Tales of Graces f PlayStation 3

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 336
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war and good character development. The world is vibrant and interesting to explore, the battle system is far deeper than the previous entries and the customization using titles is fantastic. I have already clocked 15 hours in less than two days, and II was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war and good character development. The world is vibrant and interesting to explore, the battle system is far deeper than the previous entries and the customization using titles is fantastic. I have already clocked 15 hours in less than two days, and I can't wait to see more and to have more localized Tales games! Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    (Bottom line: trolls will be trolls, and if you're a Tales fan at all, you'll probably love this game, so buy it! Graces deserves your money anyway, plus it will send Namco the message that they can release Tales games here and still make money, which is the key stepping stone toward getting Tales of Xillia.)

    Wow, I went to sleep last night and the user score was sitting at 9.0. I woke
    (Bottom line: trolls will be trolls, and if you're a Tales fan at all, you'll probably love this game, so buy it! Graces deserves your money anyway, plus it will send Namco the message that they can release Tales games here and still make money, which is the key stepping stone toward getting Tales of Xillia.)

    Wow, I went to sleep last night and the user score was sitting at 9.0. I woke up this morning and it was at 7.3. That would mean whoever's been giving this game bad scores has been giving it 0's.

    Giving a game a 0 is just pathetic. Whoever's doing this is either trolling or actually trying to hurt the game sales. How about you play what you like, we play what we like, and nobody gets in anybody's faces? I swear.

    Anyway, as I said in my earlier review, this is a great Tales game, the best I've played since Symphonia. I play games mostly for gameplay and fun factor, and this game nails both of those.

    The voice acting is getting better and better with each Tales game, it seems. Yuri was the best-acted character in a while, but all the characters here (except maybe Sophie) have solid voice acting.

    The story is alright. It's no Final Fantasy Tactics, but it has its moments of political intrigue and hilarious character interactions, and it's not nearly as cringe-inducingly corny as other JRPG's.

    The only major flaws I can point out are the first four hours being boring and wonky childhood backstory; some inconsistent boss difficulty; and confusing backtracking.

    It's still a fantastic RPG and a solid rejuvenation of the starved genre.
    Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    This is my game of the year so far, one that I bought with out looking into beforehand, the game is near enough perfect, from its graphics, soundtrack, characters and story everything about it just amazed me. The game took me at least 60 hours to complete meaning you definitely get your money's worth
  4. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    The game grew on me tremendously. I mostly disliked the characters in the first 10 hours, but they develop quite a lot. Over the course of the game's 60+ hours, you'll be presented with 400 character skits that get more and more amusing as you go. There are some bad cliches and groan-worthy moments, but by the end it's mostly a very good experience. The battle system is one of the best ofThe game grew on me tremendously. I mostly disliked the characters in the first 10 hours, but they develop quite a lot. Over the course of the game's 60+ hours, you'll be presented with 400 character skits that get more and more amusing as you go. There are some bad cliches and groan-worthy moments, but by the end it's mostly a very good experience. The battle system is one of the best of all time, and the character stat development is in the hands of the player to a very large degree. Gaining levels from experience is, at best, a third of your potential growth. You'll have to discover new titles and develop weapons and armor through the crafting system to really get the most out of your team. The game features six difficulty levels to make sure you're always challenged, and an awesome "new game +" system where you're given points for how well you did in your last game, and you can use those to buy buffs that can even alter the rules of the game. For example, you can make it so that you and the monsters all do 10x more damage to each other. Again, the game just gets better as you go. The more time and effort you put into the game, the more you will find that you can get out of it. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Hands down : If your a big fan of J-RPG , this is your game, fast action packed, with lots of combo's. Sure it may have some down sides like cartoon-ish graphics and linear gameplay, but its fun overall, and depending how long you play everyday , it will last a very long time if you play only about 4-5 hours a day. If your like me and wasted 3 whole days completing the game, just to beatHands down : If your a big fan of J-RPG , this is your game, fast action packed, with lots of combo's. Sure it may have some down sides like cartoon-ish graphics and linear gameplay, but its fun overall, and depending how long you play everyday , it will last a very long time if you play only about 4-5 hours a day. If your like me and wasted 3 whole days completing the game, just to beat it well there is a bonus for you! There is a New Game plus where you can start the game over again with bonus's such as 10x exp ! Face monsters you never faced before , go into a bonus dungeon! Combat is just like any other tales game from the starting from the play station 2 series and gamecube series to present. Check it out , Tales of symphonia, Tales of Legendia , all great games , the mechanics and all skits have been voiced over so basically everything is voiced , of course not everything is voiced. The battle system is fast action packed! As soon as you hit a monster , Bang! a monster appears before and becomes hostile towards you , you will be made to fight or escape it, but it is reccomended you fight every monster you see. There is a cooking and materialization system, cooking in battle, eating before battle , while in battle, finding rare materials, then the costumes and Mystics artes, are amazing, bright lights colors, its all amazing. The sound , the sound can be a bit repetetive, but it is amazing. There is a amazing co-oooooooop system! 4 players can play along with you and its even more fun to play with friends than going solo. If you like this game, you might like other J-RPG's Like the White Knight Chronicles. Graphics- 9
    Sound- 8
    Gameplay-10
    Mechanics- 10
    Keeps ya going? Hell yeah!
    Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Tales of Graces F is a great game with a few minor issues. The plot, while not bad by itself, is really the weaker part of the game. Though the character and how they interact with each other are great and makes up for the plot. The combat system is fantastic and will reward you for understanding its mechanics. Each individual character are also pretty unique to control and are a blast toTales of Graces F is a great game with a few minor issues. The plot, while not bad by itself, is really the weaker part of the game. Though the character and how they interact with each other are great and makes up for the plot. The combat system is fantastic and will reward you for understanding its mechanics. Each individual character are also pretty unique to control and are a blast to play through. The visuals are crisp and vibrant which really helps its graphical style but the textures makes it obvious that the game's origins is on the Nintendo Wii. Exploration wise, its pretty linear where it only opens up during the last parts of the main arc, think Final fantasy X exploration wise. There is backtracking in TOGF but is offset by the Turtelz transportation option. The game's length is around 40-50 hours for the main arc and about 10 hours or so for the Lineage and legacies arc. The soundtrack is also probably the weakest part of the game's presentation. While not bad, its really not memorable at all except for a few tracks. Voice acting is also pretty good for the most part though Adult Richard has a few inconsistency problems at the start but those problems iron out during the later parts of the game. There are tons of content to do in the game such as Inn requests, arena battles, extra dungeons, sidequests, etc. Overall the game is a blast to play with the gameplay offsetting most of presentation issues. Pros
    - Fantastic combat system -individual character are a blast to play through -crisp and vibrant graphics -tons of content -character interaction Cons
    -soundtrack -textures -bit linear(like FFX) Tales of Graces F is also a game that I've played for 5 or 6 hours straight for about 5 or 6 days in a row. That's saying something for me personally.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game so far. I like the characters and the battle system is one of the best RPG battle systems I've seen in a long time. I didn't have high expectations for the graphics since this game was originally for the Wii, but even the graphics are pretty nice, featuring clean, colorful texturing and crisp animation. This is the best game I have playedI have thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game so far. I like the characters and the battle system is one of the best RPG battle systems I've seen in a long time. I didn't have high expectations for the graphics since this game was originally for the Wii, but even the graphics are pretty nice, featuring clean, colorful texturing and crisp animation. This is the best game I have played this year, and I recommend it fully for any PS3 owner who likes RPGs. Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is a great addition to the Tales series. The game at first goes slowly, but the deeper you get in the game, the more interesting and fast-paced it gets, not only because of the main plot, but also because of the character development and gameplay which can be quite entertaining if you actually try to think instead of random button mashing. The music and the graphics are not the bestThis is a great addition to the Tales series. The game at first goes slowly, but the deeper you get in the game, the more interesting and fast-paced it gets, not only because of the main plot, but also because of the character development and gameplay which can be quite entertaining if you actually try to think instead of random button mashing. The music and the graphics are not the best out there, but stand amazing for what they were made for. The voice acting has notably improved, making the characters sound better. This game, is colorful, creative and can have deem emotions to it. Tales has yet to deliver me a disappointment. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    It's an excellent game thus far, I highly recommend the purchase. It's a great game in a great series. Art style is fantastic, story line is engaging, and the combat is just alot of fun. I highly recommend it!
  10. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This game has brought back what a real JRPG is all about, I've been playing it for hours and I can't stop playing it, I hope Namco adds Japanese voice overs on future title since the English voice overs are not the best. The story is really well put together, just the first 30 min in and I was sucked in I wish more JRPG's and Animes alike had a story that captures you like this game did. AThis game has brought back what a real JRPG is all about, I've been playing it for hours and I can't stop playing it, I hope Namco adds Japanese voice overs on future title since the English voice overs are not the best. The story is really well put together, just the first 30 min in and I was sucked in I wish more JRPG's and Animes alike had a story that captures you like this game did. A lot may disagree with me but this is by far the best Tales yet. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    IMPORTANT: it looks like yesterday the user score of this game has been artificially lowered by ten or more troll accounts voting 0 or 1 in the span of twenty minutes. This has extensively been discussed on Gamefaqs and other boards.

    Tales of Graces f is the port of a Wii game, but it really doesn't show. Polycount may not be the best in the PS3 lineup, but the game is crisp,
    IMPORTANT: it looks like yesterday the user score of this game has been artificially lowered by ten or more troll accounts voting 0 or 1 in the span of twenty minutes. This has extensively been discussed on Gamefaqs and other boards.

    Tales of Graces f is the port of a Wii game, but it really doesn't show. Polycount may not be the best in the PS3 lineup, but the game is crisp, colorful, had textures and many models remade for this version and boast better animations than the previous HD Tales game, Vesperia, thanks to motion capture (this is especially evident considering facial animations).

    Being a Team Destiny game, its battle system throws away the TP of previous Team Symphonia games opting for the CC points, a dinamic combo count that will enable the player to execute deep, rewarding combos without the need to recharge their mana pool with items. The combats are far more fast paced and technicals than in previous entries, and the side step feature is really better than free run (even though that one is still here).

    The world of Efinea is one of the best, more believable and genuinely endearing seen so far in the series. Starting with a childhood arc focused on the characters' infancy, the plot steadily progresses to their adulthood, and completely changes tune in the process, showing the different perspective between the way children view the world and adults do. War, politics, ideological clashes and a bit of magic are all there to make things hard for Asbel and his friends, and while the heroes can be light-hearted and funny, there's also a lot to ponder in their interactions. The final arc, added in the PS3 edition, is a wonderful epilogue to a story that already had a nice climax, unlike some other big-name rpg recently released.

    Overall, this is one of the finest Japanese rpgs translated during this hardware generation, and probably the best Tales of game localized so far in terms of contents, even if Phantasia and Abyss will always be personal favorites of mine.
    Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The game follows the typical JRPG story style and cliches, but that isn't really a bad thing. The battle system is extremely deep--with a little bit of a learning curve--and the gameplay is really where Graces shines. The characters and setting are still appealing, however, and the overall presentation (menus, graphic overhaul, extras) is really well done. It's one of the few games outThe game follows the typical JRPG story style and cliches, but that isn't really a bad thing. The battle system is extremely deep--with a little bit of a learning curve--and the gameplay is really where Graces shines. The characters and setting are still appealing, however, and the overall presentation (menus, graphic overhaul, extras) is really well done. It's one of the few games out that I don't regret paying $60 for, because I feel like I actually got my money's worth with all the hours I put into this. Plus, it has replay value out the whazoo, so it's just a great game for any RPG fan. Expand
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Loads of content, great character interaction, best battle system out of all Tales games currently, and looks visually appealing for a port of a Wii game.
  14. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    I've put 30 hours into the game in less than one week, and I think it's my lifetime record so far. Graces is the best JRPG I have played in years, and its battle system is a lesson about this genre's potential other developer should learn from. The characters are also surprisingly likeable and funny, and their personalities are well defined and presented. I know a full score is a bigI've put 30 hours into the game in less than one week, and I think it's my lifetime record so far. Graces is the best JRPG I have played in years, and its battle system is a lesson about this genre's potential other developer should learn from. The characters are also surprisingly likeable and funny, and their personalities are well defined and presented. I know a full score is a big investment on a game, but if I don't give this game a 10 then I really don't know which game in the last year could deserve it, especially in this genre. Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Tales of Graces is what a JRPG shall give the players, solid and clear story, variant of characters, good battle system and good set-up, it may lacks at some points, but at an era where the JRPG suffers lack of originality this game comes to prove again that JRPG can keep the fans happy as simple as it may get
  16. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    the battle system once you understand the mechanics it's very addictive. Even though this is a wii port the graphics still are very enjoyable to the eyes....the fluid of the battle system looks great. The characters so far have their share of good and bad....but that comes with the territory of every rpg.....you will have great, good and bad characters. The music is forgettable, why won'tthe battle system once you understand the mechanics it's very addictive. Even though this is a wii port the graphics still are very enjoyable to the eyes....the fluid of the battle system looks great. The characters so far have their share of good and bad....but that comes with the territory of every rpg.....you will have great, good and bad characters. The music is forgettable, why won't they use more score pieces from GO Shiina is just mind boggling. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I put in 12 hours on this game today, I love it so much. The battle system is great, it's a breath of fresh air for me compared to the games I usually play. It doesn't even feel like grinding when I'm crushing random enemies for titles and skills--and that's a rarity, I spent the better part of probably about 2-3 hours just grinding away for the hell of it and I didn't get bored. It'sI put in 12 hours on this game today, I love it so much. The battle system is great, it's a breath of fresh air for me compared to the games I usually play. It doesn't even feel like grinding when I'm crushing random enemies for titles and skills--and that's a rarity, I spent the better part of probably about 2-3 hours just grinding away for the hell of it and I didn't get bored. It's engaging and fast-paced, making you think on your feet a bit more than the other entries in the series that I've played. I like it so much, so far it's probably safe to call it my second favorite entry into the series out of what I've played so far. The characters are fun, and it's very interesting to try and guess where the plot is going to go next--and to see if my initial impressions of the characters were right! I highly suggest this game to any fans of the Tales series, or (J)RPGs in general. Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I'd give this more of an 8.5 than a 9, but better to round up than down, eh? It's definitely a great game. Combat may be a little alien at first, but it feels good once you're in the groove, plus this game has the bonus of making even the casters feel good to control.

    The lack of a traditional overworld may seem like a deterrent, but it's done quite well. Discoveries, search points,
    I'd give this more of an 8.5 than a 9, but better to round up than down, eh? It's definitely a great game. Combat may be a little alien at first, but it feels good once you're in the groove, plus this game has the bonus of making even the casters feel good to control.

    The lack of a traditional overworld may seem like a deterrent, but it's done quite well. Discoveries, search points, treasure chests scattered about and the occasional NPC give you plenty to look for as you progress through the game.

    Story's certainly somewhat predictable to an extent, but it's done well with Tales' usual stellar character interactions. There are many skits to be found, especially if you search out Discovery Points, and they all serve to make the cast more endearing. Many are pretty funny, as well. The skits and cutscenes in this game really make it apparent how much character interaction can make or break a story. Just be prepared to hear "friend" and "protect" a lot.

    As for negative points, you can tell this was a Wii remake, and the scenes with lip-syncing cause noticeable awkwardness with the pauses in the voice acting. Scenes that don't have lines synced to the lips are significantly better, and voices are cast well for the most part, with a handful of exceptions from scene to scene.
    Expand
  19. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    I give this game a very tentative 8. As far as ejoyment of this game goes I'd give it a perfect 10/10. If you're a JRPG fan, there's no reason you shouldn't pick this title up. It's lengthy, enjoyable, the battle system is fantastic and one of the most enjoyable ones I've ever played, I just have some minor problems with the game. The journey definitely feels like an RPG. I playedI give this game a very tentative 8. As far as ejoyment of this game goes I'd give it a perfect 10/10. If you're a JRPG fan, there's no reason you shouldn't pick this title up. It's lengthy, enjoyable, the battle system is fantastic and one of the most enjoyable ones I've ever played, I just have some minor problems with the game. The journey definitely feels like an RPG. I played about 45 hours and felt challenged from many encounters. I had to train tirelessly to fight many enemies. This is because I played the 2nd hardest difficulty. Your basic battles (usually) will be easy, boss battles intense, and special battles hardcore. I hear normal is enjoyable but challenging to the point where you will get game overs (to a seasoned player).

    Again I can't say enough good things about game and want to give it a 10/10 with every fiber of my being, but some aspects are weaker so I gave it a 8/10
    Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I love this game it has to be one of the best tales games i have played. I love the new way they did the combat in this one it makes it a just a bit more challenging. So in short two thumbs way up.
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Very similar to Tales of Vesperia in all aspects, story is a little weaker but still good. Kept my attention throughout, and couldn't put the controller down. Well worth the play-through.
  22. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I was never a big fan of Tales games, but Graces f so far has exceeded all my expectations. The story isn't childish at all (they should've scrapped the Friendship Trailer and shown the latest trailer about war and conflicts, since it portrays the game far better), the battle system is wonderful and the old-school rpg vibe I love is still there, meaning you will likely talk with every npc,I was never a big fan of Tales games, but Graces f so far has exceeded all my expectations. The story isn't childish at all (they should've scrapped the Friendship Trailer and shown the latest trailer about war and conflicts, since it portrays the game far better), the battle system is wonderful and the old-school rpg vibe I love is still there, meaning you will likely talk with every npc, explore every nook and cranny of the world and try out every title. So far, it's the best Japanese rpg on home consoles I have played this generation. Expand
  23. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This has to be the finest jrpg on Playstation 3, I bought it after experiencing Abyss and Vesperia's awesomeness, and Graces so far is keeping up the Tales tradition of great battles and overall quality. I'm loving the cast, especially Asbel, Malik and Pascal, and the voice acting is some of the best I've heard in quite some time. This is definitely a game every jrpg fans out there shouldThis has to be the finest jrpg on Playstation 3, I bought it after experiencing Abyss and Vesperia's awesomeness, and Graces so far is keeping up the Tales tradition of great battles and overall quality. I'm loving the cast, especially Asbel, Malik and Pascal, and the voice acting is some of the best I've heard in quite some time. This is definitely a game every jrpg fans out there should experience. Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Wonderful game, despite what the butt hurt ffxiii dones say
  25. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Battle system is amazing once you get past the steep learning curve. Voice acting is not half bad, and better than I expected. Great entry in the Tales series.
  26. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This game is great! It combines classic elements of the classic JRPG genre with an innovative Style Shift Linear Motion Battle System (SS-LiMBS). At first glance, the battle system appears similar to games like Star Ocean 3 & 4 and the other Tales games, but I've found the battles in this game more fun than the others. The music was composed by Motoi Sakuraba who has composed music for theThis game is great! It combines classic elements of the classic JRPG genre with an innovative Style Shift Linear Motion Battle System (SS-LiMBS). At first glance, the battle system appears similar to games like Star Ocean 3 & 4 and the other Tales games, but I've found the battles in this game more fun than the others. The music was composed by Motoi Sakuraba who has composed music for the Valkyrie Profile series, the Star Ocean series, and the Tales series. I also found the characters very likable and the story enjoyable. If you like anime inspired artwork and want a true classic JRPG that doesn't play like the modern crap, then get this game. Expand
  27. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Technically speaking, ToGf is a straight port from the Wii version, which makes it significantly below Tales of Vesperia (which unfortunately never made it to the West on PS3). Even though characters clearly donâ
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best Tales game I've played since Symphonia. Abyss was a bit of a drag but this one was far more interesting to say the least. Not to mention that this is really a port so there are some things that are a bit buggy like the lip syncing. I would hope they would bring other Tales games to the US.
  29. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    That good JRPG i've been waiting to have in my non-existence library of "good" JRPG PS3 games.
    Tales of Graces f is just what JRPG fans need right now. It's got a handful of shortcomings, but they're diminished by the fact that this title captures the classic RPG spirit so well. It's the first console RPG in a long time where we've been engrossed enough to explore every nook and cranny,
    That good JRPG i've been waiting to have in my non-existence library of "good" JRPG PS3 games.
    Tales of Graces f is just what JRPG fans need right now. It's got a handful of shortcomings, but they're diminished by the fact that this title captures the classic RPG spirit so well. It's the first console RPG in a long time where we've been engrossed enough to explore every nook and cranny, talk to every villager, search everyone's houses, and find all the paths possible in a dungeon. And for many, that's all they could want at this point â
    Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This is, without question, the finest J-RPG currently available in the west on high-definition consoles. While it isn't a graphical powerhouse, often betraying its Wii origin, its battle system is easily one of the best ever seen in the genre, combining the depth of turn based games and the fast pace of action games thanks to the Chain Capacity system and providing tons of in-depth optionsThis is, without question, the finest J-RPG currently available in the west on high-definition consoles. While it isn't a graphical powerhouse, often betraying its Wii origin, its battle system is easily one of the best ever seen in the genre, combining the depth of turn based games and the fast pace of action games thanks to the Chain Capacity system and providing tons of in-depth options to use your character to build stylish and efficient combos with the side step and guard stances. Free run, while still here, will likely go unnoticed considering how Team Destiny has been able to streamline the usual Tales combats. Another surprise here is the story: the much-hated upon childhood arc is actually just a short prologue meant to show the contrast between the childish dreams of the characters and the real world's harsh reality, and when the real plot kicks it's all about war, politics, betrayal and mistery, easily rivaling Tales of the Abyss for the crown of best Tales story. Asbel himself is a believable hero with a lot of shortcomings that actually make him a real person instead of your cookie cutter hero. I couldn't be more pleased with Tales' return to the west, and I eagerly wait for any other entry in this wonderful series. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 90
    Tales of Graces f is a tale of magic and fantasy with a touch of political and social intrigue easily recommended to anyone who loves this specific genre.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    70
    The characters are dreadful and the story is not much more than passable, but the combat system and character building is the best yet for the series. If you don't mind annoying characters, you'll have a blast.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    80
    Putting the mysterious "f" back in "freakin' su-weet." [Nov 2012, p.77]