Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of one of the greatest science-fiction heroes of TV and film -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op gaming experience that builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter inserts players in an original story and action-based combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. May 13, 2013
    60
    I had an impression Digital Extremes wants to make a deal. They pretend to have developed a great game (which they haven’t) and I was supposed to pretend I’m having great time (which I didn’t). [CD-Action 06/2013, p.54]
  2. May 30, 2013
    55
    In the end, it's almost exactly what you'd expect from a big-budget cash-in based on a big-budget summer blockbuster. Flashy, but ultimately soulless and empty.
  3. May 5, 2013
    52
    At it's current MSRP, Star Trek is destined to dock at the nearest starbase for good. However, if you really enjoy co-op third person games (who doesn't?), even if they aren't very good, you might circle back to this one later when the price is far, far lower.
  4. May 15, 2013
    46
    Star Trek: The Video Game tries to take advantage of the incoming release of the new Star Trek movie, offering an unfinished product that brings nothing new to the fans nor the third person action genre. It is a flawed product that any gamer can do without.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    40
    Star Trek The Video Game just isn't very good.
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    40
    Digital Extremes clearly set out to develop a game that is more than a mere licensed cash-in, but Star Trek is a title with big problems, from camera issues to ropey cover and platforming mechanics.
  7. May 24, 2013
    25
    In every way a failure of intergalactic proportions. Skip this.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 21 out of 33
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I haven't played this game but I think its pretty EPIC based on video I seen. I am a big fan of Star Wars for a long time. Very next next-gen game with lots to do and lasers in space. I hope they make this game into a movie soon because I would go see it even if I had something better to do. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    I will be the first admit that I purchased this purely because I love Star Trek. While it is not the best and it does have it's problems, I'm having a lot of fun playing it. The banter between Kirk and Spock is fun. The combat mechanics do need improvement but they are workable. The story is definitely the strong point of the game. If you are a die hard Trek fan I would recommend it. If not I would rent or wait for it in the bargain bin. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Meh game. First the worst, the acting was uninspired. Sounded like Kirk was literally reading for the first time. The A.I. is good and awful, some times a challenge some times just blankly staring at nothing. I do enjoy interacting in this universe but it is like a Michael Bay film all action no substance. Where's the challenging parts? The set pieces are poorly implemented and the gun mechanics leave me wanting for a smaller cross hair. This game should not be a full priced disk but a twenty dollar arcade download. Wished i rented. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    3
    Another awful movie licence game just to make money of it name. This game is bad, i mean really bad. The story is below average with no exploration. Star trek should be about exploring the galaxy for new life form or other amazing stuff but here its just about shooting aliens in the face. AI in this game is terrible teammate or enemy. Teammate AI is just stupid which can be fixable by playing with a friend which i highly recommend. There is multiplayer as well which is fun for an hour then it just boring. I can bash this game all day thats how bad it is. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    This game is awfully bad, its so bad it makes me cry but the reason I set it so low is the shady business of the developers, fake accounts on metacritic and steam do not buy this game until the price is so low! Collapse
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    This game was garbage. It froze up on me in the first 5 minutes and has deleted my save more times than I can count. The game is broken broken broken broken. Do not support this garbage. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Co-op doesn't work, gameplay mechanics looks like a cheap rip-off of popular titles, like Call of Duty. There's no creativity in the art direction, looks like it's taken straight from Mass Effect 3. Don't buy this game. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews