Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface,SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX’s recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    94
    Overall, there is a heap of value here; once World Tour is complete there is a still heap to do, from challenges to collectibles. This is a more than worthy entry for a series that has long been successful and provides a complete experience that is highly and enjoyable and full of value. There are very few issues with this release and they are generally rare and fairly minor. SSX is worth a look for anyone into extreme sports titles or someone looking for something different to all the other titles that are cut from the same mold.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Although multiplayer-wise EA could have done something more, SSX is surely what fans were waiting for: an intense, adrenaline-fueled and fun gaming experience.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Despite the gargantuan scale, it's never less than incredible fun. [Apr 2012, p.96]
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    83
    Despite a missing split screen mode and a somewhat dissatisfying singleplayer SSX still proves to be a great sports game, because in a way it truly revolutionises online gaming.
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    A triumphant return for the series. It may not be the most realistic extreme sports sim out there, but it captures everything fans have loved about the franchise since its 2000 debut, and brings a raft of innovative new features to the table. You won't find a better snowboarding experience elsewhere.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    SSX doesn't have the best graphics and lacks smooth controls, but heck; it's fun. The new features Survive It, Global Events and RiderNet make SSX a worthy purchase. Welcome back, SSX, we missed you!
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    45
    Frustrates and infuriates as poor design decisions smash into each other with alarming regularity. A real letdown, given the series it comes from, but in actuality this is as close to an SSX game as it is Tetris. [Issue#216, p.70]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 39
  2. Negative: 9 out of 39
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Overall, I am VERY impressed with this game. Having been an avid fan of the SSX series in the past (not including Blur or On Tour and SSX 3Overall, I am VERY impressed with this game. Having been an avid fan of the SSX series in the past (not including Blur or On Tour and SSX 3 being my all time favorite) I was extremely excited to see this game coming down the pipe. I was a tiny bit skeptical about purchasing this game at first because they had included new mechanics to the gameplay (flight suit and what have you) but these new features flow extremely naturally into both online and offline play. The storyline is a tad weak, but the levels, characters, and gameplay more than make up for this shortcoming. If you go into playing this game expecting it to be EXACTLY like SSX 3, you're probably going to be disappointed, but if you go in just expecting what SSX usually has to offer (fast-pace gameplay, unique characters, awesome uber tricks, gorgeous levels) you're going to be a lot happier with the experience. Although there were some missing aspects to this game that I wish were included (i.e. some characters from previous games and DJ Atomika) there's really very little to complain about here. And I'm sure EA is going to create DLC for this game so that you can play as your favorite SSX veterans again (I may be wrong, but DLC is such a cash cow in games these days, it's entirely possible). The customizable track lists is one of the best features and the online play is phenomenal. If you have 60 bucks in your wallet and want a game that's going to keep you occupied for hours on end, do yourself a favor and go buy this game. DO EET NAAAAOOOWWW!! Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This game looked good in the trailers, but BOY did they miss the mark with this one. The menu system is con fusing, the characters don't soThis game looked good in the trailers, but BOY did they miss the mark with this one. The menu system is con fusing, the characters don't so much a speak anymore, and if they do its really hard to hear. The levels are atrocious , the tricks are basically copy and pasted too each character. Overall this was just bad, i mean how can SSX on Tour be better than this, and i thought that game was the worst one in the series, until NOW. Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    Alright, I feel as though I have to debunk the blatant lies in MAD_JIHAD's review, since random smear campaigns are the scourge of user basedAlright, I feel as though I have to debunk the blatant lies in MAD_JIHAD's review, since random smear campaigns are the scourge of user based reviews.

    Can you make it down the first track without touching the controller? Yes. Can you "literally win a game?" No. Not a race, not a trick and not a survival track. Most tracks have pitfalls of sorts, or environmental dangers which if you do not avoid, you won't make it down the track, let alone win without touching the controller. This is also not even mentioning trick tracks which you need to actual chain tricks together to win, meaning again, the controller has to be used. With that out of the way, this game will bring back the nostalgic feelings if you were a fan of the previous games. It still has that arcade feel with the audio and video, as well as the ridiculous speed, tricks and locales. The game is clearly meant for the online mode. The single player can be completed in a solid night, but some events are literally a week or two long.

    This is a world ranking (barring region stats, which I'm no aware of) game. There are a dozens of tracks all with leaderboards to compete with and an ongoing leveling system for the characters and gearing system to work towards to constantly improve times, scores and distances. Also some genuinely difficult tracks, at least at lower character/gear levels, provides laughs and A LOT of replays.

    Overall, a great game, basically a HD remake of Tricky but with online stat tracking and more tracks.

    I give this a 9 because EVENTUALLY this may grow stale for some if they aren't into trying to stay on the leaderboard.
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SSX is the rebirth of snowboarding games. It destroys Shaun Whites attempt, and its an amazing game at that. However the need to change gear gets old quickly. The game is a ton of fun, just make sure you listen to the gear changing or youll die alot. Also only one person on a console is a dissapointing flaw of SSX. Dont pay $60 for it, but if it drops i'd jump at it. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    6
    This game is ruined by the dozens of jumps where you don't know if the direction you're steering for will send your boarder off theThis game is ruined by the dozens of jumps where you don't know if the direction you're steering for will send your boarder off the mountain... I never become frustrated by earlier SSX games, because the levels were designed for max fun. Here, the levels are designed from real-world mountain data, so there's little 'gamey' about them. It's just unfair to the player to have sudden "oh woops, you failed!" five minutes into a race. I don't care much about the lack of local multiplayer. The online highscore thing is kind of decent enough. But those levels! They are just game-breaking some places. Also, no new game modes or anything. It's just "race this, out-trick that". The presentation is a mixture of really awesome (graphics are great, everything about the game is smooth) and cheapy (character overview is just a bunch of drawings, and equipment also a bunch of small drawings. No nice 3d presentation of your character with the new gear)... And all the funny gear from SSX 3 is gone. In that game, I unlocked a gorilla mask and a boomblaster. That was FUN.. It made the game seem grand and worthwhile... This time around, there's just the levels to unlock, and a few good gimmicks to keep things fresh (the wingsuit is brilliant, so is the solar panel) Oh and the avalanche levels had me screaming out loud with joy.. They looked so good and played so well. Actually, I'll up the score from 5 to 6 because of the avalanche levels.. and the wingsuit. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Massive disappointment, ssx3 was one of my all time favourite games but this has absolutely non of that ssx flavour. I seem to spend more timeMassive disappointment, ssx3 was one of my all time favourite games but this has absolutely non of that ssx flavour. I seem to spend more time watching load screens than playing, gone are the 20 minute free roams. They are replaced by super short 2 to 3 minute unconnected little stages, barley enough time to get into a flow. The survive it sections are huge exercise in frustration, continually dropping into holes or off the edge of mountain is zero fun for me.

    Probably a great game for new comers but long time series fans will left feeling that this isn't ssx. Its pretty insane to think i enjoy a game thats almost 9 years old to this.

    On the plus side visuals are great but visuals dont make a great game :-(
    Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible. Do not buy. The reason we love to play skateboarding and snowboarding games is that you can't die. In real life youThis game is terrible. Do not buy. The reason we love to play skateboarding and snowboarding games is that you can't die. In real life you can. And in SSX you can. Sure, you can rewind, but in many cases you'll be at such a disadvantage that you'll just have to start over anyway. Some reviews on here have lauded the soundtrack, which is admittedly decent. But every time you restart a drop/level, it restarts the currently playing song. This isn't too bad unless you get stuck trying a race over and over. Then it's infuriating. I loved Coolboarders, Amped, and every other SSX title. This one is just frustrating.
    Part of the frustration stems from the World Tour mode, which forces you to use a Level 1 character at every new stop. You want to level up and build an epic character, but no. Back to Level 1. This also means that every course in World Tour mode must be completable by a low-level character. Therefore, the game relies on stupid death traps to make you memorize the lines if you want to survive the run.

    Read Mongrel's review, too. Try before you buy.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews