User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 191
  2. Negative: 79 out of 191
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Street Fighter X Tekken is a great, well rounded fighting game and one of the best games in the genre. The game got me excited even before the fighting began with the epic intro cinematic and then the roster from both franchises is perfect, every character that i imagined would be in the game were except from Blanka though i expect to be released as DLC. SFxT provides long lasting appealStreet Fighter X Tekken is a great, well rounded fighting game and one of the best games in the genre. The game got me excited even before the fighting began with the epic intro cinematic and then the roster from both franchises is perfect, every character that i imagined would be in the game were except from Blanka though i expect to be released as DLC. SFxT provides long lasting appeal which its numerous and various modes though not as deep as Mortal Kombat. The new gem system is pretty cool as evens out fights so that novices have a chance when they play experienced players. SFxT is just great fun and there are only a few flaws holding it back from being a masterpiece and i feel this game has gotten to much hate from the issue with DLC being locked on the retail disk. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    There're some people with mental illness or something very large stuck in the anus. NO GAME ON EARTH HAS A NOTE 4/10; 3/10; 2/10; 1/10 OR 0/10, NEITHER AN AVERAGE WITH SAME SCORE. The graphics aren't a note less than 8/10, the game-play is not a note less than 10/10, the soundtrack is not a note less than 9/10, but the multiplayer isn't perfect, I admit, but it's better than MK 2011, andThere're some people with mental illness or something very large stuck in the anus. NO GAME ON EARTH HAS A NOTE 4/10; 3/10; 2/10; 1/10 OR 0/10, NEITHER AN AVERAGE WITH SAME SCORE. The graphics aren't a note less than 8/10, the game-play is not a note less than 10/10, the soundtrack is not a note less than 9/10, but the multiplayer isn't perfect, I admit, but it's better than MK 2011, and is a note higher than a 4/10 or 5/10. The Question of DLC INSIDE THE GAME, it's just an additional-content, IF YOU THINK THAT YOU'RE WASTING MONEY, DON'T BUY THE DLC, OR WAIT IT BECOME FREE. SF X TK IS A WONDERFUL GAME, AND IT PLEASES FANS OF BOTH FRANCHISES. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    It's not fair that people make bad reviews about the policy of Capcom with the DLC. So I'm about to criticize the game for its content playable.One of the best games that have been made, a game that exceeds SSIV in frenzy, because the SF series is defined by its focus too technical. Now thanks to inclusion of combos, from the Tekken series, now you can chain attacks making it moreIt's not fair that people make bad reviews about the policy of Capcom with the DLC. So I'm about to criticize the game for its content playable.One of the best games that have been made, a game that exceeds SSIV in frenzy, because the SF series is defined by its focus too technical. Now thanks to inclusion of combos, from the Tekken series, now you can chain attacks making it more accessible, a few exclusive modes and characters belonging to the complement PS3 this year as one of the best. Few scenarios but varied and changing scenarios, a scenario can have three variants so we could say that 11 is enough. And throwing electronic soundtrack but turns epic and raucous, soundtracks possibly more motivated me to play, really, excellent issue if not for that you have to pay 12 extra characters 19.99 USD. Despite this burden, a great game to enjoy with colleagues. Indispensable. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    SFxT is a really good game because it can be played co-operatively, and the customisation of characters along with a good tutorial make it easy to pick up. Game mechanics are quite good and make for much more satisfying matches compared to SSFIV, but the PS3 version is not the best I'm afraid. The framerate seems slightly lower than PC version, and there is noticeable input delay. However,SFxT is a really good game because it can be played co-operatively, and the customisation of characters along with a good tutorial make it easy to pick up. Game mechanics are quite good and make for much more satisfying matches compared to SSFIV, but the PS3 version is not the best I'm afraid. The framerate seems slightly lower than PC version, and there is noticeable input delay. However, the main problem is not this, but the online. Unless you play with someone on full connection in your region it will be the laggiest game you will ever play. If you want a good fighting game which has a large selection of characters to suit everyone, satisfying, nice to look at and has trials, missions, arcade mode etc. then you won't go wrong with this. Just be wary of the PS3 version if you're planning to play online. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Street Fighter X Tekken is a crossover fighter that a fair few of us have all waited for since the late 90’s when both games really changed the fight scene forever; Tekken with its true to form moves and use of controls (with some wacky exceptions admittedly) and Street Fighter with its special abilities and out of this world character roster (with some normal exceptions). This couldn’tStreet Fighter X Tekken is a crossover fighter that a fair few of us have all waited for since the late 90’s when both games really changed the fight scene forever; Tekken with its true to form moves and use of controls (with some wacky exceptions admittedly) and Street Fighter with its special abilities and out of this world character roster (with some normal exceptions). This couldn’t possibly go wrong, right?

    So after revisiting the game after all the hype on the vita version, I started to take the assets of the game apart and really summarise their uses. You see the game on a base level is as seemingly solid as street fighter 2 in its play style, as was street fighter 4; but it’s unique ability usage this time round isn’t. For instance, Pandora mode is not only time consuming to pull off, but you have to be in a perfect situation to use it, completely defeating it as any kind of game changer; it just puts too much danger on an already failing player and on most occasions subtracts balance further.

    The gem unit is actually okay, I don’t really have a problem with it, as it works to your play style and can somewhat be rewarding to use; it’s not terribly useful at the start, but it does grow into one of the games nicer assets if you’re able to invest your time further after witnessing the base level.

    A big problem with the play style though, is the fact that the cross over combo practically becomes repetitive and “OP” in the right hands; In single player, matches can be dominated with this one feature and a few low “H-kicks” thrown in for good measure.

    The gameplay somewhat eliminates inputs for special moves altogether, and more often than not in a common CPU based situation, you’ll be allocating the use of special moves simply to collect a few trophies on top. That said though, Street Fighter X Tekken is still a fun online game, and there is still a major challenge against the world’s finest players, but it’s no wonder as to why a lot of the most die-hard fighting game fans would rather stick to UMVC3 when it comes to cross overs.

    Street Fighter X Tekken has a fair few problems that stop it from being a seriously competitive game, but if you’re a general fan of both series, the game will provide hours of fun with your dream team match ups. Apparently there is supposedly a Tekken X Street Fighter somewhere in the making, and to some extent, this would be the much better mechanic for both worlds to dive into if it does ever come to light; after all it would most likely be able to use the successful Tekken Tag mechanic and simply add to it.

    Here’s hoping that we possibly see an interpretation from Namco sometime in the coming year or so.
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Geez the critics have been extremely harsh to this great game...I get the impression it has been played by the wrong type of gamer that didn't get into the complex but easy to get into game with a simple button layout.
    Please give SFxT the chance it deserves and you will discover one of the finest fighting game experiences to be had from two great franchises.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Street Fighter x Tekken is the holy war of fighting games,
    we can finally determine which of the two fighting games is the best,
    in tekken characters were adapted so haughtiness in this game that allows an excellent gameplay and hours of fun. After playing it I noticed the following ... Unfortunately those who complain about this game for the most part are the TEKKENEROS (read
    Street Fighter x Tekken is the holy war of fighting games,
    we can finally determine which of the two fighting games is the best,
    in tekken characters were adapted so haughtiness in this game that allows an excellent gameplay and hours of fun. After playing it I noticed the following ...

    Unfortunately those who complain about this game for the most part are the
    TEKKENEROS (read terminology for TEKKEN LOVERS), who say that unfortunately they can not move sideways and the gameplay is not equal to that of Tekken, which is a lie, as there is the possibility of playing with style command tekken thanks to the gem "MOVEMENT EASY" which allows to play tekken style, the adaptation of the characters in tekken street fighter style is also good, so it must be understood that the graphics should be the style capcom and namco so this is also critical of but, the TEKKENEROS should stop complaining and afontar the challenge, or will be true what they say that there "is a game tekken botton punchers that ever won in a fighting game! ...

    The Street Fighter fan also made ​​their criticisms because it was not Street Fighter 4, it was clear that it would neither be because thanks to the style of play so open any win is conditioned very spite of being an expert or not in the game as in Street Fighter 4

    The gem system does not determine either a fight, help at any given time if you know activate, and are not prolonged use, so also accuse it of advantage is absurd

    the only thing regrettable is the few stages and of course the policy of the DLC that tarnish much the game, but in spite of that is a fully featured game, so I say let's cut the crap and fight.

    TEKKENEROS! THEN, YOU TRUE ACROSS THE LINE?
    Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I had high hopes for this game as soon as it was announced. Unfortunately it didn't live up to it's potential for me. I should say that while I have been a long time fan of both franchises, I am more of a Tekken fighter. That being said, if you are coming into this game from more of a Tekken perspective...you may not like it too much. In taking Tekken into a 2-D plane, maybe thereI had high hopes for this game as soon as it was announced. Unfortunately it didn't live up to it's potential for me. I should say that while I have been a long time fan of both franchises, I am more of a Tekken fighter. That being said, if you are coming into this game from more of a Tekken perspective...you may not like it too much. In taking Tekken into a 2-D plane, maybe there wasn't any way around it but they completely changed the button setup. It just didn't work for me. Also, being a big fan of Law, I was really disappointed with what they did with his character. He just came off as a desperate, money hungry bum. All in all, if you're really interested in the game I would say rent it or borrow it from a friend. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    Thank you Capcom for putting content I cannot use on the disk! I will not pay more just to have all characters unlocked... seriously who cares about Pac-Man in a fighting game! But unfortunatly the DLC content is not just about characters, there is the gem system in that game and if you want to be competitive you will have to pay to get all the gems available in the game. The gem systemThank you Capcom for putting content I cannot use on the disk! I will not pay more just to have all characters unlocked... seriously who cares about Pac-Man in a fighting game! But unfortunatly the DLC content is not just about characters, there is the gem system in that game and if you want to be competitive you will have to pay to get all the gems available in the game. The gem system is not even that interesting anyway. I understand that Capcom tried to attract casual players with this game and I think it's a good idea, but I doubt hardcore player will appreciate it. The one button preset combo thing is really retarded, it defeats the purpose of the game where all the strategy now goes into switching characters. Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    ......IM SICK OF YOU CAPCOM!!! .......... Capcom FAIL in everything they do.. every single game they release is a failure.. They destroyed the RE franchise by turning RE in a action game because survival games are not so profitable as action game like COD.. anyway.. Street FIghter X Tekken shows us again that Capcom only want to make easy money with less effort.. by selling DLC that are......IM SICK OF YOU CAPCOM!!! .......... Capcom FAIL in everything they do.. every single game they release is a failure.. They destroyed the RE franchise by turning RE in a action game because survival games are not so profitable as action game like COD.. anyway.. Street FIghter X Tekken shows us again that Capcom only want to make easy money with less effort.. by selling DLC that are already in the DISC! The DLC content is already finished and it could be in the game but they want to make easy money by selling it later.. so its not a DLC its just a locked content in the DISC you bought that will be unlocked for more money later on.. Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2012
    1
    In the perfect world, this game would not being trying to over charge you for content NOT ALREADY ON THE DISC. What kind of ridiculousness is this? As for the game, it feels rush and re-hashed. Game feels borked and lag when online is so easily apparent and to top it all off the game feels like it is missing features though. This is a terrible game. It is nowhere near what capcom wentIn the perfect world, this game would not being trying to over charge you for content NOT ALREADY ON THE DISC. What kind of ridiculousness is this? As for the game, it feels rush and re-hashed. Game feels borked and lag when online is so easily apparent and to top it all off the game feels like it is missing features though. This is a terrible game. It is nowhere near what capcom went w/SFIV.

    I say wait for the re-release if anything w/all the content unlocked and free like it should have been from the start.
    Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    While single player is fun for the most part, it's difficult to believe how tremendously awful online is. The lagging sound still isn't fixed two weeks after release, while the game is completely devoid of any lobby or practical challenge menu. STXT would've done itself some good by taking example from Mortal Kombat (whose online lobby system is perfect for competitive play), but insteadWhile single player is fun for the most part, it's difficult to believe how tremendously awful online is. The lagging sound still isn't fixed two weeks after release, while the game is completely devoid of any lobby or practical challenge menu. STXT would've done itself some good by taking example from Mortal Kombat (whose online lobby system is perfect for competitive play), but instead provides consumers with an abysmal and rather embarrassing online experience. Then of course there is the matter of the controversial choice to include locked content on the disc, which quite frankly is bad business practice. 4/10 is generous. Expand
  13. Jul 14, 2012
    6
    A gem system ruins what should really be quite a solid fighter. However, somehow Capcom thought this long awaited cross-over would be a great time to experiment with P2W concepts in fighting games. Truly a shame.
  14. Sep 27, 2012
    6
    My expectation for this game was hoping to see something pretty much similar to Street Fighter II or IV fighting style with certainly adding on to the improvement on the back end engines. Unfortunately, this game is in between Street Fighter IV and Marvel vs. Capcom (series). It didn't live up to its potential for me. The entire method of the game switched from one of mastering specialMy expectation for this game was hoping to see something pretty much similar to Street Fighter II or IV fighting style with certainly adding on to the improvement on the back end engines. Unfortunately, this game is in between Street Fighter IV and Marvel vs. Capcom (series). It didn't live up to its potential for me. The entire method of the game switched from one of mastering special moves to learning how to cheese with unblockable combo chains, with or without special moves, that would juggle your opponent to the point where players COULDN'T do anything. The whole idea is juggling your opponent(s) into combos that can't be blocked and can't be broken and then unleashing a series hit strings that takes down their life to near dead. As a result, the "X" factor excitement that exist in Street Fighter series are gone. With the new addition of partner/tag systems, all the strategy now goes into switching partners/characters and more IRRITATINGLY, the tag system of one partner dies, the other dies too. Capcom really need to learn more from SNK in this department. Another new addition to this game is the gem system. I must give this credit to Capcom with this new creative ideas. However, the main problem with the gems are uncontrollable. It is not like I want to execute the gems when I need them; but rather, if it met certain criterias, then the gems is activated automatically. It beats the purpose of having them in the first place. I have also never like them because of the neon color (red, yellow, or green) is activated depending on which gem is activated and it makes eyes very uncomfortable. But if you want to be competitive, you have no choice but to own and to strategize all those gems. The best part is you will have to pay to get all the gems available in the game. When you are in the middle of fight you could not even remember how many times you blocked or attacked. You hardly could monitor this; in the end, it won't matter anymore. It will be a different story if it can be controlled and executed when you want them to be executed according to your own timing. Graphically, the game is OK. It has humorous characters' acting and decent story modes, but meaningless trial challenge. I'm sure people who only started playing Marvel vs. Capcom (series) will be in love with this game. But as someone who grew up with Street Fighter, who remembers learning the moves, the skill and timing of how to deploy them, this game is a much disappointment especially to the Street Fighter II and IV fans. Expand
  15. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    This is a ok fighter. It really doesent have many modes decent amount of charecters and even though the whole dlc on disc its still ok. Not really worth buying wait for super street fighter x tekken gold championship 3d edition.
  16. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Two completely different fighting inputs put into one game is a bit difficult at first, but you get used to it. However I'd rather play Street Fighter or Tekken as its own game
  17. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    Street Fighter x Tekken is pretty.... different. Here are the things:
    Pro:
    - Fast and easy to learn/hard to master gameplay. - Some cool customiations options. - Gem system is a welcome change, if a little lacking. - Pretty stable roster from both worlds. - Story is actually interresting and compeling. - Megaman and Pacman are just awesome (Make this megaman canon to Street fighter
    Street Fighter x Tekken is pretty.... different. Here are the things:
    Pro:
    - Fast and easy to learn/hard to master gameplay.
    - Some cool customiations options.
    - Gem system is a welcome change, if a little lacking.
    - Pretty stable roster from both worlds.
    - Story is actually interresting and compeling.
    - Megaman and Pacman are just awesome (Make this megaman canon to Street fighter universe Capcom plz!)
    - Great Graphics.
    - ALOT of humor, specially Kuma.

    Now on the cons:
    - Some combinatons are kinda.... off like Kuma and Heihachi... what? i know he trained him but isnt there any better choises?

    - Some exeptions that may make angry fans like Blanka is not here (Capcom's DLC crap all over again) and they add Ogre but not Jinpachi Mishima?? i would prefer to fight him that Ogre personally and that take me to my other point.

    - Some characters feel weak. Ogre's fighting style feels odd and not as powerful as it should be. Hell hes easier than any other char you will fight in Arcade. Ryu and Ken also feel a bit off power wile Akuma is just outright OP if used well. That wouldnt be sso hard to SF fans.

    - Normal dificulty my I usually play my games in Normal just to get use to the gameplay but somehow normal dificulty is incredibly punishing specially after the 3 fight.

    - this game has a serious balance problem. Akuma as a boss is irritating as in Normal dificulty he will dodge, block and infinite combo you until you die. Ogre is underpowered compared to other chars, Bison is incredibly annoying using that lame slide attack over and OVER and OVER again. m not kidding in any dificulty Bison's strategy is basically sliding to you, grab if you get too close then the soul pierce or however is called that pink spiral of doom. and he wont change it at all.

    - WHY the sub boss due before the real boss is always the same? if your using a SF char your sub boss and boss will be Jin and that girl that is always whit him charged whit Pandora, then Orge. If you play as a tekken char then its Bison and Juri then Akuma. Its sad because the Rival mach is always cool but out of place most of the time.

    - Online game while solid it will constantly put you against enemies WAY STRONGER THAN YOU.

    There are many others but i would make it too long.

    For the next game PLEASE VARY THE LAST FIGHTS, WHY NOT THE PANDORA TEAM UP IS AGAINST THE RIVALS. AND BALANCE THE DAM CHARS.

    Its good to play against or whit friends but otherwise try something else.
    Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    A fantastic fighting game with a solid engine with unique style bringing two vastly different graphics together. Gameplay is fast and fluid, but the tag system of one partner dies, the other dies too gets annoying and feels sorta wierd. The cast is huge and varied and there is lots of modes from story to scramble. Online sucks though and there is constant lag. A fantastic game though.
  19. Apr 14, 2012
    0
    Do you enjoy games that have not been play tested? What about games with almost 1/4 of the content locked away on the disc, but you have to pay for at a later date through dlc? How about fighting games with one move infinites like xiaoyu? If you do, then SF x T will be the perfect game for you. If you enjoy actual, solid fighting games, stay away from this one.
  20. May 29, 2012
    4
    The game just dosen't play right. It def dosent feel like street fighter. I do not understand why they thought that including stupid fighters from Tekken was a good idea. If it played like street fighter it would be much better. Also, all the fighters that are on the disk that you aren't allowed to play is an insult. It does look good though and is really smooth. I cant say that itThe game just dosen't play right. It def dosent feel like street fighter. I do not understand why they thought that including stupid fighters from Tekken was a good idea. If it played like street fighter it would be much better. Also, all the fighters that are on the disk that you aren't allowed to play is an insult. It does look good though and is really smooth. I cant say that it feels like it is broken or anything, it was just the wrong path to go down. Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    An incomplete game that has DLC on the disc... BUT YOU CAN'T PLAY THEM. Plus, the GEM system was nice to try, but terribly executed. Just another unbalanced fighting game NOT worth the money. Sorry.
  22. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    As someone has already mentioned, the game is incomplete. Capcom has again embraced downloadable content which forces the consumer to again pay for in order to unlock the 12 additional characters, content that is already completed and on the game disc. Essentially the game is going to cost you alot more than what you initially paid for. To counteract such unscrupulous business practices,IAs someone has already mentioned, the game is incomplete. Capcom has again embraced downloadable content which forces the consumer to again pay for in order to unlock the 12 additional characters, content that is already completed and on the game disc. Essentially the game is going to cost you alot more than what you initially paid for. To counteract such unscrupulous business practices,I urge everyone not to buy this game until the price drops considerably or at which time Capcom re-releases the full version of the game for a cheaper price. Gamers nee to be smart consumers instead of making impulse buys that will cost them in the long run. Expand
  23. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    10, 10, 10, and then some more 10. I'm not gonna diginfy the people (if that's what they're called) giving this a brutal score. To me, you could almost call this SF6 (yes 6, 2 up from 4, and 4 was awesome), because not only does it have new and better (faster/less recovery) gameplay. It also has a ton of new characters. And the fact that they're imported from Tekken doesn't really matter.10, 10, 10, and then some more 10. I'm not gonna diginfy the people (if that's what they're called) giving this a brutal score. To me, you could almost call this SF6 (yes 6, 2 up from 4, and 4 was awesome), because not only does it have new and better (faster/less recovery) gameplay. It also has a ton of new characters. And the fact that they're imported from Tekken doesn't really matter. In 2D, ALL of them feel new. I'm losing patience with trolls on Metacritic. I don't know what this great website plans on doing about it, but something must be done. Now on to my ME3 review, where the trolls are 10,000 worse than this game Expand
  24. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    DO NOT BUY, GAME IS NOT COMPLETE.

    Capcom announced the day of SFxT North American launch that there will be 12 additional characters available for download in the fall. They also announced that ALL of the downloadable content (characters, costumes, stages, gems, etc) is already completed and on the game disc. So, the customer pays the retail price for the game, but then has to pay more
    DO NOT BUY, GAME IS NOT COMPLETE.

    Capcom announced the day of SFxT North American launch that there will be 12 additional characters available for download in the fall. They also announced that ALL of the downloadable content (characters, costumes, stages, gems, etc) is already completed and on the game disc. So, the customer pays the retail price for the game, but then has to pay more money at a later date to access the entire disc. This game is a rip off so obvious that Stevie Wonder can see it from a mile away. You have to pay twice to access everything on the disc. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.

    (hackers have already uploaded this game online, all extra content unlocked, so pirating this game will get you ALL the content...)
    Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I think people giving it a bad score are just haters...because it doesn't make sense to hate this game and
    I would honestly ignore the people that give it a 7 or lower...It's a fighting game with great production value that uses a lot of fighting mechanics. It has a large cast with a variety of personalities. The gems work really well...it adds some level of customization. I'm sure through
    I think people giving it a bad score are just haters...because it doesn't make sense to hate this game and
    I would honestly ignore the people that give it a 7 or lower...It's a fighting game with great production value that uses a lot of fighting mechanics. It has a large cast with a variety of personalities. The gems work really well...it adds some level of customization. I'm sure through out the months Capcom will add some stuff. It's easily accessible to newcomers as well. Tekken characters blend really well. The only thing I hope is that they make the online connection better. It's not as bad as KOFXIII but it could be a bit better. Overall, alone or with friends this game is a lot of fun.
    Expand
  26. Apr 15, 2012
    3
    I'm very disappointed and I will not get this game or probably will just get it used. no money for a company that has no respect for their consumers.
  27. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Great job! This game makes come from a well forest of intention when you walk backwards, dont worry about the forest someone already wrote it. Great mix up gameplay, giant fun character roster. Cant wait great job
  28. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    A fun game with easy to get into game mechanics - maybe a bit to easy! Street Fighter x Tekken will be a little polarizing for those Tekken purists. SFxT uses the Capcom-standard 6 button layout for punches and kicks (L/M/H). This is different from Tekken's four-button layout, Capcom did a decent job adapting the crossed-over characters to fit their new molds. Graphics are detailed with aA fun game with easy to get into game mechanics - maybe a bit to easy! Street Fighter x Tekken will be a little polarizing for those Tekken purists. SFxT uses the Capcom-standard 6 button layout for punches and kicks (L/M/H). This is different from Tekken's four-button layout, Capcom did a decent job adapting the crossed-over characters to fit their new molds. Graphics are detailed with a more cartoony look,. Backgrounds on a few occasions don't seem to quiet fit in with the game; esp when compared to the more down-to-earth looks of Tekken and early Street Fighter games. They just seem more akin towards Marvel Vs Capcom backgrounds with over-the-top ideas such as dinosaurs, mammoths chasing (which just don't seem right for this game). I do find the semi-2d quiet annoying at times, esp when pulling of special moves. Special Moves causes the camera to zoom inn-out and all over the place - making it fairly confusing to focus on what is happening. It's way too over the top and flashy for its own good. This does spoil the focus of the special attacks and can go on far to long. Pulling off specials can cause the game to become a bit tedious watching again and again!. Single player is as straight forward as most fighters. Matches are laid out like Tekken Tag Tournament matches instead of Marvel vs Capcom, meaning that instead of cycling out your characters when they get knocked out, you lose the round if one of your fighters falls. The action is fast paced and akin somewhere between the button mashing of MvsC, and the control of SF IV (not as deep as SFIII); with signature moves retained by characters from Tekken and SF games. Online, the game handles itself pretty well, with a very similar set-up as with SF IV. Added extra such as Gems that allow the biggest addition to Street Fighter X Tekken, allowing specific boosts to your fighters adding an extra layer of depth and skill. Overral a quality mix of of two well known games - not quiet as deep and elegant as the excellent King Of Fighters XIII game (PS3/360); which I do consider a better game. SFxT is still very enjoyable and easy to get into. A bit over-the-top at times and little to familiar if already played previous Capcom 2.5d beat-em ups! Online is a joy and with added extra added features. A joy to play and will probably please the SF IV fans more then the Tekken fans. Personally the I would say this is third or maybe fourth best 2d(well 2.5d) fighter available: 1st goes to Kinf Of Fighters XIII, 2nd goes to Street Fighter III: Third Strike, and maybe 3rd Blazblue: CS. Expand
  29. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    After spending a few days with this fighter, I can be safe to say that it is extraordinary. It accomplishes many feats: 1.) It successfully merges the Tekken and Street Fighter characters into a fighting game. 2.) The game feels like a fighting game that is unique, even when compared with past Capcom crossover fighting games. 3.) It is fun. The skill required to play the game is probably aAfter spending a few days with this fighter, I can be safe to say that it is extraordinary. It accomplishes many feats: 1.) It successfully merges the Tekken and Street Fighter characters into a fighting game. 2.) The game feels like a fighting game that is unique, even when compared with past Capcom crossover fighting games. 3.) It is fun. The skill required to play the game is probably a little bit more than that which is required in Marvel vs Capcom 3, yet not so technically taxing, as in a game like Street Fighter 4, where timing seem like it takes center stage of every battle. SFxT is welcoming to newcomers, as well, because of Assist Gems in the new Gem system. The Gem System accomplishes two feats: it brings an added depth when playing a fighting game, and it also makes some commands for moves that may be daunting for beginning players a little easier. All in all, don't wait to get this fighter. Get it now. You will be missing on months of fighting goodness if you hold out. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    Street fighter x tekken is a fun game with a great roster, but has a tough learning curve for people new to fighters, and the gem system isnt much to write home about. The online is fun and seems to have consistant connection, but the system of losing because one fighter dies is very frustrating. IMO you should try it but dont buy this game for anything over $40.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 19, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter X Tekken isn't as ground-breaking as Street fighter IV, but it offers a wholly different and most of all innovative look on a well established formula.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    90
    The Tekken draftees are the new Street Fighter characters you don't want to go home. Apart from integrating them visually into Ryu and co's saturated universe, each has had their exhaustive move set refocused to align with Capcom's different play style. It doesn't just work, it's brilliant. [May 2012, p70]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 25, 2012
    80
    Maybe it's not the fighting game of the century but it still has its appeal and magical mix of two distinct worlds which works great. [Apr 2012]