Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed casts players as Darth Vader's "Secret Apprentice" and promises to unveil new revelations about the Star Wars galaxy. The expansive story, created under direction from George Lucas, is set during the largely unexplored era between "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith" and "Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope." In it, players assist the iconic villain in his quest to rid the universe of Jedi - and face decisions that could change the course of their destiny. Unleash and upgrade the Secret Apprentice's four core Force powers - Force push, grip, repulse and lightning - throughout the course of the game, and combine them for ultra-destructive, never-before-seen combos. The Secret Apprentice doesn't just Force push enemies into walls - he Force pushes enemies through walls. The Secret Apprentice doesn't just Force grip foes to throw them aside - he Force grips them in midair, zapping them with lightning, then dropping them to the ground to explode like a bomb. In addition to new adversaries created just for the game, such as fugitive Jedi and Force-sensitive Felucians, players also confront and associate with familiar faces from the Star Wars films, including Darth Vader. Visit locations such as Episode III's Wookiee homeworld Kashyyyk and the floral Felucia, the junk planet Raxus Prime, plus an Imperial TIE fighter construction facility. Decisions made by players throughout the game determine the path of the story, including multiple endings that will rock Star Wars continuity as they know it. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. A story set in the world of the Star Wars-universe, impressive fights and a hero with profile - all that a Star Wars-fan needs!
  2. The story is engaging, the graphics are incredible and the mood fits with the classic three films. It is the best Star Wars game on the current gaming consoles and it is a very satisfying experience.
  3. Embracing the Dark Side of the Force, this is a game plenty of action, memorable locations e a few surprises in the Star Wars world. It has some technical issues and an incoherent difficulty, but it’s still an experience that no fan should miss, also deserving the attention of the action gamers. [Sept 2008]
  4. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed can often be a frustrating mess. There are tons of polish issues and questionable design choices. Even with a 2.5GB install onto the PS3, there is still far too much loading. However, when everything works, there's just something innately satisfying about being able to kill dozens of Stormtroopers with the flick of your wrist.
  5. Just as is the case with prequels, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed provides insight into the dark areas of the Star Wars Universe while being flawed in many ways.
  6. At the end of the day, this remains a Star Wars game - and an essential one thanks to its compelling story and, to be fair, engaging gameplay. [Oct 2008, p.74]
  7. 40
    The concepts are solid, the story is excellent, and the characters sustain. Aesthetically it is a beautiful piece of work. It's just not all that much fun to play, especially when bugs have left parts of the game incomplete.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 65
  2. Negative: 14 out of 65
  1. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Brilliant storyline, lots of upgradable powers and unlockable strikes and combos and even different outfits to choose from don't ever let you get bored with the game. I have beaten it twice with joy, and I highly reccomend it not only to Star Wars fans, but also to skilled gamers who want to test their agility. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Entertaining rag doll effects, force powers and a dedicated story that Star Wars fans will go nuts over, mixed with the sounds and music of the movies makes for an appealing, visually awesome game. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    What do you want from a Star Wars game? If its a game where you play as someone in the action, see Star Wars Battlefront II. If you want a over the top game that makes you feel like a powerful jedi assassin then look no further than Star Wars The Force Unleashed. The game exceeds all previous expectations that were previously surrounding it. The game looks gorgeous and plays even better. The only issue here is the length. But any longer and it would have been dragging on. The game uses a level up system that rewards the players excellently. You can level up force powers, stats(health, energy, damage) and purchase combos. Its extremely rewarding. It shows in the gameplay; at the beginning of the game you'll struggle to fight a group of enemys and by the end of the game you will be able to fight an army of mechs, enemys and turrets at one time. It definitely shows when you replay the game completely leveled up. At this point you'll be able to experiment with every combo without being scarred of the risk. You can do some real crazy **** Its a must buy. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    5
    Oy ge valt! I remember when this game was so overhyped. Hell, they didn't even finish the game before they released it. It's one of the most glitchy experiences I have ever put up with. Though it does have few redemptions like a good story, and a good concept with the gameplay and game design, but it mainly suffers from it's bad hit detection that leaves you asking "when will this guy just die already?"

    My advice (and I can't believe I'm saying this either, but....): Buy the Wii version!
    Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    Looks good voice acting is solid and story is ok. Other then that every thing els goes down the crapper. The game play is just a mess. Platforming this game just can not do well at all. The combat is clunky as all hell. The diffuculty jumps all over the place from easy to wtf why is this so hard all of a sudden. fighting the second boss is the best example its like you have to be a real life jedi to beat that Way to much QTE infact there should be NONE. I'm sick and tired of QTE in games. The game could have been some thing great or atleast some thing good but its just sub standard mush. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    4
    Great story, great graphics. Completely arbitrary controls. Game is hard, not because it actually is (ie Ninja Gaiden series), but because the character fails to do what you want him to. If the game itself was playable, this would've been a great game. But as it is, the game simply sucks; you'll be playing the same area 5+ times because you get chain knocked down by shoulder cannons.. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    This game is one straight for the hall of shame, possibly one of the worst games I have ever played in my life and the fact that this garbage was ever printed on discs is simply beyond me. The story is just about anything that keeps it standing, but if I wanted a good story I'd go watch the movies instead of torture myself with this infernal piece of trash. the combat is beyond unresponsive, on higher difficulties you take an incredible amount of damage from even the most basic enemy attacks and you have absolutely no viable way to counter these attacks whatsoever, and if you do manage to guard, it's usually much too late anyway and you already lost a large chunk of health because this game does not allow you to cancel your combos so that you can guard against incoming fire. every action in this game, from opening your upgrade menu to your options menu will force a loading screen, one can only guess how that must have gone on the PS2 version of this game... the graphics don't stand out at all and the music is just a complete recycling of the same old star wars tracks we've heard in every single entry in the star wars franchise. This game is a complete and utter failure, and while I am glad I bought it pre-owned so the developers don't get a penny out of this whatsoever, the fact alone I spent the little money I paid on this kind of complete garbage feels more wasted than flushing hard earned cash down the toilet. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.