• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 7, 2010
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 89
  2. Negative: 4 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    Pretty fun game, was expecting it to be a little less challenging and i'm pleased that it's not! Disc Golf is not at all fun imo however table tennis alone justifies the price. Archery was ok but i'm sure it'd be more fun with a second motion controller.
  2. Sep 18, 2010
    9
    I bought a second controller at the time of purchase. difficulty ramps up nicely, and i enjoyed 5 of the six ( haven't really tried bocce yet) alone and multiplayer. It will be interesting to see if they implement the sports which the characters seem most focused on. such as some form of baseball, basketball, football karate. Favorite games are archery and volleyball. I don't bother watching for the green circle in VB and i consistently toss up the fire ball. Camera above TV seems to work better then below. Look forward to new sports. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2010
    5
    Sports Champions is a sign of the times. It wasn't that long ago that many in the gaming industry panned motion controls as a gimmick that wasn't meant to last. Of course, that was when Nintendo was the only company supporting motion controls. Now in 2010, Sony debuts Sports Champions as the "killer app" for Move. Ultimately, it's their version of WiiSports. I have mixed feelings about the title. It definitely shows off Move and what Sony can accomplish with motion on the PS3. Even though the motion controls were as good as WiiMotion Plus and in some cases a little better, at times it did get wonky with erratic movements when the players (myself and my gf) weren't moving much. Also, the number of times you have to calibrate Move for events can grow tiresome. The number of events are limited which is unfortunate but some are truly enjoyable, Bocce and Archery were great fun but Gladiator and Volleyball just weren't as good as they could have been. The trophy support is appreciated as are the LeaderBoards but at the end of the day, Sports Champions just felt like a Wii HD title in PS3 clothing. There just isn't enough content and it just doesn't offer anything beyond what we've already experienced with Nintendo's offerings. Is this the killer app that Move needed to justify the purchase of the controller/eyetoy/attachments? For the cost of admission, no it is not. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    This is a sportsgame that isn't funny but as serious as a sportsgame can be.
    The Bocce, Archery, Gladiator are great, Disc Golf is good and volleyball and tabletennis are crap (or just not my thing).
    The games become really challenging later on (Gold), in the beginning (Bronze + Silver) all games are quite easy.
  5. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Truthfully nothing on this touches Boxing or Bowling on WiiSports. The Disk Golf is excellent as is the Bocce, Gladiator is kind of hit or miss (no pun intended), it seems sluggish (really now, I'm not even trying), Archery is good and comparable to Links Cross Bow Training and I am not a fan of either the volleyball or table tennis.
  6. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    I have played all of the different sports single player and also done most of them two player. I have to say they were ALL very enjoyable! I was a bit skeptical, but really really enjoyed it. The gladiator game is just GREAT single and two-player.
  7. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The future. Not my type of game, although i am curious and try and i enjoyed so much that i am anxious for the next games of the "move control". The worst it the price of the starter pack and controllers, but after that this tech is the future of fun. Volleyball and Archery are my favorites. Move a flop ? No way !! Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Living in Europe, I got the move with the cra*py starter disc. The only demo I actually liked was "Sports champions" and I ended up buying the full game a day later. I think the game is really fun, beautiful and most importantly - very responsive.
    Ok, the characters are stereotypical and ok, the probably nobody cares about the un-lockable costumes. But I didn't buy the game for any of
    these reasons anyway. I bought it because I wanted to have FUN. And fun I am having!
    Table tennis is really well realised, not once did I have problems with the move controller. Having played a lot of real table tennis, I was very pleased to find out that the game accurately responded to all my hits, ball-curves, dirty tactics, forward- and sidesteps, etc. in a very realistic manner.
    Archery is something I've never done in real life but it sure looks fun in "Sports champions". It can be quite challenging and you need really fast reflexes and a steady arm in later levels. I really enjoyed the different mini-games that archery offers, especially tic-tac-toe.
    Gladiator duel really got me into the game - swinging, slashing, blocking... I actually do all these movements. Yeah, it looks kinda silly, but it's FUN! The game recognised all of my movements and again - not once did I have a problem with non-responsiveness.
    Bocce can be a lot of fun, especially if you need to throw the ball to the other end of the level and through same obstacles. The move controller works perfectly here too, taking into account the strength of the throw, the angle, the spin etc.
    Disc golf has a pretty much similar concept as Bocce, the only difference being that you throw a disc (duh) instead of a ball. The responsiveness in this mini-game exceeded my expectations as well.
    Volleyball can be a lot of fun too, although you can't actually control your players here. They move automatically, you only need to mimic the real-life gestures for handling the volleyball. I played this game the least compared to all others, but the controls work really well here too.

    "Sports champions" is the best launch title for the move controller - its fun, responsive and offers a lot of variety, showcasing what the move is capable of in the best possible way. Enjoy!
    Expand
  9. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    Sports Champions initially looks like a shameless Wii Sports Resort rip off, but is a step above Nintendo's title, and a great demonstration of the PlayStation Move's capabilities. Table Tennis is the stand-out game and combines the instant accessibility of the Wii Sports Resort equivalent with the depth and complexity of Rockstar's table tennis game. The remaining five games are all very accomplished (Bocce in particular being surprisingly good) and get alot more interesting on the higher difficulties. There's plenty of replay value, with stars, costumes and accessories to be unlocked, not to mention some demanding trophies. Easily the pick of the Move's starting line-up and well worth the asking price. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    This is definitely the best game to show off the PS Move. The fluidity of the controls are way better than anything on Wii. Bocce Ball is a favorite with me and my friends. Disc Golf is also spectacular for multiplayer. For single players, archery is top-notch. It is a workout though, sometimes I can't even lift my left-arm after shooting arrows for 30 minutes (this is a good thing for me, because I like/need the exercise). I found gladiator duel just alright, but some of my friends love it. I am not a big fan of the table tennis, but that might change if I practice it more. Volley ball seems good, but I have not played it enough to either like or dislike it. Another great thing about this game is that you can play music from your ps3 hard-drive in game. There is a lot of of apparel and equipment to unlock, but unfortunately most of the unlockables are nothing special (like a green shirt instead of an orange shirt). There is no character creation, which would have been nice. Also it would have been nice if each player could create their own profile so stats could be compared between friends. I was also annoyed by the lack of practice modes for each sport. For example, it would be nice to shoot the bow with no time limit or opponent just for fun. As it is, in order to practice your shooting technique you have to do it within the 1-2 minute matches against opponents or a friend, waiting another minute or more between matches. No practice mode for each sport seems like a huge oversight, and I hope a patch will be released to fix. Heck, I would even pay for an add-on in order to be able to target practice as long as I want. In conclusion, it is an overall solid game that nicely demonstrates the Move's capabilities, but more features could have made the game perfect. Expand
  11. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    This is not a game for your grandmother. You actually have to MOVE and do accurate, precise actions (not just flick your wrist around or flap your arms around wildly!). I am completely blown away by the performance of the Move system; lag free and amazingly accurate. The move hardware and system is the real deal. The games have to catch up. Sports Champions is a great start tho. A very good, serious sports game. I play ping pong very good in real life, and I play this ping pong video game with the same moves and strategies and it TRANSLATES into the game perfectly .. I am totally impressed. Archery, Disc Golf, Ping Pong, and Gladiator Dual are all very good. Two controllers really make some of the games come to life. Anyway ... very good start/into to PS Move. Can't wait for more titles. Anyway ... signed up just to write this review. PS Move is the real thing!! Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    This sportsgame is a solid compliment to the Move controller. It is very good at demonstrating what the Move controller is capable of. The offerings are varied and creative enough to have something for everyone if being played at a party, but there is also enough unlockable content and progression to the title to give it some good play-through value.
    The games that seems to get played
    the most is the Gladiator game and the Archery Game and benefit greatly from having a second Move controller. Both the Archer and Gladiator games have me hoping that we will see an RPG built around these mechanics.
    The Gladiator game is set up a much like a Virtua Fighter type 3D fighting game with weapons and shields. The accuracy of the controls is very impressive to the point that people that weâ
    Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    This is a good starter game for ps move. The games are super accurate and super fun. Two faults are: wanted more games and wanted online. Best played with friends.
  14. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    The responsiveness of the motion controller was just fantastic for the game, and it runs so smoothly. I must've played it for 4 hrs straight when I first got it.
  15. Jul 28, 2011
    8
    i was very sketchy on the PS move and didnt want to shell out $100 for a controller. i ended up stumbeling on to one at my local pawn shop for $55 for the move bundle . for that much i was intrested in giving it a shot . i was pretty suprised the sports champoins game is pretty fun . i found the most entertainment out of the archery game and disk golf . controls are very responsive although i did find it annoying i have to keep recalabrating for every new game . the gladiator game was ok i can play it for alittle bit hear and there . the boccu ball or how ever you spell it didnt thrill me played it 2 or 3 times and left it at that. beach volley ball was also ok but i found the limeting movement kinda pulling me out of it especially since i use to play volley ball in a leage and its my favorite sport to actaully go out and play. the ping pong was pretty crappy and after 1 game didnt want to play it again. you cant just talk about sports champions with out getting into the move more especially when you are gona shell out $100 for this thing if you get it new. biggest problem is you really need another move controller and the navigational controller to get the most out of it and that can run you another $70 new all though you can find it cheaper on amazon and other places if you shop around . i dont have that kind of money to burn to spend $100 on the move bundle and another $70 to get the complete experiance . so i went used and payed $40 for the other 2 . so i am in at under $100 which isnt to bad as i am looking foward to getting a few other games for it plus i can play some of my currernt games that have added move support like KZ3 , RE5 , MAG, and dead space extraction . over all the move is intresting . i dont think its the future of how i want to play all my games but it does bring some new funto the PS3. ultimatley the price tag is up to you to figure out if its worth it all . i will say if you are a FPS gamer and play online alot this will definitly improve your shooting . Expand
  16. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    This is a great game for playstation fanboys and really makes me feel like I have a wii within my ps3. Some of the game modes like beach volleyball are new, refreshing and just a blast to play. Others such as disc golf and table tennis, although a favorite of many people I know, are just too difficult and inconsistent for me to play. I can beat the silver cup on volleyball without skipping a beat yet i can't even beat bronze on some sports. I'm playing my 5th match of 10 on bronze cup disc golf and the guy gets a hole in one when all other holes he's turning in double bogeys. I think the game will be more fun once I get a second controller and have some friends playing it but since I'm stuck at about 1/3 of the game being done and I can hardly advance, I think the average player won't be playing to beat all events. I'd say it's a must own because of it's revolutionary and all around fun gameplay but don't plan on beating this game in a couple hours or easily, because this game is incredibly difficult once you start progressing. The graphics are great, much better than wii. The characters don't look ridiculously cartoony and it's cool to see that when a ball hits the sand for instance, the mark will stay in the sand all game. For the most part the game is responsive but I've ran into quite a few instances where I lost a point because i just completely missed the ball in certain games. All around great game. Definitely pick up the playstation move bundle for $100 with this game because ps move games retail for just $40 when they will come out in the future which is also a much needed pace from GD $70+tax sports games from the greedy bastards at EA. This is a great deal and a cool introduction to playstation move Expand
  17. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    The weakest of all games is the Gladiator game. Some time it works great other times not really. All the other games are really fun to play. Disc golf is very fun. Bocce is fun, but boring.
  18. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    I Bought the Playstation Move Bundle and I have to say I am very impressed by this game. The games are amazing. Volleyball & Gladiator Duel are my personal favorites. Archery & Bocce are pretty good. Table Tennis & Disc Golf are hard. This Game is a really good workout. My aches from playing so much Gladiator Duel. I recommend Sports Champions and the Move to anyone who hasn't bought it yet
  19. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This is my first review, but I thought Move was good enough and had few enough reviews to register. Move and sports champions is what the wii promised to be; it is amazing. More I play it, better I like it. Specifically, Gladiator Duel is particularly fun. It is truly 1:1 tracking, including the force/speed of your movements. To do well in the higher level actually requires a significant amount of physical effort. My only complaints are the lack of depth (experience not physical dimension) in the game and the fact the controllers seem to loss their calibration over time and needed recalibrated, sometimes mid game. Also, you miss about 80 percent of the experience without the second controller. Definitely worth the price though. After seeing the capabilities, I canâ Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    This is a fun game. I'm not into sports games but this one has managed to keep me in front of the screen for over 15 hours so far! Gladiator and Archery are excellent with 2 controllers, single or multi-player. Table tennis is good and accurate but it get's a bit confusing in 2-player mode (you get used to it, tho). Beach Volleyball is OK; nothing to write home about but easy enough for my games-illiterate friends to learn within a few minutes. Bocce and Disc Golf seem OK but they are not my type of games. I can see the appeal and understand that the technology is impresivelly accurate but these two games seem a bit too "turn-based" for my taste. Overall, this is a good compilation of sport games and an excellent showcase of what the Playstation Move can do. Even if you only enjoy half of the games, it's still worth the money as you will be spending quite a long time going through all the champions and challenges and the multiplayer modes are very good. Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    a good foundation on which Move can build. For me, this is a title that shows some promise down the line, much like "Jet Moto" did back in the day and the more recent "Motorstorm", you know that they are going to get it right more sooner than later, and in whatever form that that refinement occurs should make for a phenomenal title. there is a lot of possibility here, now all they have to do is capitalize on this great first step. and for the record: gladiator duel and archery are great with two controllers, and my least favorite sports on the game are disc golf and table tennis, only because i'm bad at them, but i'm getting better with those sports. Expand
  22. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    This is a great game which I would have probably passed on had it not been included in the move bundle. The sword fighting is extremely fun as well as a good work out. There are lots of moves to learn so beginners can get overwhelmed. I found the ping pong to be a little hard to get the hang of but once you do it is a whole lot of fun. Some of the games are a bit slow for my tastes like the disc golf and boccee ball. This game is good fun and one my girlfriend and friends actually like playing when they come over. Collapse
  23. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    It would be satisfying enough if it were just the ping pong simulator, I mean, that thing is crazy good, I can't believe how well they meshed the wrist movements with the actual effects you put into the ball. Gladiator is also a favourite, and works well as a training exercise. The rest of the disciplines are just fillers, but overall it's a very complete package and an amazing title for the move. I would suggest you to buy it, but if you already bought the move chances are you already have it...... enjoy anyway Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    This is not a game that I would buy if the game did not support the Move controller. But thanks to the controller is a different story. Gladiator requires a lot of work during the game. Great if you want to de-stress. Lots of fun and sweat. Muscle pain guaranteed. Archery is great fun in itself, especially when you have two controllers. Disc Golf and Bocce is a much quieter game, ideal for two players. Volleyball is not hooked me, and table tennis is sometimes boring in large doses. A game worth recommending. I have not found anything better on the PS3 and Move, when it comes to sports games. Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Sports Champions wants to deal against Wii Sport and It succeeds in many ways. Fun mini games, great visuals and smart AI make this game worth to play. It would be more addictive if it would have an online , but fortunately it has a multiplayer. But mini games get boring fast, that's a negative point! (7.3)
  26. Dec 6, 2010
    0
    This is a great game which I would have probably passed on had it not been included in the move bundle. The sword fighting is extremely fun as well as a good work out. There are lots of moves to learn so beginners can get overwhelmed. I found the ping pong to be a little hard to get the hang of but once you do it is a whole lot of fun. Some of the games are a bit slow for my tastes like the disc golf and boccee ball. This game is good fun and one my girlfriend and friends actually like playing when they come over. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. 70
    Great party game offers six mini-games to test your skills with PS Move control stick. Lasting fun guaranteed both in solo and in multiplayer modes of play. Lack of online play is inexcusable though. [Issue#197]
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    80
    Sports Champions may seem devoid of personality, but spending some time with it shows that it is a deliberate, well-crafted piece of software. Those who have been waiting for a true realization of the potential of motion control can finally exchange their smoldering torches for florescent pink wands.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    75
    If nothing else, Sports Champions is perhaps one of the few Move launch titles that showcase the accuracy and potential of PlayStation's Motion controller. Though lacking in many departments, it provides a robust and enjoyable motion-based sports experience.