Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    90
    SSX is the video game this generation has been missing...This is what happens when you don't just put the game out every year, but spend your time crafting it, creating the ultimate experience. SSX redefines snowboarding games, raises the bar for the genre, then backflips over it.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    92
    SSX has so many great things wrapped into it that I could hardly be happier. Aside from the way the Deadly Descents "storyline" plays out and the occasional character getting stuck between two rocks, SSX brings back the joy of playing all hours of the night trying to outdo your previous score.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    88
    SSX is a must for long-time fans of the series and also those who enjoyed them, but didn't quite love them because of how much better the controls are and how much more balanced the game as a whole feels with it teaching you the essentials right away. The RiderNet setup may not please those craving direct multi-player, but should satisfy those wanting a challenge, and the thrills the game provides raise the bar for the genre as a whole. Many snowboarding games have been released over the years, but I don't think any of them quite top this new incarnation of SSX.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    90
    SSX is a return to the frantic trick-based games of several years ago with a modern online component. It is a heck of a ride.
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Although multiplayer-wise EA could have done something more, SSX is surely what fans were waiting for: an intense, adrenaline-fueled and fun gaming experience.
  6. 90
    It could have accomplished so much more, but it's hard to complain when SSX is still such a brilliant game.
  7. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Despite the gargantuan scale, it's never less than incredible fun. [Apr 2012, p.96]
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    SSX is a must have title for any fan of extreme sports. It's a frozen paradise!
  9. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    You'll get more than your money's worth here. This is a game that you will pull from the shelf for months to come just to drop in and do "one more race" that will lead to a few lost hours.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    94
    Overall, there is a heap of value here; once World Tour is complete there is a still heap to do, from challenges to collectibles. This is a more than worthy entry for a series that has long been successful and provides a complete experience that is highly and enjoyable and full of value. There are very few issues with this release and they are generally rare and fairly minor. SSX is worth a look for anyone into extreme sports titles or someone looking for something different to all the other titles that are cut from the same mold.
  11. Mar 5, 2012
    88
    It's been a while, but SSX returns with a BANG! EA Canada delivers in almost every way, giving us the best virtual snowboard experience yet. The lack of online multiplayer is the only real downside.
  12. Feb 28, 2012
    91
    The SSX series has been reinvented and revitalized in the best possible way.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 39
  2. Negative: 9 out of 39
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, great re-incarnation of SSX. Intense, crisp, graphically stunning and a great interface. Possibly the most fun I've had from any video game in the last 12 months. Welcome back SSX - thanks for providing an excellent escape from the FPS & RPG drone. Full Review »
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Overall, I am VERY impressed with this game. Having been an avid fan of the SSX series in the past (not including Blur or On Tour and SSX 3 being my all time favorite) I was extremely excited to see this game coming down the pipe. I was a tiny bit skeptical about purchasing this game at first because they had included new mechanics to the gameplay (flight suit and what have you) but these new features flow extremely naturally into both online and offline play. The storyline is a tad weak, but the levels, characters, and gameplay more than make up for this shortcoming. If you go into playing this game expecting it to be EXACTLY like SSX 3, you're probably going to be disappointed, but if you go in just expecting what SSX usually has to offer (fast-pace gameplay, unique characters, awesome uber tricks, gorgeous levels) you're going to be a lot happier with the experience. Although there were some missing aspects to this game that I wish were included (i.e. some characters from previous games and DJ Atomika) there's really very little to complain about here. And I'm sure EA is going to create DLC for this game so that you can play as your favorite SSX veterans again (I may be wrong, but DLC is such a cash cow in games these days, it's entirely possible). The customizable track lists is one of the best features and the online play is phenomenal. If you have 60 bucks in your wallet and want a game that's going to keep you occupied for hours on end, do yourself a favor and go buy this game. DO EET NAAAAOOOWWW!! Full Review »
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    After finishing the world tour aspect of the new SSX, I came onto here expecting to see nothing but positive reviews from nearly everyone. From personal experience; playing through every SSX game to date, I can honestly say this game has improved exponentially on it's predecessors. In terms of graphical value, features such as the deadly descents and the 9 different areas, (or 10 if you include Mt. Fuji,) this game in my opinion is the best snowboarding game ever made. The new RiderNet feature is as fun to play and compete in as it is innovative and original. The bugs are extremely slim compared to the vast success in this game, and anyone who reviews differently is either being nit picky or just plain stupid. Yes as mad_jihad said below you can get to the bottom of one of the initial, warm up runs without touching the controller, and yes that is babying the player. But the beginning levels are for beginners, and aren't the first few levels in every game supposed to baby the player? The average player should be able to play the game too, and not everyone is as much of an all star as my counterparts below. Nevertheless to put all of this to rest; I can assure you, the last few deadly descents in this game do anything but "baby" you. Don't judge a book by it's cover. Full Review »