Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    94
    More fighters and stages than ever, graphic and control improvements, tons of videos and customization elements to unlock, good online modes and four-player battles. Is there anything else you could ask for? It's not the most revolutionary Tekken, but it is the most complete one.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    92
    Though there is no real story to speak of, the fantastic tutorial makes up for it.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    Overall I feel like Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a fairly accessible experience for new players, or those that haven't picked up a Tekken game in years.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Don't let the innate familiarity here cloud the fact that Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a technical tour de force, and by far the best entry in this illustrious series' history.
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a top effort by Namco.
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has finally arrived to home consoles and automatically positions itself as one of the best of its kind.
  9. 90
    With a massive character roster, great online mode and solid gameplay mechanics, Tekken Tag 2 is easily one of the best brawlers on the market and a triumphant return for the series.
  10. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Awesome gameplay and graphics. Tons of fully customizable items to unlock that you will be playing this game for years to come. Snoop Dog (or Snoop Lion). It hits all the right notes for true fighting game fans.
  11. Sep 14, 2012
    90
    This is a great Tekken game that offers a lot of online and offline modes which will keep you entertained for months. Furthermore there are many characters to choose from and with them you can do tons of combinations during the fights.
  12. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is pure love for this saga and for its community from the producer Katsuhiro Harada. Everything, from its smooth gameplay to the rich game modes, looks like it was created just to please Tekken fans. If you like Tekken, this is the best game out there.
  13. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  14. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Far from being the sideshow attraction the word 'spin-off' might suggest, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is actually pretty damn brilliant. Some brilliant underlying mechanics support a generous amount of content in a package that helps you realise sometimes you just want to play a game.
  15. Sep 12, 2012
    88
    If you like Tekken, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has almost everything you could ask from the series.
  16. Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]
  17. Sep 11, 2012
    87
    Focusing on what's most important to creating a good fighter, Tekken Tag 2 sets a moderately high bar and confidently clears it. It offers a ton of fighters, the tag system is interesting, it plays well online, and it preserves the goofy sense of humor that defines the series. Spinoff or not, this is the best Tekken game in years.
  18. Sep 11, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best entries in the classic Namco-Bandai saga in recent history. Tons of options, game modes, playable fighters and bonuses.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it came out, so much new stuff, I remember hating it. I remember playing Tekken3 until I couldn't even see anymore, and my hands hurt for weeks. I am an absolute fan of Tekken, and the series. That being said, there also have been quite a few problems with some of the games in the series. It seems to indeed have a namco number curse, 4 was garbage, 6 was garbage, and 2 was questionable to some peopel ( I loved it ). Namco and Harada seem to always want to toy with tekken, and then bring it back to its roots in the next game.

    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like tekken 6. Let me be clear, I am a fan of everything tekken and I did not really enjoy 6. It had some serious graphic problems in my opinion, something was wrong with the timing as well. It seemed to run really slow and lack the IMPACT of hitting someone that Tekken is known for. Tag2 definitely returns all of this to the series. Punching someone sounds like thunder again, and the sound all around I found to be extremely well done. It was one of the only times I've actually taken note of the soundtrack it was so good. Before going on too long, Tekken Tag 2 is absolutely amazing in my veteran opinion. I have played them all relentlessly, and I can honestly say that this probably is the pinnacle for tekken so far. The only tekkens in this league in my opinion are tekken 5, and tekken 3. Do not listen to the people who are writing negative reviews about this game. It features a complex system indeed that is very unforgiving to most people. If you are a series veteran, or are looking for a complex fighting game, Tekken will deliver, and the better you get at it.. (like any true fighting game).. the more fun it keeps becoming. Love it!
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else. Full Review »