Spec Ops: The Line PlayStation 3

Spec Ops: The Line Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spec Ops: The Line is a provocative third-person modern military shooter that challenges players' morality by putting them in the middle of unspeakable situations where unimaginable choices affecting human life must be made. Spec Ops: The Line unfolds within the destroyed opulence of Dubai.Spec Ops: The Line is a provocative third-person modern military shooter that challenges players' morality by putting them in the middle of unspeakable situations where unimaginable choices affecting human life must be made. Spec Ops: The Line unfolds within the destroyed opulence of Dubai. Once the playground for the world's wealthiest elite, Dubai has fallen victim to a series of cataclysmic sandstorms. The city's ultramodern architecture lies half-buried under millions of tons of sand. The very sand that blankets the city plays a marquee role in altering combat situations and serves as a powerful but unpredictable force that will both help and hinder players throughout the course of the game. While most people have fled the now-barren wasteland before the sandstorms swept through, U.S. Army Colonel John Konrad and his loyal squad remained behind to protect those incapable of escape. Unable to reach anyone in Dubai after the storm hit, the U.S. Army feared Konrad and his team dead until they picked up a weak distress signal and launched a rescue operation. As U.S. Army Captain Martin Walker, you and your elite Delta Force team are sent to infiltrate the treacherous region to bring Konrad home. Players experience “"The Line," that razor's edge known only to men who deal in war. It is the line they cross when death and duty become one and the same. It is the end -- of self and sanity -- when their duty is done and only they remain. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    The Line rivals thatgamecompany's Journey in terms of overall impact, serving as a brave step forward for developers who want to help us get more from games than just gunplay. If you're tired of the same old firefight, you really ought to play it.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jul 3, 2012
    83
    Good or evil doesn't really exist in The Line, most of the time you have to choose between doing something bad or doing something very bad. Just don't expect any branching story paths, because The Line is about as linear as it gets. [July 2012, p.82]
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    For the first time, a game with guns doesn't want you to be the hero -- it's wants you to feel terrible about trying to be one.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The line between an outstanding game and a very powerful game but without shine is in this Spec Ops. The story of Walker, Adams and Lugo is deep and interesting, as are the situations they will be exposed too. But the multiplayer is not very inspired and other areas have shortcomings.
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Spec Ops: The Line is a solid, action packed shooter that sets itself apart by demonstrating the brutal realities of war. The fragile lines of morality are easily blurred, and sometimes, only visible when crossed.
  6. Jul 4, 2012
    75
    Spec Ops: The Line has a great story and manages to show a gruesome, yet beautifully destroyed Dubai. It's just a shame that the moving sand is all scripted and that the campaign doesn't last for more than 6 hours.
  7. Play UK
    Jul 10, 2012
    59
    What would be a ridiculously bland and forgettable experience is rendered that little bit less so through a fairly interesting setting and narrative. But it's still not very good at all, and not particularly worth your time. Unless you're REALLY bored. [Issue#220, p.74]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 83
  2. Negative: 8 out of 83
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Studying the development of the novel from throwaway pop culture to the ultimate in literary preeminence gives me hope for video games futureStudying the development of the novel from throwaway pop culture to the ultimate in literary preeminence gives me hope for video games future as storytelling tools. Spec Ops: The Line provides a small step towards video games claiming a place next to books and films in contemporary high culture. Never has a video game conveyed such an emotional and self-aware story which can make the player question not just the morality of the characters, but that of their own decisions. This is no ordinary modern shooter and a must play. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    If you finish Spec Ops: The Line without learning anything about yourself; without ever feeling genuine anger, sadness, or regret; withoutIf you finish Spec Ops: The Line without learning anything about yourself; without ever feeling genuine anger, sadness, or regret; without truly examining where the line is drawn between right and wrong; then you played it wrong. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    In my honest opinion, one of 2012's best surprises. I just can't believe how much fun this game actually is. Great graphics, interestingIn my honest opinion, one of 2012's best surprises. I just can't believe how much fun this game actually is. Great graphics, interesting atmosphere, tight gameplay, PHENOMENAL voice acting (main character's voice is actually the same guy who plays Uncharted's Nathan Drake), awesome story. I was not quite aware of this title until very recently and, after watching a couple of videos, finally decided to give it a chance. Great, great game. MUST NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Spec Ops: The Line is a unique game, a great game but makes some big shortfalls to make it the game that everyone seems to rave about.
    You
    Spec Ops: The Line is a unique game, a great game but makes some big shortfalls to make it the game that everyone seems to rave about.
    You play as Captain Martin Walker, the leader of a small reconnaissance team sent into a war torn Dubai to find and rescue any surviving members of the 33rd (a group of soldiers) and bring home a man of great importance, Colonel John Konrad, head of the 33rd. Upon arriving in Dubai you are attacked by US soldiers who are quickly revealed to be the 33rd and so have to battle your way to Konrad as you believe he has gone corrupt and wishes to hold Dubai under his rule. However after putting you through many morally questionable circumstances you begin to wonder if what you are seeing is what is actually happening.
    Spec Ops: The Line is a middle finger to modern military shooters, there is no hero and some parts of the story are enough to make you stop playing because they question your humanity to such a level it becomes difficult to play.
    The game also looks and plays pretty good, but the gem is in the story with this one. The biggest problems are that if you have seen 'Apocalypse Now' or enough war films you can manage to piece together the story together pretty easily, nearly every event in the game has been seen before, it's just stringing them together in this way that makes it special.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    I think that Spec Ops The Line is a great campaign mainly because of the story line I would've never have expected the ending if I had notI think that Spec Ops The Line is a great campaign mainly because of the story line I would've never have expected the ending if I had not played it myself. I love the difficulty of it. Like pre_-cision-_ said it is worthy of a book. The only thing I do dislike about this game is that on the multiplayer I always disconnect for some strange reason but its not because of my connection. So other than that the game is great! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    This game surprised me. I didn't expect it to be this good. The graphics are very good, the controls fluid and it was the dark story that keptThis game surprised me. I didn't expect it to be this good. The graphics are very good, the controls fluid and it was the dark story that kept me going. The game is pretty short though and I personally didn't like the ending because it was predictable. But that's just me. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2013
    2
    Only play this pile if you enjoy getting stuck to cover, enemies that spam you with grenades, the worst shooting mechanic, and clumsyOnly play this pile if you enjoy getting stuck to cover, enemies that spam you with grenades, the worst shooting mechanic, and clumsy controls. Its hard to understand the developers could have been happy with these issues. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews