Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    80
    TTT2 is a great game on its own merits, but the jury's out on how well it bodes for the state of fighting games.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]
  4. TTT2 succeeds on a number of levels. It innovates within the series itself, the genre as a whole, while simultaneously appealing to hardcore fans and those who have only casually played Tekken since it debuted in the mid '90s. The game you get on your PS3 is based on the 'Ultimate' version of the arcade game with a few added characters thrown in, making the already chunky roster even plumper with 50-odd fighters. [November 2012, p70]
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    For experienced players, though, this is as fluid as Tekken has been for years, the tagging doing much to revitalise a combo system that, with its over-reliance on juggles and wall combos, was in danger of growing stale. But it's taken a 12-year-old mechanic to do that, and other games in this increasingly crowded genre boast a deeper level of mechanical complexity as well as a more generous welcome to newcomers.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Don't let the innate familiarity here cloud the fact that Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a technical tour de force, and by far the best entry in this illustrious series' history.
  7. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    Easily the best form Tekken has been in for years. [Nov 2012, p.68]
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a top effort by Namco.
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    85
    Less of a distinct entry in the Tekken series, Tag Tournament 2 is more like a DVD Collector's Edition Boxset - everything the series has produced previously has almost been rolled into one convenient package for fans to sink their teeth into while they await Tekken 7. With nearly five dozen characters to master, a huge range of character customisation options available, a customisable soundtrack and a seemingly endless army of foes waiting online, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 will keep fight-fans busy for a long while to come.
  10. Sep 30, 2012
    85
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is keeping alive all the things Namco's franchise is well known and loved for and delivers a superb single and multiplayer experience. Until the release of the new Soul Calibur game, this is probably the best fighting game out there.
  11. Sep 29, 2012
    78
    Learn its language and you'll find unnerving depth. [Nov 2012, p.98]
  12. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a well-made fighting game that is at its best in a room full of friends with a passing interest in Tekken in general. It's a love letter to Tekken fans, and people who want to see a kangaroo beat the **** out of a dinosaur.
  13. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.
  14. Sep 24, 2012
    83
    Tekken Tag Tournament is a well-made successor of the old PS2 game. The tag team fights add new tactics and new elements to the game. The game recycles a lot of old stuff, fighters, stages, even the soundtracks. However this is not bad at all, because if you play the game you get this strong old Tekken feeling.
  15. The fighting doesn't feel significantly changed or enhanced. [Nov 2012, p.78]
  16. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  17. Sep 18, 2012
    83
    Faster, flashier and a good deal more fun than previous games in the series. [Nov 2012, p.88]
  18. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has finally arrived to home consoles and automatically positions itself as one of the best of its kind.
  19. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    The best Tekken game ever made? Hard to say, really. But it might be even harder to come up with complaints that actually matter. Visually and gameplay-wise, this is a complete package fans and other interested parties should by all means get their hands on.
  20. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is the best, deepest, and most exciting Tekken to be released to date. While it does not particular move the series in a groundbreaking way, it does bring back the fast-paced tag mechanics that haven't been in for twelve years.
  21. 90
    With a massive character roster, great online mode and solid gameplay mechanics, Tekken Tag 2 is easily one of the best brawlers on the market and a triumphant return for the series.
  22. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Awesome gameplay and graphics. Tons of fully customizable items to unlock that you will be playing this game for years to come. Snoop Dog (or Snoop Lion). It hits all the right notes for true fighting game fans.
  23. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    Namco has a knack for adding stuff to its franchises without changing their core appeal, and TTT2 is no exception. With a massive roaster, deeper gameplay thanks to the tag mechanics, and an impressive content, it's probably the best Tekken to date... even though the overall visual taste and quirky humor are starting to feel kind of old.
  24. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    Overall I feel like Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a fairly accessible experience for new players, or those that haven't picked up a Tekken game in years.
  25. Sep 15, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2's kitchen sink approach could have turned this game into a messy jumble of modes, characters, and features. Instead, this massive fighting game looks downright elegant. It's a polished, vibrant fighter with very few faults.
  26. Sep 14, 2012
    85
    Due to a very large roster and the solid gameplay mechanics, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 closes with style this long chapter of the series.
  27. Sep 14, 2012
    90
    This is a great Tekken game that offers a lot of online and offline modes which will keep you entertained for months. Furthermore there are many characters to choose from and with them you can do tons of combinations during the fights.
  28. Sep 13, 2012
    83
    Very much a nod to the ardent fans. And I think that's great. I believe they could've done a little more with the presentation and tried a few new things here and there, and I would've made the Fight Lab more user-friendly, but there's no doubt that this sequel is precisely designed to put a smile on the faces of the faithful followers.
  29. Tekken Tag 2 is just as much a party game as it is a competitive beat'em up, judging by the dozens of crazy customizations for each character. Everything from butterfly wings to waist doughnuts and an alien to put on top of your head. [September 2012, p.104]
  30. Sep 12, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 deserves to be in any fighting fan's catalogue and is well worth the partnership.
  31. Sep 12, 2012
    85
    In mechanics though, the game soars, offering awesome new takes on systems that made the original TTT title a must-have PS2 classic whilst also adding a modern flair and polish that makes it a stellar example that fighting games don't have to all be about gaining extended revenue through costume and character DLC - it can be about packing in a great suite of impressive features from the word go.
  32. 75
    A hell of a fighter with some interesting additions that frankly, no one else is doing. That's great and all, but I do think it's time to Tekken to follow other's lead and do something drastic to reinvigorate and reinvent the series. While it's not a terrible thing, it really is just more of the same. But that "same" just so happens to be a solid, deep, rewarding fighter, with a huge, but somewhat bland roster.
  33. Sep 12, 2012
    85
    The biggest title in the series and a huge step forward from the original - as it should be, with over ten years between them. TTT2's most notable feature - the inclusion of weapons – will split fans down the middle; it's a big change to a traditionally melee series, but hopefully one they can improve upon in future instalments.
  34. Sep 12, 2012
    88
    If you like Tekken, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has almost everything you could ask from the series.
  35. Sep 11, 2012
    87
    Focusing on what's most important to creating a good fighter, Tekken Tag 2 sets a moderately high bar and confidently clears it. It offers a ton of fighters, the tag system is interesting, it plays well online, and it preserves the goofy sense of humor that defines the series. Spinoff or not, this is the best Tekken game in years.
  36. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    While some fighting games have simplified their mechanics to be easier for genre newcomers, the Tekken series remains unapologetically brutal.
  37. Sep 11, 2012
    92
    Though there is no real story to speak of, the fantastic tutorial makes up for it.
  38. Sep 11, 2012
    75
    With its gigantic roster, in-depth character customization options, and breadth of modes, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is definitely a worthy addition to the franchise. That is, if you make it past some of the more frustrating and impenetrable aspects of the Tekken universe.
  39. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    The differences between the platforms is something of a toss-up, with the PS3 version taking slightly longer to load your custom costumes up at select time and the 360 version doing that astoundingly annoying thing where it seizes up for a few seconds every time you unlock an achievement.
  40. Sep 11, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best entries in the classic Namco-Bandai saga in recent history. Tons of options, game modes, playable fighters and bonuses.
  41. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Even with a somewhat bare-bones online offering, it's still one of the most refined fighters on the market.
  42. Sep 11, 2012
    70
    It doesn't even try to reinvent the fighting game genre or itself, but this is still the most enjoyable – and accessible - Tekken has been in years.
  43. Sep 11, 2012
    78
    Tekken doesn't need more stuff. It needs more focus. Like the archetypical weathered warrior, the franchise needs to look within to find inspiration.
  44. Sep 11, 2012
    75
    For whatever reason, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 grabbed me, and then it didn't. Every time I boot up the game, I feel my old passion for Tekken growing inside, but then it subsides after about an hour or so. There's nothing glaringly wrong with combat; it just feels a bit bare-bones and too familiar sometimes after every hundred matches or so. While TTT 2 doesn't change the world, so long as you're already a series fan, you should be satisfied.
  45. Sep 11, 2012
    94
    More fighters and stages than ever, graphic and control improvements, tons of videos and customization elements to unlock, good online modes and four-player battles. Is there anything else you could ask for? It's not the most revolutionary Tekken, but it is the most complete one.
  46. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is pure love for this saga and for its community from the producer Katsuhiro Harada. Everything, from its smooth gameplay to the rich game modes, looks like it was created just to please Tekken fans. If you like Tekken, this is the best game out there.
  47. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  48. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Far from being the sideshow attraction the word 'spin-off' might suggest, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is actually pretty damn brilliant. Some brilliant underlying mechanics support a generous amount of content in a package that helps you realise sometimes you just want to play a game.
  49. For successfully melding the best of its recent ideas with the time-honoured core combat and introducing the best tutorial mode we've seen in fighters to date, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 brings renewed vigour to the fighter war. It's so much fun, we can almost look past its creepy girl-fascination, and can just about forgive it for occasionally confusing presentation.
  50. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it came out, so much new stuff, I remember hating it. I remember playing Tekken3 until I couldn't even see anymore, and my hands hurt for weeks. I am an absolute fan of Tekken, and the series. That being said, there also have been quite a few problems with some of the games in the series. It seems to indeed have a namco number curse, 4 was garbage, 6 was garbage, and 2 was questionable to some peopel ( I loved it ). Namco and Harada seem to always want to toy with tekken, and then bring it back to its roots in the next game.

    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like tekken 6. Let me be clear, I am a fan of everything tekken and I did not really enjoy 6. It had some serious graphic problems in my opinion, something was wrong with the timing as well. It seemed to run really slow and lack the IMPACT of hitting someone that Tekken is known for. Tag2 definitely returns all of this to the series. Punching someone sounds like thunder again, and the sound all around I found to be extremely well done. It was one of the only times I've actually taken note of the soundtrack it was so good. Before going on too long, Tekken Tag 2 is absolutely amazing in my veteran opinion. I have played them all relentlessly, and I can honestly say that this probably is the pinnacle for tekken so far. The only tekkens in this league in my opinion are tekken 5, and tekken 3. Do not listen to the people who are writing negative reviews about this game. It features a complex system indeed that is very unforgiving to most people. If you are a series veteran, or are looking for a complex fighting game, Tekken will deliver, and the better you get at it.. (like any true fighting game).. the more fun it keeps becoming. Love it!
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else. Full Review »