Tales of Graces f PlayStation 3

Tales of Graces f Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this newest title, the feelings such as "preserving one's faith", "saving their precious ones" and the destiny of raising the storm between three countries which form the setting, are portrayed. The PS3 version shows the story more in depth having many new elementsIn this newest title, the feelings such as "preserving one's faith", "saving their precious ones" and the destiny of raising the storm between three countries which form the setting, are portrayed. The PS3 version shows the story more in depth having many new elements including a "Lineage to the Future Episode" where a new tale after the main story is told. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    91
    Overall, ToGf is a fun RPG with an absolute ton of things to do through the game.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    88
    The real-time battles offer countless variations, you enjoy a lot of freedom. The monumental story about the power of true friendship delivers memorable moments full of humour and drama. One of the best role-playing experiences on the PS3.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    It is heads and shoulders above all of the other JRPGs to release this year and may be one of the best on the PS3. There are things that could have been better but otherwise it's solid. Plus it gives you incentive to play through the whole game again.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Tales of Graces f is a by-the-numbers JRPG with a top-notch battle system.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    77
    Rote it may be in many regards, but an involving, tactical and – most importantly – welcome battle system makes Tales Of Graces f stand out from the me-too crowd of JRPGs. Imperfect, certainly not for everyone, but good fun.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Even though Tales of Graces F doesn't deliver anything new to the genre, it conveys a nostalgic experience with its high recognition value.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Despite its engaging combat, Tales of Graces f fails to distinguish itself from so many other JRPGs that have the exact same elements and handle them much better.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 81
  2. Negative: 5 out of 81
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war andI was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war and good character development. The world is vibrant and interesting to explore, the battle system is far deeper than the previous entries and the customization using titles is fantastic. I have already clocked 15 hours in less than two days, and I can't wait to see more and to have more localized Tales games! Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    linear path my ass, that guy does NOT have the game, otherwise, he would have already known that the game lets you roam in the open map whenlinear path my ass, that guy does NOT have the game, otherwise, he would have already known that the game lets you roam in the open map when traveling from city to city. Like any other game, if you are on a mission in the city, you have to complete the mission before leaving. Remember all the old school rpgs?

    Sounds like a FFXiii-2 butt hurt fan
    Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    IMPORTANT: it looks like yesterday the user score of this game has been artificially lowered by ten or more troll accounts voting 0 or 1 inIMPORTANT: it looks like yesterday the user score of this game has been artificially lowered by ten or more troll accounts voting 0 or 1 in the span of twenty minutes. This has extensively been discussed on Gamefaqs and other boards.

    Tales of Graces f is the port of a Wii game, but it really doesn't show. Polycount may not be the best in the PS3 lineup, but the game is crisp, colorful, had textures and many models remade for this version and boast better animations than the previous HD Tales game, Vesperia, thanks to motion capture (this is especially evident considering facial animations).

    Being a Team Destiny game, its battle system throws away the TP of previous Team Symphonia games opting for the CC points, a dinamic combo count that will enable the player to execute deep, rewarding combos without the need to recharge their mana pool with items. The combats are far more fast paced and technicals than in previous entries, and the side step feature is really better than free run (even though that one is still here).

    The world of Efinea is one of the best, more believable and genuinely endearing seen so far in the series. Starting with a childhood arc focused on the characters' infancy, the plot steadily progresses to their adulthood, and completely changes tune in the process, showing the different perspective between the way children view the world and adults do. War, politics, ideological clashes and a bit of magic are all there to make things hard for Asbel and his friends, and while the heroes can be light-hearted and funny, there's also a lot to ponder in their interactions. The final arc, added in the PS3 edition, is a wonderful epilogue to a story that already had a nice climax, unlike some other big-name rpg recently released.

    Overall, this is one of the finest Japanese rpgs translated during this hardware generation, and probably the best Tales of game localized so far in terms of contents, even if Phantasia and Abyss will always be personal favorites of mine.
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Tales of Graces f is a great game, and I don't say that alot about Japanese RPG's. Gameplay is solid and simple for hardcore fans andTales of Graces f is a great game, and I don't say that alot about Japanese RPG's. Gameplay is solid and simple for hardcore fans and newcomers alike. As far as the story goes I think people are turned off by the friendship thing because that is one of the biggest aspects of life shown in culture so it only makes sense for them to talk about friendship, loyalty, all that fun stuff. Cultural differences are probably the only thing hindering it. The only RPGs I have ever really enjoyed were things like Skyrim and Mass Effect. For me to really like a JapRPG is big. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    (Bottom line: trolls will be trolls, and if you're a Tales fan at all, you'll probably love this game, so buy it! Graces deserves your money(Bottom line: trolls will be trolls, and if you're a Tales fan at all, you'll probably love this game, so buy it! Graces deserves your money anyway, plus it will send Namco the message that they can release Tales games here and still make money, which is the key stepping stone toward getting Tales of Xillia.)

    Wow, I went to sleep last night and the user score was sitting at 9.0. I woke up this morning and it was at 7.3. That would mean whoever's been giving this game bad scores has been giving it 0's.

    Giving a game a 0 is just pathetic. Whoever's doing this is either trolling or actually trying to hurt the game sales. How about you play what you like, we play what we like, and nobody gets in anybody's faces? I swear.

    Anyway, as I said in my earlier review, this is a great Tales game, the best I've played since Symphonia. I play games mostly for gameplay and fun factor, and this game nails both of those.

    The voice acting is getting better and better with each Tales game, it seems. Yuri was the best-acted character in a while, but all the characters here (except maybe Sophie) have solid voice acting.

    The story is alright. It's no Final Fantasy Tactics, but it has its moments of political intrigue and hilarious character interactions, and it's not nearly as cringe-inducingly corny as other JRPG's.

    The only major flaws I can point out are the first four hours being boring and wonky childhood backstory; some inconsistent boss difficulty; and confusing backtracking.

    It's still a fantastic RPG and a solid rejuvenation of the starved genre.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2015
    8
    In my opinion the story for starters is remarkable the story and character development shines brightly for the main character and supportIn my opinion the story for starters is remarkable the story and character development shines brightly for the main character and support characters that you can tell the emotion swayed when something drastic happens or even simply going to the next town. the battles are engaging and fun to experiment with new arts and the soundtrack gets you pumped when in battle. the crafting system is rewarding and adds a fun alchemy touch to the game play .Sadly it can get repetitive though as there aren't many artes and you may end up using the same strategy over and over. And the negative views dissapoint me. I can't give it a perfect rating because of the battle repetition and the lack of fast travel but I can't give it a horrible rating, it's too good of a game for that. I might add because they give this game a horrible rating because of the fact it's not like other tales, but maybe it should be able to explore and a 1 is overkill. If you want to make a review be realistic not butt hurt because it doesn't fill nostalgia. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. worst tales game out of them all. I have played all of the tales games that have been made. mostly in part due to the fans that patched some for English that allowed me to play the older ones. but this one is hands down the worst of all the tales of games,first off. the prelude is unbearably long its only even semi playable because of sophie, without her the fights would be impossible to play. next, the new fighting system, its CRAP the limitations placed on you because of the title system on learning arts, and how few arts there are in the game. it makes it the less user friendly fighting systems in any tales game, and the fact that you cant set the arts you want, all this games fighting system is, is button mashing, grant it most of the others are as well, but with manual they make it so its less of a button masher game. next the title system. how the titles are done in this game, they give you stats and skill in this game LEVELING DOSE NOT. if you put on a title for a costume you lose a chunk of your stats because of that. next the map. if you have ever played any of the tales games after the ps2 (tales of the abyss mostly) you know how the ma system should be, and they compactly diverged from that, made it a comp linear map, you cant fast travel tell you are pretty much done with the game so that makes doing side quests completely unbearable. THE ONLY plus this game has is the awesome fighting style that asbell learns when he grows up. its ONLY worth a play to play it once for the story, it is NOT worth the time to replay it like all the other tales of games, play it once then never again. im trying it again now that i have forgotten the story and i still hate it. but ive beaten the newist tales of game that was released (Tales of xillia 2) and i want to play a older one without hooking up a older system. this game is a HUGE **** up in the tales of series and needs to be forgotten NOW Expand

See all 81 User Reviews