Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TALES OF XILLIA 2 focuses on the events a year after the climactic end of TALES OF XILLIA. Players assume the role of Ludger Kresnik, a young man with a zest for cooking who lives with his older brother and cat, Rollo. On his way to his first day at work for a local cafeteria he runs intoTALES OF XILLIA 2 focuses on the events a year after the climactic end of TALES OF XILLIA. Players assume the role of Ludger Kresnik, a young man with a zest for cooking who lives with his older brother and cat, Rollo. On his way to his first day at work for a local cafeteria he runs into a young girl named Elle Marta and the two soon become involved in an accident that will change both of their lives forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. 90
    Tales of Xillia 2 boasts a constant feeling of progression through the entire game, and though the leveling has a new, and somewhat particular, skill-based development, the complete RPG package can be found within this wholehearted sequel.
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    84
    I would recommend Tales of Xillia 2 to any Tales or JRPG fan.
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    80
    Several unnecessary complexities may hold the sequel back for some, but the strong story, engaging battle system, and brilliant character development should appeal to both casual and hardcore JRPG fans alike.
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    76
    While it’s lacking on the exploration end, Xillia 2 boasts a strong story component and combat system to deliver another solid RPG.
  5. Oct 1, 2014
    70
    A few tweaks short of the mark.
  6. Aug 22, 2014
    70
    Tales of Xillia 2 is better than the first episode, even if it takes too much stuff directly from it, which could be disappointing for the fans. Anyway the story is still interesting and the fighting system is really cool.
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    40
    It's a 20-hour game in a 50-hour package, bloated to hell and back by a design engineered to recycle content. If you're interested in playing an installment of the Tales series, you deserve much better than this.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    After enjoying Tales of XIllia I was a bit worried about the sequel, since reaching the same level could prove difficult. Fortunately, TalesAfter enjoying Tales of XIllia I was a bit worried about the sequel, since reaching the same level could prove difficult. Fortunately, Tales of Xillia 2 is a fantastic Tales game and a great sequel, expanding everything good about the first game, improving the combat system in lots of ways, offering a lot of extra activities and a surprisingly deep and emotional story that is very different than that found in the first game. This is definitely a game any Tales fan, especially those who enjoyed Xillia, must give a chance. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Tales of Xillia 2 is a direct sequel to Tales of Xillia, if you are a fan of the first game, then you will feel right at home with the sequel!Tales of Xillia 2 is a direct sequel to Tales of Xillia, if you are a fan of the first game, then you will feel right at home with the sequel! If you are a newcomer I suggest if you are in it for the story I highly recommend playing the first one as Tales of Xillia 2 picks off where it left off from the first game ( 1 year later).

    The only "kinda bad" thing the game has that may throw some people off is the debt system, in which you pay incrementally throughout the game to progress through the main story.

    However, that is an easy bypass by killing off the 'Elite Jobs" which give you just about what you need to pay off the "next payment" debt to continue the story. Yes they did reuse alot of the areas from the first game, but personally it doesn't bother me as it's all something I have seen before!
    Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    I am a big fan of "Tales of ..." series and I'm glad to see localized version of "Tales of Xillia 2", It`s a realy huge JRPG in its genre. II am a big fan of "Tales of ..." series and I'm glad to see localized version of "Tales of Xillia 2", It`s a realy huge JRPG in its genre. I recommend to all fans of Japanese games. It will give you many hours of interesting gameplay and exciting story. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    An extremely solid game, this game builds of the mediocre first game and turns it into the next saga of the Tale's series we all know andAn extremely solid game, this game builds of the mediocre first game and turns it into the next saga of the Tale's series we all know and love. Solid gameplay, and great story, I recommend it. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    This is your run of the mill good JRPG that has a few things holding it back to keep it from being a classic. Xillia 2 is the sequel to one ofThis is your run of the mill good JRPG that has a few things holding it back to keep it from being a classic. Xillia 2 is the sequel to one of the better Tales games in a long time in Tales of Xillia. It introduces two new main characters and brings back all the first games characters as your party members. The two new characters are both really annoying in that one has a voice that will get on your nerves and another is the silent protagonist except he talks when he wants too. Neither of these characters are great because of that. They should have made the main guy either silent or give him lines. The inbetween stuff with him is quite annoying.
    The story is about what you'd expect from a JRPG at this point. It's not bad but it's not good either. The characters from the old game did a fairly decent job at being backup but it felt like they were an odd third wheel at times. It's like the developers said they wanted to have something new but not too new or it would drive away players from the first game.
    Luckily the game is saved by it's battle system and the music. The battle system is pretty much the same as the first game and that's a great thing. The Tales battle systems have been known for their excellence and it's why I love just going around fighting things sometimes. The music is also great, especially if you have a love for jazz and blues as there is alot of influences in the game from those two genres of music.
    This game is good for what it does and it was a good attempt at making a direct sequel to one of the most popular Tales games of all time. It's not great but it's not bad and an 8/10 is the perfect score for a game like this.
    Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    7
    Not as good as the first Xillia, but still not bad. Only play this if you REALLY enjoyed the first game and you want to explore more of theNot as good as the first Xillia, but still not bad. Only play this if you REALLY enjoyed the first game and you want to explore more of the world and characters. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    4
    First of all I must say the Collector's edition was a generous offer which, I'm sure, pleased and met the fan's expectations. This review isFirst of all I must say the Collector's edition was a generous offer which, I'm sure, pleased and met the fan's expectations. This review is intended for the overall gaming experience (or...I should say, lack of it).

    Tales of Xillia will always be one of my favorite games ever. I adored the story and the characters (specially the two protagonists). It was an interactive gaming experience where. I would be playing for long hours and have the feeling all those guys were with me because of the fantastic interactions with each other and their surroundings, the skits were phenomenal, the humor was quick and more mature, and I could feel the character's personalities. Oh... I should add that I loved the fact the all had A VOICE, thank you very much.

    I was looking forwards to Xillia2, and I was convinced that because Xillia was such a perfect power house that was no way anyone could screw things up but they managed to do it in epic levels. A silent protagonist was a very poor choice (again, in my personal opinion), it feels/looks/sounds utterly ridiculous in the gameplay, the interactions were murdered, the skits were brought to an infant level, to the point I feel I'm playing a pre-teen girl game with no content.

    If the company regretted the great choices, levels, set of of characters tones/personalities, and the awesomeness of the skits and interactions in the first Xillia, that is too bad, but I hope the changes weren't made to meet a younger, or less mentally appreciative audience. Those changes successfully brought Xillia2 to shameful and ridiculous levels.

    The strong points were kept with its beautiful and unique to Xillia art style and worlds, great opening music, and being able to play with the characters from Xillia back in that Universe.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews