Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. As a game based on a movie, Star Trek is ok. This is no rush job but it lacks either the expertise or imagination to make it passable as a game in its own right. And who the hell would bother with that. [July 2013, p77]
  2. 50
    There was an obligation for Digital Extremes to have done something much better than what was done here.
  3. May 30, 2013
    55
    In the end, it's almost exactly what you'd expect from a big-budget cash-in based on a big-budget summer blockbuster. Flashy, but ultimately soulless and empty.
  4. May 27, 2013
    52
    Despite a few issues Star Trek: The Video Game turns out to be a surprising amount of fun. [Issue#231, p.72]
  5. May 23, 2013
    50
    Star Trek doesn’t play it smart: the game gets stranded in a galaxy full of cliches typically associated with TPSes, ignoring at the same time the stronger aspects of Roddenberry’s creation.
  6. May 21, 2013
    50
    As it is we have something that is good for little more than use as an interactive movie.
  7. May 13, 2013
    60
    I had an impression Digital Extremes wants to make a deal. They pretend to have developed a great game (which they haven’t) and I was supposed to pretend I’m having great time (which I didn’t). [CD-Action 06/2013, p.54]
  8. May 6, 2013
    50
    A clear example of how not to develop a tie-in. The plot is convincing, but everything else, from the gameplay to the technical department, does not deserve your attention.
  9. May 6, 2013
    50
    Star Trek is a dish best served to Trekkies who want to fight their way through the bowels of the new Enterprise and see what the new sickbay and engine room look like while they occasionally blast things.
  10. May 5, 2013
    55
    With classic re-imagined 60's villains, great banter between Kirk and Spock plus a story that's actually interesting, the game is unfortunately let down by dated graphics and glitchy gaming mechanics.
  11. May 5, 2013
    52
    At it's current MSRP, Star Trek is destined to dock at the nearest starbase for good. However, if you really enjoy co-op third person games (who doesn't?), even if they aren't very good, you might circle back to this one later when the price is far, far lower.
  12. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    In the end, this is a solid cover-based third-person shooter with co-op, a decent story, with some technical shortcomings and mediocre graphics root it firmly in the realms of licensed gaming. Still, Trek-fans will get about 10 hours of worthwhile entertainment out of this.
  13. What Star Trek does well is to achieve a serviceable level of entertainment. However it never stands out thanks to derivative design and occasional shoddy corners. If this was a cheaper, downloadable title I’d score it more favorably but this is competing in price and scale with bigger and more impressive games with a well practiced bag of last year’s tricks.
User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 21 out of 33
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    what a mess, what a epic mess......... plenty of good ideas but sadly ended by implemented on a disastrous way. this is an obvious cash-in onwhat a mess, what a epic mess......... plenty of good ideas but sadly ended by implemented on a disastrous way. this is an obvious cash-in on the well knowed franchise and gambling with the hype on the new film that soon will be at the theaters to sell some copies of this game, just because you're a die hard of star trek, dont buy any garbage just because this have star trek name attached. Star Trek is awesome but this game............... should be boycotted by any serious Trekie!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Meh game. First the worst, the acting was uninspired. Sounded like Kirk was literally reading for the first time. The A.I. is good and awful,Meh game. First the worst, the acting was uninspired. Sounded like Kirk was literally reading for the first time. The A.I. is good and awful, some times a challenge some times just blankly staring at nothing. I do enjoy interacting in this universe but it is like a Michael Bay film all action no substance. Where's the challenging parts? The set pieces are poorly implemented and the gun mechanics leave me wanting for a smaller cross hair. This game should not be a full priced disk but a twenty dollar arcade download. Wished i rented. Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    3
    I've only played for a couple of hours, but my impression is...nice voice acting from what seems to be the entire cast, and thats the best II've only played for a couple of hours, but my impression is...nice voice acting from what seems to be the entire cast, and thats the best I can say. The missions are standard duck and shoot, along with some minigame puzzles. Very buggy (at one point Spock was walking six feet off the ground...), and the controls, sp. jumping, is very sloppy. Unless gameplay improves greatly, a big disappointment. Full Review »