Tales of Symphonia Chronicles Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles lets players experience Tales of Symphonia along with its 2008 companion title, Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World, with high definition graphics and additional content.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    93
    Symphonia alone is worth the price of admission.
  2. 85
    The games translate very well to modern times and are worth every penny spent to add them to your library, with at least 40 hours of gameplay in the first one alone. Oh, did I mention that they also have trophy support?
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Chronicles as a whole is incredibly enjoyable and certainly a worthy HD port of a beloved JRPG.
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    These days, when Japan RPG titles are struggling to survive against the Western RPG front, the old school feeling is more than welcome. This is what Namco Bandai has done: Looking back to a not-too-distant good old times and bringing us back one of the best Tales ever made. Add to the mix a reasonable price, a sequel and min +70, max +150 hours of quests, Overworld Maps, Cities, Dungeons and some HD anime cutscenes, and you have a good offering if you like the genre or just the Tales series.
  5. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    I would’ve loved to give this compilation a higher score but the sequel really brought the entire experience down. That said, this is great value for your money and the original Tales of Symphonia more than justifies a purchase.
  6. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles includes the PlayStation 2 port of Tales of Symphonia and Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World. With new costumes and new 3D graphics, the story seems so nostalgic.
  7. games(TM)
    May 2, 2014
    60
    For those who haven't played a Tales game before, we'd suggest there are better options out there. [Issue#147, p.118]

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging gameplay, a massive adventure, a top-notch story, a great soundtrack, great characters, and the newest edition has dual audio, 720P resolution, and although the battle framerate technically drops from 60fps to 30fps, this actually leads to a smoother experience as there is less stutter/slowdown.

    If you're an RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to play ToS. It's nothing like the mediocre Xillia or the terrible Graces F, by the way.
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2016
    10
    Es sin duda uno de los mejores juegos de la saga tales of... Su nivel de dificultad es moderada aunque pueden cambiarla tiene una granEs sin duda uno de los mejores juegos de la saga tales of... Su nivel de dificultad es moderada aunque pueden cambiarla tiene una gran cantidad de sidequest con un guion muy bueno, la historia principal del symphonia es una de las mejores sin lugar a dudas, su sistema de batalla es simple pero con mucha estrategia, ademas en esta version pueden elegir si las voces japonesas o en ingles lo cual ya es de agradecer que nos permitan hacer esto, viene subtitulado a español cosa que en su momento no habia forma solo jugarlo en ingles pero aun asi se entendia muy bien. Solo tiene una cosa mal para mi y es que en Game Cube este juego corria a 60fps y ahora esta a 30fps pero aun asi es muy recomendable. 10 Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content for this price...
    ToS 2 is not quite so good, but not too bad either, but simply for the first game on this disc...its just unbelievable good.
    Played it now for nearly 10 hours, and the graphics are not that bad for a HD-Edition :)
    Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    A really good RPG series with a great story, varied combat, and beautiful graphics. Really worth all the praise it gets. Dawn of the New WorldA really good RPG series with a great story, varied combat, and beautiful graphics. Really worth all the praise it gets. Dawn of the New World isn't as good, but still great. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    I absolutely loved this game. The game is challenging, even in the easiest mode, and it has pretty hard bosses. Also, the game is filled withI absolutely loved this game. The game is challenging, even in the easiest mode, and it has pretty hard bosses. Also, the game is filled with side-quests and optional bosses. I really think that the game is one of the best you'll find in the PS3 library. Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    This game is more amazing then I actually thought it was.

    Story - Seems cliche at 1st but gets better and better. What builds up the story
    This game is more amazing then I actually thought it was.

    Story - Seems cliche at 1st but gets better and better. What builds up the story is the amazing cast of characters.

    Characters - Lloyd - is the cool I'm going to save the world type of protagonist.

    Raine - in the beginning wasn't that interesting but later on when her back story is explained you just feel really bad for her and also Genis I'm feeling sad talking about it right now.

    Zelos - is a pervert he's also the guy that lights things up when something sad happens he's also hilarious and most of the characters in the game don't really like him I am 1 of the few people who actually thinks he's a cool character.

    Colette - is the selfless nice girl she's also clumsy. Some might not like her but I love her maybe because Colette's character is exactly the type of personality I like in real life.

    Shina - she's a summoner and that's enough to make her a cool character.

    Presea - Presea rarely talks in this game but her backstory is kind of sad but even that is not enough to make me say she's a great character.

    Regal - At 1st I saw Regal as just another character to add to my party but his story is just so sad. I can't really describe Regal he has blue hair handcuffs and kicks enemies in combat instead of using his hands.

    Kratos - What more can I say other than he's a badass. At 1st I used to hate Kratos like Lloyd did but as the game goes on he becomes a very interesting character even after beating the whole game I still want to know more about him. I also have alot of respect for Kratos too.

    The Villains, The Desians & Angels - Loved all the villains loved fighting them loved how evil
    & sinister they are.

    Emil - Worst character ever he should go commit suicide or at least let me go into the game and kill him myself. I see no future for him at all. At least his character gets a little bit of development I haven't beat the game yet but I still think I'm going to hate him after I beat it. The good thing about Emil is that he has a dark alternate personality called Ratatosk who is much more of a badass than Emil could ever hope to be. Ratatosk also has a good voice actor I don't know his name but he is the voice of Ichigo Kurosaki in Bleach.

    Marta - Not bad but not interesting. The only reason Marta is in this game is because she loves Emil I don't know how anyone can love a pathetic loser like Emil? But she does. Marta also has an obsession with Emil Dawn of The New World might be Yandere(You have been warned). Marta is at least more tolerable then Emil is.

    Graphics - Great only complaint is the Overworld which looks like graphics from a PS1 Game enhanced for a PS2 Game and put into a PS3 Game.

    Gameplay - I don't know why but the beginning is kind of hard just a tiny bit difficult because they don't give you enough items and they throw you into a boss battle expecting you to be good at playing already. But after the 1st Boss its smooth sailing for the player. The game gets so much more fun later on and it also gets more challenging too including some of the puzzles. I ended up stuck in the Temple of Darkness for a really long time almost 3 days. I even stopped playing the game for 1 day because I couldn't solve the puzzle.

    Sound - Motoi Sakuraba did a surprisingly good job Standing The Pain, Desert Flower, Searching A Seal, Dry Trail & Keen Edged Blade are just some of the amazing songs in this game. The 2nd game is mostly remixes of tracks from the 1st game. I personally prefer the original over the remixes but some of them are not bad.

    Replay Value - Really high I don't know why but everytime I play a PS2 Game I get nostalgia and this game is the samething. I never played this game in my life until I got it for PS3 but I feel so immersed into the Symphonia World that I want to experience the whole thing again.

    There's also 2 other reasons to replay the game 1 is because this game has some moments in them where you can change what happens there are also some decisions you make that will effect your relationships with party members. Based on some decisions party members might die or 1 of them may not participate in the final battle. The 2nd reason is because you can start the game again but what you have when you start the game again depends on the amount of points you get. You can start again at Lvl 35 you can take all your items with you and etc its like a New Game+ Mode.

    Overall - This would be a 10/10 if it wasn't for Dawn of The New World which takes Symphonia and rips it apart from the inside. I haven't beaten it yet but alot of people will tell you DOTW isn't really all that great. I'm simply here to praise the masterpiece of the 1st Symphonia which has given me alot of nostalgia & memories.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2014
    4
    Don't believe any of the hype or fake reviews, ToS is one of the worst in the series by far - Its plagued with terrible A.I scripts, poor andDon't believe any of the hype or fake reviews, ToS is one of the worst in the series by far - Its plagued with terrible A.I scripts, poor and bland plot points and awful combat that is very unbalanced and tedious. For "new players", they'll either give up really early in the game due to the poorly balanced combat, or the fact you'll get a "game over" a dozen times over until you get a certain "healer" join your party and even then, the gameplay is still extremely difficult until you can master the combat system to a point you can infinity stunlock enemies, without that - expect alot of frustration.

    If you can stomach the high difficulty and frustration factor and look beyond ToS major flaws then you could find somewhat of a solid JRPG but beware, this one isn't for the faint-hearted or newbie JRPG player. Expect lots of grinding to over-level boss encounters if you haven't mastered the infinite combos.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews