Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tekken Tag Tournament returns with fighters from across the Tekken spectrum taking each other on two by two for the second time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Even with a somewhat bare-bones online offering, it's still one of the most refined fighters on the market.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  6. Sep 15, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2's kitchen sink approach could have turned this game into a messy jumble of modes, characters, and features. Instead, this massive fighting game looks downright elegant. It's a polished, vibrant fighter with very few faults.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is everything that I hoped it would be. We've been delivered all of the characters, moves, modes, customization and jokes that we ever wanted. The game has amazing graphics with detailed characters and beautiful stages. The character endings look as stunning as Blood Vengeance. The soundtrack is catchy and the whole atmosphere is uplifting. Practice mode gives players more options than I could have imagined. Combined with the fight lab, it should be easy for veterans to get back into shape and for new players to understand the game. The game is super fun with friends whether you are teaming up to take on people online or having a 4 player battle offline. I've been a fan of the series since Tekken 3 so I had really high expectations for this game and I have to say that I'm fully satisfied. Thank you Namco Bandai Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Positives: Load's of Characters, Excellent stage's and music, fighting is fast and fluid, menu's are well presented and easy to follow, Fight Lab is a very good tutorial mode, FREE DLC (always a positive), Large amount of customisation options for any character, is a very polished and is very addictive.
    Negatives: Can be Difficult at times (especially the final boss Unknown)
    Overall: This is an excellent game for any Tekken fan or any fighting game fan. Possibly THE BEST fighting game of this year and maybe even in recent years.
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Collapse
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen in a Tekken game and includes some of the more classic characters from yesteryear which were not available in the previous games but of the games back in the PSX era. With a improved online system, improved visuals, a plethora of music with remixes and the ability to import your own music, TTT2 is worth every single cent especially due to the fact that all of the "DLCs" are free. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    If I was just following my love for Tekken, I'd give TTT2 a 10, but I'll be reviewing it in consideration of the general population. That said, it's a very well-rounded game that will give you many hours of fun, provided that you are willing to sit down and learn the mechanics. It's not for everyone, but it's excellent in what it delivers. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I just got this game and I find the game to be extremely fun. There are some small problems that really annoy me though, like the game's accessibility and a couple of other small things. The game seems to be very hard on newcomers, since this is the first Tekken game that I've played, it's extremely difficult for me. That doesn't make the game bad though, since lots of fighting games are like that, but this one just seems a bit harder than other ones that I've played. I was also annoyed that it's easy for your opponents to back you into a corner and just knock you out without any trouble. It's also the same thing with juggling, you can be at full health and literally be juggled to death. These things aren't things that happen in every single match though, but they are very annoying. All flaws aside, I find this game to be very fun to play and I would recommend it to someone who likes fighting games. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews