Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Stranglehold is fun. It's fun in a "God hand" way. [Oct 2007, p.81]
  2. It delivers on its tagline of being a true John Woo experience and then some. While the game may have suffered several delays, I can honestly say that all of the push-backs have been well worth the wait, and it easily strangles all competitors.
  3. Like a true action-packed cinematic spectacle, Stranglehold delivers a number of spectacular moments that will not fail to dazzle hardcore fans of the genre.
  4. 81
    There are a lot of mindless shooters on the market, but none of them immerse you in John Woo's world. And that's where Stranglehold stands out. This is the true sequel to Hard Boiled, which means Stranglehold is more about style than substance.
  5. The promises of fully destructible environments and John Woo signature shootouts just seemed too good to be true. But Midway stepped up to the plate and proved all the skepticism dead wrong, producing one of the most viscerally appealing videogames to be released in years.
  6. An exhilarating shooter brushed with John Woo's genius, Stranglehold plays like Max Payne in a bag of snakes. [Oct 2007, p.8]
  7. It's a quintessential PS3 action game, even with its weak multiplayer option.
  8. Stranglehold has a cool-as-anything hero, a strong story, a great pick-up-and-play vibe and - later on - a genuinely taxing tactical side. It is, in short,one of the most exciting games of any genre on PS3. [Oct 2007, p.84]
  9. 80
    The game is short, explosive and downright slick and it's everything we hoped it was going to be.
  10. The gunplay is astonishingly entertaining, but Stranglehold sorely lacks any variety. [Nov 2007, p.70]
  11. It presents a nice visual package, but an even better adrenaline-rushing gameplay experience that really has you engrossed all throughout the game. The controls take some time to get used to, and the graphics aren't super hot, but they do the job well enough.
  12. Taken as a whole, Stranglehold is a well-made, but short and shallow gaming experience that ends up being best suited for a rental and not worth its asking price for anyone expecting a game with a lot of depth to it.
  13. 75
    While the story and writing are reasonably solid, they're not nearly riveting enough to outweigh the too-simple, occasionally glitchy nature of the fundamental game.
  14. Stranglehold is the poster child for the creation of a new category of very short, lower-priced games that hold together over their abbreviated length.
  15. Stranglehold is a good action game that could have been much better. The story should be more compelling, way beyond a basic excuse to shoot everything that moves.
  16. Brainless shooters are one thing, but with an interesting storyline and the world of John Woo controllable in the palm of your hands, action fans should flock around this one as it offers much “bang” for the buck.
  17. If you’re interested in checking out a game that plays differently from most of the action shooters out there, then Stranglehold is worth a look. However, don’t be surprised if you find yourself getting a bit tired of the whole thing before you reach the end despite the game’s short length.
  18. Just like I said in my review of the Xbox 360 version of Stranglehold, I truly believe this is a game that is worth checking out, it doesn't take itself to seriously and makes for a good experience.
  19. For as long as it lasts, Stranglehold delivers a satisfying, if somewhat derivative action game experience.
  20. Still, the single-player is entertaining enough, with a lot off the fun of John Woo's original movie. [Jan 2008, p.83]
  21. There are those who would call a game such as this "shallow", and with good reason: most games like this are. However, most games that subscribe to this concept don't allow you the freedom of movement or tactics that Stranglehold does. [Nov 2007, p.56]
  22. 65
    Balletic it ain't. There are plenty of shoot-outs, though, but these see you jumping about like a loon while you wish they would just end. If anything should ever have 'Rental' stamped on it, then this is it. [Issue#159, p.72]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Not a bad game but the gameplay seemed unfinished. The controls didn't work for me. I always did stuff I didn't want to do and never knew exactly how to make sure I'd stay in bullet time as long as possible. I didn't know how to stay out off dodge and defend myself against enemies either. Maybe it's just not my kind of game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Fun game, good plot, and its got Tequila! John Woo's film doesn't dissapoint. If you don't know what i'm talking about, then go google "Hardboiled" and watch it. A classic gun-fu type of film. This game is nothing less. Gives you god-like powers, with a life of course (you can't be God, there's only one). Pick it up and play, what can I say. Gameplay is good, at times iffy. But, for a game based off of a movie. Not bad, not even half bad. It's pretty damn cheap now so go grab a copy and play for days, its a good way to spend a weekend. Full Review »
  3. PullTheTrigger
    Jul 11, 2008
    7
    I rented Stranglehold a while back and the game was fairly decent. The game itself was pretty addicting, good old fashioned crazy shoot-outs. There were lots of explosions, which is always good for my destructive habits. Then you get to the cut-scenes, oh dear god, the cut-scenes. I have to give them credit for the authentic engrish of the main character, but other than that the voices seemed way off for the characters. It became a bit too difficult within time and well, it became a bit repetitive. All in all, I'd have to say this was only a rent for me. Full Review »