User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bobchannle
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    this should tottaly be T or ill be pissed off. this looks so awsome and iv really been diying to play it and im not allowed to play M so yah. This has been on my top priority list to besieds sm3 and halo3. Me and all of my friends in japan have been waitin 4 this chance and have been dying to play this game that should totally be rated
    T and NOT M. i know im reapeating alot of stuff but
    this should tottaly be T or ill be pissed off. this looks so awsome and iv really been diying to play it and im not allowed to play M so yah. This has been on my top priority list to besieds sm3 and halo3. Me and all of my friends in japan have been waitin 4 this chance and have been dying to play this game that should totally be rated
    T and NOT M. i know im reapeating alot of stuff but thats how bad i have been wanting to play this game!!!!!!!!! I know that youre waisting time on my letter and satopped reading this half way through but i really loove this game an shoul completly be rated T.
    Expand
  2. MasJ.
    Jan 21, 2008
    8
    So fun, definitely worth the rental. Its the closest game I played to the feel of an action movie. Nice locations to play in and gameplay is good.
  3. nathanfox
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    i have been waiting a long time and will be really ticked off if this game is rated M. it should sooo be rated T because it has been on my top to play list and the game i have been dieing to play. i saw a gameplay demo 4 it and it looked like a T game so im pretty confident.Please be T! i already love this game
  4. DennisK
    Feb 24, 2008
    8
    I love this game. It's like being in an action movie and the Matrix like fight scenes are great. It's a unique game that has simple controls, a destructible environment and a John Woo one of a kind setting. No the graphics are not top notch, buy have you ever seen cigarette smoke look so cool in a game before? If you're the type that wants top notch graphics andI love this game. It's like being in an action movie and the Matrix like fight scenes are great. It's a unique game that has simple controls, a destructible environment and a John Woo one of a kind setting. No the graphics are not top notch, buy have you ever seen cigarette smoke look so cool in a game before? If you're the type that wants top notch graphics and can't stand a quirk or two, look elsewhere. Otherwise you owe it to yourself to check out this gem by John Woo. Get the Collectors Edition and you get the movie Hardboiled to boot. Must have for the PS3. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    The story revels in how ridiculous John Woo cinema is. Within the first two minutes your role as the renegade cop on the EDGE is established. How does the gameplay hold up? The game's emphasis on using the environment makes it feel rather imersive. Using the environment to kill enemies instead of just shooting them gets bonus points and requires you to think differently than the The story revels in how ridiculous John Woo cinema is. Within the first two minutes your role as the renegade cop on the EDGE is established. How does the gameplay hold up? The game's emphasis on using the environment makes it feel rather imersive. Using the environment to kill enemies instead of just shooting them gets bonus points and requires you to think differently than the usual FPS. Killing guys in a stylish manner rewards far more than efficiency. In fact crazy stylish bullshit becomes the most efficient. This is such a breath of fresh air for the FPS scene. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Fun game, good plot, and its got Tequila! John Woo's film doesn't dissapoint. If you don't know what i'm talking about, then go google "Hardboiled" and watch it. A classic gun-fu type of film. This game is nothing less. Gives you god-like powers, with a life of course (you can't be God, there's only one). Pick it up and play, what can I say. Gameplay is good, at times iffy. But, for a gameFun game, good plot, and its got Tequila! John Woo's film doesn't dissapoint. If you don't know what i'm talking about, then go google "Hardboiled" and watch it. A classic gun-fu type of film. This game is nothing less. Gives you god-like powers, with a life of course (you can't be God, there's only one). Pick it up and play, what can I say. Gameplay is good, at times iffy. But, for a game based off of a movie. Not bad, not even half bad. It's pretty damn cheap now so go grab a copy and play for days, its a good way to spend a weekend. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Stranglehold has a cool-as-anything hero, a strong story, a great pick-up-and-play vibe and - later on - a genuinely taxing tactical side. It is, in short,one of the most exciting games of any genre on PS3. [Oct 2007, p.84]
  2. An exhilarating shooter brushed with John Woo's genius, Stranglehold plays like Max Payne in a bag of snakes. [Oct 2007, p.8]
  3. Brainless shooters are one thing, but with an interesting storyline and the world of John Woo controllable in the palm of your hands, action fans should flock around this one as it offers much “bang” for the buck.