User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 99
  2. Negative: 7 out of 99
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    This is possibly the best Spider-Man game I have ever played. For the better part of the last decade, Spidey games have all been sandbox games with bland graphics and repetitive missions. Those games made it look like there was a violent crime in New York City every 5 seconds on every 5 blocks, and just didn't engage me at all. Shattered Dimensions removes that problem by havingThis is possibly the best Spider-Man game I have ever played. For the better part of the last decade, Spidey games have all been sandbox games with bland graphics and repetitive missions. Those games made it look like there was a violent crime in New York City every 5 seconds on every 5 blocks, and just didn't engage me at all. Shattered Dimensions removes that problem by having definitive, well-structured, visually appealing LEVELS. Each level has a boss, and each dimension has four levels. They are all fun and unique in their own right, and the voice acting is superb. As a Spider-Man fan, no game has ever hit the spot quite like this one. It was an awesome experience and fun I'd love to experience more of in the future. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    8
    it's a little on the short side but you can't expect much other than a quick and shallow kind of game for something with a comic book theme... it's GOOD but it's short and the graphics are weird and the controls can get sticky. fun though, so it deserves an 8. that's all it's tryna be
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    great game! easily beats god of war 3 in length, fun, and well everything else. sure you're thinking, wheres the gore? but i don't think you'll have a problem with gore being replaced by smart writing and the choice of four spider-man's throughout!
  4. Sep 8, 2010
    8
    Overall, I had a blast playing through. It took me around 12 hours and I could go through it again. Nothing was that big of a game breaker except the Noir stealth. Itâ
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    The new Spiderman game is really fun. Some trouble with the camera but the story is Amazing! is the best Spidey game yet. The Noir Spidey wolking in the shadows and the combo system of all characters is good. The costumes are great and of curse the sense of humor of this iconic HERO.
  6. Sep 18, 2010
    9
    This is the best Spider-Man game I've played in a looong time. The game play is solid, the voice acting is great and some of the dialog is quite humorous. The story is a little iffy but overall a great game. The game has good replay value and it's just good. Spidey fans will not be disappointed.
  7. Sep 18, 2010
    8
    A good game for spidey fans, the diverse and multitude of bosses make this game a blast to play through. I have had no real problems as of yet with the much talked about bad controls part from the wall crawling which can get annoying when you want to stealth by in the noir universe. The voice acting is spot on and the diverse set of moves in combat gives you the chance to create some trulyA good game for spidey fans, the diverse and multitude of bosses make this game a blast to play through. I have had no real problems as of yet with the much talked about bad controls part from the wall crawling which can get annoying when you want to stealth by in the noir universe. The voice acting is spot on and the diverse set of moves in combat gives you the chance to create some truly awesome battles.

    Although this game has no multiplayer it is "powergamer" heaven with a healthy 42 achievements and 180 in game challenges and a ton of unlockables (including 12 bonus suits!)
    Expand
  8. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    I came into this game expecting to relive the fun and imagination of the original Spider-man from the Play-Station 1 and I was not disappointed in the least. I thoroughly followed every preview with the full knowledge knowing it wasn't going to be free roam. Knowing that I accepted it lineage to the original games rather than the movie tie-ins and had a great time. I liked each charactersI came into this game expecting to relive the fun and imagination of the original Spider-man from the Play-Station 1 and I was not disappointed in the least. I thoroughly followed every preview with the full knowledge knowing it wasn't going to be free roam. Knowing that I accepted it lineage to the original games rather than the movie tie-ins and had a great time. I liked each characters finding nothing wrong with even Noir's level design. Though I would have wished for a certain porker to get his own level, but that could be fixed in a sequel or DLC. Over all the game is good the voice actors rock , I honestly don't see the problem people had. It's a great game for any Web-head. Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    fairly long game, very enjoyable might I add, although some of the levels drag and, repetetive dialog bores the gamer. A great SPIDER MAN game, the best since Ultimate Spider-Man. I fully enjoyed Shattered Dimensions. There are only MINOR flaws, and the game was incredible. 9
  10. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    Spider-Man has an awesome selection of video games, and probably the best selection of any super-hero. Shattered Dimensions is one of Spider-Man's best. It takes some of the best features of previous Spider-Man games and combines them with new features and improvements. How cool is it? Cool enough to have four different Spider-Men (Amazing, Ultimate, Noir, and 2099), each with their ownSpider-Man has an awesome selection of video games, and probably the best selection of any super-hero. Shattered Dimensions is one of Spider-Man's best. It takes some of the best features of previous Spider-Man games and combines them with new features and improvements. How cool is it? Cool enough to have four different Spider-Men (Amazing, Ultimate, Noir, and 2099), each with their own unique stye, gameplay, graphics, voice actors (who have each been selected from on one of Spider-Man's TV shows), and unique twists on classic villains. You don't have to be familiar with each of the different version of Spider-Man to enjoy playing as them, but there are some great references to each Spidey's fiction that will please fans. It's clear that developer Beenox are huge Spider-Man fans and that's what makes the game so special. It's also got some of the best level design of any Spider-Man game, and the boss battles are fantastic. It's got some issues with the camera and the lock-on system, and some bugs and glitches, but they don't detract from what is one of Spider-Man's best video game outings. If your a Spidey fan this is a must play. Expand
  11. May 18, 2011
    9
    This game is fairly short with fairly long levels, but regardless, it's a great game. As a Spidey fan, I hope all spider-man games come from this. (i know they are). I bet the other spidey games would have been better if beenox was involved.
  12. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    This might not be the best spiderman game on the market, but it is a huge step up from web of shadows and Spiderman 3. The four unique dimensions have different art styles (all equally impressive) and diverse gameplay/combat. Still, recurring issues from previous spiderman games occur such as a wonky camera, repetitive gameplay, however, the gameplay is much more polished than previousThis might not be the best spiderman game on the market, but it is a huge step up from web of shadows and Spiderman 3. The four unique dimensions have different art styles (all equally impressive) and diverse gameplay/combat. Still, recurring issues from previous spiderman games occur such as a wonky camera, repetitive gameplay, however, the gameplay is much more polished than previous spiderman games, the voice acting is stellar to say the least, the unique art styles/dimensions look really good and the presentation of the bosses are incredible. Graphics: 8/10
    Sound: 9/10
    Gameplay: 8/10
    Fun cycle: 8.5/10
    Overall: 8.0
    Expand
  13. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    This game has alot going for it and if your a spider fan then you've probably already played it but it has a little for every gamer. I feel this is probably the best spiderman game today. The game is fast and fun and is split up into 4 different worlds each with there own spderman. Noir is good if you like to sneak around. There is alot of jumping and fighting in both black suit spidey andThis game has alot going for it and if your a spider fan then you've probably already played it but it has a little for every gamer. I feel this is probably the best spiderman game today. The game is fast and fun and is split up into 4 different worlds each with there own spderman. Noir is good if you like to sneak around. There is alot of jumping and fighting in both black suit spidey and comic style spidey plus you have 2099 which even has a cool future look to it. There is also a lot to collect and you will have to play through it a couple of times to catch everything in the game. The game also plays well I like the ps3 version for controls I tried the xbox360 version and it just didn't seem as responsive in the game but once you get used to the controls it easy pretty easy to play. Some controls are wierd though so I guess that would be a minus you also have some really annoying boss chases like the dead pool one as he does play by play while you try and get passed these big waves. This game is a must buy even with these few faults and beleaive me you will get your money's worth here. Expand
  14. May 30, 2013
    8
    This is a good game. The story is pretty cool and I really enjoyed the Noir levels because they were really dark and creepy. Spider-Man made very funny jokes (as usual) and as a Spidey fan I'd say this game met my expectations.
  15. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    right off the bat im a huge spidey fan and this game is awsome so the story is that mystrio one spiderman foes try to steel this tablet if he get all of the tablet well he becomes powerful so then spidey and 3 other diffrent spiderman from diffrent dimesion to back get all the fragments before mystrio does so the fighting in this game is decent and switch from diffrent spidermans one isright off the bat im a huge spidey fan and this game is awsome so the story is that mystrio one spiderman foes try to steel this tablet if he get all of the tablet well he becomes powerful so then spidey and 3 other diffrent spiderman from diffrent dimesion to back get all the fragments before mystrio does so the fighting in this game is decent and switch from diffrent spidermans one is from the future another is the venom spiderman and last a sneaky noire spiderman you can upgrade all of them the graphics are awesome and for each of the dimension the graphics kinda change too the feel of spider dimension ending is okay but this game would have been cooler if they add side quest free roam of the Manhattan this game would have been a 10/10 but no so a 9/10 Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    Gran juego, de los mejores de PS3 y un imprescindible del género aventurero. Uno de los mejores videojuegos de Spider-man en la historia, muy recomendable para todo tipo de jugador. Excelente juego
  17. Feb 8, 2016
    10
    This game is fun. People who like the new Amazing Spider-man movies or Spider-man haters come here and give negative scores. Take those reviews with a grain of salt. The game's plot is a cliche but at the same time every level brings a new surprise. I found some levels later in the game creepy as well. The four Spider-men bring their a-game here. They each have different abilities andThis game is fun. People who like the new Amazing Spider-man movies or Spider-man haters come here and give negative scores. Take those reviews with a grain of salt. The game's plot is a cliche but at the same time every level brings a new surprise. I found some levels later in the game creepy as well. The four Spider-men bring their a-game here. They each have different abilities and ways to play the game. I still have it in my collection after beating it. It is worth buying, beating, getting 100%, and keeping it. Expand
  18. May 2, 2015
    8
    The lack of multiplayer will hurt it with some people, but the sheer number of upgrades and collectables should keep gamers coming back for awhile. Besides that, it's a whole lot of fun.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    Though your moves become bigger, faster, flashier, you'll rarely feel like Spider-Man. We've often thought of him as being a fluid, dynamic character and in Shattered Dimensions he's anything but, as he gets 'stuck' for a moment when transitioning onto a wall from the ground, or not being able to stick to certain objects. Not all surfaces can be clambered, and forget about web swinging and leaping onto a wall in one motion. Also, why have we gone back to swinging from invisible hooks in the sky? Hadn't we done away with that [December 2010 p80]
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    91
    There are some control and camera problems that occasionally pop up, but they don't spoil the overall experience. The levels are huge and diverse, the boss encounters are imaginative and larger-than-life, and the presentation is solid. I had a blast and don't see a reason why anyone would want to miss it.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Your enjoyment of Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions will depend on how much you agree with Bobby Kotick's assessment of the previous entries in the series. If you truly believe they sucked, skip Shattered Dimensions as it's more of the same (just without the open world New York). But if you enjoyed them, you'll want to give the game a shot as it's another entertaining Spider-Adventure that's more linear than recent games in the series, but still a lot of fun.