User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sam
    Aug 4, 2009
    1
    I don't know where to start with this game. Weel, I suppose I could start by saying that this game failed to get out of the beta stage before being released, 'cos frankly, its terrible. Controls don't respond to what you want, the AI is APPALLING... you send a load of troops over (guys armed with machineguns, mind you) to take care of a few scouts and poof, they vanish in I don't know where to start with this game. Weel, I suppose I could start by saying that this game failed to get out of the beta stage before being released, 'cos frankly, its terrible. Controls don't respond to what you want, the AI is APPALLING... you send a load of troops over (guys armed with machineguns, mind you) to take care of a few scouts and poof, they vanish in the air. Not only is the enemy AI considerably more powerful than yours, but they'll die without any animation. They'll be firing, and then suddenly they'll be on the floor. Or they'll be firing, and suddenly they'll be halfway across the map. Whip select is a complete farce and you nearly always end up moving to someone you don't want... the camera is so far down it makes the whole RTS genre pointless as you don't have a view of the map. Enemy AI respawns like you wouldn't believe and sends wave after wave towards you when you're reinforcements haven't arrived yet (or have they? Hard to tell with this one!) meaning instant death. You're robot machines have armour made of tissue and if they die... game over! Not to mention the tutorial is the most basic of tutorials ever devised (its an RTS game for God's sake!). Its a joke of a game that should never have been released, and how this came out of Creative Assembly, Aussie division or not, is beyond me. Just read any review on IGN or gamespot, or whatever, and see how bad they say it is, 'cos its a waste of money! Expand
  2. EricAkaG
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    Steep learning curve but very innovative! Great controls when you get used to it! Freshest game I've playen in years! Keeps me playing months after purchase... Whip select is the futur for RTS on consoles!
  3. TonyM
    Apr 7, 2009
    1
    Stormrise... Not only is this game technically unplayable. But it is extremely painful to try to like. It seems like all the "Professional" game reviewers that got tricked into giving Creative Assembly's Empire:Total War perfect scores without really testing the product, now finally scrutinizes whatever comes out of CA. Stormrise is a clear clone of Empire:Total War in the sense that Stormrise... Not only is this game technically unplayable. But it is extremely painful to try to like. It seems like all the "Professional" game reviewers that got tricked into giving Creative Assembly's Empire:Total War perfect scores without really testing the product, now finally scrutinizes whatever comes out of CA. Stormrise is a clear clone of Empire:Total War in the sense that the story is their, but the coding is just completely messed up. Graphics: 3 Sound: 2 Story: 4 Stability: 0 Replayability: 0. Expand
  4. glennno
    Jul 24, 2009
    0
    Worst Game ever! so many bugs. Cant even look around the screen without whipping over to another of your units. Worst balance too with too many strong units without the proper counters making it annoying and stretching the battles out far too long.
  5. PaulD
    Dec 28, 2009
    6
    Stormrise isn't all that bad, really. I bought it for ten bucks and I have to say, looking at these reviews, it surpassed my expectations. Visuals are reasonable; nothing fancy, but they work. Gameplay could have been better: the game's controlled very slowly and the 'whip' system gets wonky and frustrating when you have a lot of soldiers on the battlefield. Still, at Stormrise isn't all that bad, really. I bought it for ten bucks and I have to say, looking at these reviews, it surpassed my expectations. Visuals are reasonable; nothing fancy, but they work. Gameplay could have been better: the game's controlled very slowly and the 'whip' system gets wonky and frustrating when you have a lot of soldiers on the battlefield. Still, at these prices it's a cheap alternative for games like C&C, and it's quite enjoyable. The story's hit and miss, though. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    good game, oh my god, what am i talking about, GREAT GAME, great gameplay and story plus graphics are superb and i'm gonna give it a 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. Cumbersome controls and an ornery camera make any intriguing ideas irrelevant. [Apr 2009, p.115]
  2. Smarter than the average console RTS but not quite brilliant. [Apr 2009, p.70]
  3. 66
    A decent but unpolished strategy game built around a technological concept that only sort of works in any practical sense. An amiable attempt, but a far cry from victory.