Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles lets players experience Tales of Symphonia along with its 2008 companion title, Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World, with high definition graphics and additional content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    93
    Symphonia alone is worth the price of admission.
  2. 85
    The games translate very well to modern times and are worth every penny spent to add them to your library, with at least 40 hours of gameplay in the first one alone. Oh, did I mention that they also have trophy support?
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Chronicles as a whole is incredibly enjoyable and certainly a worthy HD port of a beloved JRPG.
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    These days, when Japan RPG titles are struggling to survive against the Western RPG front, the old school feeling is more than welcome. This is what Namco Bandai has done: Looking back to a not-too-distant good old times and bringing us back one of the best Tales ever made. Add to the mix a reasonable price, a sequel and min +70, max +150 hours of quests, Overworld Maps, Cities, Dungeons and some HD anime cutscenes, and you have a good offering if you like the genre or just the Tales series.
  5. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    I would’ve loved to give this compilation a higher score but the sequel really brought the entire experience down. That said, this is great value for your money and the original Tales of Symphonia more than justifies a purchase.
  6. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles includes the PlayStation 2 port of Tales of Symphonia and Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World. With new costumes and new 3D graphics, the story seems so nostalgic.
  7. May 2, 2014
    60
    For those who haven't played a Tales game before, we'd suggest there are better options out there. [Issue#147, p.118]

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging
    gameplay, a massive adventure, a top-notch story, a great soundtrack, great characters, and the newest edition has dual audio, 720P resolution, and although the battle framerate technically drops from 60fps to 30fps, this actually leads to a smoother experience as there is less stutter/slowdown.

    If you're an RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to play ToS. It's nothing like the mediocre Xillia or the terrible Graces F, by the way.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content
    for this price...
    ToS 2 is not quite so good, but not too bad either, but simply for the first game on this disc...its just unbelievable good.
    Played it now for nearly 10 hours, and the graphics are not that bad for a HD-Edition :)
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Such a great JRPG. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles has outstanding graphics - one of its strongest points. The combat is phenomenal, and the adventure element is to die for. I highly recommend it! Expand
  4. May 24, 2014
    9
    As a long time JRPG fan; I had always heard of how good the Tales games were; yet I had never played any of them. After this remaster came out, I decided to correct that situation by starting with Symphonia, one of the most beloved titles in the whole saga. The game did´nt disappoint at all: its a perfect example of what, to me, is the fundamental equation behind any good RPG: an epic story, well-paced and filled with adventure, plus a memorable cast of likable, diverse characters that moves such story forward. Worth mentioning is the tight, highly dynamic and entertaining combat system (battles go quite faster that in your usual "turn-based" RPG), which apparently is a constant for the Tales games. I absolutely recommend this game, to both new and old JPRG fans! Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Sometimes, well oftentimes, graphics are overrated (e.g., Chrono Trigger). And sometimes a plot is so good you forget the game is 10 years old. I did not play Symphonia on my Gamecube, and if not for this re-release I would have definitely missed out.

    Further, you get two games for less than the regular price of one.
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    A really good RPG series with a great story, varied combat, and beautiful graphics. Really worth all the praise it gets. Dawn of the New World isn't as good, but still great. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    5
    Mixed, at best.

    the GC one, Symphonia, was good and had a good ending... couldn't see why a continuation would make sense and was actually
    being not too trusting, because, continuation often fails, see all the continuations that already exists in RPG games, more to the point, FF.

    But, the continuation for Wii was actually good... to me. Many thought it was pointless or even bad. I'm not a die hard fan of the Tales of series of games, I only play them to enjoy and have fun.

    So... why a 5? Easy. This particular edition has many problems, frame rate and loading times. for a Ps3 game that is unforgivable, since the Ps3 is obviously better than the GC. And yet, the game suffers from them, meaning, Namco did nothing to this game... aside from porting it. Which isn't good enough. Especially if they want full price for a direct port of a Ps2 game. Advice? Stick with the GC one.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews