Syndicate PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    72
    There are small mistakes everywhere. The occasional glitchy corpse is to be expected (and even entertaining). Less funny are the times when you are stuck trying to solve a simple puzzle because it's impossible to see which objects are interactive. [March 2012, p.80]
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    70
    Players looking for a truly innovative first-person shooter will find glimpses of one, but not as a single-player experience. Syndicate's world is oppressively violent and cynical, which doesn't do its messy story any favors, but when opened up for 4-person teams and a standalone mission structure it makes perfect sense.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    70
    Syndicate is a fun shooter but it falls short of being great. The campaign is on the short side and feels slightly generic, although the action itself is immensly entertaining. The separate co-op mode adds some great value and ends up being the stronger part of the package.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    There's a lot to like about Syndicate's mechanics and recoil-rich gunplay, and your cache of cybernetic powers elevates the game above most rote corridor shooters. But Syndicate doesn't know what it wants to be at its core, and its dry protagonist blasts through hyper-violent environments with no motivation or desire.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    It's an above average monthly achiever; a confident performer that pushes itself hard, but never quite goes the extra mile to secure employee of the month.
  6. Solid shooting and a handful of suicide-inducing party tricks can only get you so far, and it's this absence of atmosphere and lack of connection to your surroundings that holds Syndicate back from becoming a fulfilling experience.
  7. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 21, 2012
    65
    Awful bosses, poor story, and unimaginative level design bury sexy guns and good looks. [Apr 2012, p.92]
  8. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    60
    Thanks to the flawed fundamentals, all the great mechanics in the world can't save Syndicate. [Apr 2012, p.84]
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The co-op mode saves it from complete failure but this is a disappointingly timid update of the original, that squanders its potential in both gameplay and storytelling.
  10. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Swapping freedom and tactical depth for twitch-based thrills and teamwork has certainly made it a viable multi-platform release...However, those with longer memories may argue that rebooting Syndicate as yet another FPS, complete with identikit hero, is a bit like remaking Citizen Kane as a rom-com starring Adam Sandler. For all its multiplayer merits, I'm afraid I'm with the Luddites on this one.
  11. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    I can look at Syndicate from any angle I want: In the end it stays a mediocre, though not entirely charmless Shooter, whose only real redeeming factor is the coop-mode, which also comes off a little bit half-hearted.
  12. 50
    I typically don't mind short campaigns, but an experience just over 5 hours that doesn't leave you wanting more is certainly not a good thing. As a whole, Syndicate is a functional shooter that employs some interesting concepts but fails to really flesh them out to their fullest.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Awesome game I don't see what everyone is complaining about. The only thing wrong with this is the short campaign and difficult boss fightsAwesome game I don't see what everyone is complaining about. The only thing wrong with this is the short campaign and difficult boss fights other than that great game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven'tI was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven't decided to get the game, check out the demo that won me over. Full Review »
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Waoo the best FPS I have ever tried. The Co-op is brilliant and worth playing many many hours!

    The sound is excelent, must say I love it.
    Waoo the best FPS I have ever tried. The Co-op is brilliant and worth playing many many hours!

    The sound is excelent, must say I love it.

    Hope Starbreeze will make Syndicate 2, I want it !

    Go get your own copy, its worth every penny in my opinion :-)
    Full Review »