Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tekken Revolution is a free-to-play exclusive launching exclusively for the PlayStation 3.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It’s just like being back in the arcades (with lots of Japanese kids kicking your arse). [August 2013, p79]
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    With Tekken Revolution the Tekken saga approaches Free to Play model in the best way.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Tekken Revolution won't inspire people to toss out their old Tekken copies and embrace this wholeheartedly. Unless you exclusively play online, you'll miss out on the offline features and local multiplayer that make fighting games so much fun.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The simplified gameplay mechanics and additional balancing ideas should provide a more level playing field to start off on. Longtime series fans, however, are likely to be left cold by this stripped-down title, which eschews the combo-juggling they are used to.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Tekken Revolution is more experimental than Combot, but solid execution on some admittedly controversial ideas ensure that this free-to-play fighter is worth a bash. Franchise fans will feel more frustrated than Devil Jin upon witnessing the watered down gameplay mechanics, but casual combatants may find themselves lured back into the wacky world of the King of Iron Fist Tournament on the back of the digital download’s inherent accessibility and free entry fee.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    There's plenty to play with here, but you'll have to pay to win online. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The business model in Tekken Revolution makes a great game only decent.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    For a free game, Tekken Revolution is really good.
    But no training mode?? (Namco said they will add it soon though)
    Tekken is one of the
    best fighting games, very fun, and Revolution is a good exemple.
    But i'm not a big fan of the coins system, just my personal opinion.
    Everyone can try it since it's free, and probably will like it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    A fun game and it's FREE!
    It plays just like Tekken four. The newest feature is an upgrade system. Using points you can have better health,
    power and critical chance. I have been playing since day one, and I have a balanced King.
    You start with eight classic characters. You need gift points to unlock a character. Gift points are gained after every arcade battle and online battle. Characters are added frequently, so keep at it!
    Online works fine, and I like recording the fights in my lobby. You can also rank up, but if you find someone using Law there's a chance he's a spammer.
    Revolution is a great game, but you can only play so much, LITTERIALLy!
    You must use coins to play, these coins will replenish over time, but it just doesn't work for me
    You can earn tickets to play, so save those up! You can also buy preminium coins to keep the experience going. Also you can pay for costumes and characters if you hate waiting for gift points.
    All in all, the game works fine. It's free so give it a download today.
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Been having some good fun with this for the last 2 days. I don't know why everyone is moaning about no versus its a free to play game there made for online purposes. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    EN: Tekken Revolution has a really powerful arcade feeling, it don't have all the characters that it could, but as a free game, the limitations are understandable and aren't a big deal.

    PT-BR: Tekken Revolution tem uma vibe arcade muito forte, ele não tem todos os personagens que poderia mas como um jogo gratuito, as limitações são compreensíveis e não incomodam.
    Collapse
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    A fighting game, without two players mode...WHAT ARE YOU THINKING!!?, sorry, but not for me. Keep triying.

    Un juego de peleas sin mode para
    dos players, en que estaban pensando!!?, lo siento, pero esto no es para mi, sigan intentandolo... Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    This is a decent Tekken game online, but the fact it's another money grabber with Tokens, The arcade is very short and has no real reward, The character select is small (Gradually growing with updates, but why weren't they included originally?).
    The levelling up is actually a good system I hope they use in future Tekken instalments, and The combat is standard Tekken, all combos there.
    Graphically it's as good as TTT2.
    The tokens to play online, and even just to play the arcade was a horrible idea and ruins the experience.
    Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    Just a demo to show u how it would be to have Tekken tag tournament 2... i say it again... its not F2p its a bloody demo... Just dont bother with this game.U waste ur lifetime... it has the 1/3 of the characters that Tekken tag tournament 2 has , u pay for skins (wait is this league of legends? lol) and u pay generally for anything... Just D O N T bother. Buy a full game tekken on low price and ull be fine with fighting games. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews