Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tekken Revolution is a free-to-play exclusive launching exclusively for the PlayStation 3.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It’s just like being back in the arcades (with lots of Japanese kids kicking your arse). [August 2013, p79]
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    With Tekken Revolution the Tekken saga approaches Free to Play model in the best way.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Tekken Revolution won't inspire people to toss out their old Tekken copies and embrace this wholeheartedly. Unless you exclusively play online, you'll miss out on the offline features and local multiplayer that make fighting games so much fun.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The simplified gameplay mechanics and additional balancing ideas should provide a more level playing field to start off on. Longtime series fans, however, are likely to be left cold by this stripped-down title, which eschews the combo-juggling they are used to.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Tekken Revolution is more experimental than Combot, but solid execution on some admittedly controversial ideas ensure that this free-to-play fighter is worth a bash. Franchise fans will feel more frustrated than Devil Jin upon witnessing the watered down gameplay mechanics, but casual combatants may find themselves lured back into the wacky world of the King of Iron Fist Tournament on the back of the digital download’s inherent accessibility and free entry fee.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    There's plenty to play with here, but you'll have to pay to win online. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The business model in Tekken Revolution makes a great game only decent.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    For a free game, Tekken Revolution is really good.
    But no training mode?? (Namco said they will add it soon though)
    Tekken is one of the
    For a free game, Tekken Revolution is really good.
    But no training mode?? (Namco said they will add it soon though)
    Tekken is one of the best fighting games, very fun, and Revolution is a good exemple.
    But i'm not a big fan of the coins system, just my personal opinion.
    Everyone can try it since it's free, and probably will like it.
    Expand
  2. ERB
    Sep 1, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played this year especially that this game is a free-to-play game.I mean that is awesome.The game play of thisOne of the best games I've ever played this year especially that this game is a free-to-play game.I mean that is awesome.The game play of this game is so awesome and good.I mean after you beat your opponent you got to see the final strike or technique you've done to beat him.How cool is that!And even the graphics of this game has good quality.I mean its the best graphics I've ever seen in a fighting game!

    But the only problem in this game is that you can only play arcade mode if you have battle coins or Premium tickets.That disappointed me too much that I can't put a score of 10 in this game.I mean this game should have been the best game I've ever played if this game is like the other Tekken games where you can play freely without paying.

    Well even though that disappointed me too much I can't say that this is a bad game because I think that this game rocks!I will give this game a score of 9/10 because This game is awesome!I'm telling you these guys try downloading this game now and try playing It!This game is cool!
    Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2015
    8
    I decided to write a review about this game since most of the bad user reviews here that obviously are from people who want to express theirI decided to write a review about this game since most of the bad user reviews here that obviously are from people who want to express their hate for the Free-To-Play model and obviously never spent a second playing it.

    I own Tekken 6, Tag Tournament 2, yet I currently play a round or two of Revolution almost daily. It has the graphics and feel of TTT2, which is the best incarnation of Tekken in my opinion, but has a focus on 1-on-1 fighting, which I personally prefer while learning to become better at the game. The fighters on the initial roster cover the styles broadly, the Capoeira fighters are initially absent, but that's probably for the better since beginners might initially get a lot of success by button mashing Eddie or Christie and later hit a wall when they have to play against better players where they actually have to learn the more complex move set of the Capoeira style.

    3 modes are available, Online Ranked Match, Online Player Match and Arcade, which are the most fun modes anyways. It is remarkable how much you can get out of Tekken Revolution without ever spending any money on it. While I wouldn't say that Tekken in general is easy for beginners, this is a risk-free way to get to know the Tekken series for someone who is willing to put in a little time. Someone new to Revolution should maybe first start reading the Software Manual, then head in to Training mode to get a feel for which fighter feels best to them and then train in Arcade Mode to build up their favorite fighter.

    While you play the game there are a number of rewards to earn: Fight Money, Gift Points, Experience and Blood Seals. There are also 2 types of player levels, the rank, as measured in the Kyu/Dan system and the experience level.

    The rank is increased by winning online matches, while the experience level reflects the time on spent by playing the game in general which results in higher Power, Endurance and Vigor stats. When playing ranked matches, the rank is the one that is used to find the matching opponent.

    Gift Points are used to unlock new characters one is not quite happy with their initial choice, so over time the roster will fill up by simply playing. There is one character which is entirely new to the Tekken series, namely Eliza, a vampire which is a fan community choice. To unlock the character, the player needs to earn 20000 Blood Seals which takes quite a while.

    Everything described above is free, and as I said, one could play Tekken Revolution and be happy without spending money on it, so where is the Free to Play aspect ?

    Well, the game limits the amount of times that can be played without waiting, by having a virtual currency. These coins are used to play each mode, are limited in number and they renew after some time, one hour per coin for Arcade mode and half an hour for online.

    In addition there are Premium coins and Premium tickets, which earn you more rewards than regular coins especially during special events which come up from time to time. Premium coins are purchased with real money in the store, while Premium tickets are awarded by the game on certain occasions.

    In conclusion, Tekken Revolution is a great version of Tekken, the graphics are on par with Tekken Tag Tournament, the available modes work well and it gives people a chance to try out the series without spending money if they don't want to. Never at any point do you feel forced to spend cash on it, it is entirely optional. Just wanted to get that out to provide a fair opinion to a game that deserves a fair treatment.
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    Interesting addition to the Tekken Franchise. Good to see Tekken has gone back to the style of 5/6 and left the style of Tekken Tag 2 longInteresting addition to the Tekken Franchise. Good to see Tekken has gone back to the style of 5/6 and left the style of Tekken Tag 2 long behind. This Tekken has implemented the free to play style of gaming and unless you are really good and can keep hold of your premium tickets that you slowly unlock you will have to pay to play or end up waiting half hour for your tokens to replenish. I like the way that your characters now level up the more you use them, meaning you can add points to either strength, defence, or critical hit chance. Only around 8 characters playable to begin with but others are unlocked the more you play, or you can just pay real money to unlock any that are locked. Shame not all characters are avaliable to unlock. I would have loved to of played as Wang. Micro-transactions are avaliable to purchase in irder to keep playing if you run out of tokens. I for one never use micro transactions so once i cant play anymore matches i just switch off and play again later. No 2 player local mode is a shame but it has ranked matches, player matches and arcade, all if which uses a token every time you play. But it also has a practise mode that doesnt use tokens. Overall a good fighting experience its just a shame its on a pay to play model. A proper game in this style would have been so much better. Still a great Tekken experience. Go try it, its free after all Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    A fighting game, without two players mode...WHAT ARE YOU THINKING!!?, sorry, but not for me. Keep triying.

    Un juego de peleas sin mode para
    A fighting game, without two players mode...WHAT ARE YOU THINKING!!?, sorry, but not for me. Keep triying.

    Un juego de peleas sin mode para dos players, en que estaban pensando!!?, lo siento, pero esto no es para mi, sigan intentandolo...
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    Nice to see a free to play fighting game, without requiring any memberships or paying anything. That said, it's important to note that youNice to see a free to play fighting game, without requiring any memberships or paying anything. That said, it's important to note that you can't just play the game continuously without taking a break. You have to use coins or tickets to play. You get a ticket for signing in every day and for every 10 victories or so. A coin for online battle is given every 30 minutes and one for arcade (offline) every hour. You can also pay for tickets if you're desperate to play and have ran out. The game isn't visually or mechanically broken, and it's fairly well balanced (with optional but not pay-to-win characters). However, the lack of a tutorial, training mode, trials and explanation of game's mechanics, controls, buttons etc. make it difficult to pick up and play. The whole point of free to play is to attract those that aren't particularly interested in your game to promote the franchise. By excluding the most crucial feature it may actually put more people off. That said, once you get used to it the game is strangely addicting; even though gameplay-wise it offers nothing exciting, new or particularly polished. Overall it's worth playing if you're experienced with Tkken, but if you just want to try it out then avoid. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    Just a demo to show u how it would be to have Tekken tag tournament 2... i say it again... its not F2p its a bloody demo... Just dont botherJust a demo to show u how it would be to have Tekken tag tournament 2... i say it again... its not F2p its a bloody demo... Just dont bother with this game.U waste ur lifetime... it has the 1/3 of the characters that Tekken tag tournament 2 has , u pay for skins (wait is this league of legends? lol) and u pay generally for anything... Just D O N T bother. Buy a full game tekken on low price and ull be fine with fighting games. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews