving vans of prophecy drive away, your adventure begins. Arm yourself with weapons of legend to defeat crabpeople, underpants gnomes, hippies, and other forces of evil. Discover the lost Stick of Truth and earn your place at the side of Stan, Kyle, Cartman, and Kenny as their new friend. Succeed, and you shall be South Park’s savior, cementing your social status in South Park Elementary. Fail, and you will forever be known… as a loser. [Ubisoft]
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Games like this one make being a videogame fan worthy. Quality, good work, a breathtaking experience and fun, tons of fun. South Park: The Stick of Truth is one of the best games ever on Playstation 3.
  2. 90
    The idea of a role-playing game built on the South Park universe is borderline genius.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Shameless, hilarious and surprisingly complex - an essential purchase for RPG and show fans. [May 2014, p.64]
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    All the fart jokes and Chinpokomon references in the world wouldn’t mean anything if the gameplay weren’t up to snuff, but The Stick of Truth manages to impress as a game on top of being frequently hilarious.
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    80
    In the end, though, what really carries The Stick of Truth along is its innocence, something that may surprise people who have read the stories about Euro censorship but is unlikely to come as a shock to fans of the show itself, which has always offset its raunchiness with an odd sweetness. This is, simply put, pleasant to play.
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    80
    If it wasn't for the genius of that writing, the setting and the characterisation then Stick of Truth would undoubtedly be quickly sidelined as a generic RPG lacking depth and originality. That's really besides the real point, though. Stick of Truth features some of the most daring and explicit writing ever seen in a mainstream video game and it more than makes up for its by-the-numbers gameplay.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    75
    Grabbing this title is a no-brainer for the show's legions of devotees.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 113
  2. Negative: 6 out of 113
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the funniest games i have ever played. there is a ton of fan service in this game but non fans will not fill lost at all.most rpg fans will like this even if not a south park fan.
    the only rpg games that have a shot at being better this year are Final fantasy x hd and the witcher 3,
    nothing else this year will beat this as far as rpgs go.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Reasons to buy - if you are a South Park fan then you will love this game. It looks, sounds like the show and Written by the creators. TheReasons to buy - if you are a South Park fan then you will love this game. It looks, sounds like the show and Written by the creators. The story and cut scenes is the best asset of this game, it's very funny and brilliantly written. Gameplay is basic but this makes you enjoy the story and cutscenes even more.

    Reasons not to buy - honestly there are none, only small things that isn't big enough not to buy this, such as: there can be some lag when entering a part of the town. Also the cencered parts is very disappointing because there are much more shocking and offensive things that is in the game, that makes you question why cencered theses parts for!!!!

    Final verdict - buy this if you like South Park and if you want a game to make you laugh all the way through
    Graphics 10
    Sounds 10
    Playability 9
    Gameplay 9

    Verdict 10
    Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    This game made me laugh out loud on more occasions than I can count - and the gameplay is pretty amazing as well. I played a mage on my firstThis game made me laugh out loud on more occasions than I can count - and the gameplay is pretty amazing as well. I played a mage on my first playthrough, and I plan to play a "jew" on my second. This game has the same irreverence as the show, so if you love the show, you will love this game - if you hate South Park, then you will probably hate this game. This game was impeccably done and I hope we see more releases like this in the future. To all of the developers and publishers releasing janky, unfinished games: THIS is how it's done. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2015
    9
    Based on the reviews and videos i took the chance to play this game, and well is great! Graphics, voice acting, script, gameplay whichBased on the reviews and videos i took the chance to play this game, and well is great! Graphics, voice acting, script, gameplay which although basic is fun in its own right. You DON'T need to be a fan of the series to like it, i've maybe seen 2 episodes at much!
    Is just about a bunch of kids who exploit their imagination by thinking they're inside a fantasy world filled with monsters, elves, etc etc.. And the humor may be the best thing about the game, is a very funny experience.
    Guess i'll start watching the show from now on!
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    9
    It's not a great rpg, but it is a great game. Lots of humor and strategy combos you can come up with to play in different ways. Much betterIt's not a great rpg, but it is a great game. Lots of humor and strategy combos you can come up with to play in different ways. Much better than other games that have come out in the last year that received higher critic scores. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Few disclaimers to start out. 1. I am a game blogger/reviewer. 2. I am an avid South Park fan. That being said, I will attempt as unbiasedFew disclaimers to start out. 1. I am a game blogger/reviewer. 2. I am an avid South Park fan. That being said, I will attempt as unbiased review as possible.

    From a South Park fan standpoint, this is the game we have been waiting for. South Park games from the beginning of gaming history have been hit or miss. A few stood out as alright, and slightly memorable, but this one stands out among them all as the coveted adventure.

    The game is set in the quiet mountain town, which we now finally have a map for, and stays true to the over the top, offensive and vulgar ways of the show. You feel like you are watching a highly extended version of the show playing "The New Kid."

    The references will be fully enjoyed by those who have watched the show, and the game is loaded with something relating to an episode almost constantly. While references back to original subject matter have their benefits, the drawback is the constant reminder of things that have happened in the past might detract slightly from what is going on in the game.

    The game is a continuation of the Cosplay Game of Thrones parody that was done during the recent "Black Friday" trilogy of episodes, and plays beautifully into the storyline. Fans of Paper Mario and turn-based-RPG will recognize the basic elements of combat. While the combat system is decent for the game, it is not as developed as you would expect from a fully matured game, such as FF or Bravely Default.

    The weapon and armor selection is very nice, but detracts from you playing as you. The bonuses from many of the items are great, which means you will find yourself playing with the same character looking completely different style wise, but it almost leaves you with a lost sense of identity. South Park is known for memorable characters, but you change your garments so often, you don't seem to have any recognizable theme by the end.

    The "magic" mechanics of the game, while enjoyable at times, are slightly too difficult or convoluted for my taste. The presence of the mechanic is there, but seems to more of a secondary add on than a major proponent in combat or world interaction. Potential seems to be not fully realized.

    As a game, it could use some fine tuning. By a wide margin the best licensed game I have played to date, but not without several little issues.

    That being said, if you are a South Park fan, this is a must buy. The game has been fantastically done and does justice to the franchise. The use of the RPG world allows you to interact with the world in ways that would not have been possible with other genres.

    If you are not an avid South Park fan, this would not be a game for you at full price. The campaign is short enough to warrant a day or two gameplay for the experience, but due to the classes not being as distinct as they could have, the replay value for those without a love for the show gets lost.

    Not the best game in the world, but what the fans wanted.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    This will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of timeThis will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of time at this point. Don't buy this until it gets patched! Expand

See all 113 User Reviews