User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 207

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    4
    Great story, great graphics. Completely arbitrary controls. Game is hard, not because it actually is (ie Ninja Gaiden series), but because the character fails to do what you want him to. If the game itself was playable, this would've been a great game. But as it is, the game simply sucks; you'll be playing the same area 5+ times because you get chain knocked down by shoulder cannons..
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    1
    this was a good idea for a game but the people behind it did not do a good enough job with it. they should have stuck with the Battle Front series and made a 3rd one instead of this garbage then work on this a bit longer then release it once it has been polished and well done
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    2
    I love star wars and have some great film and gaming memories but this was terrible. Full of bugs, bad controls, awful camera and of course QTE's. On the up side, it looks nice and the plot whilst silly could be a lot worse. On another plus is that it is now cheap so if there is nothing else you want to try give it a go, but don't say I didn't warn you!
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    4
    This game was a major letdown for me the controls and camera angle are just terrible and the boss fights are marred by pre-scripted events that require buttons pressed in sequence as they flash up on screen. I loved the Physics Systems and the over the top force powers but nothing can overcome the completely inadequate camera system and control particularly annoying in the highlyThis game was a major letdown for me the controls and camera angle are just terrible and the boss fights are marred by pre-scripted events that require buttons pressed in sequence as they flash up on screen. I loved the Physics Systems and the over the top force powers but nothing can overcome the completely inadequate camera system and control particularly annoying in the highly unnecessary "plat former" type jump from object to object sections. Even my love of all things Star Wars could not pull me all the way through the game & I stopped playing about halfway through. A potentially great game with one massive glaringly obvious flaw in that the poor controls & camera system make it un-enjoyable. Expand
  5. May 13, 2012
    4
    Lucas Arts, much has already been said right there. A company that has produced great things but possibly more often has brought us potential more so than exhilarating experiences. Star Wars games can be a strange breed and for obvious reasons. The most vast of all expanded sci fi universes is also probably the most protected by fans who truly enjoy all it has to offer. Anything Star WarsLucas Arts, much has already been said right there. A company that has produced great things but possibly more often has brought us potential more so than exhilarating experiences. Star Wars games can be a strange breed and for obvious reasons. The most vast of all expanded sci fi universes is also probably the most protected by fans who truly enjoy all it has to offer. Anything Star Wars is climbing up hill and more often than not it will disappoint, but not always, which is why fans anticipate everything the franchises horizon has to offer. Enter The Force Unleashed, a strange game in sense of just how on the fence it all is when being judged as a good game or not. It is a could be promising title that allows us to one, join the Dark Side, and two, focus on using the force. Two great concepts side by side in a gorgeous package and fans were stoked. Well, this gorgeous package happens to have beauty only skin deep. What could have been a full circle great game has been released as a half broken yet intriguing journey. From the point of view of those just wishing to exist in the Star Wars universe Force Unleashed is a great choice to play. Taking place between episodes 3 and 4, a time where a lot of story is available but we never thought we would see any of it. Darth Vader has himself a young and secret apprentice, which is our protagonist of the story. I do not want to go deep into the plot because it is rather fun to watch it play out. I will explain some though. Vader keeps this apprentice known as Starkiller under his wing and orders him to assassinate remaining Jedi of the council and also plans to over throw Darth Sidious with you by his side. I wont say anymore because honestly the story and cut scenes are the best part about this game and deserve to be brought to you fresh. Story wise this game is very good, and lives up to the best of Star Wars stories outside the original trilogy. It is worth playing solely for that, but everything else in the game falls flat, some even being cringe worthy in just how frustrating the game can be. Force Unleashed is a bit of a rage quitter, and has little to do with straight difficulty. The controls are so bad, and can be so awkward that the word "broken" is on the first to come to mind. It is hard to believe the game was passed by any kind of tester honestly because of how awful the game can be to play at times. It is really a shame because the potential is simply staring you in the face while your busy picking up pieces of your controller after having thrown it against the wall. Whatever you pay for this game add an additional fee for damage done to whatever room your console resides in. The force, in the case of the Ps3, is used with the R2 button, it should lock on to whatever your wishing to focus on and about 80% of the time it will. That is unless your in the heat of battle in which it jumps from about 50% to whatever it wants. Once you get frustrates with this game it is pretty much over, and frustration is inevitable. From locking onto incorrect items, to not locking at all, to getting pummeled by combos that you cannot break, to not being able to jump out of a combo you yourself are performing, to being knocked down time and time again because your under an enemy, the game can be a nightmare. For the first time in years I actually put a game on easy mode simply to enjoy the story and I still had my complaints. And I am a pretty hard gamer who has put a lot of time into very difficult but balanced games. Force Unleashed is not balanced, its just messy. Aside from controls, the game also lacks imagination, something a Star Wars game should thrive on. Levels are sometimes boring and all too linear. Make your way from A to B, take an elevator, and do it again until you run into the boss. It is very aware it is a video game and sticks to this formula. Luckily the atmosphere, environment, graphics, and story keep this from being a huge problem, but its still noticeable. In other words levels get dull and lower from the potential afford mentioned. There are great ideas the fall just short of greatness throughout. The force can be fun, throwing enemies is a blast, light sabers are always a plus, and little things like cutting an AT-ST in half or freezing a stormtrooper in carbonate are all fun additions but almost nothing can save it from the doomed gameplay. I recommend this game to just about anyone wanting a Star Wars game and anyone wanting more story out of the saga, but a warning has been said. I wanted to rate the game higher or possibly an even five but the fact that even the easy play through had a few broken frustrations has my rating sinking lower. This is a four for me but it is the greatest kind of four and scratches at the surface of a five. Not the game it could have been but worth fans attention, even if I heard Darth Sidious's voice as I wanted to break the game in half whispering "good, let the hate flow through you." Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    This game is one straight for the hall of shame, possibly one of the worst games I have ever played in my life and the fact that this garbage was ever printed on discs is simply beyond me. The story is just about anything that keeps it standing, but if I wanted a good story I'd go watch the movies instead of torture myself with this infernal piece of trash. the combat is beyondThis game is one straight for the hall of shame, possibly one of the worst games I have ever played in my life and the fact that this garbage was ever printed on discs is simply beyond me. The story is just about anything that keeps it standing, but if I wanted a good story I'd go watch the movies instead of torture myself with this infernal piece of trash. the combat is beyond unresponsive, on higher difficulties you take an incredible amount of damage from even the most basic enemy attacks and you have absolutely no viable way to counter these attacks whatsoever, and if you do manage to guard, it's usually much too late anyway and you already lost a large chunk of health because this game does not allow you to cancel your combos so that you can guard against incoming fire. every action in this game, from opening your upgrade menu to your options menu will force a loading screen, one can only guess how that must have gone on the PS2 version of this game... the graphics don't stand out at all and the music is just a complete recycling of the same old star wars tracks we've heard in every single entry in the star wars franchise. This game is a complete and utter failure, and while I am glad I bought it pre-owned so the developers don't get a penny out of this whatsoever, the fact alone I spent the little money I paid on this kind of complete garbage feels more wasted than flushing hard earned cash down the toilet. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    The game itself is basically hilariously stupid. I mean...there is fun with throwing people off the stage and making them hit each other. The gameplay and story alike are frickin' stupid. Constantly dying like there's no point. The controls have me beat...the camera sometimes is shaky, but it's still a bad game.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. At the end of the day, this remains a Star Wars game - and an essential one thanks to its compelling story and, to be fair, engaging gameplay. [Oct 2008, p.74]
  2. An ambitious--yet ultimately dissatisfying--effort. [Oct 2008, p.82]
  3. 73
    Uninspired level design and some tedious enemy battles mar an experience that gives you power over the Force like we've never really seen before. While it's far from perfect, Star Wars fans will find that it's worth playing through simply for its story and the ability to use the Force in fairly awesome ways.