Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. Smarter than the average console RTS but not quite brilliant. [Apr 2009, p.70]
  2. If you adjust to the controls, Stormrise will create a new breed of hardcore RTS gamers. [May 2009, p.66]
  3. At the end of the day, Stormrise may have been better on the PC than the PS3, however it does have its moments from the clever RTS views and some twists and turns. It does feel a little beta-ish at times, however if you're after something DIFFERENT, than it's worth an investigation.
  4. Stormrise as a RTS will probably not appeal to everyone, it's complicated and frustrating at times, however there is a fun and strategic game lurching underneath.
  5. Stormrise produces an odd sensation: the ideas it proposes are very good for the most part, and its approach could have caused a new milestone in the genre, and set the way for the others to follow, taking advantage of its control. But the execution hasn't resulted so convincing.
  6. Stormrise's innovation is heartilly applauded, but basic gameplay glitches and flaws weaken the experience. [June 2009, p.74]
  7. We don’t know if the concepts of Stormrise will be followed in the future of the RTS genre in consoles, but now it is a game pumped with great ideas though these are not well executed. Strategy hardcores can find in it an interesting entertainment, but as precursory of a new IP this first effort is disappointing.
  8. 66
    A decent but unpolished strategy game built around a technological concept that only sort of works in any practical sense. An amiable attempt, but a far cry from victory.
  9. Making your men do what you want, when you want, is still clumsy and imprecise. [Apr 2009, p.101]
  10. The imprecise controls, bad AI and a completely missing overview make this game more hassle than fun. Stormrise raises a storm – of frustration!
  11. 51
    A brave attempt to tackle the strategy genre in a new way, but Stormrise is still left wanting in every area. If you’re looking for a brand new RTS, check out the more conventional Red Alert 3 instead.
  12. Cumbersome controls and an ornery camera make any intriguing ideas irrelevant. [Apr 2009, p.115]
  13. 50
    As the studio responsible for the ace Total War series, it's difficult to understand how they've managed to get this so very wrong. It's a real shame that what seems like a decent idea ultimately emerges as a visually unappealing, impenetrably tough and devastatingly unrefined sci-fi strategy title.
  14. The controls prove to be the game's worst aspect, and the single-player campaign is additionally marred by a pedestrian storyline.
  15. Stormrise should have been a new start for the RTS genre on consoles, but it's not. The controls are too slow and unresponsive when you have to move several units on the map, the graphics aren't spectacular at all and the gameplay is cumbersome and frustrating. What a pity, since the story seems to be interesting.
  16. 49
    The frustrations that come from playing it outweigh the game's few positive elements.
  17. 45
    StormRise is a project that has a great concept behind it, but fails to execute it with grace.
  18. In trying to introduce a new, supposedly user-friendly unit selection system, developer The Creative Assembly instead destroys almost all of the game’s playability.
  19. Stormrise, and more so the Whip-system, could have pushed the boundaries of the consoles RTS to a higher level. Too bad it failed during the process. The game lacks a decent overview and you have little control over your units, making the game difficult to play. The game makes up for lost ground in multiplayer, but why would you settle for a mediocre RTS-game when there are so many others games that offer a lot more.
  20. Stormrise's major innovations are also its biggest downfalls.
  21. 40
    Although the game is a good try, it does not accomplish what you expect. Only real RTS-gamers should consider buying this title.
  22. There are some good ideas in here and with a bit more bug fixing and tweaking before release this could have been a decent offering. In the end Stormrise has so many problems that it is impossible to recommend.
  23. It's quite a shame really, because it has a few nice ideas in it, but unfortunately they are buried beneath a mountain of mediocrity. As it stands though, this is a game that isn't even worthy of the bargain bin, rather the trash bin.
  24. There are undoubtedly excellent ideas hiding behind the scenes; they're just stymied by the method of execution.
  25. A simple design idea for controllers created a massive chain reaction in how the game is played, and frankly, it’s for the worst.
  26. This frustrating, broken mess is one of the worst strategy games in years.
  27. 25
    Its eminently forgettable title notwithstanding, the significant flaws lie in core mechanics and not the story framework.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Sam
    Aug 4, 2009
    1
    I don't know where to start with this game. Weel, I suppose I could start by saying that this game failed to get out of the beta stage I don't know where to start with this game. Weel, I suppose I could start by saying that this game failed to get out of the beta stage before being released, 'cos frankly, its terrible. Controls don't respond to what you want, the AI is APPALLING... you send a load of troops over (guys armed with machineguns, mind you) to take care of a few scouts and poof, they vanish in the air. Not only is the enemy AI considerably more powerful than yours, but they'll die without any animation. They'll be firing, and then suddenly they'll be on the floor. Or they'll be firing, and suddenly they'll be halfway across the map. Whip select is a complete farce and you nearly always end up moving to someone you don't want... the camera is so far down it makes the whole RTS genre pointless as you don't have a view of the map. Enemy AI respawns like you wouldn't believe and sends wave after wave towards you when you're reinforcements haven't arrived yet (or have they? Hard to tell with this one!) meaning instant death. You're robot machines have armour made of tissue and if they die... game over! Not to mention the tutorial is the most basic of tutorials ever devised (its an RTS game for God's sake!). Its a joke of a game that should never have been released, and how this came out of Creative Assembly, Aussie division or not, is beyond me. Just read any review on IGN or gamespot, or whatever, and see how bad they say it is, 'cos its a waste of money! Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    good game, oh my god, what am i talking about, GREAT GAME, great gameplay and story plus graphics are superb and i'm gonna give it agood game, oh my god, what am i talking about, GREAT GAME, great gameplay and story plus graphics are superb and i'm gonna give it a 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. PaulD
    Dec 28, 2009
    6
    Stormrise isn't all that bad, really. I bought it for ten bucks and I have to say, looking at these reviews, it surpassed my Stormrise isn't all that bad, really. I bought it for ten bucks and I have to say, looking at these reviews, it surpassed my expectations. Visuals are reasonable; nothing fancy, but they work. Gameplay could have been better: the game's controlled very slowly and the 'whip' system gets wonky and frustrating when you have a lot of soldiers on the battlefield. Still, at these prices it's a cheap alternative for games like C&C, and it's quite enjoyable. The story's hit and miss, though. Full Review »