Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    A fantastic game for all fighting fans: experts and newcomers alike.
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    90
    Capcom is on the ball when it comes to exciting fighting games. Say what you will about their DLC fiasco, but there's no denying when it comes to what matters, Street Fighter X Tekken is one exhilarating fighting game that is easily recommended for Street Fighter fans.
  3. 90
    Capcom strays from the well-trodden Street Fighter IV path and finds – thanks to the support of the Iron Fist champions – a marvelous new interpretation of the idea of street-fighting.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter x Tekken reaches the quality standards in another crossover from Capcom and will not disappoint its fans.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    The core gameplay is top notch and is sure to please even the most hardcore fighting gamer. This crossover series has been long anticipated and the wait was well worth it.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    88
    If you're a casual player looking for some throwaway fighting fun, this isn't for you-especially if you like playing online against strangers. On the other hand, moderate to hardcore players are going to find a lot to absorb in Street Fighter X Tekken, and players with patience will be rewarded for it.
  7. May 19, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter X Tekken isn't as ground-breaking as Street fighter IV, but it offers a wholly different and most of all innovative look on a well established formula.
  8. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    Fighting game fans have been blessed with an embarrassment of riches over the past few years, and SFxT is definitely a top shelf example of the genre.
  9. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    I'm impressed: this balance between accessibilty for beginners and challenge for pros is something other fighting games should strive to copy. Street Fighter X Tekken is in a league of its own, in part thanks to the Gem system. The poor character individualization options and soundtrack are the only notable flaws. A fighting game that anyone – and that's what's special: really anyone – can take a swing at.
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Straightforward and deeply satisfying... for now. [May 2012, p.66]
  11. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    The fast pace of the combat and fluidity of the tag mechanics truly bring Street Fighter X Tekken to the top of the fighting game heap...A fantastic fighting game that nails the basic fighting mechanics while daring to take a few risks with the formula as we know it; the pressure is on Namco Bandai to deliver something better with Tekken X Street Fighter.
  12. Mar 12, 2012
    90
    Although the game is not Tekken, CAPCOM have done a good job at porting these characters to the Street Fighter franchise and if you're hankering for a decent fighter, than you should definitely check out Street Fighter x Tekken which is the best fun I've had since... err... Ultimate Street Fighter vs Marvel. It may not have pushed the genre too much but at the end of the day, it offers an honest fighter that most gamers will enjoy!
  13. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    After plenty of hype, I'm pleased to say Street Fighter X Tekken delivers spectacularly. Capcom continue to evolve the fighting genre by installing original gameplay mechanics, all of which welcome newcomers and series aficionados alike.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter X Tekken is a great game that despite the lack of a story mode manages to win you over with its no-nonsense gameplay and staggering roster of characters (including special characters on the PS3 version). If you've not played a crossover game yet, then this is the one to pick up without a doubt.
  15. 90
    Not just a great crossover game but a highly distinctive fighter in its own right, with some of the most innovative - and accessible - ideas to hit the genre in years.
  16. Street Fighter X Tekken is much more than just a fun party game. Even better, based on the number of unique mechanics, we would say this is Capcom's best fighter in a long time. Whereas Street Fighter IV and MvC 3 only had one unique feature, SFXT has dozens. [April 2012, p.74]
  17. The Tekken draftees are the new Street Fighter characters you don't want to go home. Apart from integrating them visually into Ryu and co's saturated universe, each has had their exhaustive move set refocused to align with Capcom's different play style. It doesn't just work, it's brilliant. [May 2012, p70]
  18. Tekken fans will wait for Namco's own Tekken X Street Fighter to really sink their teeth into, but for the SF devout and series agnostic fighting fans, SFKT offers finely tuned and emergent action and a positively regal rumble of the genre's celebrated a-listers.
  19. Yoshinori Ono and the team at Capcom have done the impossible, crushing 3D fighters onto a 2D plane and making it feel coherent and surprisingly gratifying. [May 2012, p.74]
  20. Apr 9, 2012
    88
    One of the most polished fighters on PS3. [May 2012, p.100]
  21. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    A gift for fans of both series and fighting games players. A deep, technical and solid game that integrates perfectly the mechanics of both series. A huge piece of work that is a dream come true for those fans who have been expecting a crossover like this for years.
  22. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter X Tekken is easily the best fighting game I have played since Mortal Kombat landed last year. Sure, the story mode is a little contrived, and the gem system mildly flawed for tournament play, but the sheer amount of everything else completely outweighs it.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 57
  2. Negative: 24 out of 57
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    A fantastic fighting game with a solid engine with unique style bringing two vastly different graphics together. Gameplay is fast and fluid,A fantastic fighting game with a solid engine with unique style bringing two vastly different graphics together. Gameplay is fast and fluid, but the tag system of one partner dies, the other dies too gets annoying and feels sorta wierd. The cast is huge and varied and there is lots of modes from story to scramble. Online sucks though and there is constant lag. A fantastic game though. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    Thank you Capcom for putting content I cannot use on the disk! I will not pay more just to have all characters unlocked... seriously whoThank you Capcom for putting content I cannot use on the disk! I will not pay more just to have all characters unlocked... seriously who cares about Pac-Man in a fighting game! But unfortunatly the DLC content is not just about characters, there is the gem system in that game and if you want to be competitive you will have to pay to get all the gems available in the game. The gem system is not even that interesting anyway. I understand that Capcom tried to attract casual players with this game and I think it's a good idea, but I doubt hardcore player will appreciate it. The one button preset combo thing is really retarded, it defeats the purpose of the game where all the strategy now goes into switching characters. Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    10, 10, 10, and then some more 10. I'm not gonna diginfy the people (if that's what they're called) giving this a brutal score. To me, you10, 10, 10, and then some more 10. I'm not gonna diginfy the people (if that's what they're called) giving this a brutal score. To me, you could almost call this SF6 (yes 6, 2 up from 4, and 4 was awesome), because not only does it have new and better (faster/less recovery) gameplay. It also has a ton of new characters. And the fact that they're imported from Tekken doesn't really matter. In 2D, ALL of them feel new. I'm losing patience with trolls on Metacritic. I don't know what this great website plans on doing about it, but something must be done. Now on to my ME3 review, where the trolls are 10,000 worse than this game Full Review »