User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 109
  2. Negative: 6 out of 109
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, played it 5 times and even though it was the same track, I experienced it differently 3 or 4 of those times. Even the 1st lap of one race was different than the first lap of another because of a portion of the environment being destroyed forcing you to use aOne of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, played it 5 times and even though it was the same track, I experienced it differently 3 or 4 of those times. Even the 1st lap of one race was different than the first lap of another because of a portion of the environment being destroyed forcing you to use a new part of the track. On my 5th play-through of the demo I saw a part of the track I hadn't experienced yet, so once the real game came out I picked it up asap and loved it a lot! Definitely worth the money, took a few weeks to beat it since I would try for all gold's before moving to next episode. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    This is a terrific arcade gaming experience. As soon a sI saw the trailer and realised that taking out an enemy meant triggering an event rather blasting guns. It was a must purchase. I hadn't been this excited about a racing game since Wipeout on the PSone. The game is top notch all the way down the line from the great visuals to the big TV style presentation. Where the game really shinesThis is a terrific arcade gaming experience. As soon a sI saw the trailer and realised that taking out an enemy meant triggering an event rather blasting guns. It was a must purchase. I hadn't been this excited about a racing game since Wipeout on the PSone. The game is top notch all the way down the line from the great visuals to the big TV style presentation. Where the game really shines in the massive set pieces where you can alter the routes of the race. I guess where the game falls down, as with most titles of this ilke, is the grind. Especially when this is coupled with win a season get a new car which is easily good enough to beat the opponents plough through race and unlock the next season and so on. What I do like are the challenges. These have been balanced perfectly and definitely have that "just one more go" element. I still enjoy playing and look forward to more interesting way to dispose of the opponents. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What do you get with Split/Second? Fun. Just fun. Pure simple unadulterated fun. When you put the game up against other arcade and kart-racing games, you may put it just in the top 3. You would also need to put an asterisk next to the game, since it is the first game to say "My car is not the weapon, the game is my weapon". This is a twist that is unseen and you can only hope that DisneyWhat do you get with Split/Second? Fun. Just fun. Pure simple unadulterated fun. When you put the game up against other arcade and kart-racing games, you may put it just in the top 3. You would also need to put an asterisk next to the game, since it is the first game to say "My car is not the weapon, the game is my weapon". This is a twist that is unseen and you can only hope that Disney with BlackRock Studio will make another split/second with more tracks, cars, and improvements.

    I would recommend this game to anybody, but for those who love online racing, I would recommend it more to. As said, I keep feeling like there is something in the game that has been missed. If that feature...whatever it is was in the game, I think more people would know of the game and rate it higher. Either way, what we have now is simple, fast, beautiful and fun.

    For Full Review, visit my blog: http://hypedgames.blogspot.com/2010/09/splitsecond-review-explosions.html
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Split/Second is one of those rare games that feature breath-taking, adrenaline fueled moments over and over again. The gameplay is fun but I found drifting difficult. The later stages are challenging to get 1st place, mainly the elite races. What sets this title apart is the unique ability to trigger "power plays". Wth a push of a button can can trigger an explosion or a giant wreckingSplit/Second is one of those rare games that feature breath-taking, adrenaline fueled moments over and over again. The gameplay is fun but I found drifting difficult. The later stages are challenging to get 1st place, mainly the elite races. What sets this title apart is the unique ability to trigger "power plays". Wth a push of a button can can trigger an explosion or a giant wrecking ball to demolish your opponents. The level two power plays are insanely powerful and can cause an evil little smile on your face when destroy five or six of your opponents. Graphics are excellent, featuring nicely done track design and massive explosions. With split-screen, many modes, and multiplayer, you'll keep coming back for more explosive fun. Fans of arcade and kart racing shouldn't miss out on this superb action racer. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I never like any racing game but i think game is probably one of the best racing games i played. The game was very fun . probably my first racing i played
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, i recently had it brought for me for my birthday and from the moment i turned it on, i loved it. The best racing genre game i have ever played. Love it
  7. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Wow, i can't believe there isn't more of a fuss being made about this excellent game. I grabbed it off the Playstation Store after hearing it's 'pretty good" but i think this is solid gold. I love how there's no exposition story-wise or lame attempt at introducing characters; only ' here's this TV show, now go'! After the 10 or so hours i've played this it seems like the same music trackWow, i can't believe there isn't more of a fuss being made about this excellent game. I grabbed it off the Playstation Store after hearing it's 'pretty good" but i think this is solid gold. I love how there's no exposition story-wise or lame attempt at introducing characters; only ' here's this TV show, now go'! After the 10 or so hours i've played this it seems like the same music track is playing in all the races, but it happens to be an excellent one so it doesn't bug me - kind of Star Wars/ James Bond-y. If you don't know, you're racing and trying to wreck opponents by triggering 'power-plays' - trackside events like explosions or dropping barriers that hopefully put you in the lead. If your bar is full (filled up by drifting, drafting and jumping) you can trigger even bigger events that completely alter the course of the track, and these result in some awe-inspiring sequences; dodging a jumbo jet as you careen down a landing strip, or driving along a sinking aircraft carrier while fighter planes hurtle past you into the ocean. As arcade racing games go the handling is very cool, much better than i've seen in ridge racer 7 and burnout paradise. If i have to point out one negative the single player campaign is is tad easy, but overall it's a wicked fun racer filled with 'oh SHIIIIIIIIIII-" moments. Expand
  8. JohnM.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic fun! A must buy!
  9. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    Amazed this one has slipped under the radar so much. It really is very good. GT actually felt stodgy afterwards but GT is a different member of the family. Split seconds detonator challenges are excellent fun and will appeal to any stubborn gamers who don't like to be beaten!!
  10. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Um dos melhores jogos de corrida que joguei nesta geração , ao lado de Burnout Paradise .

    Jogabilidade perfeita , gráficos bonitos e um viciante modo online , é um jogo para platinar !

    One of the best racing games I've played this generation, along with Burnout Paradise.
    Perfect gameplay, beautiful graphics and an addictive online mode is a game for platinize!
  11. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    The most fun I've had playing a racing game in a very long time. Simply marvelous destruction and competitive gameplay makes this a must buy for combat racing fans.
  12. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    Split/Second Velocity is a very fun racing game. With an abundance of great racing modes (both single player and multi-player), certainly no problem of style over substance, which was a danger, and great racing gameplay: it is indeed a very fun racing game.

    84/100.
  13. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    about half a year before it came out, I read about it in some gaming magazine, as I read about how the game would work, I instantly wanted it. When I saw the TV commercial I knew it was coming, I bought it when it came out. I was quite surprised that nobody knew about it but let me tell you something: MONEY WELL SPENT! This game is just faced paced racing with explosions, lots and lots ofabout half a year before it came out, I read about it in some gaming magazine, as I read about how the game would work, I instantly wanted it. When I saw the TV commercial I knew it was coming, I bought it when it came out. I was quite surprised that nobody knew about it but let me tell you something: MONEY WELL SPENT! This game is just faced paced racing with explosions, lots and lots of 'splosions... The guy ahead wont mess up and let you pass him? Have a helicopter drop a bomb on top of him! Bunch of people in front of you while you race in a construction yard? Have the bulldoser swing his shovel arm thing across the track and rake them all out! What if you are racing in seattle and you are so far back you can't do anything? DROP THE SPACE NEEDLE ON THE TRACK. Then ride the space needle on a couple buildings and win the race. My only problem with it is that more tracks would have been fun, but it is still one of my favorite racing games of all time. I can't wait for the second one! Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Destroy overtake instead: This racing game burns a rapid effect fireworks - and does some things differently than the genre competition. It is a simple but extremely entertaining arcade racing in brilliant bombastic appearance.
  15. Jan 15, 2016
    9
    Great action/arcade racer, little bit like Ridge Racer but with explosions instead of nitro. Not a realistic racing simulator but definitely a very fun action experience, only drawback is limited number of tracks. Still, it's challenging to get 1st place during the second half of the game. Also works great with a racing wheel! Would recommend this to anyone who liked Ridge Racer and racingGreat action/arcade racer, little bit like Ridge Racer but with explosions instead of nitro. Not a realistic racing simulator but definitely a very fun action experience, only drawback is limited number of tracks. Still, it's challenging to get 1st place during the second half of the game. Also works great with a racing wheel! Would recommend this to anyone who liked Ridge Racer and racing fans in general. Expand
  16. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    I really love Split Second: having the environment exploding during epic races, so unique and enjoyable, even after palying this game dozens of hours! Too pity we can't play a new opus :(
  17. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This is a really, really underrated game. I truly can't explain why this hasn't achieved the same success of the Burnout games, my guess is because of Disney's bad merchandising. The car crashes are not so spectacular, but the scenario destruction is very impressive, and is really the catch of the game. Very nice graphics, increasing difficulty (to the point it's almost unplayable at theThis is a really, really underrated game. I truly can't explain why this hasn't achieved the same success of the Burnout games, my guess is because of Disney's bad merchandising. The car crashes are not so spectacular, but the scenario destruction is very impressive, and is really the catch of the game. Very nice graphics, increasing difficulty (to the point it's almost unplayable at the end) and a lot of breathtaking moments will get you hooked to this game for days. Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    A fantastic action racer! one of the few racing game that kept me playing it to the end. Its challenging but not frustrating with a great balance between the action and the racing. And even all the cars are fictional everyone looks great!
  19. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    Es el mejor juego arcade de carreras que he jugado hasta ahora, le falta poco para ser perfecto, le falta NITRO, metralletas, lanzamisiles, clavos y otro tipo de cosas para hacer destrozos, no se puede una cadena que se dispare y arranque piezas del otro carro, al puro estilo de redline el anime, eso y sumado una personalizacion de coche (y eso que los coches que estan en el juego sonEs el mejor juego arcade de carreras que he jugado hasta ahora, le falta poco para ser perfecto, le falta NITRO, metralletas, lanzamisiles, clavos y otro tipo de cosas para hacer destrozos, no se puede una cadena que se dispare y arranque piezas del otro carro, al puro estilo de redline el anime, eso y sumado una personalizacion de coche (y eso que los coches que estan en el juego son modelos hermosos), mas caminos para hacer y deshacer, con todo esto este juego queda mejor que cualquier otro juego de carreras.

    Pero no todos son flores, en ocasiones la conduccion parece ser no tan pulida, pero con toda la emocion hasta se termina pasando por alto.

    Por ultimo este juego es de lo mejor en arcade que hay, y ojala que salga una segunda parte... de ser posible con todos los aditamentos que escribi... seria la locura ese juego
    Expand
  20. Apr 19, 2016
    10
    This a very fun game that my friend showed me at his house. In this game, (I am not talking about the story since we were addicted to multiplayer) you race around several differant tracks (designed to be destroyed) and make other enemies crash and activate power plays, which are scripted and destroy the track around you. But be careful you can crash because of your friends power play, anThis a very fun game that my friend showed me at his house. In this game, (I am not talking about the story since we were addicted to multiplayer) you race around several differant tracks (designed to be destroyed) and make other enemies crash and activate power plays, which are scripted and destroy the track around you. But be careful you can crash because of your friends power play, an npc enemy (yes there are npc's in multiplayer mode) or even "wreck yourself". The verdict would be a very fun racing game and one of the best, and you will play it a lot. 10/10 Great and fun racing game. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. This game has plenty of edge-of-your-seat racing and thrilling moments. Some of the repetition, however, slows it down. [Issue#206, p.89]
  2. This is like a wet dream thought up by James Cameron and Michael Bay. Forget realism and go for mindless fun. The powerplay-function is great fun when mastered. While the amount of tracks on offer is less than impressive and the car-models unimaginative, there is lot of fun to be had racing against friends online or offline.
  3. 85
    In the end though, Split/Second has so much going for it that it's easy to recommend for kart and arcade racing fans alike.