Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tekken Tag Tournament returns with fighters from across the Tekken spectrum taking each other on two by two for the second time.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Whether it's learning the ropes with Combot, attempting to best a challenging arcade mode, taking on tag teams with friends, or going global with 'World Tekken Federation', the package is always entertaining. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is undoubtedly one of the deepest and most entertaining fighting games in years, proving that like a well-oiled tag team, both quality and quantity can coexist in perfect harmony.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Harada and his team decided to go back to the basics of what made the Tekken Series so popular among the fighting community, without completely abandoning the speed of the latest incarnations. The result is a finely crafted and neatly balanced title, that deserves a spot among the best of the genre. For a gamer who loves the competitive side of fighting games, this is definitely the best Tekken of the bunch, especially if said gamer loves to play online.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perfect. It is. There will still be many philosophical discussions, if it is better than Tekken, Street Fighter or some other fighting-game, but the reason for that is that all these games have reached such a high level of quality and none of them has a clue how to break out to the top.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Even with a somewhat bare-bones online offering, it's still one of the most refined fighters on the market.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  6. Sep 15, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2's kitchen sink approach could have turned this game into a messy jumble of modes, characters, and features. Instead, this massive fighting game looks downright elegant. It's a polished, vibrant fighter with very few faults.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Mar 17, 2015
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is the perfection, i mean it's 10000000 times better than tekken 6, i have more fun playing with it, tekken 6 was aTekken Tag Tournament 2 is the perfection, i mean it's 10000000 times better than tekken 6, i have more fun playing with it, tekken 6 was a big disappointment Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    The game delivers. It's so much fun when you're playing multiplayer. With the absolutely crazy large number of characters, fast gameplay andThe game delivers. It's so much fun when you're playing multiplayer. With the absolutely crazy large number of characters, fast gameplay and great tagging system, it's somwhere else than Tekken 6. It's not that I hated Tekken 6 but I enjoyed Tekken 3 and 5 much more. But this game made me forget about those games. The only frustrating thing is that you have to play the Ghost battle over and over again to unlock costumes for characters. The ending movies are really funny, yet some of them are not so good. But more important thing is that you can play it online or with your friends for hours -> days -> weeks -> months and I guarantee you that you'll never get bored! Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible characterThis is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Huge character roster whit a immense variety of moves, great graphics,physics,it needs a lot of your life span to be dominated, if you haveHuge character roster whit a immense variety of moves, great graphics,physics,it needs a lot of your life span to be dominated, if you have patience you be rewarded whit hundred of hours of fun Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    I've always loved Tekken, since playing on Tekken 2 on my fathers PlayStation 1 many moons ago and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 was no exception.I've always loved Tekken, since playing on Tekken 2 on my fathers PlayStation 1 many moons ago and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 was no exception. The graphics just keep getting better and better as each game comes out, I also like how you can customize your characters. One downside to the game is, that all of the characters are unlocked. I used to love going through the Arcade Mode and unlocking the new charcters, finding out who unlocks who, watching there ending videos, then doing the whole arcade with the new unlocked fighters to see there videos and seeing if they unlock new fighters. Now the only reason I do the Arcade Mode is to unlock the ending videos, which, lets be honest gets boring. Online multiplayer is fun, looking at different players customized characters, like, Heihachi Mishima with long hair or a samurai's helmet or Prototype Jack with nothing on lol. The original Characters are still in, like, Heihachi Mishima, King, Paul Phoenix, Kazuya Mishima, Nina Williams etc. As well as some new characters too. With the biggest Roster to date of 60, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 gets a rating of 8/10

    -AG-
    Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 8/10..........................................................................................................................
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out withDid you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Collapse

See all 59 User Reviews