Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Street Fighter X Tekken, where Street Fighter and Tekken series' stalwarts Ryu, Chun-Li, Kazuya Mishima and Nina Williams headline a memorable cast of your favorite fighters in a tag battle dream match for the ages. Street Fighter X Tekken (SFXT) is a 2 vs. 2 tag team-based fighting game where players can freely tag in and out between partners. The game promises to marry the styles of both a 2D and 3D fighting game for a fresh take on the genre. Fans from each series will also be able to play with either Street Fighter's traditional 6 button layout or Tekken's 4 button layout. Players who are new to either series will be able to join in on the fun with an easy-to-understand battle system that promises excitement and countless hours of fun. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Street Fighter X Tekken is much more than just a fun party game. Even better, based on the number of unique mechanics, we would say this is Capcom's best fighter in a long time. Whereas Street Fighter IV and MvC 3 only had one unique feature, SFXT has dozens. [April 2012, p.74]
  2. 90
    Capcom strays from the well-trodden Street Fighter IV path and finds – thanks to the support of the Iron Fist champions – a marvelous new interpretation of the idea of street-fighting.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    Street Fighter x Tekken reaches the quality standards in another crossover from Capcom and will not disappoint its fans.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    85
    Street Fighter X Tekken is a worthy new fighting game franchise for Capcom, one that brings together two unlikely groups of foes in a game that blends a more traditional style of gameplay with some very interesting-if not slightly controversial-new ideas.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    82
    Nothing like Tekken but high-quality fighting nonetheless, if you can brave the complexity. [May 2012, p.74]
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Street Fighter x Tekken may not reach the same amazing levels of perfection as Street Fighter IV, but it's still a must-own for everyone who appreciates a really good fighting game.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    60
    It's only at its peak when you're sitting next to another player, locally engaging in SFXT's brand of tag battles. Online, I found it to be a bit of a mess, and the game's attempts at meaningful character customization fall victim to layers and layers of slow-moving menus and a bundle of additional content that only serves to further confuse the issue.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 57
  2. Negative: 24 out of 57
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    10, 10, 10, and then some more 10. I'm not gonna diginfy the people (if that's what they're called) giving this a brutal score. To me, you could almost call this SF6 (yes 6, 2 up from 4, and 4 was awesome), because not only does it have new and better (faster/less recovery) gameplay. It also has a ton of new characters. And the fact that they're imported from Tekken doesn't really matter. In 2D, ALL of them feel new. I'm losing patience with trolls on Metacritic. I don't know what this great website plans on doing about it, but something must be done. Now on to my ME3 review, where the trolls are 10,000 worse than this game Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Geez the critics have been extremely harsh to this great game...I get the impression it has been played by the wrong type of gamer that didn't get into the complex but easy to get into game with a simple button layout.
    Please give SFxT the chance it deserves and you will discover one of the finest fighting game experiences to be had from two great franchises.
    Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    A fantastic fighting game with a solid engine with unique style bringing two vastly different graphics together. Gameplay is fast and fluid, but the tag system of one partner dies, the other dies too gets annoying and feels sorta wierd. The cast is huge and varied and there is lots of modes from story to scramble. Online sucks though and there is constant lag. A fantastic game though. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    6
    A gem system ruins what should really be quite a solid fighter. However, somehow Capcom thought this long awaited cross-over would be a great time to experiment with P2W concepts in fighting games. Truly a shame. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, I tried so hard but the balance is totally unforgivable. For example you will face 4 primary characters that have moves you simply cannot avoid. Hugo, Kazuya, Heiachi and Jin, you hear lots of people complaining about time running out and its usually because they are avoiding these characters. Thier moves take priority and seem to cancel others out they can even cancel a special with a regular weak punch. I actually like the specials, the combos are nice to execute and watch but the problem is the juggling. You can get juggled once and the player can continue until all your life is gone, so one mistake can cost you a match.

    HAving played street fighter and tekken all my life I can tell you this game sucks from both of these players perspectives, it's laggy and all you have to do is footsy your way to victory, continous footsy until you gain a hit then follow with a cheesy infinite combo. This go is just terrible, I only gave it a 4 because I like the way they did my girl Juri and some of the combos are nice but this game plays more like an early prototype than a finished game. If you play on a pro level you will hate it even more.

    Terrible!
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    3
    This game was awful for me. Graphics are nice (not excellent, thought), and the gameplay is fast. Too fast. No tutorials and a very pronunciated difficulty scale. Annoying arcade mode, with online people interrupting your progress. Stupid final videos with almost no effort in doing them nice.
    But, the worst of all, is that the content the game have is only unblockable paying it, up to 150$! Even the colours have to be bought...
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    0
    NEW JUNK GAME FROM CAPCOM
    The game is not important to the required level never AND REAL JUNK GAME 2012 A CANT PLAY TIHS GAME ON MY PS3 OR
    XBOX !!!! BEC JUNK Expand

See all 57 User Reviews