Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    Tales from Space is one of the better PSN titles and worth a shot if Katamari Damacy was a favorite or you've been looking for a competent 2D platformer.
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    85
    It offers several hours of direct fun which come in handy, but its real replay value is in its cooperative mode.
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    85
    About A Blob has a great art style that was reminiscent of Genndy Tartakovsky's style that works really well for this 2D platformer, especially with the way the blob's eyes change depending on what you're doing.
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    85
    While it's difficult at points, I was never frustrated or felt like I was dying because of a flaw in the level design. It's got an engaging (and often hilarious) art style and makes the most of its simple, static cutscenes and paper-thin plot.
  5. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    Filled with well designed puzzles and charming humor, Tales From Space: About A Blob is irreverent fun that overcomes a lack of originality with superior polish and tight gameplay.
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    At $14.99, About a Blob is a bit on the high side for what it offers. If you're thinking of playing this game just by yourself, it may not be worth it. But if you have some Robins at ready to follow your gelatinous Batman, About a Blob is a good deal.
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    Like Limbo, Flower and Braid before it, Tales From Space: About A Blob is the type of release that makes you thankful for the existence of downloadable gaming and the freedom that it gives developers to create lean, punchy and engaging games that would have no doubt been doomed to obscurity had they been launched full-price at retail.
  8. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Despite its rougher edges, Tales from Space: About a Blob is a genuinely fun – and funny – romp through classic sci-fi tropes. The feeling of piloting a gelatinous character is more than enough to set the game apart from its sidescrolling brethren, but, it's the unique gameplay and sense of style that truly absorbs you.
  9. Feb 11, 2011
    80
    With a loveable art style and knockabout humour adding gloss to its warmly familiar gameplay, Tales From Space: About A Blob is the perfect platform snack.
  10. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    Proving new, inventive ideas are still ripe on the vine, especially fruitful in the indie scene, Tales From Space: About a Blob is a full-fat platforming puzzler that will warm the hearts of fans who gravitate toward infectious, challenging – if a mite repetitive – gameplay.
  11. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    With several (but not enough) levels of increasing difficulty, it's a short but sweet title that is sometimes a bit repetitive, but ultimately well worth the price of admission.
  12. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    Tales From Space: About a Blob is a very unique and charming game that provides a nice change of pace.
  13. Feb 13, 2011
    78
    Even with the continued existence of the human race at stake, there's plenty of fun to be had just eating heaps, getting to be the size of a bus and just blobbing out.
  14. Feb 16, 2011
    75
    It does have a couple issues, sure, but overall I think it's worth checking out. Also, the online leaderboard function works great, and the game offers up plenty of chances to challenge yourself via speed runs if you're looking to compete against your friends list.
  15. Feb 23, 2011
    72
    This is a nice puzzle- and platform game. You are playing with a blob that has been captured by an evil professor and you have to escape from his laboratories to save yourself and the other blobs. The game contains good gameplay, nice graphics but the audio is a bit annoying.
  16. Feb 21, 2011
    71
    Tales From Space: About a Blob is a charming game that provides nice challenges.
  17. Jul 21, 2011
    70
    It's certainly a worthwhile investment for the intended audience, particularly in co-op, but one to trial before a purchase for the more hardcore audience.
  18. Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Tales from Space: About a Blob is a solid first effort from DrinkBox Studios, and I recommend not only buying this game, but keeping a close eye on their future titles.
  19. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2011
    70
    Aesthetically, it's a sweet piece of 2D Americana. [Apr 2011, p.101]
  20. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    It isn't a Katamari game, but Drinkbox Studios did a fine job of recreating the mechanic and turning it into something of their own. This isn't the best game on PSN, but it is a worthy addition to your collection.
  21. 70
    A good game for kids, since its never very challenging or frustrating, and it makes for simple platforming fun.
  22. Feb 7, 2011
    68
    Tales from Space - About a Blob isn't a bad game, it's just not a very good game either. The indecisiveness on what it wants to be is what will distract most people.
  23. Feb 17, 2011
    65
    Though it offers few thrills, About a Blob serves up plenty of palatable platforming action.
  24. Feb 10, 2011
    60
    Any game with such a premise is inevitably, and unconsciously, drawn into comparison with Katamari Damacy, which is pretty much universally beloved. Having to be measured against something like that makes any game seem worse. And from that perspective, the not-bad About a Blob seems bland.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Who knew blobs could be so fun!

    I heard about this game back when it was shown at E3 2010, and then suddenly it disappeared. Log on to PSN
    Who knew blobs could be so fun!

    I heard about this game back when it was shown at E3 2010, and then suddenly it disappeared. Log on to PSN the other day and there it was again!

    Wasn't really sure if it was worth the $15 dollars or not, but after playing the demo, I knew this game had potential.

    The eyes + the blob jiggle factor = awesomeness! But seriously the graphics are crisp and the gameplay is fun and addictive.

    There are only a few levels playable in the demo, but you can save your progress and continue in the full game once you buy it, so no need to back track either.

    It's a shame they only let Playstation Plus members download it, but I think it should be available for the general public anytime now.

    If any of the developers ever read this, great studio name!
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    Controls were pretty tight. The magnetic repulsion / attraction was pretty awesome. Also, the girlfriend loves playing it co-op, so that's theControls were pretty tight. The magnetic repulsion / attraction was pretty awesome. Also, the girlfriend loves playing it co-op, so that's the big selling point. Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    I love this game! I'm not a big fan of platformers, but playing this game co-op was the most fun I've had gaming in a while. My husband gotI love this game! I'm not a big fan of platformers, but playing this game co-op was the most fun I've had gaming in a while. My husband got me to "try a level" with him and the next thing I knew a couple of hours had passed. I've only played co-op so far, but I've had a fantastic time. The controls were easy to learn and worked well. The puzzles are always fun and challenging without being frustrating. The game has a great sense of humor, the art style is awesome, and the blob is adorable. His little blobby expressions are the best! Two very enthusiastic thumbs up! Full Review »