Tales of Xillia PlayStation 3

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
Buy On
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    74
    Tales of Xillia is most certainly a good game, but it's not the best the franchise has to offer. The scattershot story kept me from really enjoying the game, and I'm hoping the sequel can tell a more cohesive tale.
  2. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    72
    Battles are fast and furious, but the overarching story fails to impress. [Oct 2013, p.72]
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    70
    The combat also shows surprising depth, although the secondary systems don't quite measure up. It's not groundbreaking or deep, even in the context of its own series, but Tales of Xillia was engaging and satisfying.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    70
    Tales of Xillia feels like wrapping yourself in a comfortable blanket. It's like an old friend. It exemplifies everything the genre is today — good and bad — and serves as a reminder of why I fell in love with JRPGs in the first place.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    Fans of JRPGs will find enough to satiate their Tales craving and others would be wise to take a look into the world as well.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    Tales of Xillia is a gorgeous and fast-paced Japanese role-playing game that suffers from a few questionable design choices.
  7. games(TM)
    Aug 21, 2013
    70
    An unremarkable game, but enjoyable in its own quiet way. [Issue#138, p.106]
  8. Play UK
    Aug 20, 2013
    70
    The combat system works and is intricate and balanced enough to provide for the tinkerers. But the rest is just so banal, so by the numbers that, honestly? We often found ourselves bored. [Issue#234, p.74]
  9. Aug 8, 2013
    70
    What’s left is, while smartly streamlined, a thoroughly orthodox game within a well-established type, a niche within a niche that’s getting smaller all the time.
  10. 70
    Proof that Japanese role-players can evolve without having to losing their own unique identity, although Xillia stops just short of being a full-on revolution.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    65
    There is nothing inherently wrong with the game, nor is there anything to make me recommend it. If you love JRPGs, you might enjoy this. If not, it will probably reinforce all your negative ideas about JRPGs.
  12. Sep 10, 2013
    60
    With Tales of Xillia Namco is content with slowly but safely improving the Tales series. Tales of Xillia is more polished than ever but at the same time the rest of the RPG genre has passed the Tales series. New material is scarce and the story poorly written. But the anime graphics continues to be astonishing if a bit uneven and the fighting system is arguably the best in the series.
  13. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    It struggles to find its footing here and there, but it manages to straighten up thanks to the help of genuinely likeable dialogue snippets, addictive battles, and a slick character augmentation system.
  14. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    Were its opening acts more strongly defined, and the characters presented initially as less one-note, then it would be a far better game.
  15. Ni No Kuni has more charm, Resonance Of Fate’s combat is richer, and Persona tells a far better story. And even then, if you’re intrigued by the Tales series then Vesperia is a better starting point. Fast, fun combat let down by a so-so story and lifeless environments. We’ve seen worse – and weirder – JRPGs, but also a whole lot better.
  16. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    It is the quintessential “bog standard” JRPG, a sad showing considering it’s part of a recognised and long-running franchise that has certainly hit some impressive highs in the past. It manages to make a killer combat engine redundant and boring, and comes across as a lazy, poorly-engineered mess in all other areas.
  17. CD-Action
    Aug 28, 2013
    50
    It’s hard to find anything original in Tales of Xillia and I’ve seen its every element done better elsewhere. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.70]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 76
  2. Negative: 5 out of 76
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Tales of Xillia is one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had itsTales of Xillia is one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had its ups and downs, but Xillia is definitely the high point for the series when you think about visuals, systems, story and characters. The world of Rize Maxia is beautiful and vibrant, the characters are well detailed and pleasant, the battles are fast rewarding and better than ever thanks to the linking between couples of characters and the way you gain skills in a Sphere Grid makes that even more compelling than in previous games. Cities are a joy to see, and even normal fields are big and full of paths you can take.

    Xillia also has two different adventures depending on who you decide to play as in the beginning (Jude Mathis or Milla Maxwell), and even if the story doesn't change too much I felt more interested in a second run than in most other Japanese RPGs. Now that the game is in English, I think fans of RPG and Tales alike will end up loving it just as I did.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    this game is beyond too much fun. I have not had so much fun in a game in YEARS and that's saying something. I am a tales fanatic and afterthis game is beyond too much fun. I have not had so much fun in a game in YEARS and that's saying something. I am a tales fanatic and after the disappointing failure of TO:graces f i am happy to say this game is an absolute MASTERPIECE! I hope you all enjoy this game as much as i do. Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    While I'm not particularly attached to the Tales of series as a whole, the hours I have been able to spend with this wonderful game haveWhile I'm not particularly attached to the Tales of series as a whole, the hours I have been able to spend with this wonderful game have convinced me Xillia should be played by everyone: Tales of fans, Jrpg fans and even those who have abandoned Jrpgs in the last years due to the genre's disappointing presence on consoles.

    Its freshness and ability to capture the best of its genres while innovating its form make it one of the most captivating Japanese games in recent memory. The story is really well written and engaging, having that distinct Japanese flavor without being too cliched, while the combat system brings the series to a new height and offers players a deep, strategical experience that makes every battle a pleasure.
    Full Review »