Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tekken Revolution is a free-to-play exclusive launching exclusively for the PlayStation 3.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It’s just like being back in the arcades (with lots of Japanese kids kicking your arse). [August 2013, p79]
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    With Tekken Revolution the Tekken saga approaches Free to Play model in the best way.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Tekken Revolution won't inspire people to toss out their old Tekken copies and embrace this wholeheartedly. Unless you exclusively play online, you'll miss out on the offline features and local multiplayer that make fighting games so much fun.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The simplified gameplay mechanics and additional balancing ideas should provide a more level playing field to start off on. Longtime series fans, however, are likely to be left cold by this stripped-down title, which eschews the combo-juggling they are used to.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Tekken Revolution is more experimental than Combot, but solid execution on some admittedly controversial ideas ensure that this free-to-play fighter is worth a bash. Franchise fans will feel more frustrated than Devil Jin upon witnessing the watered down gameplay mechanics, but casual combatants may find themselves lured back into the wacky world of the King of Iron Fist Tournament on the back of the digital download’s inherent accessibility and free entry fee.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    There's plenty to play with here, but you'll have to pay to win online. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The business model in Tekken Revolution makes a great game only decent.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    For a free game, Tekken Revolution is really good.
    But no training mode?? (Namco said they will add it soon though)
    Tekken is one of the
    best fighting games, very fun, and Revolution is a good exemple.
    But i'm not a big fan of the coins system, just my personal opinion.
    Everyone can try it since it's free, and probably will like it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    A fun game and it's FREE!
    It plays just like Tekken four. The newest feature is an upgrade system. Using points you can have better health,
    power and critical chance. I have been playing since day one, and I have a balanced King.
    You start with eight classic characters. You need gift points to unlock a character. Gift points are gained after every arcade battle and online battle. Characters are added frequently, so keep at it!
    Online works fine, and I like recording the fights in my lobby. You can also rank up, but if you find someone using Law there's a chance he's a spammer.
    Revolution is a great game, but you can only play so much, LITTERIALLy!
    You must use coins to play, these coins will replenish over time, but it just doesn't work for me
    You can earn tickets to play, so save those up! You can also buy preminium coins to keep the experience going. Also you can pay for costumes and characters if you hate waiting for gift points.
    All in all, the game works fine. It's free so give it a download today.
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Been having some good fun with this for the last 2 days. I don't know why everyone is moaning about no versus its a free to play game there made for online purposes. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    Games like these reminds me of the arcade days, where friendly competition and quarters dominated the days. Only this time, friendly competition isn't so friendly, and quarters...don't really hold much value here since its free to play. The skill needed to play this game has been reduced thanks to all new Critical Art moves, which are invincible moves that can turn the tide of battle. This allows casuals to finally sink in the game mechanics while standing a chance against veteran players of the series. Unfortunately, while the intentions were good, the promise falls short, as the moves its self (while able to be blocked and punished easily) breaks a certain core mechanic of the game: Frame data. The move does away with a lot of combo strings by some characters, thus limiting the characters effectiveness overall. You will oft find matches where players just wait it out for someone to throw a move out only to eat a face full of red particles and light effects. Tekken has always been about rewarding defensive and patient play, however the game has become too much about defense in my opinion.

    The addition of RPG like stats to a fighting game is a nice addition. The ability to stat into your type of gameplay suits the game well, people who like to get up close and personal more oft than not tend to spec into Power. Those that like to wait until the opponent messes up might end up speccing into Endurance. This is a sort of meta game that has been introduced to the series, and I like it so far.

    Other than that, its a solid game, and I think the game is deserving of its price: Free.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    Interesting addition to the Tekken Franchise. Good to see Tekken has gone back to the style of 5/6 and left the style of Tekken Tag 2 long behind. This Tekken has implemented the free to play style of gaming and unless you are really good and can keep hold of your premium tickets that you slowly unlock you will have to pay to play or end up waiting half hour for your tokens to replenish. I like the way that your characters now level up the more you use them, meaning you can add points to either strength, defence, or critical hit chance. Only around 8 characters playable to begin with but others are unlocked the more you play, or you can just pay real money to unlock any that are locked. Shame not all characters are avaliable to unlock. I would have loved to of played as Wang. Micro-transactions are avaliable to purchase in irder to keep playing if you run out of tokens. I for one never use micro transactions so once i cant play anymore matches i just switch off and play again later. No 2 player local mode is a shame but it has ranked matches, player matches and arcade, all if which uses a token every time you play. But it also has a practise mode that doesnt use tokens. Overall a good fighting experience its just a shame its on a pay to play model. A proper game in this style would have been so much better. Still a great Tekken experience. Go try it, its free after all Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    For a Tekken game this is pretty sub par. The adding of some new moves makes the game interesting or would except this game it the worse turtling game I ever played. I never played a fighting game where you had to wait for someone to do a special move or invincible move. Tekken Revolution was a revolution all right.For Spammers.This game is good if you're not good at fighting games and new to Tekken.Most of the people I play online are bad.they grab spam and use Special Art spam.The other moves on the game are pretty much useless.As a Tekken Fan seeing bad players flock to this game and are able to win also because of the point allocation system stops me from taking this Tekken game seriously.But to be fair it was made to be "free" and tailor made for newbies.I hate that the majority of the cast isn't on there but they still have Asuka and more characters should still be on the way.The music is forgettable.The stages are rehashed from Tekken Tag Tournament 2.If Fighting games were to go free to play like this or Dead or Alive5 Ultimate I'd give up the genre.This Tekken is a causal game.But its WAY too casual.I don't like having to dumb down to defeat an opponent.Traditionally in Tekken it took skill to win.On Revolution though that's a out the window.Its going to set Revolution players up for failure when they try the real games.Its fun but has only Arcade and online versus and nothing else.I thought TTT2's juggling was overkill until Revolution came out.The game was almost a step in the right direction but alas it falls to the same thing that burdens Fighting games now.Too Much flash not enough substance Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    This is not a game, not because it is F2P which is almost always a bad things, but because it's a pay to win with abusive tickets, costumes and characters prices.

    In fact it's not even a new game because all the graphics assets are just those of Tekken Tag Tournament 2, nothing new or redone.

    And finally this is not a pleasant experience; you can't play with two players, you also have to have coins to play solo, and the online mode completely lacks of equilibrium and evens cheats you on search options: even though you chose a limit of 3 ranks or a good internet connection, the game will impose you fights with players 20 more ranks than you or stuttering connection...
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews