Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    90
    This is one of the those rare times when a game was just made right, and while you have every right to love it or hate it, it’d have nothing to do with how it was made. This is an 80’s videogame power-ballad that hits all the right notes.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Strider is undoubtedly fun but it’s really depressingly short.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    75
    Strider is back and he is wearing an interesting shawl. Thankfully there is more to this game. It is not just a beat 'em up, but it also gives the gamer the chance to variate smooth quickness with puzzle elements to make progress in the game.
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    75
    Strider is a fun action platformer that's a decent homage to the original games from the eighties and nineties. The game could use a creative impulse when it comes to enemies and environments, but you won't want to let it go because of the variety in powers and tight action.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Strider will satisfy those who didn´t play the arcade game, but it suffers under its repetitive design, lack of enemy variety, generic look and problematic input.
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    62
    Decent towards the end but dull and unsatisfying up to that point. [Issue#242, p.72]
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    60
    The longer I played this game, the less I enjoyed it. [05/2014, p.72]
  8. Apr 8, 2014
    45
    It's a shame that Strider eventually grinds down into such life-sapping monotony because it starts off reasonably strong. The controls are sharp and responsive, and cutting enemies in half while dashing around at lightning speed feels damn good.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 28, 2014
    8
    I love what they have done with Strider but feel they could have tacked on the original arcade game as a bonus for us older fans but other than that this game plays well and reminds me of Castlevania Symphony of the Night which is a massive compliment. Full Review »
  2. May 6, 2014
    10
    After so many long years, strider finally comes back. This is an excellent, well polished game worthy of your time and money and worthy of the legendary "Strider" name. Full Review »
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Hybrid of Shadow Complex with Moon Diver. The game is great.I playing for several days, I do not come off. I recommend to all fans of the old school.

    On the background of the almost complete lack of quality 2D hack'n'slash games this game is a balm for my heart.
    Full Review »