Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this newest title, the feelings such as "preserving one's faith", "saving their precious ones" and the destiny of raising the storm between three countries which form the setting, are portrayed. The PS3 version shows the story more in depth having many new elements including a "Lineage to the Future Episode" where a new tale after the main story is told. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    91
    Overall, ToGf is a fun RPG with an absolute ton of things to do through the game.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    88
    The real-time battles offer countless variations, you enjoy a lot of freedom. The monumental story about the power of true friendship delivers memorable moments full of humour and drama. One of the best role-playing experiences on the PS3.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    It is heads and shoulders above all of the other JRPGs to release this year and may be one of the best on the PS3. There are things that could have been better but otherwise it's solid. Plus it gives you incentive to play through the whole game again.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Tales of Graces f is a by-the-numbers JRPG with a top-notch battle system.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    77
    Rote it may be in many regards, but an involving, tactical and – most importantly – welcome battle system makes Tales Of Graces f stand out from the me-too crowd of JRPGs. Imperfect, certainly not for everyone, but good fun.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Even though Tales of Graces F doesn't deliver anything new to the genre, it conveys a nostalgic experience with its high recognition value.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Despite its engaging combat, Tales of Graces f fails to distinguish itself from so many other JRPGs that have the exact same elements and handle them much better.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war and good character development. The world is vibrant and interesting to explore, the battle system is far deeper than the previous entries and the customization using titles is fantastic. I have already clocked 15 hours in less than two days, and I can't wait to see more and to have more localized Tales games! Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This game is great! It combines classic elements of the classic JRPG genre with an innovative Style Shift Linear Motion Battle System (SS-LiMBS). At first glance, the battle system appears similar to games like Star Ocean 3 & 4 and the other Tales games, but I've found the battles in this game more fun than the others. The music was composed by Motoi Sakuraba who has composed music for the Valkyrie Profile series, the Star Ocean series, and the Tales series. I also found the characters very likable and the story enjoyable. If you like anime inspired artwork and want a true classic JRPG that doesn't play like the modern crap, then get this game. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    PS3 exclusive Games =awesome!!!

    Every body should buy this awesome game, you must buy this awesome
    game, PS3 4 life! Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is a great addition to the Tales series. The game at first goes slowly, but the deeper you get in the game, the more interesting and fast-paced it gets, not only because of the main plot, but also because of the character development and gameplay which can be quite entertaining if you actually try to think instead of random button mashing. The music and the graphics are not the best out there, but stand amazing for what they were made for. The voice acting has notably improved, making the characters sound better. This game, is colorful, creative and can have deem emotions to it. Tales has yet to deliver me a disappointment. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game so far. I like the characters and the battle system is one of the best RPG battle systems I've seen in a long time. I didn't have high expectations for the graphics since this game was originally for the Wii, but even the graphics are pretty nice, featuring clean, colorful texturing and crisp animation. This is the best game I have played this year, and I recommend it fully for any PS3 owner who likes RPGs. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    I give this game a very tentative 8. As far as ejoyment of this game goes I'd give it a perfect 10/10. If you're a JRPG fan, there's no reason you shouldn't pick this title up. It's lengthy, enjoyable, the battle system is fantastic and one of the most enjoyable ones I've ever played, I just have some minor problems with the game. The journey definitely feels like an RPG. I played about 45 hours and felt challenged from many encounters. I had to train tirelessly to fight many enemies. This is because I played the 2nd hardest difficulty. Your basic battles (usually) will be easy, boss battles intense, and special battles hardcore. I hear normal is enjoyable but challenging to the point where you will get game overs (to a seasoned player).

    Again I can't say enough good things about game and want to give it a 10/10 with every fiber of my being, but some aspects are weaker so I gave it a 8/10
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    I pre-ordered this game even though there was no dual audio. After 20 hours put into the game, I must say I shouldn't have bought the game. There is no open map / world so you're always going in a linear path with no where to explore. At least in Final fantasy X's case it was done beautifully but in this game, you can't even grind or do anything beside walking and walking with occasional boring skit. You need to go in town and come back to have monsters reappear. Don't get me started on the VA. At least the game play and music isn't bad. Overall I can't put myself to finish this game. I gave up after 34 hours. Collapse

See all 67 User Reviews