SSX PlayStation 3

SSX Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface,SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX’s recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: EA Canada
  • Genre(s): Sports, Alternative, Individual, Snowboarding, Snowboarding, Ski / Snowboard
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Massive World Dev Diary: Part 3
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    94
    Overall, there is a heap of value here; once World Tour is complete there is a still heap to do, from challenges to collectibles. This is a more than worthy entry for a series that has long been successful and provides a complete experience that is highly and enjoyable and full of value. There are very few issues with this release and they are generally rare and fairly minor. SSX is worth a look for anyone into extreme sports titles or someone looking for something different to all the other titles that are cut from the same mold.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Although multiplayer-wise EA could have done something more, SSX is surely what fans were waiting for: an intense, adrenaline-fueled and fun gaming experience.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Despite the gargantuan scale, it's never less than incredible fun. [Apr 2012, p.96]
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    83
    Despite a missing split screen mode and a somewhat dissatisfying singleplayer SSX still proves to be a great sports game, because in a way it truly revolutionises online gaming.
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    A triumphant return for the series. It may not be the most realistic extreme sports sim out there, but it captures everything fans have loved about the franchise since its 2000 debut, and brings a raft of innovative new features to the table. You won't find a better snowboarding experience elsewhere.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    SSX doesn't have the best graphics and lacks smooth controls, but heck; it's fun. The new features Survive It, Global Events and RiderNet make SSX a worthy purchase. Welcome back, SSX, we missed you!
  7. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    45
    Frustrates and infuriates as poor design decisions smash into each other with alarming regularity. A real letdown, given the series it comes from, but in actuality this is as close to an SSX game as it is Tetris. [Issue#216, p.70]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Overall, I am VERY impressed with this game. Having been an avid fan of the SSX series in the past (not including Blur or On Tour and SSX 3Overall, I am VERY impressed with this game. Having been an avid fan of the SSX series in the past (not including Blur or On Tour and SSX 3 being my all time favorite) I was extremely excited to see this game coming down the pipe. I was a tiny bit skeptical about purchasing this game at first because they had included new mechanics to the gameplay (flight suit and what have you) but these new features flow extremely naturally into both online and offline play. The storyline is a tad weak, but the levels, characters, and gameplay more than make up for this shortcoming. If you go into playing this game expecting it to be EXACTLY like SSX 3, you're probably going to be disappointed, but if you go in just expecting what SSX usually has to offer (fast-pace gameplay, unique characters, awesome uber tricks, gorgeous levels) you're going to be a lot happier with the experience. Although there were some missing aspects to this game that I wish were included (i.e. some characters from previous games and DJ Atomika) there's really very little to complain about here. And I'm sure EA is going to create DLC for this game so that you can play as your favorite SSX veterans again (I may be wrong, but DLC is such a cash cow in games these days, it's entirely possible). The customizable track lists is one of the best features and the online play is phenomenal. If you have 60 bucks in your wallet and want a game that's going to keep you occupied for hours on end, do yourself a favor and go buy this game. DO EET NAAAAOOOWWW!! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    When I was little I basically played 3 games, Tekken 3, Crash Team Racing and SSX. While Tekken is losing the war in fighting games toWhen I was little I basically played 3 games, Tekken 3, Crash Team Racing and SSX. While Tekken is losing the war in fighting games to superior titles such as Street fighter 4 and Mortal Combat, and Naughty Dog sold Crash to another company that killed him, I'm left with SSX. And I'm glad -and very relieved- that it doesn't disappoint. Better yet, it build upon the franchise, new controls, a whole lot of drops, 3 different mods (race it, trick it and survive it), making this the best SSX to date. Only disappointment -and sadly this is a big one- there is no split-screen multiplayer, only online multiplayer, which I'm no big fan of. Really wanted to be able to play with my friends. But don't let this scare you away from this title. it's still a fantastic singleplayer game with loads of content to keep you entertained. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    SSX (2012) is one hell of a rush. If you know the tricks. The World Tour mode is perfect for starters or for the people who have lost theirSSX (2012) is one hell of a rush. If you know the tricks. The World Tour mode is perfect for starters or for the people who have lost their flow and want to get back in. The Survive It runs are a blast to ride in my opinion. But the Deadly Descents could've kicked their difficulty level up a notch. Seriously I could beat all of them without the special gear, except for one, on my first go. (Thin Air is impossible without an oxygen tank. Even with a wingsuit.) But there are some frustrating runs designed by Satan in this game. Great example: One Step Ahead/Grand Golliat if I'm correct. The game runs extremely smooth with beautiful mountain ranges. I do miss the fireworks though. No not all of the 168 drops have death crevasses. That's whining over one small aspect of the game. Awesome amount of tricks and the possibilities of performing 15 backflips while doing Walking the Dog is just awesome. And the technique of using the entire track as a half-pipe has been there since the first one. And beating the first track without touching the controller. WOW! Possible in SSX3 as well. Hell, you can do Aloha Ice Jam under a minute without controller in Tricky. Hard to pull off, but possible. And the rewind function is there to add more challenge and to not exploit the reset glitch/trick of past games. Soundtrack is pretty tight, but it lacks the diversity of SSX3. And there is the option to customize your soundtrack which is great. Characters do interact with each other during races, but not as loud as in Tricky or 3. And some new character quotes is a nice addition as well. ''this is WICKED!!!'' -Mac... The online experience was very fun. And no. You don't always race with ghosts. Blue rider ghost. Other riders Live holograms to avoid painful collisions. And the wingsuit ''cheating'' is not cheating unless it says: ''Wingsuit Restricted'' Split-screen: I really didn't care, because I barely played with my friends side by side. The controls: It takes time to get used to it. Just like the transition from Tricky to 3. A completely different feel to it. But the thing is. This time around you don't have to push your stick all the way to the left or right. Slightly pushing it to the left or right is good enough. Character customization felt like the one from the originator (SSX 2000). Costumes are just the same ones with a different color or pattern, but there are some ridiculous amount of board designs out there. The things I found frustrating in this game are: The shop design. I've wasted $37.000.000 to get a rewind perk for a Survival record run. Instant deaths: At some points of a Survival run you can lose all of your armour, health and sometimes even both in 1 bail. 12 years of SSX full of frustrating moments, now Instant death?! It's understandable if your boarder faceplants him/herself while going 400 km/h against a boulder. But I was just riding on a ledge. ''WOOOSSHH'' Board disappeared. Run ended. Me getting pissed afterwards. Standard controls during Trick it events: Stalefish Mute are the highest scored tricks. When jumping out of the chopper you can get 8.500 to 10.000 points. While the highest scoring tricks on Classic, Tailgrab Seatbelt only 6.500 to 8.500 points. Small differences like that have a effect on record runs. Especially with the new multiplier system. And tricks on Standard controls can be pulled of faster than with the Classic control scheme. Sucks if you can only play with Classic controls like me. But Classic functions better during races.
    Overall, SSX (2012) is an awesome competitive extreme sports game like it's predecessors Tricky 3.
    Every SSX game is hard when you first start the game. Once mastered or once you have the basic SSX knowledge, it's one hell of a ride and you want to beat everyone on the tracks and play it forever.
    And again like it's predecessors! It's plagued by small mistakes that you can ignore or get completely mad at. Like the advantage of Standard over Classic in Trick It's. SSX also has a awesome fan site which you can check out for master runs or competition since the Global Events only has SSX fans now.
    Mos def a 9/10.
    What a long review...
    Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers. Been a huge fan of the SSX franchise, even though i only owned the third one, which is the one i will be comparing the new game to in this review. So basically everything looks and sounds good - The SSX soundtracks always amaze me. The game feature 3 modes; race it, trick it, and survive it. The new controls were a bit bothering, so i changed them to classical. The problem with this is that you then have to find out how to break out the flying suit and how to do the signature tricks (Signature is done by holding R1, R2, L1, L2 on the PS3, and you just have to hold X while in the air to fly). I liked how you get to play all the characters during the deadly descent solo campaign, which sadly can be played to an end in 4-6 if you've played the game before. It's not because the game is easy, because it's not. Some of the descents are bothering as f**k while some are easy as pie. A bit into the game you get to know the controls decently and this is probably also the point when you reach the more difficult drops, where you get to fall into crevasses and die if you do not hit the rewind button, which will set you back in time. Sadly the AI and other players are not affected by this feature, which makes the game even more difficult. Even though the survival drops are the focus of this game, they are more or less just something you want to get over with, because most of them are a pain in the butt, and not very entertaining in the good old SSX way - they're simply just about surviving. To compensate for this flaw, the game features gear which you will need to complete the deadly descents - such as armor, wing suit, headlamps and so on.

    Not being able to play spit-screen is the biggest disappointment of the game, and in the online mode, you only get to go against other players ghosts in race mode and it never feels like you actually interact with others. Very little character customization is another big disappointment; you can only change you suit skins, and while this only result in different colors, you can get special suits that come with perks such as trick bonus or big head or big hands perk, but the last two are only for sheer looks. On the other hand you can now ride to your own music, which is kinda cool. Conclusion:
    A great game, but missing features makes it less great. Also, you need to know the tracks alright, if you want to have decent fun. This game is meant to focus on survival, than actual competition, which were the focus in the other games. The insane tricks are still included and thank god, they still feel just as awesome. The element of adrenaline is also still there, but it's being interrupted by the instantaneously appearing crevasses which will end your run, if you do not use the rewind feature. So if you can live with no split-screen, bothering crevasses and no customization then this game is for you. But don't expect a better SSX3/SSX Tricky, because its not.

    Pros: Major improvements in looks and sound, controls can be set to classical, if you're oldschool.

    Cons: No split-screen, No customization, No interaction with other players.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    I am thrilled to be playing SSX again. My girlfriend used to enjoy watching me play the first game, now as my wife, she watches me play withI am thrilled to be playing SSX again. My girlfriend used to enjoy watching me play the first game, now as my wife, she watches me play with our children. I am having a great time, the game is much improved. Although I found the Wingsuit to be the biggest buzz kill since the RTS element of Brutal Legend. I went from ripping up every run I unlocked to rapid, frequent, winged death. The fact that it is a requirement for some runs makes it even more frustrating to me. You may adapt to it more quickly than I did but the Wingsuit feature detracted substantially from my experience. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    5
    When I found out that the SSX series was finally returning, I was incredibly excited. After playing all of the other games, I was relishingWhen I found out that the SSX series was finally returning, I was incredibly excited. After playing all of the other games, I was relishing the opportunity to to play the series once again. However overall I felt this disappointing. The general game play itself isn't the problem. The new control scheme I was particularly impressed with, and was simple but also enjoyable to use. However I do think that tricks are rather easy to perform, and I just ended up with mashing with the analogue stick and other buttons to perform the tricks. I also found the new features brought into the game such as wing packs, and ice picks a good idea, but was not used enough in the game, which is something to work on. Finally I also found the maps were well designed, and impressive considering they were mapped from real-world locations.

    The main issue with this game is that although some people may consider it innovative and different I think the multiplayer aspect of the game was a huge let down. The main reason for this, is that from all the past games a key part of the enjoyment was being able to race and play against your friends, which you cannot do on this game. I believe that not being able to race against your friends offline is a massive gap that has been left out by EA and I don't understand why they did this. Now people may argue that the online mode, does permit competing against other players online, however it is only in the aspect of beating previous players times or scores in trick and race mode. again there is simply no option to race against people straight up. Although small in comparison to my despair of the multiplayer, there is also a few other features that are missing from this game (compared to previous titles).

    I think that customisation of the characters in this game is lacking, as all you seem to be able to do is buy different suits where as with previous games, you could customise much more. The other thing that I found disappointing was the lack of different game modes, all there seemed to be was either race mode or trick it, with the exception of survival. I believe that having modes such as the half pipe, or racing tournaments would of been enjoyable to have.

    Overall I think that EA has gone a step in the wrong direction for the series with this game, and has put doubt in my mind over possible future titles. I believe that this game, after completing the world tour mode, has very little else to other and therefore I would only recommend renting this game rather than purchasing it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible. Do not buy. The reason we love to play skateboarding and snowboarding games is that you can't die. In real life youThis game is terrible. Do not buy. The reason we love to play skateboarding and snowboarding games is that you can't die. In real life you can. And in SSX you can. Sure, you can rewind, but in many cases you'll be at such a disadvantage that you'll just have to start over anyway. Some reviews on here have lauded the soundtrack, which is admittedly decent. But every time you restart a drop/level, it restarts the currently playing song. This isn't too bad unless you get stuck trying a race over and over. Then it's infuriating. I loved Coolboarders, Amped, and every other SSX title. This one is just frustrating.
    Part of the frustration stems from the World Tour mode, which forces you to use a Level 1 character at every new stop. You want to level up and build an epic character, but no. Back to Level 1. This also means that every course in World Tour mode must be completable by a low-level character. Therefore, the game relies on stupid death traps to make you memorize the lines if you want to survive the run.

    Read Mongrel's review, too. Try before you buy.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews