South Park: The Stick of Truth Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South
    South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South Park’s savior. From the creators of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, comes an epic quest to become… cool. Introducing South Park: The Stick of Truth. For a thousand years, the battle has been waged. The sole reason humans and elves are locked in a neverending war: The Stick of Truth. But the tides of war are soon to change as word of a new kid spreads throughout the land, his coming foretold by the stars. As the moving vans of prophecy drive away, your adventure begins. Arm yourself with weapons of legend to defeat crabpeople, underpants gnomes, hippies, and other forces of evil. Discover the lost Stick of Truth and earn your place at the side of Stan, Kyle, Cartman, and Kenny as their new friend. Succeed, and you shall be South Park’s savior, cementing your social status in South Park Elementary. Fail, and you will forever be known… as a loser. [Ubisoft]
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Games like this one make being a videogame fan worthy. Quality, good work, a breathtaking experience and fun, tons of fun. South Park: The Stick of Truth is one of the best games ever on Playstation 3.
  2. 90
    The idea of a role-playing game built on the South Park universe is borderline genius.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Shameless, hilarious and surprisingly complex - an essential purchase for RPG and show fans. [May 2014, p.64]
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    All the fart jokes and Chinpokomon references in the world wouldn’t mean anything if the gameplay weren’t up to snuff, but The Stick of Truth manages to impress as a game on top of being frequently hilarious.
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    80
    In the end, though, what really carries The Stick of Truth along is its innocence, something that may surprise people who have read the stories about Euro censorship but is unlikely to come as a shock to fans of the show itself, which has always offset its raunchiness with an odd sweetness. This is, simply put, pleasant to play.
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    80
    If it wasn't for the genius of that writing, the setting and the characterisation then Stick of Truth would undoubtedly be quickly sidelined as a generic RPG lacking depth and originality. That's really besides the real point, though. Stick of Truth features some of the most daring and explicit writing ever seen in a mainstream video game and it more than makes up for its by-the-numbers gameplay.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    75
    Grabbing this title is a no-brainer for the show's legions of devotees.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 112
  2. Negative: 4 out of 112
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the funniest games i have ever played. there is a ton of fan service in this game but non fans will not fill lost at all.most rpg fans will like this even if not a south park fan.
    the only rpg games that have a shot at being better this year are Final fantasy x hd and the witcher 3,
    nothing else this year will beat this as far as rpgs go.
    Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Despite being a huge South Park fan, I had my doubts about this game, since most tv-to-video games tend to fail in some big way. I still,Despite being a huge South Park fan, I had my doubts about this game, since most tv-to-video games tend to fail in some big way. I still, however, wanted to try it for myself despite what any review might say. It was to my surprise that yesterday morning I started seeing how well this game had done I just had to buy it and try it out. So after work I went to buy the game and popped it into my PS3, and man. This game deserves every bit of praise it gets if not more. The customization felt a bit limited in comparisons to other heavy-hitter RPGs like the Elder Scrolls, but when you take into account just how a big part of the humor in this game is the crappy look of it, it really all falls into place.

    What really sets this game apart from all other tv adaptations is the look. I've never seen a game that has perfectly replicated the look of the show. After playing the game and going sleep, waking up and turning on my PS3 again, I really loved how it looks exactly like the show. It gives you the feeling that you're participating in the South Park show and you help make decisions that will mildly affect your favorite characters. For example, when Cartman gets knocked out and you're supposed to revive him, but rather I tried to look his body and he said "I'm not dead yet so you can't loot my body"; after which I proceeded to beat the crap out of him while he was on the ground.

    It's stuff like that that makes me want to play the game.

    Love this game, it's great. Buy it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    This is honestly one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played, I cant remember the last time a game has entertained me so much. ItThis is honestly one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played, I cant remember the last time a game has entertained me so much. It satisfied me as a fan of RPGs, South Park, and Video Games in general. Everything is done exceptionally well and has actually made laugh in more than just my mind. Its very fun exploring the town of south park and I loved the 8-bit over world of Canada. The combat is extremely enjoyable, I am a fan of action-RPGs but I wouldnt want the combat any different from the use of Turn base that they have put into this game, Its one of the best uses of Turn based and satisfies me as someone who prefers action over turn based. The characters, the story, the dialogue, the references, etc. I am sucked into the game and feel it very hard to leave. I never expected, even with People saying that it was great...That it would be this good. One of the best games I have ever played, and as A long time Gamer since the 90s I think that says alot. GOTY worthy, games like Destiny will be big competitors this fall but so far this game is definitely GOTY worthy had it been released in 2013, I would have deemed it GOTY over GTA V. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    When Stick of Truth was announced I had a feeling it was going to be awful due to its concept that didn't seem to fit the show, however I canWhen Stick of Truth was announced I had a feeling it was going to be awful due to its concept that didn't seem to fit the show, however I can wholeheartedly say that feeling was wrong.
    Stick of Truth is not only a brilliant addition to the South Park franchise, its a great game in its own right. Much like a licensed game should do, it doesn't rely on the license to support it, but it uses the license to elevate it to something greater than it would have been without it.
    You play as yourself, the new kid in South Park and you are quickly dragged into a game of Thrones style battle between Cartman's Humans & Kyle's Elves over the Stick of Truth, however when strange things start happening involving aliens, zombies & manbearpig, only you can save the day.
    It looks and sounds like an episode of the show with some brilliant humour that is hilarious without ever overstepping the mark like the show has the tendency to do.
    In truth, this is the best South Park has been in a while and I hope to see not only a sequel to this fantastic game but for the South Park team to take on board what worked in the story and utilise it in the show.
    Expand
  5. May 13, 2014
    9
    Very VERY enjoyable game, complete with a crazy story, reasonably challenging gameplay, outrageous laughs, and an absurd amount of fanVery VERY enjoyable game, complete with a crazy story, reasonably challenging gameplay, outrageous laughs, and an absurd amount of fan service. Perfect for fans of the series and even a few RPG fans looking for something different. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2015
    8
    Worth playing just for the humour, and if you're a fan of the show. The game itself is just an average RPG with basic elements. It's stillWorth playing just for the humour, and if you're a fan of the show. The game itself is just an average RPG with basic elements. It's still fun, but if you don't consider yourself to be a South Park fan, or you prefer heftier RPG's, then you can give this game a miss. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    This will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of timeThis will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of time at this point. Don't buy this until it gets patched! Expand

See all 112 User Reviews