Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tekken Tag Tournament returns with fighters from across the Tekken spectrum taking each other on two by two for the second time.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Even with a somewhat bare-bones online offering, it's still one of the most refined fighters on the market.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  6. Sep 15, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2's kitchen sink approach could have turned this game into a messy jumble of modes, characters, and features. Instead, this massive fighting game looks downright elegant. It's a polished, vibrant fighter with very few faults.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    excellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up forexcellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up for fighting, hard to find a bad thing in this game,
    If you like fighting games i recommend it.
    Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away.This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away. And I decided to get the strategy guide and try to get deep into this game the same way I got into Street Fighter 4 and Virtua Fighter 4 through 5 FS. And after hours and hours, I can safely say this is the fighting game I've been looking for for years and it stands tall with those others ones I just mentioned. I can finally leard more complicated combos because they're a little easier to pull off, but there's a lot more than that. You need to know this game to play it. It feels awkward if you don't play it right and rewarding if you do. I love MANY fighting games, but there were always 2 that stood way above the others, but now I can add this and have the great trifecta of Virtua Fighter-Street Fighter-Tekken. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible characterThis is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Collapse
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen inTekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen in a Tekken game and includes some of the more classic characters from yesteryear which were not available in the previous games but of the games back in the PSX era. With a improved online system, improved visuals, a plethora of music with remixes and the ability to import your own music, TTT2 is worth every single cent especially due to the fact that all of the "DLCs" are free. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    After being disapointed with Tekken 6, I was waiting for TTT2 to get my tekken fix for this gen, and trust me it was worth all the wait andAfter being disapointed with Tekken 6, I was waiting for TTT2 to get my tekken fix for this gen, and trust me it was worth all the wait and the hype

    Presentation- The menus are good looking and easy to navigate. In TTT2 you will find the biggest roster in any Tekken game to date consisting of almost 60 characters (series veterans and some new ones like Slim Bob and jaycee, who is the alter-ego of Julia). Some characters are essentially clones of other ones but that is not a bad thing. I also love the pre-fight intro scenes where fighters taunt each others or drop their signature one-liners.

    Graphics- A major step up from tekken 6's "last gen" graphics. The animation is top notch and I was particularly impressed that fighters can get wet or dirty if the stage has mud/water etc. In comparison with other fighting games only SCV has the upper hand in the graphics department

    Sound- I loved the fact that now all fighters speak in their native language which makes the game a ton more realistic and immersive. The sound effects during a fight are very well done as well. I'm not a big fan of this game's OST but it's a good thing that they let you import your own songs through the game. Also, if you're feeling nostalgic you can buy past tekken games OSTs for a price at the PS Store

    Gameplay- Let's begin with game modes first...Compared to your average current gen fighter TTT2 offers a good deal of single player content (it's not Mortal Kombat though), but the absence of a pure 1vs1 mode like the previous installment is a major turn off for me, also using ghosts (customized characters) in arcade mode makes the game seem a little goofy at times. I also enjoyed Fight Lab (the game's main tutorial/story mode) although it's very short and can be completed in less than 4 hours...Gameplay wise TTT2 is a great step forward from T6's mishaps concerning the rage system and god-tier characters. The tag mechanics are not very easy to get into but once you get familiar with them you will realize the game's true potential and you will have a lot of fun combining different characters and unlocking new combos!

    Online- Maybe it's my connection but I am really having a hard time finding a match, and when I finally get into one there is lag which prohibits any kind of techincal play. The majority of players you will encounters are your typical fighting game rent-a-combo clowns and move spammers, so It's better to play private matches with your friends. Lasting Appeal- With a roster of 60 characters, respectable single player content and online (if it works for you) you'll be spending a lot of time with TTT2. Get Ready for the Next Battle!

    The Verdict
    +Huge Roster
    +Impressive graphics and animation
    +Classic Tekken top-notch gameplay enhanced with innovative tag-mechanics
    -Online is inconsistent
    -Game feels goofy and non-serious at times due to the silly looking ghosts that appear in arcade and other modes

    8/10
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    8
    This game is a tekken fans wet dream, every character that I can ever remember is included in the roster (50+), add to that some goodThis game is a tekken fans wet dream, every character that I can ever remember is included in the roster (50+), add to that some good customization options, good story mode, great fight mechanics, and you've got TTT2. I personally haven't encountered any lag or slow down online but overall the game does suffer long load times (even after it installs nearly 6 gigs onto your HD). The graphics are by far the best ever in a Tekken game and the music is good too (you can also customize the soundtrack). This game has everything you could want in a fighting game and tons of modes and replayability. If you like Tekken than this game is a must have. If you don't like Tekken, this game probably won't win you over. Definitely my favorite fighter out at this time. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out withDid you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Expand

See all 52 User Reviews