Syndicate PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    Grabbing three friends and battling for corporate supremacy online is well worth your time, but don't expect to be wowed by playing alone.
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    Syndicate's cooperative play is undeniably thrilling. Too bad the single-player campaign doesn't reach the same heights.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Starbreeze managed to add another unique spin to the FPS genre that's worth checking out if you're not hung up on the property's legacy.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    84
    Syndicate is a funny shooter and has several interesting visual aspects starting from the excellent graphics to the HUD. At the same time the game doesn't introduce anything to the usual gameplay of any other FPS and this could be a problem in terms of gameplay mechanics.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Syndicate is a good FPS. It had enormous potential but, in the end, the developers weren't able to make the most of it. A pity, it could have been truly an amazing shooter.
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Maybe this is not the (new) Syndicate that older gamers were waiting for, but it's a very good and solid FPS experience... for single and multiplayer fans.
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    Syndicate is a really cool game that shines through its great co-op modes. The singleplayer is great, but the multiplayer is where its at. Beware for an action overdose.
  8. Mar 4, 2012
    85
    Graphically the game is great, aside from the multiplayer, and the storyline is one of the most gripping and enthralling we've seen. If you were thinking of buying it for the single-player alone, you could easily give it a rent, but the multiplayer makes it worth the buy.
  9. Feb 28, 2012
    82
    It could have been something really big, but the remake of the good old Syndicate from 1993 is just a solid FPS. The storytelling is not stunning, the missing freedom and some technical issues drag down the overall impression. It's a quite solid game, but nothing more.
  10. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    78
    No classic, but it's still easily one of the year's stronger shooters so far. [Issue#216, p.74]
  11. Feb 23, 2012
    82
    Syndicate's guise is thoroughly unoriginal and yet irrefutably stylish. Its guns aren't distinctive but feel great with every pull of the trigger. Breaching is debatably necessary and still every time it's engaged. Cooperative plays feels more like beating the game than beating the intended challenge, which somehow makes for a better feeling of elation. In conforming to the first person standard, Syndicate has turned in a wave of contradictions that, almost in spite of itself, typically emerge on the right side of social order.
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    79
    Syndicate really shines when you get together with a few people. The campaign really isn't bad at all – and I don't want to give the impression that it is – but having a ton of info thrown in your face doesn't necessarily mean you're fleshing out a story. And the pacing is off, too.
  13. 75
    A solid shooter with relatively interesting unique features, Syndicate's co-op outshines the otherwise lackluster single-player campaign.
  14. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    Right from the start, you feel like a demigod, dispatching enemies with ease thanks to an overpowered arsenal and a whole bunch of 'breaching' powers that let you slow time, enhance damage and decrease ouchies from incoming bullets. [April 2012, p65]
  15. Mar 19, 2012
    85
    No, it doesn't stay true to the franchise at all, yet Syndicate still manages to impress with both a well executed artistic vision and a thoughtfully implemented co-op mode that takes some fresh approaches.
  16. Feb 21, 2012
    100
    The smart players will rise to the challenge and feel like they've been appropriately rewarded for their prowess. The campaign gives you a great look at an interesting world, though its abrupt, too-clean ending feels out of place. It's a somewhat disappointing reward for an otherwise exciting adventure that puts a terrific and fun spin on first-person shooting.
  17. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Syndicate is definitely one of the nicer surprises of 2012 so far. The graphics may not be on par with genre toppers like Battlefield 3, but the tactical gameplay and co-op options make for a very entertaining shooter.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Awesome game I don't see what everyone is complaining about. The only thing wrong with this is the short campaign and difficult boss fightsAwesome game I don't see what everyone is complaining about. The only thing wrong with this is the short campaign and difficult boss fights other than that great game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven'tI was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven't decided to get the game, check out the demo that won me over. Full Review »
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Waoo the best FPS I have ever tried. The Co-op is brilliant and worth playing many many hours!

    The sound is excelent, must say I love it.
    Waoo the best FPS I have ever tried. The Co-op is brilliant and worth playing many many hours!

    The sound is excelent, must say I love it.

    Hope Starbreeze will make Syndicate 2, I want it !

    Go get your own copy, its worth every penny in my opinion :-)
    Full Review »