Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles lets players experience Tales of Symphonia along with its 2008 companion title, Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World, with high definition graphics and additional content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    If you'd like to know how easy it can be to ruin an excellent work, you can cry yourself to sleep thinking of all the squandered potential in Dawn of the New World. But if you can bring yourself to ignore it, this is still a fine reissue of a great game.
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    81
    If you are a fan of the Tales Of series this is a golden chance: one of the finest installments of the series is now available in the glory of HD, and despite Dawn of the New World fails to keep pace with its bigger brother, Tales of Symponia alone is worth the price of this collection.
  3. 80
    Overall, though, this is a bundle worth its price of admission for the first game alone, especially because it’s been taken care of so well by Namco in this remastering project.
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    80
    Overall, Tales of Symphonia Chronicles is one half fantastic and one half decent, but more importantly, it is easily worth the price of admission for the first title alone.
  5. May 6, 2014
    75
    Again, Tales of Symphonia Chronicles is worth picking up for Tales of Symphonia in HD alone. It remains a fantastic RPG to this day.
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    73
    Recommended for RPG fans that missed Tales of Symphonia the first time around.
  7. May 2, 2014
    60
    For those who haven't played a Tales game before, we'd suggest there are better options out there. [Issue#147, p.118]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging
    gameplay, a massive adventure, a top-notch story, a great soundtrack, great characters, and the newest edition has dual audio, 720P resolution, and although the battle framerate technically drops from 60fps to 30fps, this actually leads to a smoother experience as there is less stutter/slowdown.

    If you're an RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to play ToS. It's nothing like the mediocre Xillia or the terrible Graces F, by the way.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content
    for this price...
    ToS 2 is not quite so good, but not too bad either, but simply for the first game on this disc...its just unbelievable good.
    Played it now for nearly 10 hours, and the graphics are not that bad for a HD-Edition :)
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Such a great JRPG. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles has outstanding graphics - one of its strongest points. The combat is phenomenal, and the adventure element is to die for. I highly recommend it! Expand
  4. May 24, 2014
    9
    As a long time JRPG fan; I had always heard of how good the Tales games were; yet I had never played any of them. After this remaster came out, I decided to correct that situation by starting with Symphonia, one of the most beloved titles in the whole saga. The game did´nt disappoint at all: its a perfect example of what, to me, is the fundamental equation behind any good RPG: an epic story, well-paced and filled with adventure, plus a memorable cast of likable, diverse characters that moves such story forward. Worth mentioning is the tight, highly dynamic and entertaining combat system (battles go quite faster that in your usual "turn-based" RPG), which apparently is a constant for the Tales games. I absolutely recommend this game, to both new and old JPRG fans! Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    I never played Tales of Symphonia when it originally came out so I decided to give it a chance this time around. I'm a little less than 20 hours in and my experience so far has been very solid. It starts out a little slow but definitely starts to pick up pace the farther in you go. The combat system is very different when compared to a normal JRPG, which will allow this game to be remembered for quite sometime. The only draw back I have found within this game is the voice acting, its rather hit or miss for most people and in my case it is quite awkward. If you never played this game back when it came out I suggest giving it a go, and if you're tight on money, I would recommend just buying the original Tales of Symphonia off of the PSN for $20 cheaper because the secondary story is somewhat lackluster. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Sometimes, well oftentimes, graphics are overrated (e.g., Chrono Trigger). And sometimes a plot is so good you forget the game is 10 years old. I did not play Symphonia on my Gamecube, and if not for this re-release I would have definitely missed out.

    Further, you get two games for less than the regular price of one.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    5
    Mixed, at best.

    the GC one, Symphonia, was good and had a good ending... couldn't see why a continuation would make sense and was actually
    being not too trusting, because, continuation often fails, see all the continuations that already exists in RPG games, more to the point, FF.

    But, the continuation for Wii was actually good... to me. Many thought it was pointless or even bad. I'm not a die hard fan of the Tales of series of games, I only play them to enjoy and have fun.

    So... why a 5? Easy. This particular edition has many problems, frame rate and loading times. for a Ps3 game that is unforgivable, since the Ps3 is obviously better than the GC. And yet, the game suffers from them, meaning, Namco did nothing to this game... aside from porting it. Which isn't good enough. Especially if they want full price for a direct port of a Ps2 game. Advice? Stick with the GC one.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews