Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tekken Tag Tournament returns with fighters from across the Tekken spectrum taking each other on two by two for the second time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Even with a somewhat bare-bones online offering, it's still one of the most refined fighters on the market.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  6. Sep 15, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2's kitchen sink approach could have turned this game into a messy jumble of modes, characters, and features. Instead, this massive fighting game looks downright elegant. It's a polished, vibrant fighter with very few faults.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    excellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up forexcellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up for fighting, hard to find a bad thing in this game,
    If you like fighting games i recommend it.
    Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away.This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away. And I decided to get the strategy guide and try to get deep into this game the same way I got into Street Fighter 4 and Virtua Fighter 4 through 5 FS. And after hours and hours, I can safely say this is the fighting game I've been looking for for years and it stands tall with those others ones I just mentioned. I can finally leard more complicated combos because they're a little easier to pull off, but there's a lot more than that. You need to know this game to play it. It feels awkward if you don't play it right and rewarding if you do. I love MANY fighting games, but there were always 2 that stood way above the others, but now I can add this and have the great trifecta of Virtua Fighter-Street Fighter-Tekken. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible characterThis is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Collapse
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Having played Tekken 6, i had fun, but i felt like it was very empty. The health bar was too small, making fights really short, and theHaving played Tekken 6, i had fun, but i felt like it was very empty. The health bar was too small, making fights really short, and the graphics were very... bleugh. And not to metion those loading screens. But then TTT2 came along and WOW. It practically improved everything that COULD be improved. The fighting (for me anyway) was alot faster and smoother than it already was, and the graphics were PUMPED UP BRO! And the tag mechanic... Allowing you to use two different characters at the same time, what's not to love? Also some small combos were added, but they were awesome. There's loads more customizing, including the F**KING MUSIC IN THE STAGES! Oh and Combot is here! The CPU is really amped up, and can juggle you around like a ragdoll, so the game incourages you to experiment with combos and juggles to really just crush the opponent. My only major complaint about this game is the bigger characters. High attacks can't hit crouching characters, so why would you make the big ones look like they're standing, when they're crouching? YOUR KICK GOES RIGHT THROUGH THEIR SKIN MAN! Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    If I was just following my love for Tekken, I'd give TTT2 a 10, but I'll be reviewing it in consideration of the general population. ThatIf I was just following my love for Tekken, I'd give TTT2 a 10, but I'll be reviewing it in consideration of the general population. That said, it's a very well-rounded game that will give you many hours of fun, provided that you are willing to sit down and learn the mechanics. It's not for everyone, but it's excellent in what it delivers. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    I think a score of about 7-8 out of 10 is generally fair...

    The series has long been plagued now by very little innovation, some
    I think a score of about 7-8 out of 10 is generally fair...

    The series has long been plagued now by very little innovation, some questionable AI and some appalling boss battles.

    It's nice to have such a large number of characters but for me this if anything is a step down from Tekken 6 which at least had its Force Mode.

    Whilst enjoyable the online mode is no better than on Tekken 6 (apart from the ability to practice whilst waiting for an opponent) and this is much the story with the rest of the game.

    I've been a Tekken advocate since the beginning having owned all of the series apart from Tekken 4 (one quick go mad it clear that this was awful!) but seeing the series stagnating in such a way is making me consider some of Capcom's effort... Be careful Namco that more don't begin to feel this way...
    Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out withDid you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Expand

See all 49 User Reviews